Mt. Kisco, NY
Leonard Park Share
Uploaded By: tlakin Hole #11 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 1977 Disco was King/2010 Kisco Still King

1    1/6/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was built in 1977 and amongst the original 6 in the country. A delightful concoction of steep hills, large boulders, old hardwoods, and creativity combine to form a surprisingly relevant disc course in the year 2010. Yes this course is 33 yrs old but this 21 holer has much staying power. I assure you that this is the best pure disc golf course in the greater New York area. (better than FDR, Cranbury, Campgaw, and gives J-Park and Warwick a run for the money) 18 of the 21 holes play through dense woods with ample fairways. There is minimal shule if any at all. The challenge is in shot making like it should be. There is no digging through underbrush. Elevation gains and drops throughout the entire course. Old growth trees form perfect fairways and there are large boulders that guard greens and create an amazing beauty not found in many places. I never felt the course was unfair or too easy. I felt every hole challenged me to choose and then pick from a multitude of endless lines or shots with plenty of trouble via trees, boulders, cliffs, hills, roll-aways, and some longer par 4s that required multiple shots to safely approach the often precarious or protected green. Some holes deserve special mention.
After 3 strong woods holes the course begins to show it's deep woods technical character as follows
#4- A short uphill drive that requires a powerful accurate drive to a basket nestled atop a steep grade
#7 A basket nestled in the saddle of 2 large boulder mounds
#8 A downhill par 4 that rquires accuracy early and a delicate approach as the green slopes off dramatically
#9 A delightful up and over that is blind but the lines are clearly visible

The course really gets fun as it progresses at
#12 A slightly downhill drive that provides lots of fun
#13 one of the best holes tight, blind, fast green with a cliff running the left edge of fairway
#14 a short tight S-turn that will have you wanting to achieve that perfect flex

Now it gets really intense
#15 a huge open uphill drive to an ever narrowing wooded fairway atop a massive hill to a protected approach and green area
#16 the Signature Hole..a shot from atop one crest to another with a gorge valley between and steeper hillsides to the left and right. Hit a tree and you could be 100 ft down a hillside R or L. Hit it perfect and you could be parked. A fair fun and challenging hole.
#17 A steep downhill wooded screamer through the woods to a protected green below.
#19 is a relatively open downhill with woods to the right and open air and steep grass hill left. Play it right and your parked. Mess up and your hyzering off the hillside with a big upshot to the basket.
#21 The only open drive of the day over a massive field to a protected basket.
The course is secluded from other park activities (unless a ballgame is being played in summer on 21) Can't believe this place was laid out in the year of Star Wars, Disco, and the 77 Yankees!
Cons: While this course's design is still difficult and challenging, unfortunately playing it can be challenging/difficult for the same reasons. The tees are natural/rutted and at times dangerous. Their is no kiosk, signage is gone or faded, navigation signs, (though there are maps at hole #1 if you look carefully), the baskets are worn out dilapidated antiques that perform a local trick...getting Kiscoed means a deflection or spit out and I never saw so many in one round. There is an awkward area around holes 14,15,19, and 20 where the course either criss crosses fairways(15,20)(15,19), Shares Baskets due to theft of #20?(14,20), or runs close to other fairways(15,19,20). A little swampy/icy in the first couple of holes. In general it's an old course that needs a facelift. Better signage, rubber tees, newer baskets, and fixing the shared basket and flow problems and suddenly this old course is amonst the best in the northeast. Yeah the layout is that good.
Apparently parking is only for locals in the summer months.
Other Thoughts: I think this course despite it's first time unfriendliness should be played by any serious DGer. I kept thinking about how ingenious the design was and how with some simple modifications you have a premiere course. If you need splashy signs, new baskets, huge concrete tees, and amenities don't bother coming here. (Go to Warwick or Cranbury instead) but if you enjoy shotmaking, line shaping, variety of holes and natural beauty this is where you need to go. Course begins behind the farthest baseball field from the entrance. Get a map from DGCR to aid in navigation. In short it's from 1977 but kids still love Star Wars, Chicks still dance to Disco, and the Yankees still win the World Series. Somethings never change!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Wooded Course

