Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: cooleyes37 Hole #13 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tight technical fun

1    4/13/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the shorter and more technical of the two in this park. The majority of the holes play through tight woods with thick brushy rough. Missing your line is heavily punished, with tough recovery shots and short pitch outs required if you're much off the fairway. The wooded shots call for a great variety of lines, with left and right turning shots and a few creative line shaping challenge.

Elevation is more in play on this course, with some tricky uphill shots and some rollaway potential. The few open holes mixed in offer a nice balance and keep things from feeling too repetitive. The tees are nice concrete, they're a little short but that's not a big deal on a shorter course like this. The baskets show some wear, but catch fine. The color coded and numbered tee posts are a nice plus, especially in the area where both courses are near one another.
Cons: The signs are faded and difficult or impossible to read. With alternate pin placements and some blind wooded shots, it means there's a bunch of extra walking to figure out where to throw. It seemed odd to have the course start so far from the parking lot, it works ok to play everything as a 36 hole loop, but if you only want to play the Coyote course it adds 5-10 minutes of walking at either end and it's not obvious where to go your first time out.

This course has very similar lengths throughout, I didn't pull out very many different discs during the round. I enjoyed the short game challenge, but something other than a putter shot would make it a bit more interesting.
Other Thoughts: I would stop at these courses again if I am in the area, they are both enjoyable rounds and complement each other really well. Beginners will have more fun on this course, it's shorter and that makes the thick rough a little less frustrating though it does have lots of tight lines. Experienced players won't need more than putters and mids for the majority of the holes, but it does provide some great variety and challenge in the short game.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun After Work

1    4/13/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Makes you throw low( cause of over hanging trees ) and accurate( again cause of all the trees ). The tree cover is nice on hot Texas days. Nice variety of long and short holes. Never felt like I was throwing the same hole over and over. Fairways are well groomed, no tall grass or weeds to fight with. Most holes had alternate basket placements which would help give the course variety if you played it often.
Cons: Bring a map other wise you will be hunting for the next tee. You have to walk back down the fairway on a few hole to get to the path that leads to the next tee. Some signs indicating where to go from the basket would be very helpful. Some signs at the parking lot telling you where to go for hole one would also be nice. Since there are 2 courses on the land you have to walk through part of Beaver to get to Coyote. Again if I hadn't had a map from this site on my phone I would have been lost. Some tees where covered in a layer of dirt. If I get a chance to play here again I might bring a long a broom to clean off the tees.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course a lot. It really challenged me. I hope to get a chance to play it again. People I met where friendly. Saw one dog with their owner so I guess the park is dog friendly. I would say for the most park the course is cart/stroller friendly as long as you have big wheels.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded and Challenging

2-4    1/8/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Let's step up the game a little bit with this more wooded and challenging course on the same land as Beaver. Trees are a big factor here with a good variety of tunnel shots and a lot of low ceiling shots with some tight lines. Elevation does play a big part throughout most of the course with a lot of up hill shots and down hill shots to make each hole interesting and challenging. There is a nice mixture of short and long shots with some dog leg left's and right shots with a chance for an Ace on a few shorter holes. The concrete tee pad's are in great shape and the course has nice sign's with the the hole information and it directs you to the next tee. There are multiple pin locations and benches and trash cans throughout most of the course and the park is really clean and very well maintained. You can't forget about the big red hole numbers on top of the baskets and on the tee boxes to to make it easier to locate each tee box and basket. The navigation of this course is pretty easy and you should not have any problems.
Cons: The con's are very slim here with not to many to name. The park can get crowded on the weekends, which is normal for a great course.
Other Thoughts: Over all, this is a fun and challenging course and is well worth the drive from anywhere in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. i put it on the Top 10 list of must play courses that you should play.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ehh, I'll skip it next time

1    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Baskets seem new, lots of benches and trash cans, looks like brand new tee signs. From hole 2 backtrack up the fairway and go right on the path. From 3 go straight ahead, you can see 5 from the fairway, don't let it fool you. This course has so many uphill shots. this makes a good challenge, but it also makes you're round that much longer.
Cons: This is a tunnel course. Played in the fall, when they cleared this course, they left short stumps all over the fairways, when the leaves fall, this means you're going to trip on them all day. Hole 18, WTF? are you kidding me with this tunnel? It's insane.
Other Thoughts: I prefer Beaver to this course, but I did play better here, and the guy I played with liked this better. Liked this course, but I prefer a course that I have fun more than get frustrated.
Also, can we not have nice things Cedar Hill? This is the worst graffiti I have seen at a course, ever. The benches, holes everything was written on or carved in. One table had someone name cut into it, about an inch wide groove, letters the full size of the table. Come on people.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

5+    4/11/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1.If it's a hot sunny day you will not be bothered in ths shady wooded course.
2.Tricky shots keep you on your toes throughout the entire course keeping the competivity up.
3.Pins are not too far from the "t" box.
Cons: 1.The trees on this course are your worst enemy. Finding the correct path to send the disc is the trickiest part of the game.
2.The "t" boxes seem to be really short on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. I recommend that you bring a large group of friends and plenty of snacks and drinks.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.