Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: cooleyes37 Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket is dead straight, with a slight rise in elevation just before the basket. The other 2 placements are out of sight, tucked uphill and to the left.



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Cedar Hill's younger smarter course

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Shorter but more technical.

-Good signage and tee pads.

-Portapotty in parking lot.

-Sister park on site for some variety.

-Beautiful park.

-Variety of shots needed to play this course well- no two holes are the same and the entire round was interesting.
Cons: -Can be confusing to find the next tee.

-Some shots are very tight (18) and have lots and lots of trees or doglegs!

-"MELK" has been here.
Other Thoughts: -If you use the iUdisc app, I created a course map for this one today. It should help
(me at least) find my way around next time.

-Probably my favorite course to date.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best ever

5+    8/1/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: EL WORM
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Best course of the two at the park.. One hole that me and my friends call the "Kunya" is my fav. Its a 200+ yards hole that goes down hill and tucks right under a big tree.. Best course ever played
Cons: Needs lighting for night time gaming
Other Thoughts: would be nice if they sold discs or equipment at the park

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 48  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses in the DFW area. It is a very tight, wooded, technical course. It's a course to show off al your mad tree hitting skills. This is very much a finesse over power course. There are just enough open holes to keep it from getting repetitive.
Cons: The terrain can be a bit rough. At some holes it almost appears that a hiking trail was slightly widened to allow a disc golf course. If you throw or skip off into rough, it can be unpleasant finding you disc. The course is very popular and parking can be very tight.
Other Thoughts: It's also nice to have Beaver, the other course at the park. Beaver is much more open and is a nice compliment to Coyote. You can play both at the same visit.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Signs on every hole. Very well kept course.
Cons: Seemed to me that there to many tunnel shots on the course. A bigger area for parking would be nice. The course layout didn't seem to flow very well. Had to search to figure out where the next hole started.
Other Thoughts: Personally I thought some holes were to long to be par 3's. course requires you to be very accurate with your drive or the course will make you pay.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My new favorite course.

1    4/8/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: FairwayBeast
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! My buddies and I have been touring DFW and this is the best I've played yet. A really nice mix of technicality. I'm a huge fan of bear creek but this course is way better. Not to mention it has two courses on one plot. Also the first time a sank a 106 foot fairway drive. I counted every foot.
Cons: I really didn't find anything that I disliked here. It's a really fun course and well planed.
Other Thoughts: It's a bit of a drive but you can play ALL day here and not be disappointed.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Tight technical fun

1    4/13/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the shorter and more technical of the two in this park. The majority of the holes play through tight woods with thick brushy rough. Missing your line is heavily punished, with tough recovery shots and short pitch outs required if you're much off the fairway. The wooded shots call for a great variety of lines, with left and right turning shots and a few creative line shaping challenge.

Elevation is more in play on this course, with some tricky uphill shots and some rollaway potential. The few open holes mixed in offer a nice balance and keep things from feeling too repetitive. The tees are nice concrete, they're a little short but that's not a big deal on a shorter course like this. The baskets show some wear, but catch fine. The color coded and numbered tee posts are a nice plus, especially in the area where both courses are near one another.
Cons: The signs are faded and difficult or impossible to read. With alternate pin placements and some blind wooded shots, it means there's a bunch of extra walking to figure out where to throw. It seemed odd to have the course start so far from the parking lot, it works ok to play everything as a 36 hole loop, but if you only want to play the Coyote course it adds 5-10 minutes of walking at either end and it's not obvious where to go your first time out.

This course has very similar lengths throughout, I didn't pull out very many different discs during the round. I enjoyed the short game challenge, but something other than a putter shot would make it a bit more interesting.
Other Thoughts: I would stop at these courses again if I am in the area, they are both enjoyable rounds and complement each other really well. Beginners will have more fun on this course, it's shorter and that makes the thick rough a little less frustrating though it does have lots of tight lines. Experienced players won't need more than putters and mids for the majority of the holes, but it does provide some great variety and challenge in the short game.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Acme backfiring on the Wiley E Coyote

1    4/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees with nice tee signs and baskets. A couple holes have multiple pins. Short technical course through the woods. Some good use of available elevation.
Cons: It's a bit of a hike to tee 1 from the parking lot and back from 18. Mud was an issue although not as bad as Beaver. Poison Ivy and rough is tough. Had some navigation issues. Parking lot is fairly small for course let alone two courses.
Other Thoughts: Maybe Coyote is just not my cup of tea, just like how Wiley E Coyote never gets the Roadrunner. The course is quite short and technical. A few of the fairways weren't really fair, more like throw a soft putter and hope it doesn't kick bad. Off the "fairway" the rough is quite rough and you basically just have to pitch back. I think I threw my soft putter off the tee about 90% of the time. You do have to throw different lines, but the holes are all fairly short and tight. I felt like there wasn't much variety or creativity allowed playing the course so the fun factor for me just wasn't there.

For people out of town like myself, I'd make sure the course is dry before playing here. I'd probably rate a little higher if it weren't for the mud.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 MEEP MEEP

2-4    5/23/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging
Great Upkeep
Concrete tees
Mostly shaded
Cons: Some tees are half size, can make it hard for those who have a ritual run up.
Luck comes into play on some holes
Other Thoughts: This course is as equally challenging as beaver.... instead of large open areas you have short heavily wooded holes that will have dog legs and protected baskets because of trees and etc. If you are a big arm type of person you will HATE this course because it requires softer more accurate throws. This course is for the thinking player! That being said, it is a great course and a even greater pairing with its other half beaver, these are MUST plays if you are coming through the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 played both- two of two

1    5/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *short holes are made challenging by woods, and heavily curved (dog legged holes)
*concrete teeboxes
*great layout
*more shade coverage then beaver 2 to 14 and even 15 can be considered "covered"
*scenic, nice walk
*finesse course, if you are a big arm, no control thrower you will hate most of this course.
*kind of diverse, but its "s"turn the trees, or throw hard right or left around trees, then a few wide open shots
*not alot of wind-again big for playing in texas
*baskets were a little easier to visualize from tee box on this course compared to beaver
*most of course was easy to navigate (print the map)
Cons: *could have trouble finding first hole for first timers---print the map
*some short holes....but are made challenging
*i can see after rain how this course may not dry quickly
*even though there are a few long holes there are only a couple that you are able to really let one go
*nothing really close, so bring water from home
--again like last post nothing that would keep me away,overall, a very nice playable course, i would be a bit hesitant to play this course after a heavy rain
Other Thoughts: we played both courses in one day back to back with no break, this is a shorter course, so im glad we played this second. which i would suggest doing if you choose to play both. Print map from above link section

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/26/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice but tight wooded par-3 course with lots of variety in shots.
Several elevation changes throughout the day.
By far the most difficult course I've played.
Concrete tee pads.
There are also PVC pipes sticking out of the ground that will direct you to any unseen baskets.
Cons: Some poison ivy but I've seen much worse at other courses.
Little bit of a walk to get to first tee.
Could use an extra sign on a few holes where you need to backtrack down the fairway to find the path to the next tee box.
Other Thoughts: Clipping a tree or two and ending up in the woods is just part of your day here so don't get frustrated.
Also, if you start early you may want to play both Coyote and Beaver back-to-back before the Texas sun wears you out. Bring water and enjoy this great course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center