1    10/17/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: nott84
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you love hiking through woods and playing tight holes, this course is for you. Only my second time out, I enjoyed the challenge of the dense trees. Definitely "broke in" the driver here. As others have said, fun elevation changes. Used more styles of shots than I normally try. Some double basket holes (see cons).
Cons: I would highly recommend a map for this course, I tossed in the complete wrong direction on #4 or 5. Tees are rough so its difficult to run up. Some baskets are marked incorrectly (11 says 8 until you get closer). I couldnt locate the "long" basket on two of the holes. (However, I AM colorblind and it IS fall)
Other Thoughts: I will go again once I get a better handle on all my shots.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    8/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 66  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation throughout the course. Some pretty tough wooded lines that'll force you to make some shots you may not be comfortable, you'll need more than your backhand to shoot well here. There are some good opportunities for birdies and bogies alike. I was impressed by the diversity of the holes throughout the course. Has a decent flow for the most part. Set in a pretty park, but the majority of the course was by itself so other park goers aren't usually a problem.
Cons: TEE-PADS! I have no problem with natural tee-pads usually, but these were in sorry shape. I was constantly fearing that I would break my ankle on each throw. I found myself driving without a runup to avoid falling on my face. Signage was also extremely poor. It looked like there used to be some signs, then most of those dissapeared so some people starting writing hole info in sharpie, but most of that was just smudged so you couldn't really tell what they were saying in most cases.
The baskets were old, but for the most part were still in working condition, so thats not too big of a con, a couple were being held together by string, but they still did the job.
I didn't really like the last few holes, they were mostly open and seemed just like a way to get you back to the parking lot. They also take you pretty close to a couple of recreational fields which could definitely be an issue if there were games going on.
Other Thoughts: This is not a bad course, the overall design is pretty good and there are several great holes. It just needs a little bit of love to get back into top form, starting off with the tee-pads, and the signs could use some help as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So much promise, but...

2-4    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course, using the terrain very well. Need a wide variety of shots. Change-able holes.
Cons: Tee boxes are in pitiful shape. Navigating the course is very difficult without a course map, as the signage is woefully inadequate. The majority of the baskets, while usable, are in sad shape. The baskets themselves are difficult to see, as several are missing any sort of marking. Lastly, the last three holes (19, 20, and 21) are fairly pointless. The 19th hole is a trek uphill only to throw back to where you were, the 20th hole is missing its basket completely, and the 21st hole is entirely too close to the busy fields and courts.
Other Thoughts: This course has so much going for it, but the upkeep on it has been neglected. Every tee box needs repair or TLC, and all of the signage needs to be redone/replaced completely.

Updated to say that the tee boxes are in such poor shape that I felt it warranted a reduced score; I couldn't drive out off the tee without worrying about risking injury. Also, the map was redone to show the basket for #14 as also the basket for the one missing on hole #20.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Day in the Woods

5+    3/1/2009   3/1/2009
Review By: safetyman42
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of diverse shots needed, great scenery, tight through the woods. There is little poison ivy which is a plus in my book. Some great finesse shots strung out all over the course.
Cons: Hard to navigate if it's your first time, Warn out tees, some new baskets would be nice. Hole three can be a swamp in the summer. Also, during the summer the last hole often is interrupted by a soccer or baseball game. All of the signs could be upgraded.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites of all time. I play it a few times a week. The trees either hate you or love you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Adventure

5+    10/14/2005   2/15/2009
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a disc golf adventure where every hole is unique. Very interesting and different from other courses. Lots of elevation and woods. Fairways through the woods are wide enough to get off a good shot. Very cool downhill and uphill shots.
Cons: If you are not a Mt. Kisco resident you must park outside the park and walk in. If you don't like woodsy hilly courses than this is not for you. Can be a bit of a workout with all of the elevation changes....bring tough hiking boots. Some tees can be a bit uneven and rocky (watch out for twisted ankles).
Other Thoughts: Although this is a cool course, I prefer to play the nearby FDR course in Yorktown Heights. It's a bit easier on the feet and legs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Old school DGC

1    1/10/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 28.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout thru the trees and across many hills. Old school baskets brought back memories of my early DG days in Michigan.
Cons: The tees are uneven and rocky. Careful foot placement is required.
Other Thoughts: Played in the 09 Ice Bowl and love the course design/layout !!!
Playing in the shade on a 90 deg. day would be nice. Can't wait to check it out in the summer.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Woody and tight but great

5+    10/11/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: tlakin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the few disc golf courses that you can get to without a car from New York City. The course is almost entirely in the woods so very nice on a hot summer day. Baskets are pretty well maintained. Tight shots but many holes are reachable off the tee.
Cons: Course is very tight and can be frustrating as you continue to bang into trees. Footing can be bad in the tee box as it is all dirt and plenty of tree roots on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Since moving to New York from Ohio this is the only course that I have played near the city and it has to be in the 50+ times range now. It is well worth the trip from NYC via the Metro North train and the 20 minute walk from the station to the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course

5/11/2007   12/11/2007
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Makes great use of the wooded terrain.
Nice elevation changes
Plenty of birdie chances
Cons: Needs some updating on tees and baskets
Other Thoughts: Nice park

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.