Mt. Kisco, NY 
Leonard Park Share
Uploaded By: tlakin Hole #11 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    6/13/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.1 Years
Pros: Very friendly people who were out doing course work. Very natural and lots of elevation. Each hole was very unique from the next.
Cons: Signage and tee boxes could use a little work and updating. Def some muddy parts wear some old shoes when you go
Other Thoughts: very neat course only got about 9 holes in before we had to go but its enjoyable !

Wooded Challenging Course

1    5/20/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Challenging course with wooded and hilly fairways. On edge of the park away from main traffic areas so little interference from other park goers.
Cons: Course signage is weak or non-existent. Definitely need to take a map along. Lots of low lying areas that can be very muddy.
Other Thoughts: Use insect repellent as mosquitoes can be present.

Leonard

5+    4/5/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: SnowSerf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
Pros: Classic east coast course first designed by a legend. I like this course quite a bit. I almost didn't want to write about it because it is little hidden gem. Yes the holes are a little tough to follow first time around but it does have all new baskets and some new beautiful brick tees are going in. Great to see this classic course being upgraded. Nice changes of elevation. Mainly woods, with workable fairways. Also a couple a practice baskets are nice
Cons: Course layout is a little crazy. The 18th is a big hike from the first and parking lot. Also there is some garbage here and there. Pretty decent signage but it really deserves better, which it seems will be coming.

Download Course Map

1    10/4/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: nnelson42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Not much to add to reviews other than what has already been mentioned other than the old baskets have been mostly updated with brand new baskets.

****IMPORTANT*****

If you have never played Leonard Park before, make sure you bring the course map. I just uploaded it in the media section. Friday was the first time I have played the course and without the map I would never have found all the holes (specifically 15-18)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Historic Gem

5+    9/15/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A piece of disc golf history, designed by Ed Headrick in 1977. One of the first on the east coast.
-The baskets, which were very old and notorious for spitting out discs, are now being replaced. All but three or four holes are new, as of 9/15/13.
-There is also a new practice basket next to hole one, which is a welcome relief from the confidence destroying basket on a rocky slope that doubled as the hole 21/practice basket before.
-The easiest course to reach from Manhattan for those of us without cars. $23 round trip ticket on Metro-North to Mt. Kisco, grab a sandwich across the street at Cosi for between rounds, and take one of the cabs waiting at the train station to Leonard Park (tell him to take you back by the pool, then walk up the hill behind the pool for hole one) for only $5 plus tip. Get his card and call to pick you up when you're done.
-Very rarely have I ever had to wait on other players. Not at all a crowded course.

Cons: -tee pads are awful. If you need a runup to throw, this isn't your course. I throw from a standstill, and it still takes me a minute to find a spot that I feel comfortable throwing from.
-bathrooms are closed when the pool is closed, which is basically when it isn't summer.
-no water fountain.
-Holes 19, 20, 21 should be eliminated. These holes are awkward, and mar an otherwise fantastic short wooded course. They cross each other as well as other fairways, then share 14's basket, which is super annoying when you're about to tee off on 14 and see a disc come flying into your landing zone. 21 crosses a soccer and baseball field (which in summer are always full of people and unplayable anyway) just to get you back to the parking lot. As if you couldn't just walk back to the parking lot without throwing a disc. This hole especially should be eliminated. The course has a great character by being tight and wooded and technical, and it doesn't need the silly tack-on of long open field shots at the end.
-hikers often wander through.. not a big deal, but be aware.
-signage is negligible. Print out a map if you need.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't particularly friendly to first-timers.. few amenities, maps, signs.. no spacious concrete tee pads.. However, this course is full of great and deceptively challenging holes. 270' holes that play like 325', and 270' holes that play like 175'. This was the first course I played in the east, after being introduced to disc golf on the west coast (on the first permanent course Oak Grove in LA). It's been really interesting to play it over and over as I've progressed. I've probably played more than 50 rounds here, and still love trying to find the perfect shot on many holes. I regularly play Nockamixon, Tyler, Warwick, and Cranbury, and I believe that although those courses have more variety, this course rivals them in terms of challenging shot-making and line shaping. Old and new deciduous trees, boulders, and great elevation changes on every hole.

This course is technically short, but it won't feel like it. There are some ace runs (but almost always with a fast green behind to make you think twice), and all birdies have to be earned.

