Mt. Kisco, NY 
Leonard Park Share
Uploaded By: tlakin Hole #11 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wooded Challenging Course

1    5/20/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course with wooded and hilly fairways. On edge of the park away from main traffic areas so little interference from other park goers.
Cons: Course signage is weak or non-existent. Definitely need to take a map along. Lots of low lying areas that can be very muddy.
Other Thoughts: Use insect repellent as mosquitoes can be present.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Leonard

5+    4/5/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: SnowSerf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.7 Years
Pros: Classic east coast course first designed by a legend. I like this course quite a bit. I almost didn't want to write about it because it is little hidden gem. Yes the holes are a little tough to follow first time around but it does have all new baskets and some new beautiful brick tees are going in. Great to see this classic course being upgraded. Nice changes of elevation. Mainly woods, with workable fairways. Also a couple a practice baskets are nice
Cons: Course layout is a little crazy. The 18th is a big hike from the first and parking lot. Also there is some garbage here and there. Pretty decent signage but it really deserves better, which it seems will be coming.

Download Course Map

1    10/4/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: nnelson42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Not much to add to reviews other than what has already been mentioned other than the old baskets have been mostly updated with brand new baskets.

****IMPORTANT*****

If you have never played Leonard Park before, make sure you bring the course map. I just uploaded it in the media section. Friday was the first time I have played the course and without the map I would never have found all the holes (specifically 15-18)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Historic Gem

5+    9/15/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A piece of disc golf history, designed by Ed Headrick in 1977. One of the first on the east coast.
-The baskets, which were very old and notorious for spitting out discs, are now being replaced. All but three or four holes are new, as of 9/15/13.
-There is also a new practice basket next to hole one, which is a welcome relief from the confidence destroying basket on a rocky slope that doubled as the hole 21/practice basket before.
-The easiest course to reach from Manhattan for those of us without cars. $23 round trip ticket on Metro-North to Mt. Kisco, grab a sandwich across the street at Cosi for between rounds, and take one of the cabs waiting at the train station to Leonard Park (tell him to take you back by the pool, then walk up the hill behind the pool for hole one) for only $5 plus tip. Get his card and call to pick you up when you're done.
-Very rarely have I ever had to wait on other players. Not at all a crowded course.

Cons: -tee pads are awful. If you need a runup to throw, this isn't your course. I throw from a standstill, and it still takes me a minute to find a spot that I feel comfortable throwing from.
-bathrooms are closed when the pool is closed, which is basically when it isn't summer.
-no water fountain.
-Holes 19, 20, 21 should be eliminated. These holes are awkward, and mar an otherwise fantastic short wooded course. They cross each other as well as other fairways, then share 14's basket, which is super annoying when you're about to tee off on 14 and see a disc come flying into your landing zone. 21 crosses a soccer and baseball field (which in summer are always full of people and unplayable anyway) just to get you back to the parking lot. As if you couldn't just walk back to the parking lot without throwing a disc. This hole especially should be eliminated. The course has a great character by being tight and wooded and technical, and it doesn't need the silly tack-on of long open field shots at the end.
-hikers often wander through.. not a big deal, but be aware.
-signage is negligible. Print out a map if you need.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't particularly friendly to first-timers.. few amenities, maps, signs.. no spacious concrete tee pads.. However, this course is full of great and deceptively challenging holes. 270' holes that play like 325', and 270' holes that play like 175'. This was the first course I played in the east, after being introduced to disc golf on the west coast (on the first permanent course Oak Grove in LA). It's been really interesting to play it over and over as I've progressed. I've probably played more than 50 rounds here, and still love trying to find the perfect shot on many holes. I regularly play Nockamixon, Tyler, Warwick, and Cranbury, and I believe that although those courses have more variety, this course rivals them in terms of challenging shot-making and line shaping. Old and new deciduous trees, boulders, and great elevation changes on every hole.

This course is technically short, but it won't feel like it. There are some ace runs (but almost always with a fast green behind to make you think twice), and all birdies have to be earned.

