Ludington, MI 
Leviathan Share
Uploaded By: AikoAdam Hole #8 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 286ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 put on your big girl panties...

1    4/18/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Aesthetic--this is a beautiful course set in northern michigan old growth woods. That said, there is tons of scrub here that punish you for errant shots dearly. for gods sakes take the safety back onto the fairway!

Challenge--the challenge factor here is pretty high. not only is the course physically and mentally demanding, it makes you plan your next move before you make your first throw. Distinct landing zones on several holes add to the challenge factor. Think; severe dogleg 200ft down the fairway challenging.

Signage and routing--phenomenal. with three color signs leading to the three teepads (black, blue, red) routing is a breeze on this course. I will say however, the transition from hole #2 to ABC and #12 to DEF is a bit confusing. signs point you to the next blue and red tee (letters only have mids and shorts) and the black tee, but that is the black tee on the next numbered hole.

Distinct looks--not only does the course offer two to three tees on every hole, every tee has a distinct look at the basket. When I played, I played the mids (I was told I was crazy to do that the first time) but I found the mids to be fair par 3's or 4's most of the time. Distinct fairways (for different tees) on certain holes are a plus!

teepads--cement on the longs, rubber mats on the mids and shorts. all in decent condition with minimal tripping hazard. These could get slick when wet though.

Practice Basket--homemade but with a ton of ludington area history!!
Cons: Listed in the pros as caveats to the positives. Possibly the stink of the foundry on the back 9?
Other Thoughts: thanks to aikoadam and jim for guiding me, I will be back!!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Leviathan

2-4    5/20/2008   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Challenging course, regardlss of your skill. Cement pads throughout. Well kept and not too far out of Ludington. Definitely worth checking out.
Cons: A lot of woods, the thickness of the woods makes it easy to lose a disc.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
For sure a "tech" course. Alot of tight woods. The difference between the Am and Pro tees are greater than any other setup ive seen. If you play from the am tees you play a semi-short decent tech course, but if you play the pro tees (which should be renamed " Expert tees") you will find one of the most challenging courses you've ever played!

Course Atmosphere--
Up north feel, a little closer to town than mason county park though.

Course Maintenance--
Clean, im sure theres someone who goes around and tends to it based on what I saw. There are concrete tee pads on every hole.

Course Navigation--
Pretty easy to follow, no spots that will really confuse you.
Cons:
Hazards--
Playing from the pro tee there is some thick woods on the edges. Its set up in a way that makes it easy to lose a disc, due to both how far you have to throw and how thick it can be in spots.
Other Thoughts:
--This is one of the hardest courses ive played, this makes it a pro but at the same time it can make it a con because some holes are overwellming.

Pay to Play--
$1

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Intimidating

1    8/24/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic northern michigan course, a lot of tight technical holes, yet enough open space to keep you from getting too frustrated. Elevation changes and good variety. Mostly clean and well cared for. Creative hole design for a course that is mostly in the woods.
Cons: Pro tees are tough to say the least. If you can throw in the 400 ft range, and do it accurately through the trees, then you might enjoy the two 800 ft holes on this course, but otherwise, you might want to stick to the 'am tees' if you want to enjoy your visit to this park. Overall, my impression was that this park isn't all that much different from other 'better than average' northern michigan 'woods courses', like, say Big Rapids, or Fremont.
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: On our initial visit, we played the 'pro tees' on the 2nd through 11th holes, and then switched to the 'am tees' for the remainder of the course. Probably would have enjoyed the course more, if we'd played the 'am tees' from the start. The $1 donation at the front gate wasn't so bad, and score cards at the information booth were a nice touch, but a map would be a nice addition to the score cards.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

8/1/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: noahsalter
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mix of woods and open throws, pro and am tees, pro tees concrete, signs direct where to go, nice chain baskets.
Cons: Some holes from pro tees verge on ridiculous. There is an 805 ft par 4! This might not seem that bad if it were open, but it requires tight throws! Some of the holes I played I opted to play the am tees because I knew if I threw it poorly from the pros I'd lose a disc for sure in the brush.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course. I would definitely consider playing all am tees and par 3 next time. Pro tees are super long and hard.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center