Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: cooleyes37 Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Short shot up and over the hill, slight to the left. The other pin placement is on the right side of the fairway, equal distance.



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 WORTH THE DRIVE

2-4    5/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, benches every couple holes, adequate parking, with port-a-john in the parking lot, very nice tee-signs, although some have been vandalized. lots of trash cans...and a very well kept park...A+ on maintanance

this is a very technical course, with some pretty rough holes....but most of the holes are fairly short so a 3 is still easily attainable....you have a decent amount of variety here, but the main goal is just to hit your lines....accuracy is rewarded greatly....most holes set up for rhbh....this course will really make you learn your discs...or at least beat them in REAL well lol

another plus is you have the adjoining beaver course with its tee-pad right next to the parking lot...two 4+ star courses in one spot?!?!?! what more can you ask for

**Information kiosk at the parking lot with scorecards and maps!!! big plus, and YOU WILL need a map if its your first time..
Cons: 1.**long walk to first hole from parking lot, you must walk around towards the pond to the big open field, hole 1's tee-pad will be to your left towards the trees.

2. a lot of shorter tee-pads...all holes are fairly short but i know a lot of people have problems with the short pads bc they go through their usual run up.

Other Thoughts: hole 1 is around to the right( towards the pond, from the parking lot read cons)

bring water, this ones not too long, but theres some short hiking involved

this is one of those course that will definitely make you learn your discs inside and out, you will definitely need every shot in the bag.

i highly recommend playing this course no matter how far the drive....trust me its worth it....anyone living or visting the dfw area must play the two lester-lorch courses

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course to pair with the beav!

2-4    6/4/2008   6/4/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of the best wooded holes in DFW!Like the Beaver course the layout and tees are great.

Some hard but fair tight lines through out.With the occasional open hole thrown in for good measure.Hole 18 has one of the funniest tunnel shots I've ever played.Hole 6 might just be the best wooded hole in DFW!
Cons: Poison plants in the deep parts.Not nearly as bad as bear creek though.The walk to one is a bit long but gives you a great few of the beaver course.
Other Thoughts: A most play especially since both courses here are excellent! If you want to throw all 36 a cool way I found was to throw 1-7 of the beaver course than throw all the coyote than play 8-18 of the beaver.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wooded, tough and spectacular

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/24/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded if you like that, multiple pins on most holes. The tee signs along with showing you where both baskets are also have an arrow pointing you to the next tee, which really helped. Great variety of types of wooded holes, not just tunnels or straight shots. Pretty well kept. I faded, "DONKED!! and THONKED!!) off the fairway more than once and was able to find my disc with little to no trouble. My fav hole was 6. It is about a 250 ft. throw across a mini gully with the basket sitting on a hill slightly right of the fairway. More than 1 signature hole in my opinion. Busy so if you're new there you can follow the locals. The elevation was used very effectively, nothing drastic but definitely not flat. Concrete tee pads. A couple of ace runs, even for average at best players(I'm one of them). I almost aced 18, it would have been my first. If you play this course regularly it will make you learn to throw every shot humanly possible. Also some great pin placements. Multiple paths to the basket, so you can try to thread the needle or play it safe and throw the anhyzer or tomahawk. Just a pleasure to play and in my case, to get pimp slapped by a great course.
Cons: Poison ivy, which is on almost every heavily wooded course that I have played. Even though the tee signs point you to the next hole it would still be nice to have some arrows on the trees next to the baskets. This course is hard to find compared to the beaver course. A couple of more tables or benches would be nice but not really necessary, just nitpicking. Not really any major cons. The only thing keeping me from giving it a 5 is no water shots and no major elevation, but it is definitely going on my list of fav courses.
Other Thoughts: Along with the beaver, this is a 36 hole set up that is worth a road trip. This was my first trip into the Dallas/Fort Worth area. I figured why not start with one of the highest rated ones. I was definitely not disappointed. Follow the grayish tan gravel path and follow to the left, walk past the pond and into a clearing. The tee pad for one is in the left corner. after hole 9 walk at a slightly right angle into a smaller clearing and the tee for 10 also to the left. Just look at the tee sign and try to remember where the arrow is pointing. Enjoy your beat down, unless you are really good.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

5+    4/11/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1.If it's a hot sunny day you will not be bothered in ths shady wooded course.
2.Tricky shots keep you on your toes throughout the entire course keeping the competivity up.
3.Pins are not too far from the "t" box.
Cons: 1.The trees on this course are your worst enemy. Finding the correct path to send the disc is the trickiest part of the game.
2.The "t" boxes seem to be really short on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. I recommend that you bring a large group of friends and plenty of snacks and drinks.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 FUN!

1    3/31/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is slightly more technical then it's sister course Beaver. Fairways are tight with trees make you to throw accurately. Good mix of short/long, right/left and open holes that require good skills. Hole six is my favorite short hole, with slight uphill under a canopy of trees. Nice location out in nature away from the city courses and clean.
Cons: Not much except for the signs, some of which were missing and seem dated. Teepad were short on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoy many aspects of this course. Certainly worth the drive and to spend a day out there throwing. Clean, quiet course, just you and the baskets!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Coyote DGC

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun factor is off the charts. The coolest wooded course you will find in the area. The trees always make every hole, especially the elevation changes with trees. Every hole is unique. This course is completely different than its sister on the same site.
Multiple pin placements on most holes will keep you on your toes. Great mixture of shot types.
Great signs and tee pads. Fairways were challenging but fair.
Very difficult to lose a disc...You pretty much have to try to lose it.
The most beautiful park I have visited. A fantastic walk. Extremely clean and well maintained.
Friendly locals. Never any traffic problems. Many seating areas and trash cans everywhere. Porta-potty in the parking lot.
Cons: A few short tees, but they didn't bother me too much. A little tricky to follow at places on the first time out.

