Disc Golf Store
Ludington, MI 
Leviathan Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 242ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Black Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mostly the same punishing terrain and topography - great challenge though

1    7/28/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
13 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of great wooded holes with excellent balance of right, left, straight, s-curve, long, short, etc. A few holes had some fairly wide open areas to really let it rip before punching back into the woods. Memorable holes do exist , and an example is #10 with a beautiful ridge to ridge throw across a picturesque valley. The elevation was gentle rolling wooded ridges, nothing too extreme or well placed risky greens with pins perched on sharp ridges. Overall I'd call it a long moderately wooded course, but the design and layout was very well done and stressed accuracy and control at both long and short ranges. Large trees generally limited flight routes, and despite being sporadic, the need to stay out of the rough meant you needed to keep careful control of your landing zone. The holes all had 3 tees for varying skill levels (some were shared at times). I think the recreational tees were appropriate for newcomers and those with much less skill and power, and the middle tees presented a slightly above average course for a blue level player. I believe the long tees would have been a great challenge for a blue player, stressing the need for accurate distance on almost every hole - a demanding round of golf (I regret not playing them).
Cons: Poor tees. So highly touted as a monster of a course and it has some crappy rubber mats 6' long for tees?! And they have bent rebar tripping hazards used for staking them in place?? So, in other words, the tees here suck. I'm not even the kind of person that complains about pads, and I don't even prefer concrete. Give me a big level patch of dirt and I'll be fine, and I won't complain that the dirt is slippery when it rains because rounds in the rain have all sorts of other drawbacks anyway. But these pads were an awful eyesore to such an overhyped course. They were not even level, and with a 6' pad, how could you expect anyone to stay on it, thus the runup and follow through areas were horribly eroded and that meant stepping up onto the pad and worrying about rolling an ankle off the front. Sure the course is tough. It's long, it's mostly wooded, it has some well protected greens, but maybe it's the horrible footing from the tees that make it seem so tough. The course is right in the middle of the city near a busy road and doesn't initially offer you a feeling of seclusion, but once you get into the park it's fairly secluded. The terrain felt monotonous with gently rolling holes scattered with large trees and fairway/rough defined by thick brush making up just about every hole on the course. The area of #2 was tricky to navigate - making your way from #1 pin and trying to figure out where to throw from and to for hole 2 was tough. Holes 2, A, and B are all holes that parallel one another across an open flat field area with a high potential for crossing fairways. Holes A and B are throwaway holes that offer nothing to the course. The small tee signs present little to no info, and the map poorly depicts intended flight paths on the holes so neither help much for navigation or throwing blind without any scouting. There was no water hazard, no huge downhill bomber, and no use of OB or mandos to force particular throws. Trash was visible all over the course despite garbage cans, I suspect this is because it is a well-used popular course. The baskets all seemed well beaten and abused, but still performed fine. I don't remember seeing alternate pin locations.
Other Thoughts: I played the "middle" tees here and heard afterward that they are actually the most haphazardly throw together, and that the long tees would have presented a much better hole design off the tee. I wish I had known that, and using standard color coding for the tees would have made it easier to decide. I probably screwed up by playing these, but oh well, it is what it is, and longer tees may have presented more challenge but not much more in terms of complete natural terrain variety and balance. I have heard tons of hype about Leviathan, but it fell short by a long shot. The terrain was mostly repetitive and the course was essentially all moderately wooded with a few heaviliy wooded holes scattered around. The property itself had some neat rolling ridges, but everything looked and felt the same. There was no balance or variety. You basically threw from the corner of a wooded or brushy area, out across a little less wooded area with just a few large trees, and up to an elevated or lowered green area with some dense rough surrounding it. I was less than impressed overall, but the design and appearance of the holes was indeed impressive. It is a very challenging course and requires some very accurate and precise play, both in terms of avoiding trees and rough, but also placing controlled distance drives in good locations for your upshots. But, I'm beginning to realize more what variety and balance mean to me and what makes a course stand out. I like to step up to a hole and be presented one particular route, not the ability to throw just about anything from my bag. Leviathan's design was mainly such that a large tree split the fairway (sometimes multiple trees split the fairway multiple times), but overall I was faced with being able to throw any disc from my bag in a number of ways, no holes required an absolute sharp short hyzer, or long drawn out annhyzer. With a fairly wide fairway, it really doesn't matter if you throw a rhbh hyzer or anhyzer as long as it stays generally toward the middle. I like holes that force you to maintain a flight line and if you don't, there is no reward (easy upshot), or you're in horrible rough on either side. I like courses that force multiple types of these throws (long hyzer, short hyzer, long anny, short anny). I just didn't feel forced to execute any specific shot, then I didn't feel rewarded for a good shot, and that's why it all seemed monotonous to me. You know, I want to step up to a short hyzer hole and pray I put my Gator in my bag. I threw the same gentle straight long range driver on most holes, because that's all I really had to do. Don't get me wrong, there were some narrow forced shots here, but not enough considering the number of holes. The area presents a variety of high level courses and for this alone Leviathan is worth a trip. Would I recommend someone go out of their way to play it, yes. Would I go back to play it again, only if I had extra time or was playing with a group of my closest discin friends on a trip. It scored a 3.7 in my sheet, but I'm going to round up. It's inline with the other 4-disc courses I've reviewed.

