Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: cooleyes37 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Plays straight down the rocky path for maybe 175' before turning fairly sharply to the right for another 80-90' to the pin.



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The Twisted Sister

5+    7/22/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 26  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More elevation changes than Beaver. Tighter lines. Shorter. Good use of elevation and foliage. Water is close on this course but no danger. Concrete tee pads. Well maintained. Nature preserve. Light traffic most of the time even though it is a popular course.
Cons: Snakes and poison ivy but have never seen snakes. Vandalism.
Other Thoughts: This is my other home course and is the twisted sister of the Beaver course. You will find this course is shorter than the other by a little but also has tighter lines to hit. If you have a long throwing friend, bring him/her here and make them be accurate.
Elevation changes are greater here than Beaver and you will have to play smarter. Two awesome courses side by side make for phenomenal disc golfing.

PS-First tee is around the corner past the pond.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cedar Hill's younger smarter course

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Shorter but more technical.

-Good signage and tee pads.

-Portapotty in parking lot.

-Sister park on site for some variety.

-Beautiful park.

-Variety of shots needed to play this course well- no two holes are the same and the entire round was interesting.
Cons: -Can be confusing to find the next tee.

-Some shots are very tight (18) and have lots and lots of trees or doglegs!

-"MELK" has been here.
Other Thoughts: -If you use the iUdisc app, I created a course map for this one today. It should help
(me at least) find my way around next time.

-Probably my favorite course to date.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses in the DFW area. It is a very tight, wooded, technical course. It's a course to show off al your mad tree hitting skills. This is very much a finesse over power course. There are just enough open holes to keep it from getting repetitive.
Cons: The terrain can be a bit rough. At some holes it almost appears that a hiking trail was slightly widened to allow a disc golf course. If you throw or skip off into rough, it can be unpleasant finding you disc. The course is very popular and parking can be very tight.
Other Thoughts: It's also nice to have Beaver, the other course at the park. Beaver is much more open and is a nice compliment to Coyote. You can play both at the same visit.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lorch Coyote

5+    6/29/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: flapjack
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The holes are fun, its hard to lose your disc If you are close you must play.
Cons: no stores nearby, lots of poisonous snakes, just recently while playing hole 1 my disc landed on the edge of the woods within 1 inch of a water moccasin, be careful out there. I also almost stepped on a copper head snake at hole 1 when the sun was starting to set. BE CAREFUL. Parking kinda sucks.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun! its great for going out with your friends and just having a good time.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I like Coyote more than I like Bea/er

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Big concrete tee pads.

2) Signs include all the pertinent information, Hole #, distance, Par, a decent map and next tee indicators.

3) Mach baskets in good condition but hard to find on some of the wooded holes.

4) Cedar trees . . . one of my top 5 trees for disc golf courses . . . all o/er the course, especially in the densest part of the wooded holes. I just lo/e those trees.

5) Some benches around for you to sit while waiting on the teepads.

6) Garbage cans all o/er to help curb the littering. All in all the course isn't bad for litter, but I would guarantee that is due to the locals filling the garbage cans.

7) Much more technical course than the Bea/er course. I prefer tighter shorter technical courses because I lo/e hitting the exact line I intended to throw.

8) Port-o-potty in the parking lot always a welcome site.
Cons: 1) Apparently there are two big negati/es . . poison i/y and poisonous snakes . . both which I assume are not big problems in January when I was there, but I felt I needed to include it in my re/iew.

2) The perimeters of the fairways are tough . . . stay in the fairway or you will struggle. I ha/e no problem with that establishing fairways, but at the same time, slightly more forgi/ing areas within the first 5 -10 feet is better in my opinion.

3) Maintenance on the wooded holes could be upgraded to help this course maintain a higher le/el . . . I certainly expect o/er time for this courses ratings to diminish . . . it will remain a great course but the holes in the woods will struggle o/ertime. Turf will be non-existant, mulch will be needed, trees will see some damage and fairways will become more open.
Other Thoughts: This is the more "fun" course but it is also the less /isual course. It is fun for me because I lo/e tight technical holes. It is fun, challenging, and nicely wooded to keep the Texas heat off of you. It isn't quite on par with most 4.5 disc rated courses because it could use some more maintenance, but it is not worthy of the 4.00 rating.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/13/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Frank-Flyer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will give you some challenge. It is very technical most of the time. Very crowded by trees requires very solid lines. The trees give great shade in the dead heat of summer and also cut out some of the wind interference. But it does open up to give you a chance to air it out a bit (#14 & 16). The tee pads are concrete and solid, not cracked or falling apart at all. Signs are up at every hole that have distances to pin and maps and any OBs. Also, the grass is almost always mowed. This place is very well maintained.
Cons: The only thing might be getting slightly lost. On a few holes the path to the next tee is halfway or so back down the fairway. (#2 & 8 for example) On a few holes there's also a path that has been worn down that goes no-where that are from others looking for the next tee... but if you are mindful of the signs at the tee, finding the next tee shouldnt be too much of a problem
Edit: The misleading paths would only add about 5 or so minutes to your play. (i realized the word "lost" is kind of strong)

Trash is also a slight problem. There are trashcans placed at most of the tees but there is still trash around. Occasionally #8s can is too full and trash just ends up all around the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: There are new short tees. They are marked with irrigation flags. There isnt distances or signs at them yet but they do provide a good variety. I think they might become permanant if there is positive feedback.

