Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: cooleyes37 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Plays straight down the rocky path for maybe 175' before turning fairly sharply to the right for another 80-90' to the pin.



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
EPIC Disc Golf Dallas tour!!!

1    12/11/2010   12/11/2010
Review By: HellmuthBoi
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very impressive Dallas course! Most courses in Dallas are in wide open areas, Coyote is the complete opposite. Beautiful scenery in a forrest trek, and an extremely well thought layout. This was my first time playing and it was no trouble at all to get through the entire course. I have paid to play in courses that are similar in design to Coyote, where the trees are used as the path. The course was very clean and signs were clear with little to no graffiti. The shots were very challenging with a variety of different paths needed for the deuce. A mid range disc or even a hard putter is crucial for tee offs at this course. Tree lines work well as the rough area you don't want to be in. Holes are short and sweet and they will really test your accuracy. I cannot say enough about how INCREDIBLE this course is!
Cons: My only complaint about Coyote is that it is mostly short game. I feel that long range holes can be just as technical as the short ones. There are no holes that are much longer than 400ft. If Coyote had a solid 800 footer or a couple of 600s, that would make this course into the perfect disc golf experience. Still this is a very sexy course to play.
Other Thoughts: What I found funny is that people would skip Beaver completely to play Coyote. Two groups I saw played number 7 of Beaver and then went straight to play 1 of Coyote. I think I saw maybe 3 out of 15 people playing Beaver. I want to say that if they had made the two courses originally one MEGA-Course, it would have been an Unstoppable force of human nature. I can only imagine, but i digress. The Two courses are so cool to play in succession, with the exception of number 9 on Beaver. There was something up with the drainage system because it was very muddy and it hadn't been raining lately.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Fun

1    7/27/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course seems to be dedicated to DG. Porta-John in parking lot. Course was clean and maintained well. Another DG park on same grounds.

Concrete tee pads. Tee signs with layouts. Trashcans throughout course. Benches to sit and relax. Multiple pin locations available.

In the most part a heavily wooded course. Elevation throughout course that was used very well, no huge inclines, but lots of nice small to medium sized mounds throughout that the course is laid out on.

Never once did I feel like I was going to lose my disc in the rough, may have been the time of year I played perhaps.

Fun/Wow factor was through the roof! Couldn't wait to get to the next tee and see what was next!!
Cons: Parking lot was tore up and small. Not that big of a deal, but worth noting. Also, long walk to first hole, in and around some holes on Beaver.

Wish there could have been some longer holes available in the woods.

I don't remember where, but navigation was a little tricky once or twice during play, however a map would have cleared that up.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast playing this course. Once you hit hole 2 you can say goodbye to your drivers until you get back out to hole 14. You're going to be using a lot of mid-range and putters. Lots of technical work in the woods. Sometimes you can go for the Ace or Deuce, sometimes you have to really plan your lie, to get an upshot for a par. On a few holes my score was punished by playing pinball with my discs, but I was having too much fun to care.

Interesting thought: If there would be a swap of holes between Beaver and Coyote: 11, 12, and 13 of Beaver fit in better on Coyote, and 1, 14, 15, and 16 of Coyote fit better on Beaver. Not a negative comment, but that would make the courses completely different than each other, however, this just makes you want to play both courses during a visit.

A few holes worth noting: Hole 6 is a great hole that looks like an ace opportunity, but you need to have a nice shot to get over a little low ravine and back up to the pin. Hole 10 didn't look difficult, till I scouted it out. Throwing in an open area, the pin was up the hill to the right, with tree's everywhere. I really had fun with both of those. Hole 18 is made difficult by the super narrow fairway next to the tee box. Not the narrowest I have played, but no less difficult because of the length of the wooded area you throw out of. These are three of the finest holes I have played to date.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, shaded, challenging

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: mdarket
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Shaded fairways on 14/18 holes
Variety of shots
Heavy woods
Great hiking
No water shots, unlike the Beaver course
Well maintained
Nice area
Tee markers
Baskets are marked
Maps on every tee box
Cons: Snakes
Parking is near the front 18 "Beaver"
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I've played in the DFW area.

Thanks for all the negative ratings. WTF? ;)

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 DFW's best

5+    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A short (but not too short) technical course.

A few of the holes have been lengthened sense the last time I played out here.

Benches on about every 3rd hole.

LOTS OF SHADE which is great on a hot day like today was.

Cement tee pads on every hole.

Tee signs on every hole.

Good use of what little elevation is in the park.
Cons: Some of the Tee Pads are too short.

Could use some more benches.

Poison Ivy, lots of it.

Briers if you get off the fairway. (I have yet to play here and not draw blood)
Other Thoughts: When ever I play Cedar Hill, I play both courses back to back. (Beaver 1 - 16, Coyote 2-1, Beaver 17-18)

Together with the Beaver course, Cedar hill is the best place to play disc golf in the DFW are by far.

Coyote really makes you throw your line. If you throw in the rough, you are in trouble.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, fantastic course!