Hole 1 has a slight hill in front of it that can really affect you mentally (especially forehand), sloping up from the tee box and then levels off down a 200' fairway which opens into a large clearing around a beautiful old oak tree. The line makes a hard right turn at the clearing and the pin is about 50' to the right. A very tricky hole to birdie for backhanders, though there is a small route to cut the corner off the right turn and get under the basket.

Hole 2 is one of the longer par 3's at 339'. Nice variety of routes through a wide fairway then a good number of trees halfway to the pin.

Hole 3 is a 315' tunnel of terror. You can either nail your hyzer-flip and laser it down the very narrow fairway, or take your chances forehanding something off to the left into the relatively more open area and giving up on the birdie.

I won't go through the whole course, as there is a good earlier review that describes most of the other holes. I will add that the rough is punishing, but there is almost always an opportunity to save par with a stellar shot, and there are some blind holes where it's possible to lose a disc.. holes 8 and 9 particularly.

All 18 holes are wooded, and there are some very tight fairways, but there's always a way through.

In general, the beauty of this course is that the risk/reward is so balanced.. the more you play this course the more routes you see. There are many holes that have a safer route and a birdie/ace run route... try them both on multiple rounds.

If the tee pads, signs, and useless extra three holes were dealt with, this would easily be a 4.5 star course based on the quality of golf required alone. Hopefully that's underway in the "redesign" notice I saw on the new kiosk near hole one.. It's hard to imagine the 18 main holes altered in any other way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1st Time at Kisco

1    1/7/2013   1/7/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great terrain. I loved the fact that the birdies are there you just have to go get em! Not an easy course but I could see shooting par or better as a local. I am a 890 rated player so Pros could rip this up pretty good but even so the fairway shots are not give away's you have to earn em all. Wooded but not ridiculous. Short but not simple.
Cons: tee pads need work. Better signs. I went for an Ice Bowl but I said to myself at least a few times "I'm glad I'm not alone, I wouldn't find some of these tees"
Other Thoughts: During winter months, provide sleds for a nice down hill going to 18 tee by the pump house!!! hahha. Some kids were tearing it up!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Leonard Park

1    6/9/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: KingOTheCask624
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice and secluded (despite being in a big town park), tons of overgrowth to keep out the sun (but little undergrowth), not too challenging but not too easy
Cons: Not well marked
Other Thoughts: Must be even nicer when it's warmer out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A nice Kisco course

1    9/14/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: Stativa44
Played: 92  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain is something to brag about. After playing a few holes I met up with some locals, thank god, they were able to show me the course which is very hard to navigate, however, an awesome course if you know your way around.

If playing for the first time, look for other locals or Disc'ers to help guide you along.

I was told that this is one of the original courses in the country from 1974, and that disc golf "started" there (at least in that area)

A really nice hike, and some cool shots that either have a uphill/downhill or across the valley kind of throws.

A challenging course from the 'am' pads with lots of leaves on the ground and a helpful rock wall boundaries.

A must play if traveling through.
Cons: No signage, the course will be very hard to navigate if you don't have prior knowledge, however, a weekend or evening game should provide some locals to show you around (who seem to all be very nice)

When it rains it pours. The course was so muddy and where it wasn't muddy but should have been the ground had been so saturated that a river was forming over it. But again, with proper hiking boots, or even some kind of shoe you can get wet, you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Very cool course, could use some tender loving care on the signs/pads. It would be nice since the course is already up and designed, now just needs a revamp.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Adventure

5+    10/14/2005   2/15/2009
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a disc golf adventure where every hole is unique. Very interesting and different from other courses. Lots of elevation and woods. Fairways through the woods are wide enough to get off a good shot. Very cool downhill and uphill shots.
Cons: If you are not a Mt. Kisco resident you must park outside the park and walk in. If you don't like woodsy hilly courses than this is not for you. Can be a bit of a workout with all of the elevation changes....bring tough hiking boots. Some tees can be a bit uneven and rocky (watch out for twisted ankles).
Other Thoughts: Although this is a cool course, I prefer to play the nearby FDR course in Yorktown Heights. It's a bit easier on the feet and legs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course

5/11/2007   12/11/2007
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Makes great use of the wooded terrain.
Nice elevation changes
Plenty of birdie chances
Cons: Needs some updating on tees and baskets
Other Thoughts: Nice park

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.