Mundelein, IL 
Leo Leathers Park Share
Uploaded By: chillin quillin Hole #3 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 100ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Baskets in a field, plus one.

1    1/2/2016   2/4/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small 9 hole course located in a small city park north of Chicago.

Discatcher baskets, in good enough repair. A couple nice placements on hillsides. One pin position per hole.

Natural tee pads, in good enough shape for a course of this magnitude. A little rutted, but nothing severe. One tee position per hole.

Nice signage...it looked like they had been updated recently. Big, and full color. They helped immensely with navigation, as the holes are kind of just scattered around a big field.

Lots of ace runs, if that's your thing. Great spot to take kids and beginners, as there's nothing too daunting. Hole 9 is the exception, coming in over 400', with a basket position tucked next to a creek and slightly downhill. It was a hole that would fit in well on just about any course.
Cons: There's just not much to this place. Wide open fields, with just a smidge of elevation as the main factor, outside of Hole 9.

I would imagine this course becomes unplayable if there is traffic in the park. It's a decent little spot in the middle of a decent neighborhood, so I'm sure it's well used.
Other Thoughts: There are worse things in the world than Leo Leathers. While it's certainly nothing to go out of your way for, it's a decent little neighborhood course, and I'm sure it's a blast for little kids and super casuals.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for Beginners

2-4    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: Wattenphul-2009
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Rubber tee pads & originally nice signs
- Used the available space well
- grass is nicely mowed
- Garbage available
- Playground for little ones (family friendly)
- Hole 1 & 9 are a good challenge
- Ok baskets
Cons: - A majority of the tee signs are vandalized
- A few of the tee pads become puddles after a good rain
- Except for hole 1 & 9 the course is an open field/ace opportunity
- Tightly packed holes pose a safety risk as players aim at a hole close to a tee pad.
- Many of the DisCatcher baskets are rusting
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice little community 9 hole course. The little space that is available is used well. Only a couple holes pose a decent challenge. It's a good beginner course as many other reviews have mentioned and is great for more advanced players to work on your putt & approach game. The vandalism is a little bit of a setback, but the original signs looked like they were very nice when installed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/2/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small residential park, so pedestrians and such could cause some interference. Otherwise clear for DG.
- Park has some interesting features, like a small creek, some pretty good elevation changes, and some trees here and there. Holes make good use of these things, with some uphill and downhill shots, some elevated/sloping greens, and a long shot that goes over the creek. Trees aren't too big an obstacle, but are used to force an anhyzer shot on hole #1.
- Wide range of hole lengths, with a few ace runs under 200', two around 330', and a nice downhill bomber over 430'. Helps to mix things up a bit.
- Good baskets, for the most part (#7 had a few loose chains). Signage is excellent. Teepads can get very slippery with mud, if dry they're fine.
Cons: - Biggest con with this course is the jacked-up design. The holes themselves are decent enough, at the expense of the layout. Baskets and teepads within other hole's fairways, walking through holes to get to the next tee, it isn't pretty. Would be a nightmare if the course was busy.
- Some of the teepads were almost dangerous when I was out there, with tons of mud. I could see it being a constant problem in any wet conditions.
- A lot of holes are wide open, with little thought needed.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a pretty decent course with some good length and a few interesting holes. A little bit of everything, and hole #9 is a great downhill bomber with the creek in play. More experienced players will get bored with most of the holes, but beginners and casual players can enjoy some longer holes, noticeable elevation changes, and various hazards.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 look and throw

1    8/18/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a look and throw course. Look at the basket. Throw at the basket. Not much more to say.
Nice tee pads.
Good signs
Some park ammenities - playground.
Some attempt to use elevation, but just what they had... no elevation improvements to the land.
Fun factor is a yes. If I Iived right close I would play here all the time for practice, but I would travel for serious play.
Cons: Zero golfer ammenities.
Use of terrain, the fit all 9 in here... but no real imagination was used to do it. 1 and 9 shoot across the creek.
No real length variety. 1 and 9 are longer, 3 is short. all seem soooo similar.
No tee options or basket options offered.
No signature hole on this course. 9 might have had a chance if the water really came into play. Most shooters will lay up on the near side and land the next shot right near the pin. No reall challenge to that.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth disc for a total of 10 disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat... even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

See the above pro and con boxes to see how each category scored.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Easy