2-4    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tons of technical tree holes.
-Couple of chances to seriously bomb some discs, especially #14
-Nice and shaded for most of the course
-Pretty clean
-Well maintained. Granted, looked like they had mowed the day before.
-Will demand every shot you have in your bag to do well
-2 great 18 hole courses out here.
-Great use of the natural terrain
-No water holes
Cons: -Trees....lots of trees.
-Can get muddy after some rain
-Some of the holes can be real disc eaters
-Didn't seem to be enough places to sit down
-Speed bumps in parking lot.
-No water holes
Other Thoughts: Great course. I now have a new favorite hole of all time! Hole #14 out here is just a great hole to really let one rip. The pin is tucked into some trees so you have to have some accuracy.

Surprisingly, this course didn't seem to be too crowded on the 4th of July weekend. Only had to let one group play through and they were way better than us, so it was ok.

This course requires having to throw to the right and the left. It really doesn't favor one throw or the other. Great mix of right and left doglegs and a few long holes.

Ace opportunities on a few holes as well.

If you come down to DFW for disc golf, this should be on the list to play. And you locals, it is totally worth the drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hill's Coyote

5+    12/10/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Shot variety
-Terrain variety and elevations changes
-Scenic course and the surrounding area is nice as well.
-Very clean course.
-Very scenic course.
-If you want to get good at your short-fairway game, this is the place to be.
Cons: -Very muddy when wet.

That's about all I can say about this course or it's neighbor in lue of cons.

-Lots of trees, turns, tight fairways,
Other Thoughts: This is only one half of 36 hole's course out in Cedar Hill... it's a must visit. Worth your time...without a doubt in my mind. If you love disc golf -- well let's just say that Cedar Hill's 36 hole's is the best in the DFW area.


7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Near Perfect

5+    12/13/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well Maintained
Great Design
Privacy
Elevation Changes
Cons: Far Drive
Bad Parking Lot
That's it
Rocky Terrain
Other Thoughts: Best place to play 36 in the metroplex. It's so quiet and peaceful out there. Not much to complain about this course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice breath of fresh air for TX Disc Golf because this course gives a round of 51 a 1000 rated round yet most of the holes are well within range and probably 10 are under 300ft.

Multiple pins that change the scoring range of specific holes nicely and make for fun tournaments with different setups.

If you get hot on this course you can shoot great but if you are not shooting well your score will show it.

Cons: Quite a few lefty/sidearm skips that aren't too kind to those with even solid anhyzers as you need the disc to skip 60ft or so from a bend.

Rocky terrain on some holes can also chew discs up.

Other Thoughts: Like I said on the Beaver review, these courses are among the top 10 in TX and a great disc golf destination for anyone visiting the area.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ehh, I'll skip it next time

1    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Baskets seem new, lots of benches and trash cans, looks like brand new tee signs. From hole 2 backtrack up the fairway and go right on the path. From 3 go straight ahead, you can see 5 from the fairway, don't let it fool you. This course has so many uphill shots. this makes a good challenge, but it also makes you're round that much longer.
Cons: This is a tunnel course. Played in the fall, when they cleared this course, they left short stumps all over the fairways, when the leaves fall, this means you're going to trip on them all day. Hole 18, WTF? are you kidding me with this tunnel? It's insane.
Other Thoughts: I prefer Beaver to this course, but I did play better here, and the guy I played with liked this better. Liked this course, but I prefer a course that I have fun more than get frustrated.
Also, can we not have nice things Cedar Hill? This is the worst graffiti I have seen at a course, ever. The benches, holes everything was written on or carved in. One table had someone name cut into it, about an inch wide groove, letters the full size of the table. Come on people.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 WORTH THE DRIVE

2-4    5/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, benches every couple holes, adequate parking, with port-a-john in the parking lot, very nice tee-signs, although some have been vandalized. lots of trash cans...and a very well kept park...A+ on maintanance

this is a very technical course, with some pretty rough holes....but most of the holes are fairly short so a 3 is still easily attainable....you have a decent amount of variety here, but the main goal is just to hit your lines....accuracy is rewarded greatly....most holes set up for rhbh....this course will really make you learn your discs...or at least beat them in REAL well lol

another plus is you have the adjoining beaver course with its tee-pad right next to the parking lot...two 4+ star courses in one spot?!?!?! what more can you ask for

**Information kiosk at the parking lot with scorecards and maps!!! big plus, and YOU WILL need a map if its your first time..
Cons: 1.**long walk to first hole from parking lot, you must walk around towards the pond to the big open field, hole 1's tee-pad will be to your left towards the trees.

2. a lot of shorter tee-pads...all holes are fairly short but i know a lot of people have problems with the short pads bc they go through their usual run up.

Other Thoughts: hole 1 is around to the right( towards the pond, from the parking lot read cons)

bring water, this ones not too long, but theres some short hiking involved

this is one of those course that will definitely make you learn your discs inside and out, you will definitely need every shot in the bag.

i highly recommend playing this course no matter how far the drive....trust me its worth it....anyone living or visting the dfw area must play the two lester-lorch courses

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.