Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: cooleyes37 Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    5/25/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads. Signs on every hole. Very well kept course.
Cons: Seemed to me that there to many tunnel shots on the course. A bigger area for parking would be nice. The course layout didn't seem to flow very well. Had to search to figure out where the next hole started.
Other Thoughts: Personally I thought some holes were to long to be par 3's. course requires you to be very accurate with your drive or the course will make you pay.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 MEEP MEEP

2-4    5/23/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging
Great Upkeep
Concrete tees
Mostly shaded
Cons: Some tees are half size, can make it hard for those who have a ritual run up.
Luck comes into play on some holes
Other Thoughts: This course is as equally challenging as beaver.... instead of large open areas you have short heavily wooded holes that will have dog legs and protected baskets because of trees and etc. If you are a big arm type of person you will HATE this course because it requires softer more accurate throws. This course is for the thinking player! That being said, it is a great course and a even greater pairing with its other half beaver, these are MUST plays if you are coming through the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 played both- two of two

1    5/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 51  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *short holes are made challenging by woods, and heavily curved (dog legged holes)
*concrete teeboxes
*great layout
*more shade coverage then beaver 2 to 14 and even 15 can be considered "covered"
*scenic, nice walk
*finesse course, if you are a big arm, no control thrower you will hate most of this course.
*kind of diverse, but its "s"turn the trees, or throw hard right or left around trees, then a few wide open shots
*not alot of wind-again big for playing in texas
*baskets were a little easier to visualize from tee box on this course compared to beaver
*most of course was easy to navigate (print the map)
Cons: *could have trouble finding first hole for first timers---print the map
*some short holes....but are made challenging
*i can see after rain how this course may not dry quickly
*even though there are a few long holes there are only a couple that you are able to really let one go
*nothing really close, so bring water from home
--again like last post nothing that would keep me away,overall, a very nice playable course, i would be a bit hesitant to play this course after a heavy rain
Other Thoughts: we played both courses in one day back to back with no break, this is a shorter course, so im glad we played this second. which i would suggest doing if you choose to play both. Print map from above link section

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/26/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice but tight wooded par-3 course with lots of variety in shots.
Several elevation changes throughout the day.
By far the most difficult course I've played.
Concrete tee pads.
There are also PVC pipes sticking out of the ground that will direct you to any unseen baskets.
Cons: Some poison ivy but I've seen much worse at other courses.
Little bit of a walk to get to first tee.
Could use an extra sign on a few holes where you need to backtrack down the fairway to find the path to the next tee box.
Other Thoughts: Clipping a tree or two and ending up in the woods is just part of your day here so don't get frustrated.
Also, if you start early you may want to play both Coyote and Beaver back-to-back before the Texas sun wears you out. Bring water and enjoy this great course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/5/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the terrian, with a very high level of difficulty when it comes technical shots.
Cons: Not a lot of shot variety. Only really need a putter, mid, and fairway to play the course. I used my putter for the majority of the shots. Great form work, but I never felt like I had a hole that I could really let loose on.
Other Thoughts: This would be a nice course to play back to back with the Beaver course. Make sure that you bring good shoes and long pants. The terrian is rough and rocky and lined with thorny vines and poison ivy.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a Fun Course

1    3/20/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What a fun course to play. It's a tight technical course with a couple of bomb,
air-out holes. I love playing the two courses at Lester Lorch, it has a country -wooded feel to it. The course has a nice flow to it, you don't have to do a lot of searching for the next Tee-Box.
Cons: I really can't think of any "cons" for this course.
Other Thoughts: I really like play the Courses at Lester Lorch park. May be one day when I have time I can play both courses back to back. We're lucky to have to great courses right in the middle of the Metroplex.

let me know if you like this review and how I can make them better

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, fantastic course!