5+    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My home course. Got me involved in disc golf, but I can't rate it too highly now that I am a more experienced player. Although great for begginers, this course is way too easy for better players. 9th hole is pretty fun, 2nd hole has an interesting design, and the first hole is not bad. Very easy to ace a number of holes, the 3rd, 4th, 6th, and 7th in particular. Great signage, tees and baskets. New rubber tees are the best I've ever played on. Just to clear up the speculation, the 3rd and 6th holes were both shortened a couple of years ago because homeowners were complaining about discs landing in their backyards. The sign for #3 hasn't been updated since then, and this is why it seems impossible that it is 180 ft. On windy days this course plays 3 to 6 strokes harder, no joke.
Cons: Extremely short, the 3rd hole is probably the shortest disc golf hole ever made. Incredibly easy, even on bad days an experienced player will shoot around 15 under. It might be a good idea to make this a par 3 course. Too many of the holes are wide open and do not punish poor shots.
Other Thoughts: I heard that the village of Mundelein was thinking of expanding the course to 18 holes, adding forest holes and the pond/river behind the forest as water hazards, which I think could make this course worth some travel time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: tylerwink27
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for Beginners
Cons: 1st hole is far too short and has a creek just behind it to swallow an over drive. hole 4 is a little short... but plenty of recovery room before you hit private property... No tee pad for the second hole. Holes cross over one another... poorly planned and not many trees. mostly open

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Leooooooooooooo NOOOO

5+    10/15/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 323  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Leo Leathers is a super small neighborhood park. There is a small parking lot with a tennis court, basketball court, and baseball field. It's pretty much wide open with a few minor elevation changes. A creek comes into play on #9.

New rubber tee pads were installed summer 2009.

There are 9 Innova DISCatcher Baskets and tee signs.

This course is very beginner friendly. It's pretty short and open.

Hole #9 is awesome! It's 436 feet playing downhill. You have to throw across the parking lot road entrance. There are several big trees protecting the basket and a creek in front of it.

Holes 1, 2, & 9 are ok. Just play that loop. The rest of the course is a waste of time.

This is a great place to practice when no one else is there. From the parking lot every basket is within driving range.
Cons: The course is short and open with very few obstacles.

The design is poor.


There are crossing fairways. Many of the baskets and tees are very close together. Surprsingly this course gets a lot of play so this becomes an issue.

This is a multiuse park. During peewee football they are in the way and cars are in the way on #9. Watch for pedestrians!
Other Thoughts: Mundelein gets my vote for 2 of the worst courses in Illinois. Diamond Lake is 2 miles away and it's another bad 9 holer.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ONE DECENT HOLE

1    11/18/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 787  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good rubber tees.
Good signage.
Three holes over 300 ft.
Hole #9 is 430 ft. across an o.b. road and a creek. Fairly small green...pretty nice shot; though, wide open until the end.
Cons: Very short, very wide open course. Even one of the 300 foot holes is downhill, making it play shorter. One hole only 120 ft.
Other Thoughts: This course was the first of a full day of nine hole courses for two of us. It ended up being one of the worst of a pretty bad group. With that said, tees and baskets were in good shape and park was well maintained. Hole #9 is a decent hole. We got stuck in mega traffic for an hour, within 10 minutes of course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and wide open.

1    8/16/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 872  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) #9 is simply a cool ending hole. Its too bad they didn't use the creek more to their advantage in the design, but that makes for a great ending hole and truthfully I was happy to have played the course because of #9 alone! It isn't worth a trip alone, but because I was hitting 7 other new courses (to me) that day it was not a problem for me.

2) Course has nice signage including a directional to point you to the first hole from the entrance road.

3) Beginner friendly because there is no deep rough or anywhere to lose your disc (until the creek on #9, but is totally avoidable).

4) Good rubber teepads.

5) Tee signs have lots of info including distance, and diagram.

6) Although not real punishing the drainage swale helps add to the feel of the course. You might lose some distance or roll down the hill slightly because of it on a couple holes (#1 specifically).

7) Although overall the course is fairly short, it is nice to see 2 holes around 330' and another (#9) at 436. That 436' plays longer because of an upper ceiling of trees and a creek that those trees can easily throw you into!
Cons: 1) Crossing or very close fairways. Course is setup as a 9 holer and would be a better course as a 6 holer using all of the same features, just making it less crowded.

2) Holes 3-7 are simply too close togther and don;t provide much challeneg or interest either.

3) Distance on #3 of 180 leads me to believe the tee or basket was moved at one point but the distance was not changed on the sign.
Other Thoughts: I have more positives than negatives, but overall this course still leaves a lot to be desired. It doesn't challenge anyone but a beginner, it is poorly designed for the property and size ( I would have only made 6 holes or something), it is pretty flat and wide open. The only real redeeming quality of this course is the creek on #1 tee and #9 basket.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 An uninteresting course

5+    7/1/2008   8/30/2009
Review By: beamrider
Played: 121  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1, 2, and 9 are nice, and have some degree of challenge.
Cons: The entire course is in an open field. Most of the holes have adjacent fairways that make it uncomfortable if the course is crowded.

Holes 3 through 7 have no trees and are simply open shots.

Baskets 3, 6, and 9 are too close to private backyards.

A telephone pole and guide wire are in play on hole 5.
Other Thoughts: There isn't much positive to say. I've played courses throughout Illinois, also in Wisc, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Maine, N.C., Florida, Arkansas, and Nevada, and this course is at the bottom of my list.



3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.