Mt. Kisco, NY 
Leonard Park Share
Uploaded By: tlakin Hole #7 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
New Tee Boxes are excellent... now a excellent and fun course to check out.

2-4    11/1/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: runningDoc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very old school course situated in a elevated area with almost all 18 holes being entirely inside the woods.

It looks like all the tees are are getting new tee boxes and some already have them installed. The new tee boxes look great (with brick patterns).

UPDATE (11/1/14): the new teepads are in! and are excellent. It looks like brick/terraform so its very grippy and confidence inducing during long run ups.

There are some great challenging/interesting holes (like hole 8 and 6 which play very long. And other holes which you have to throw up a large hill (looks to be at least 45ft high) or across a ravine.

UPDATE (11/1/14): they have combined holes 2 and 3 for a mega 500ft par 4 inside the dense woods. Its more open than it looks though and adds a nice long hole to this park which didn't seem possible since its 95% inside the thick forest.

The park has free parking and is actually located on a larger park that has many ball fields, nice public pool, and some pretty good sandwich shops/pizza slice places nearby.

The ball fields right next to the course is great to do some nice field practice work warm ups before a round.

UPDATE 11/1/14 - Since the new tee boxes are installed this park is definitely a 4.0 now. Its a great north east DG park with super technical wooded shots mixed in with some fun elevation holes (hole 3 where you throw upward on a 40ft high hill) and hole 8 where you throw down the the other side of the hill on a slight dog leg right.

Hole 13 is a fun one where you throw across a large ravine, where righties/LHFH throwers have to think twice about going wide or else it'll hit rock wall and roll all the way down.
Cons: as of 11/1/14 the new excellent brick/terraform tee boxes are in, but no permanent signage has been created. Its confusing because they combined holes 2 and three and the numbering on some of the old signs are now one off.

It was easy enough for me to figure it out since I've played the course before, but definitely confusing for new players. Fortunately there is a map on the WEDGE website of the new layout so if you have a smartphone just go to wedge (westchesterdiscgolf.com) and work from there.

if you're used to nicer courses with proper tee signage this might be a negative.
Other Thoughts: I played here for the 1st time and it was a tournament no less and had some extra time to run through the course quickly with just a putter an a midrange before the tournament started.

I actually scored better with just the putter and midrange running quickly to get in a round than my actual tournament with all my discs a little later... doh!

as of 11/1/14 I finally got to play this course again and since I knew a lot of the tricks and lines to take I scored a lot better than the monthly tournament I did when I was a total beginner. Its a fun course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/13/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very friendly people who were out doing course work. Very natural and lots of elevation. Each hole was very unique from the next.
Cons: Signage and tee boxes could use a little work and updating. Def some muddy parts wear some old shoes when you go
Other Thoughts: very neat course only got about 9 holes in before we had to go but its enjoyable !

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

oldie but a goodie

2-4    6/6/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout. Alot of the wooded courses we have around here are too wooded. This course has just the right amount of trouble to give the players a choice of a couple different lines. Also, good mix of rightie/leftie favoring holes.
Cons: The signage (where it exists) is a bit weak. Lots of mud potential so don't go after rain. WEAR BUG SPRAY... Lots of mosquitoes!
Other Thoughts: Hole 13 gets skipped a lot since the tee for 14 is right next to the basket for 12, so make sure you walk through the woods off to the right for 13. Hole 16 is by far the most fun, giving players a nice gap to clear with a slight annie or well placed late finishing sidearm being rewarding here. Hole 17 is your bag emptying hole with a nice long downhill shot slowly curving left around a hill with a pretty fast green. If you're out of shape you can skip hole 4 by going right of the hill which leads to 5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A must play for everyone.

5+    12/22/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: The Ombudsman
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 39.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A piece of history. Ed Headrick design. Great terrain Stellar layout. Elevation changes and stick trees make this a fun track. Deceptive length on some of the shorter holes. Snack bar in the summer. New hole #4 is in play! Course maps are available at the first tee.
Cons: Dirt tee pads can be tough. some of the baskets date back to the 1970's and cause some bad breaks. The Halloween snowstorm this year caused extensive damage which is steadily getting cleaned up. Trash here can be a problem. Please help keep this park clean
Other Thoughts: Tuesday league during is on from April through October.
Course is going to be redesigned this year to 18 holes with real tee pads!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Played After Funeral

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: joesteam
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 35.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a casual player that had first played about 25 years ago on one of those tree and fire hydrant courses at my old college. Anywhere I travel, I use this site to find a course and play. Having to go to a funeral in Valhalla, this is the course that had good reviews and was close. Now don't cry about the funeral, I didn't. I did love this course. Yes, as others have said the tees are dirt, the baskets old, and it does double back on you, but I LOVE playing in the woods. There are bugs and animals. Here, Golf is a great excuse for a hike. You really have to plan the shots through and around trees and stuff, and, as an amateur, was able to get 4's on most of the par 3's. It is very relaxing and even though it was Sunday at about noon, I saw nobody else out. There is evidence of some good maintenance, with some fallen wood cut on the paths, path markings, etc. I missed only a hole or two on the first pass through.
Cons: My home course is Campgaw, which also has some really nice woods and some tee shots where you can really let go. This course, except a hole or two, is a bit smaller off the tee on most shots. So, if you want to throw that 200 footer, play catch on the baseball field.
Other Thoughts: It was hot when I went, you have to bring your own water.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 1977 Disco was King/2010 Kisco Still King

