Ludington, MI 
Leviathan Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Epic, destination course, advanced difficulty

2-4    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -
-Epic scenic holes.
-There are about 7 holes that are just awesome and unique, when you play you'll see!
-Not a bad hole that doesn't offer a pathway or challenge.
-Very fair. Very long, big throwers delight!
-The only course I have played that can rival the distance on this course is Idlewild. I do believe this course beats Idlewild in terms of distance.
-Very long
-Defined fairways
-Excellent elevation changes
-Very difficult
-Long tee's have cement pads
-Acceptable baskets
-Very challenging with a high fun factor
-About three quarters of course is in shade at peak day
-Secluded
-Not high traffic even on Memorial weekend
-Benches on each hole
Cons: -
-Signs were below average and dated
-Lenghty walks to each hole
-Rubber tees from alternate tee pads.
-Very difficult
-Not friendly to beginners, if your just starting this is probably not the course to start on. You'll end up frustrated and if you rate this course based on how well you shoot or if you enjoy yourself based on your score you'll end up rating it unfairly low and not appreciate it compared to other courses.
-Snakes (garter)
-Long walks, no water holes (but on this course that is a pro)
Other Thoughts: -
This course is an outstanding designed course that provides a very difficult and lengthy challenge yet keeps it very fair.

Each hole has a clearly defined path to use, straying just a little will punish you. You need your best game to do well. This course will reward you for consistent and conservative play.

I would not suggest this course to newbies, and for people who don't throw far and accurate use the alternate tees.

There are large walks in between holes, and if you use the alternate holes you'll be walking even farther. I like the paths and trails to each hole, I think it adds charm to the course.

Rustic course and rough. If you play 18 from the longs you'll be tired. It rivals Idlewild for the most difficult and challenging course I have played, however, I think the fun factor is better then at Idlewilds. This course will test your skills to the fullest yet it is one of the fairest courses I have played.

Alternate holes are good, I really like D,E,F. I think the first holes ABC need a little work, some better signs.

If this course was completed by having concrete tee pads and better signs and naviagation I could easily rate it a 5.

The rough is truly rough, there is a possbility of losing discs on errant throws.

Overall a great course, Has potential to be a 5 star course easily. Already a destination course, advanced players will appreciate this course for its fairness, epic scope, great design, and superb challenge. Second hardest course I have played and still one of the funnest. Good course for wet conditions due to the high soak rate of the soil. Easily accesible in Ludington. GREAT COURSE!!!

Make sure you pay!!! There are only a few volunteers and they need help,

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and tough!

1    10/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is set in a dense forest with rolling hills and lots of different trees and underbrush. Most of the holes have grassy fairways cut through the woods, with fair landing zones and sadistic punishment for errant drives into the schule. There are a few more open holes, and they offer their own challenges with elevation and protected pins, keeping the course varied and interesting.

There is a lot of length on this course from the long tees, with a couple shorter holes where an ace run is possible, but mostly holes that challenge you on your drive and still make you shoot a good upshot to get up and down. There is a huge variety of fairway shapes, so you'll use every shot in your bag if you want to score well here.

There are two tees on the 18 original holes, with grooved concrete pads on the longs and rubber on the shorts. The concrete tees were in good shape, and the signs on the long tees had hole number and distance. The course is very well maintained, clearly a lot of work goes into keeping this course in shape and it shows.

There are a few particularly good holes here that added to the experience and make this course memorable. The second hole shoots off the top of a hill across an open sandy area, then curves into a tunnel in the woods. A long drive with good placement gives you a chance at a great upshot and a putt, but there are lots of ways to mess this one up. The twelfth hole shoots from another elevated tee through a gap in the trees and brush, with lots of shule to clear on the way to the grassy landing zone. From there, you have to play over a small hill with a tight gap to get to the green, where the basket is set among trees, just a fantastic hole.
Cons: The signs could use updating, the distances seemed accurate, but with no hole map it called for a lot of scouting on the many blind holes. It's nice to have a shorter set of tees, but they seemed like almost an afterthought, they didn't offer a lot of challenges, had no signs, and the rubber pads looked pretty uneven and covered in sand.

The six new holes also felt sort of slapped together, and didn't really fit with the rest of the course, though with some more work and some newer baskets they definitely add a different kind of hole to the course (for the most part, they were short and technical ace run holes).
Other Thoughts: This course is very tough, and will challenge any golfer's skills from the long tees. You'll need distance, accuracy and shot placement to stay on the fairways and score well. Beginners will find the course more accessible from the short tees, though there is still plenty of brush off the fairways waiting for errant shots.

This is another fantastic course in this area, definitely on the must play list if you're in the area playing Flip or the other Ludington courses. In my opinion, this one is worth a drive all by itself, but if you can, spend the weekend and play the other area courses too.

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Leviathan

5+    9/6/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: jaydee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Not one bad hole. Several holes that would be signature holes on any other course. Moderate elevation changes, tight but not ridiculously tight fairways. Some very long holes. Designed by a top pro (Jim Schultz) who knew what he was doing and it shows.
Cons: In a school zone so no alcohol, etc.
Other Thoughts: The pro tees are for advanced and better players. I have never played the shorts so I can't speak for them but they are way easier than the long tees. The Original 18 is the real course, 6 extras added as an after thought and not worthy of being associated with the original. This is a top 5 course for me, make no mistake, it's tough with disaster holes lurking if you can't control your disc flight. Several of the tight 400' holes are better played with an accurate midrange shot than a driver. Stay in the fairway or throw real far and stay near the fairway.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Just as the name states