13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Legit

1    10/16/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Leviathan is an awesome course. There is no way around this fact. Bring your big boys pants out here to play because it will force you to throw every shot you possess and much more.
Tees- Good in places. There was signage listing distance and hole numbers.
Playability- Really high challenge factor. If you play from the pros, you better be ready to be humbled. There are a number of extremely difficult, but fair tee spots and pin locations. A few of the holes are amongst the toughest I have ever played. The park is ideally suited for a disc golf course. There is a ton of variety from big open throws to tightly-wooded, high-technical shots...and you may have both kinds on 1 hole. This is a course you could play 100 times and never come close to mastering it.
Beauty- The course was beautiful. If I picked this course up and put it it another area (where you didn't have the two most beautiful courses I have ever played ), the course would probably score even higher, but it is located in close proximity to pretty ridiculous competition. I have tried to filter that fact out when considering this. The trees are epic as well as interesting elevation changes.
Cons: Baskets- Inconsistent. There were some pretty solid ones, but they seemed cobbled together. A few of them are in bad need of replacing.
Tees- For every good tee, there seemed to be another one that was too short...which you NEED good tees for some of these tee shots..
Flow- Probably my biggest con. There were multiple times where we got turned around looking for the next tee. A few of the baskets were difficult to locate as well due to the lack of a map on the tee sign. Blind 650 foot shots aren't very fun and neither is running way ahead to find where you are going.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing out here. It is not a perfect course, but it certainly is great. Please watch out for kids when throwing. We were out there around 3:30 on a weekday and there were a few kids that came out of nowhere when we were throwing as the course appears to be owned by the school district. This course is a no-brainer if you are playing in the area.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Thread the needle...

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.5 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Most holes force you to be accurate.
-Well maintained
-pro and am tees
-Elevation changes
-Mix of short challenging holes and long killers.
-uses the woods a lot and still offers many big open fairways aswell.
-Benches at almost every hole.
- visualy amazing scenery.
Cons: - A bit confusing to get around if its your first time.
- Some rubber tee pads and short cement pads.
- Signs are very simple just hole number and feet, could have a small map of the hole aswell.
- Many older rusty baskets, some look homemade.
The only obstacles seem to be trees, no water or big rocks.
Other Thoughts: This was an amazing course. Definitely one of the best Ive ever played. I was very satisfied with the course as it lived up and serpassed my expectations. Very long walk for 24 holes, plan on 3-4 hours if your not running through the park. The rough can be "very rough" so its better to play it safe and try to keep it on the fairway. This is a definite play if your in ludington for the beast,beauty or goliath. Cant wait to get back.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning--From the Longs