Enjoy this awesome course and throw your trash away properly!! Thanks :)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/17/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: Riceman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: unlike some disc golf courses that share the land with a park (picnic tables, walking path, etc.), lorch park is strictly for disc golfers.

two 18 hole courses together.

great scenery.

unlike many courses, wind has little effect because of all of the trees.
Cons: poison ivy....that is about it
Other Thoughts: i have lived within seven miles of this park since it has been opened and never noticed it. i have only been playing for six months, and i still get angry that i didn't discover disc golf sooner. this is a great location well worth the drive, and cedar hill has many great restaurants. parking lot is not that bad. my car is lowered and i have no problems. i like this course a little more than beaver, because i don't have to worry about losing discs in the pond.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Coyotes Can Bite

5+    2/19/2011   3/4/2011
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely technical for a short course. Distances are very short, but Coyote makes up for the lack of length with quality of hole design. You can throw a well placed drive and clip a mesquite stump and still end up in the briar patches. This course with test your skill and your mental patience. If you can play smart and execute your shots, then you can post a good score. At the Cedar Hill Chill some pros had difficulty navigating Coyote safely. That being said every disc golfer in the DFW area is doing themselves a disservice by not playing here. Great course.
Cons: Some of the toughest rough I know of in the area. Stay in the fairway and don't get eaten up. Not really a con for me, as I like this aspect of the course. More of a suggestion for beginner players.
Other Thoughts: I use to dislike this course when I first played it, but as my game gets better and better this course brings out the best and worse of my game. Something I have come to love about this course. Bring lots of water in the summer and fall. It's a long walk back to the parking lot and it can get quite toasty even in the shade of the thick trees. Go play Cedar Hill!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Fun

1    7/27/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course seems to be dedicated to DG. Porta-John in parking lot. Course was clean and maintained well. Another DG park on same grounds.

Concrete tee pads. Tee signs with layouts. Trashcans throughout course. Benches to sit and relax. Multiple pin locations available.

In the most part a heavily wooded course. Elevation throughout course that was used very well, no huge inclines, but lots of nice small to medium sized mounds throughout that the course is laid out on.

Never once did I feel like I was going to lose my disc in the rough, may have been the time of year I played perhaps.

Fun/Wow factor was through the roof! Couldn't wait to get to the next tee and see what was next!!
Cons: Parking lot was tore up and small. Not that big of a deal, but worth noting. Also, long walk to first hole, in and around some holes on Beaver.

Wish there could have been some longer holes available in the woods.

I don't remember where, but navigation was a little tricky once or twice during play, however a map would have cleared that up.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast playing this course. Once you hit hole 2 you can say goodbye to your drivers until you get back out to hole 14. You're going to be using a lot of mid-range and putters. Lots of technical work in the woods. Sometimes you can go for the Ace or Deuce, sometimes you have to really plan your lie, to get an upshot for a par. On a few holes my score was punished by playing pinball with my discs, but I was having too much fun to care.

Interesting thought: If there would be a swap of holes between Beaver and Coyote: 11, 12, and 13 of Beaver fit in better on Coyote, and 1, 14, 15, and 16 of Coyote fit better on Beaver. Not a negative comment, but that would make the courses completely different than each other, however, this just makes you want to play both courses during a visit.

A few holes worth noting: Hole 6 is a great hole that looks like an ace opportunity, but you need to have a nice shot to get over a little low ravine and back up to the pin. Hole 10 didn't look difficult, till I scouted it out. Throwing in an open area, the pin was up the hill to the right, with tree's everywhere. I really had fun with both of those. Hole 18 is made difficult by the super narrow fairway next to the tee box. Not the narrowest I have played, but no less difficult because of the length of the wooded area you throw out of. These are three of the finest holes I have played to date.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 DFW's best

5+    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A short (but not too short) technical course.

A few of the holes have been lengthened sense the last time I played out here.

Benches on about every 3rd hole.

LOTS OF SHADE which is great on a hot day like today was.

Cement tee pads on every hole.

Tee signs on every hole.

Good use of what little elevation is in the park.
Cons: Some of the Tee Pads are too short.

Could use some more benches.

Poison Ivy, lots of it.

Briers if you get off the fairway. (I have yet to play here and not draw blood)
Other Thoughts: When ever I play Cedar Hill, I play both courses back to back. (Beaver 1 - 16, Coyote 2-1, Beaver 17-18)

Together with the Beaver course, Cedar hill is the best place to play disc golf in the DFW are by far.

Coyote really makes you throw your line. If you throw in the rough, you are in trouble.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.