Nothing else...
Other Thoughts: Again, I would give it a 5 disc rating, but I am saving those for when I have played more courses. Best park in the DFW area. Both courses are amazingly awesome. If you haven't played them, get to driving.

Some jerk took a paintball gun and shot signs on this course and Beaver.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best in DFW

2-4    3/10/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Both courses at Lester Lorch are a ton of fun! It is really great to be able to get 36 different holes in at one location where the variety, challenge, scenery, and facilities are so great! The Coyote course is much more wooded than the Beaver course, which in my opinion makes it the more difficult course. There are a couple of holes that are long throws out in the open, but all of the rest are tucked into trees requiring technical throws with a high level of accuracy. Many of the holes looked to me like they belonged on a DVD of the pros playing. A couple of my favorite holes: Hole 2 has a hill that comes up right in front of the tee box that you have to be sure to clear while also being careful not to throw too high because of the low ceiling. Also, too far left or right will leave you in doubt of grabbing a par. Hole 14 is a fun shot off the side of a hill out into a big field with the basket guarded by trees around it. It is a fun 400 foot throw that you can actually throw a big hyzer on and still get there due to the elevation advantage. This course demands a lot of you. You have to be in decent shape to even walk the thing with a lot of uphill and downhill fairways. There are some ace runs that could quickly turn into 3s and 4s if you can't throw with accuracy. Accurate shots are usually rewarded well, but playing safe and placing your shots can guarantee you a par in most cases. I found myself relying on my full arsenal of shots especially when ending up with a lie that I didn't exactly intend. The thrower that has a variety of throw types will do better than most here. This is also a fun course for putting as there is usually some kind of obstacle (mainly trees) to prevent a direct approach. This course is definitely worth a long drive to get to, especially with both courses there. Go when you have lots of time to really enjoy the course and its beauty.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes are a little bit short, but there was always enough room for what I needed. Some people that have longer run-ups no matter the distance they are throwing will probably be bothered by this fact. I'm just grateful for concrete tee pads at all.
Other Thoughts: If you live within 100 miles of this course and haven't played it yet, you need to fix that.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    2/6/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Both of these courses are GREAT! They test all aspects of your game and your fitness. Brig your game or stay home. You need all shots and must have accuracy as well. You can be rewarded for good shots just as quickly as punishment for bad ones. And sometimes that follows on the next hole. Elevation is used well here and often. Baskets are good. Well manicured and the fairways are very defined. Not alot of places to lose plastic which is always good. Play consistant and yuo will be rewarded, dont and the coyote will get you! Cant really say much that others havent except....GO PLAY!!
Cons: Long walk and poison ivy. Can get hot, brings lots of coldies. Some tees are short but that just being picky. Long drive but thats not rally a con because its worth every minute.
Other Thoughts: Having 2 courses of this level next to each other is great and its well worth the drive! Can get busy on the weekends.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play" in the DFW area.

1    2/5/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome!!! This course is absolutely incredible. It is by far the most technical course I have played. The one word that comes to mind when playing this course is ACCURACY!!! This course was so challenging, it required a very controlled arm to navigate the tight and somtimes winding fairways through the woods. The elevation changes were a lot of fun and something you don't often see in other DFW area DG courses. Tee pads were in great shape although a few could have been a little longer... Also this course was pretty unique in that there was virtually no trash around, thanks to the abundent trash cans on nearly every teepad... I could go on and on about the beauty and challenge of this course.
Cons: Only thing I could even think of a con for this course is the densness of the brush lining some of the fairways... And the fact that nearly all of it was sharp or stickery in some way.
Other Thoughts: This course and it's sister course Beaver being co-located on the same piece of property make Lester Lorch a premier destination for the DG'er in the DFW area. Definately a "MUST PLAY"

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 dfw's technical monster

5+    12/31/2008   1/27/2009
Review By: Geraldo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the first time I played here I fell in love with the game.

Hole 1 starts off as a bit of a tease with its wide open fairway, but don't get used to it its one of the last.The next 11 holes(2-13) take you on a hike through beautiful cedar woods.Offering a variety of very technical holes(dogleg left, right,straight shots,and some minor elevation throughout)with very narrow fairways.Then things open up a bit for 14-16(#14 tee sits perched atop a small slope making for an almost signature type of hole)but still not much room for the big arms.hole 18 offers one of the smallest fairways on the course for nice little ace run to finish the course.

Cons: the only problem I had(like may others)was the tees.Some are just to Short to get any type of x-step going at all.
Other Thoughts: The walk to get to tee 1 is a bit long but not a con as much as part of the experience.

Offering 2 beautiful courses Lester Lorch park is top notch,one of the best around

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.