2-4    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tons of technical tree holes.
-Couple of chances to seriously bomb some discs, especially #14
-Nice and shaded for most of the course
-Pretty clean
-Well maintained. Granted, looked like they had mowed the day before.
-Will demand every shot you have in your bag to do well
-2 great 18 hole courses out here.
-Great use of the natural terrain
-No water holes
Cons: -Trees....lots of trees.
-Can get muddy after some rain
-Some of the holes can be real disc eaters
-Didn't seem to be enough places to sit down
-Speed bumps in parking lot.
-No water holes
Other Thoughts: Great course. I now have a new favorite hole of all time! Hole #14 out here is just a great hole to really let one rip. The pin is tucked into some trees so you have to have some accuracy.

Surprisingly, this course didn't seem to be too crowded on the 4th of July weekend. Only had to let one group play through and they were way better than us, so it was ok.

This course requires having to throw to the right and the left. It really doesn't favor one throw or the other. Great mix of right and left doglegs and a few long holes.

Ace opportunities on a few holes as well.

If you come down to DFW for disc golf, this should be on the list to play. And you locals, it is totally worth the drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.8 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice breath of fresh air for TX Disc Golf because this course gives a round of 51 a 1000 rated round yet most of the holes are well within range and probably 10 are under 300ft.

Multiple pins that change the scoring range of specific holes nicely and make for fun tournaments with different setups.

If you get hot on this course you can shoot great but if you are not shooting well your score will show it.

Cons: Quite a few lefty/sidearm skips that aren't too kind to those with even solid anhyzers as you need the disc to skip 60ft or so from a bend.

Rocky terrain on some holes can also chew discs up.

Other Thoughts: Like I said on the Beaver review, these courses are among the top 10 in TX and a great disc golf destination for anyone visiting the area.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wooded, tough and spectacular

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/24/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded if you like that, multiple pins on most holes. The tee signs along with showing you where both baskets are also have an arrow pointing you to the next tee, which really helped. Great variety of types of wooded holes, not just tunnels or straight shots. Pretty well kept. I faded, "DONKED!! and THONKED!!) off the fairway more than once and was able to find my disc with little to no trouble. My fav hole was 6. It is about a 250 ft. throw across a mini gully with the basket sitting on a hill slightly right of the fairway. More than 1 signature hole in my opinion. Busy so if you're new there you can follow the locals. The elevation was used very effectively, nothing drastic but definitely not flat. Concrete tee pads. A couple of ace runs, even for average at best players(I'm one of them). I almost aced 18, it would have been my first. If you play this course regularly it will make you learn to throw every shot humanly possible. Also some great pin placements. Multiple paths to the basket, so you can try to thread the needle or play it safe and throw the anhyzer or tomahawk. Just a pleasure to play and in my case, to get pimp slapped by a great course.
Cons: Poison ivy, which is on almost every heavily wooded course that I have played. Even though the tee signs point you to the next hole it would still be nice to have some arrows on the trees next to the baskets. This course is hard to find compared to the beaver course. A couple of more tables or benches would be nice but not really necessary, just nitpicking. Not really any major cons. The only thing keeping me from giving it a 5 is no water shots and no major elevation, but it is definitely going on my list of fav courses.
Other Thoughts: Along with the beaver, this is a 36 hole set up that is worth a road trip. This was my first trip into the Dallas/Fort Worth area. I figured why not start with one of the highest rated ones. I was definitely not disappointed. Follow the grayish tan gravel path and follow to the left, walk past the pond and into a clearing. The tee pad for one is in the left corner. after hole 9 walk at a slightly right angle into a smaller clearing and the tee for 10 also to the left. Just look at the tee sign and try to remember where the arrow is pointing. Enjoy your beat down, unless you are really good.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 FUN!

1    3/31/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is slightly more technical then it's sister course Beaver. Fairways are tight with trees make you to throw accurately. Good mix of short/long, right/left and open holes that require good skills. Hole six is my favorite short hole, with slight uphill under a canopy of trees. Nice location out in nature away from the city courses and clean.
Cons: Not much except for the signs, some of which were missing and seem dated. Teepad were short on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoy many aspects of this course. Certainly worth the drive and to spend a day out there throwing. Clean, quiet course, just you and the baskets!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.