Hole 1 has a slight hill in front of it that can really affect you mentally (especially forehand), sloping up from the tee box and then levels off down a 200' fairway which opens into a large clearing around a beautiful old oak tree. The line makes a hard right turn at the clearing and the pin is about 50' to the right. A very tricky hole to birdie for backhanders, though there is a small route to cut the corner off the right turn and get under the basket.

Hole 2 is one of the longer par 3's at 339'. Nice variety of routes through a wide fairway then a good number of trees halfway to the pin.

Hole 3 is a 315' tunnel of terror. You can either nail your hyzer-flip and laser it down the very narrow fairway, or take your chances forehanding something off to the left into the relatively more open area and giving up on the birdie.

I won't go through the whole course, as there is a good earlier review that describes most of the other holes. I will add that the rough is punishing, but there is almost always an opportunity to save par with a stellar shot, and there are some blind holes where it's possible to lose a disc.. holes 8 and 9 particularly.

All 18 holes are wooded, and there are some very tight fairways, but there's always a way through.

In general, the beauty of this course is that the risk/reward is so balanced.. the more you play this course the more routes you see. There are many holes that have a safer route and a birdie/ace run route... try them both on multiple rounds.

If the tee pads, signs, and useless extra three holes were dealt with, this would easily be a 4.5 star course based on the quality of golf required alone. Hopefully that's underway in the "redesign" notice I saw on the new kiosk near hole one.. It's hard to imagine the 18 main holes altered in any other way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

oldie but a goodie

2-4    6/6/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout. Alot of the wooded courses we have around here are too wooded. This course has just the right amount of trouble to give the players a choice of a couple different lines. Also, good mix of rightie/leftie favoring holes.
Cons: The signage (where it exists) is a bit weak. Lots of mud potential so don't go after rain. WEAR BUG SPRAY... Lots of mosquitoes!
Other Thoughts: Hole 13 gets skipped a lot since the tee for 14 is right next to the basket for 12, so make sure you walk through the woods off to the right for 13. Hole 16 is by far the most fun, giving players a nice gap to clear with a slight annie or well placed late finishing sidearm being rewarding here. Hole 17 is your bag emptying hole with a nice long downhill shot slowly curving left around a hill with a pretty fast green. If you're out of shape you can skip hole 4 by going right of the hill which leads to 5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1st Time at Kisco

1    1/7/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great terrain. I loved the fact that the birdies are there you just have to go get em! Not an easy course but I could see shooting par or better as a local. I am a 890 rated player so Pros could rip this up pretty good but even so the fairway shots are not give away's you have to earn em all. Wooded but not ridiculous. Short but not simple.
Cons: tee pads need work. Better signs. I went for an Ice Bowl but I said to myself at least a few times "I'm glad I'm not alone, I wouldn't find some of these tees"
Other Thoughts: During winter months, provide sleds for a nice down hill going to 18 tee by the pump house!!! hahha. Some kids were tearing it up!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Leonard Park

1    6/9/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: KingOTheCask624
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice and secluded (despite being in a big town park), tons of overgrowth to keep out the sun (but little undergrowth), not too challenging but not too easy
Cons: Not well marked
Other Thoughts: Must be even nicer when it's warmer out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: komo418
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A great test of accuracy because of the heavily guarded holes and fairways. Great work out and setting.
Cons: This course can be very frustrating. Dirt tee pads make it difficult to tee off in wet conditions. Bugs can be aggravating due to the marshy landscape under the dense canopy of trees. Finally, the tee at hole 21 (the longest and most difficult hole) turned into a pond the last day I played. This course would be more fun during the winter time or a doubles tournament. Not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential. All that is needed is better tee pads, new baskets, and a tree here and there cut down.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A must play for everyone.

5+    12/22/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: The Ombudsman
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 39 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A piece of history. Ed Headrick design. Great terrain Stellar layout. Elevation changes and stick trees make this a fun track. Deceptive length on some of the shorter holes. Snack bar in the summer. New hole #4 is in play! Course maps are available at the first tee.
Cons: Dirt tee pads can be tough. some of the baskets date back to the 1970's and cause some bad breaks. The Halloween snowstorm this year caused extensive damage which is steadily getting cleaned up. Trash here can be a problem. Please help keep this park clean
Other Thoughts: Tuesday league during is on from April through October.
Course is going to be redesigned this year to 18 holes with real tee pads!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.