1    1/6/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was built in 1977 and amongst the original 6 in the country. A delightful concoction of steep hills, large boulders, old hardwoods, and creativity combine to form a surprisingly relevant disc course in the year 2010. Yes this course is 33 yrs old but this 21 holer has much staying power. I assure you that this is the best pure disc golf course in the greater New York area. (better than FDR, Cranbury, Campgaw, and gives J-Park and Warwick a run for the money) 18 of the 21 holes play through dense woods with ample fairways. There is minimal shule if any at all. The challenge is in shot making like it should be. There is no digging through underbrush. Elevation gains and drops throughout the entire course. Old growth trees form perfect fairways and there are large boulders that guard greens and create an amazing beauty not found in many places. I never felt the course was unfair or too easy. I felt every hole challenged me to choose and then pick from a multitude of endless lines or shots with plenty of trouble via trees, boulders, cliffs, hills, roll-aways, and some longer par 4s that required multiple shots to safely approach the often precarious or protected green. Some holes deserve special mention.
After 3 strong woods holes the course begins to show it's deep woods technical character as follows
#4- A short uphill drive that requires a powerful accurate drive to a basket nestled atop a steep grade
#7 A basket nestled in the saddle of 2 large boulder mounds
#8 A downhill par 4 that rquires accuracy early and a delicate approach as the green slopes off dramatically
#9 A delightful up and over that is blind but the lines are clearly visible

The course really gets fun as it progresses at
#12 A slightly downhill drive that provides lots of fun
#13 one of the best holes tight, blind, fast green with a cliff running the left edge of fairway
#14 a short tight S-turn that will have you wanting to achieve that perfect flex

Now it gets really intense
#15 a huge open uphill drive to an ever narrowing wooded fairway atop a massive hill to a protected approach and green area
#16 the Signature Hole..a shot from atop one crest to another with a gorge valley between and steeper hillsides to the left and right. Hit a tree and you could be 100 ft down a hillside R or L. Hit it perfect and you could be parked. A fair fun and challenging hole.
#17 A steep downhill wooded screamer through the woods to a protected green below.
#19 is a relatively open downhill with woods to the right and open air and steep grass hill left. Play it right and your parked. Mess up and your hyzering off the hillside with a big upshot to the basket.
#21 The only open drive of the day over a massive field to a protected basket.
The course is secluded from other park activities (unless a ballgame is being played in summer on 21) Can't believe this place was laid out in the year of Star Wars, Disco, and the 77 Yankees!
Cons: While this course's design is still difficult and challenging, unfortunately playing it can be challenging/difficult for the same reasons. The tees are natural/rutted and at times dangerous. Their is no kiosk, signage is gone or faded, navigation signs, (though there are maps at hole #1 if you look carefully), the baskets are worn out dilapidated antiques that perform a local trick...getting Kiscoed means a deflection or spit out and I never saw so many in one round. There is an awkward area around holes 14,15,19, and 20 where the course either criss crosses fairways(15,20)(15,19), Shares Baskets due to theft of #20?(14,20), or runs close to other fairways(15,19,20). A little swampy/icy in the first couple of holes. In general it's an old course that needs a facelift. Better signage, rubber tees, newer baskets, and fixing the shared basket and flow problems and suddenly this old course is amonst the best in the northeast. Yeah the layout is that good.
Apparently parking is only for locals in the summer months.
Other Thoughts: I think this course despite it's first time unfriendliness should be played by any serious DGer. I kept thinking about how ingenious the design was and how with some simple modifications you have a premiere course. If you need splashy signs, new baskets, huge concrete tees, and amenities don't bother coming here. (Go to Warwick or Cranbury instead) but if you enjoy shotmaking, line shaping, variety of holes and natural beauty this is where you need to go. Course begins behind the farthest baseball field from the entrance. Get a map from DGCR to aid in navigation. In short it's from 1977 but kids still love Star Wars, Chicks still dance to Disco, and the Yankees still win the World Series. Somethings never change!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Old school DGC

1    1/10/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 29.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout thru the trees and across many hills. Old school baskets brought back memories of my early DG days in Michigan.
Cons: The tees are uneven and rocky. Careful foot placement is required.
Other Thoughts: Played in the 09 Ice Bowl and love the course design/layout !!!
Playing in the shade on a 90 deg. day would be nice. Can't wait to check it out in the summer.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Woody and tight but great

5+    10/11/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: tlakin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the few disc golf courses that you can get to without a car from New York City. The course is almost entirely in the woods so very nice on a hot summer day. Baskets are pretty well maintained. Tight shots but many holes are reachable off the tee.
Cons: Course is very tight and can be frustrating as you continue to bang into trees. Footing can be bad in the tee box as it is all dirt and plenty of tree roots on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Since moving to New York from Ohio this is the only course that I have played near the city and it has to be in the 50+ times range now. It is well worth the trip from NYC via the Metro North train and the 20 minute walk from the station to the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.