1    8/14/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Cobra165
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Stunning course from the long tees, with long, fun, fair, creative holes.
Cons: Short tees seem to be an afterthought-- too dissimilar from the longs. Not nearly as fun. Long walks basket to tee. Mats are slippery.
Other Thoughts: I came to the area for one reason--to play the superb Flip City course in nearby Shelby. But since I was staying in Ludington, I decided to play the courses in town. What a wise decision. Leviathan from the longs is one of the most beautiful and challenging courses I have ever seen. The highest praise I can offer is this: although the previous reviewers are correct that many of the holes are long and tight, the fact is that each and every hole is fair. None of the fairways are the kind where you are picking your way through 5-foot gaps all the way down. These fairways make you think before you throw, a rare commodity in today's course design. In some spots, your best bet will be to throw a controlled mid-range from the tee as opposed to trying to crush a driver. Take what the course gives you and you will score well.

So don't be afraid to give the long tees a go. The photos don't do it justice. In fact, looking at the photo from 12's long tee might make you think that the hole is 800 feet of dense woods. In fact, once you carry the wooded ravine with your drive (250 feet will carry it-- no big deal), the hole opens up into a generous landing area, with several options for your second drive to the green.

From the short tees, the course is ok--just nothing special. And it appears that the course was designed in the longs and the shorts were added in later, because the walks from basket to tee are murder in some places (you are basically just walking up the long fairway to reach the short tee anyway, so why not just throw from the longs?).

Also, don't be fooled by the course's humble beginnings--the first few hole are just ok--give it a chance, and once you hit the middle and late holes you will see what I mean.

Another reason not to use the short tees is that they have the rubber mats. Since the course is so close to Lake Michigan, there is sand everywhere, and it fills in the grooves on the mats and makes them slick.

Whoever designed the course, or at least the longs, should seriously consider a true set of am tees (if money allows), and leave the current short tees for beginners.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best Wooded Courses

5+    4/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 81  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The difference from Pro to Am tees makes this like 2 courses in one,very challenging and a lot of fun,clean course with nice benches on almost every hole,nice porta pottie,great mix of holes short to long open to tight left to right you will need every shot you have,practice baskets,course goes through rolling hills with many elevated tees,lots of birdie and ACE chances get them when you can there is some long holes,
Cons: Newer course still a little rough around the edges should break in though,rubber am tees puddle up and become very slippery,small parking lot get there early for a tournament or you may be walking to the course from a parking lot down the street,
Other Thoughts: $1 donation required definitely worth it,played doubles here with the local players everyone was really nice and helpful,

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 s-a-d-i-s-t-i-c

5+    8/7/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: CHALLENGING and fun, fun, fun. Pro tees that are "truly" pro tees. Easy access from downtown Ludington. Super laid back feel through Michigan's nature.
-elevation changes galore
-holes that will make you decide the risk/reward factor with the risk being a completely lost disc
-one of the best laid out courses I have ever played.
-the pros and ams make the course feel like two completely diff courses
Cons: -Too many signs at entrance, some threatening to non-dollar-payers. Disc golf should have a relaxed feel.
-mixed tees. cement/rubber/small/large
Other Thoughts: If Satan and Paul Bunyon had a kid and he designed a disc golf course, this would be it! Below reviewer nailed my thoughts exactly. Actually was afraid to play some of the pro tees for the first time in my disc golf playing. Par 4 for 805ft through the woods? Really? Hole 10, and especially 12, will test your disc golfing "balls". Elevated drives over ferns and brush with blind landings. I end up playing the AM tee on 12 every time. Intimidating to say the least. You will also hit more wood than Pan Anderson at an 80's hair metal reunion party.

A great change of pace from the Beauty/Beast courses further south of Ludington.

UPDATED:8.17.8 Raised my ranking of the course based on the supreme challenge it offers.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.