1    9/5/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discinboogs
Played: 110  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Hardest course I've ever played. Challenging on every throw. Very fun to watch a sick drive hit the gap 350 feet away. Lot's of fun throws and beautiful lanes. Course covers a vast area making it a quiet course but it is a silent killer of drives. In my top 5 for sure.
Other Thoughts: Leviathon shorts are pretty much all ace runs but in comparison to longs they are rather bland. This course is Demanding to say the least. I beg for 50 more feet of distance on every drive. What a course, thank you God

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning--From the Longs

1    8/14/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Cobra165
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Stunning course from the long tees, with long, fun, fair, creative holes.
Cons: Short tees seem to be an afterthought-- too dissimilar from the longs. Not nearly as fun. Long walks basket to tee. Mats are slippery.
Other Thoughts: I came to the area for one reason--to play the superb Flip City course in nearby Shelby. But since I was staying in Ludington, I decided to play the courses in town. What a wise decision. Leviathan from the longs is one of the most beautiful and challenging courses I have ever seen. The highest praise I can offer is this: although the previous reviewers are correct that many of the holes are long and tight, the fact is that each and every hole is fair. None of the fairways are the kind where you are picking your way through 5-foot gaps all the way down. These fairways make you think before you throw, a rare commodity in today's course design. In some spots, your best bet will be to throw a controlled mid-range from the tee as opposed to trying to crush a driver. Take what the course gives you and you will score well.

So don't be afraid to give the long tees a go. The photos don't do it justice. In fact, looking at the photo from 12's long tee might make you think that the hole is 800 feet of dense woods. In fact, once you carry the wooded ravine with your drive (250 feet will carry it-- no big deal), the hole opens up into a generous landing area, with several options for your second drive to the green.

From the short tees, the course is ok--just nothing special. And it appears that the course was designed in the longs and the shorts were added in later, because the walks from basket to tee are murder in some places (you are basically just walking up the long fairway to reach the short tee anyway, so why not just throw from the longs?).

Also, don't be fooled by the course's humble beginnings--the first few hole are just ok--give it a chance, and once you hit the middle and late holes you will see what I mean.

Another reason not to use the short tees is that they have the rubber mats. Since the course is so close to Lake Michigan, there is sand everywhere, and it fills in the grooves on the mats and makes them slick.

Whoever designed the course, or at least the longs, should seriously consider a true set of am tees (if money allows), and leave the current short tees for beginners.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 BRUTAL!

2-4    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: david_hedstrom
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love this course. It is so challenging. Tight holes that are super long. Shorter birdie holes but that still arent gimmie holes. Pads are great. Navigation is simple. Fairways are very clean and beautiful. Walks between holes are not long but long enough to make you really enjoy the gorgeous setting of this course. Elevation changes and narrow(ish) fairways on long holes (630-800+) reward placement tremendously as a shanked drive will at least give you a high score but probably a lost disc.
Cons: The rough is very unforgiving. I wished I lived closer.
Other Thoughts: The pro tees should be played by advanced players because a beginner would not enjoy shooting the pro tees; so shoot ams if you are not up to the challenge this course presents.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/27/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: RiverBandit
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most difficult course ever.
Beautiful Terrain and foliage.
Every single drive required extreme accuracy, and distance.
Short tees appeared to be very fun with lots of ace runs.
Many drives with elevated tee pads over dense forest and fern plants.
Great use of elevation and terrain, with course pretty well marked for navigation.
Cement tee pads are always a good thing.
Practice area by parking lot.
Score cards provided.
Tight, Long, Difficult, Awesome, Michigan Discgolf at its best.
Cons: Bugs were pretty bad, and we were there early in the morning.
Some signs could be better to help transition between holes.
Some Tee pad signs could be a bit better, because you can't see the basket on a 800 ft par 4 uphill through the woods. We had to walk up many of the holes to figure out where the baskets were before we played the holes.
Other Thoughts: Didn't have time to play the course from both sets of tees, maybe next time. If you are ever in this area to play Flip City, or Mason County Park you have to make time to get over and see this course it was so worth it.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Leviathan

2-4    5/20/2008   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Challenging course, regardlss of your skill. Cement pads throughout. Well kept and not too far out of Ludington. Definitely worth checking out.
Cons: A lot of woods, the thickness of the woods makes it easy to lose a disc.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
For sure a "tech" course. Alot of tight woods. The difference between the Am and Pro tees are greater than any other setup ive seen. If you play from the am tees you play a semi-short decent tech course, but if you play the pro tees (which should be renamed " Expert tees") you will find one of the most challenging courses you've ever played!

Course Atmosphere--
Up north feel, a little closer to town than mason county park though.

Course Maintenance--
Clean, im sure theres someone who goes around and tends to it based on what I saw. There are concrete tee pads on every hole.

Course Navigation--
Pretty easy to follow, no spots that will really confuse you.
Cons:
Hazards--
Playing from the pro tee there is some thick woods on the edges. Its set up in a way that makes it easy to lose a disc, due to both how far you have to throw and how thick it can be in spots.
Other Thoughts:
--This is one of the hardest courses ive played, this makes it a pro but at the same time it can make it a con because some holes are overwellming.

Pay to Play--
$1

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best Wooded Courses

5+    4/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 80  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The difference from Pro to Am tees makes this like 2 courses in one,very challenging and a lot of fun,clean course with nice benches on almost every hole,nice porta pottie,great mix of holes short to long open to tight left to right you will need every shot you have,practice baskets,course goes through rolling hills with many elevated tees,lots of birdie and ACE chances get them when you can there is some long holes,
Cons: Newer course still a little rough around the edges should break in though,rubber am tees puddle up and become very slippery,small parking lot get there early for a tournament or you may be walking to the course from a parking lot down the street,
Other Thoughts: $1 donation required definitely worth it,played doubles here with the local players everyone was really nice and helpful,

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.