Mt. Kisco, NY 
Leonard Park Share
Uploaded By: Rplus84 Hole #10 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Needs some work

1    8/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 72  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation throughout the course. Some pretty tough wooded lines that'll force you to make some shots you may not be comfortable, you'll need more than your backhand to shoot well here. There are some good opportunities for birdies and bogies alike. I was impressed by the diversity of the holes throughout the course. Has a decent flow for the most part. Set in a pretty park, but the majority of the course was by itself so other park goers aren't usually a problem.
Cons: TEE-PADS! I have no problem with natural tee-pads usually, but these were in sorry shape. I was constantly fearing that I would break my ankle on each throw. I found myself driving without a runup to avoid falling on my face. Signage was also extremely poor. It looked like there used to be some signs, then most of those dissapeared so some people starting writing hole info in sharpie, but most of that was just smudged so you couldn't really tell what they were saying in most cases.
The baskets were old, but for the most part were still in working condition, so thats not too big of a con, a couple were being held together by string, but they still did the job.
I didn't really like the last few holes, they were mostly open and seemed just like a way to get you back to the parking lot. They also take you pretty close to a couple of recreational fields which could definitely be an issue if there were games going on.
Other Thoughts: This is not a bad course, the overall design is pretty good and there are several great holes. It just needs a little bit of love to get back into top form, starting off with the tee-pads, and the signs could use some help as well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So much promise, but...

2-4    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course, using the terrain very well. Need a wide variety of shots. Change-able holes.
Cons: Tee boxes are in pitiful shape. Navigating the course is very difficult without a course map, as the signage is woefully inadequate. The majority of the baskets, while usable, are in sad shape. The baskets themselves are difficult to see, as several are missing any sort of marking. Lastly, the last three holes (19, 20, and 21) are fairly pointless. The 19th hole is a trek uphill only to throw back to where you were, the 20th hole is missing its basket completely, and the 21st hole is entirely too close to the busy fields and courts.
Other Thoughts: This course has so much going for it, but the upkeep on it has been neglected. Every tee box needs repair or TLC, and all of the signage needs to be redone/replaced completely.

Updated to say that the tee boxes are in such poor shape that I felt it warranted a reduced score; I couldn't drive out off the tee without worrying about risking injury. Also, the map was redone to show the basket for #14 as also the basket for the one missing on hole #20.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Day in the Woods

5+    3/1/2009   3/1/2009
Review By: safetyman42
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of diverse shots needed, great scenery, tight through the woods. There is little poison ivy which is a plus in my book. Some great finesse shots strung out all over the course.
Cons: Hard to navigate if it's your first time, Warn out tees, some new baskets would be nice. Hole three can be a swamp in the summer. Also, during the summer the last hole often is interrupted by a soccer or baseball game. All of the signs could be upgraded.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites of all time. I play it a few times a week. The trees either hate you or love you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Adventure

5+    10/14/2005   2/15/2009
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 17.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a disc golf adventure where every hole is unique. Very interesting and different from other courses. Lots of elevation and woods. Fairways through the woods are wide enough to get off a good shot. Very cool downhill and uphill shots.
Cons: If you are not a Mt. Kisco resident you must park outside the park and walk in. If you don't like woodsy hilly courses than this is not for you. Can be a bit of a workout with all of the elevation changes....bring tough hiking boots. Some tees can be a bit uneven and rocky (watch out for twisted ankles).
Other Thoughts: Although this is a cool course, I prefer to play the nearby FDR course in Yorktown Heights. It's a bit easier on the feet and legs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Old school DGC

1    1/10/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 84  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 30.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout thru the trees and across many hills. Old school baskets brought back memories of my early DG days in Michigan.
Cons: The tees are uneven and rocky. Careful foot placement is required.
Other Thoughts: Played in the 09 Ice Bowl and love the course design/layout !!!
Playing in the shade on a 90 deg. day would be nice. Can't wait to check it out in the summer.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Woody and tight but great

5+    10/11/2008   10/14/2008
Review By: tlakin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the few disc golf courses that you can get to without a car from New York City. The course is almost entirely in the woods so very nice on a hot summer day. Baskets are pretty well maintained. Tight shots but many holes are reachable off the tee.
Cons: Course is very tight and can be frustrating as you continue to bang into trees. Footing can be bad in the tee box as it is all dirt and plenty of tree roots on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: Since moving to New York from Ohio this is the only course that I have played near the city and it has to be in the 50+ times range now. It is well worth the trip from NYC via the Metro North train and the 20 minute walk from the station to the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course

5/11/2007   12/11/2007
Review By: Greg Kurtz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Makes great use of the wooded terrain.
Nice elevation changes
Plenty of birdie chances
Cons: Needs some updating on tees and baskets
Other Thoughts: Nice park

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.