Colfax, IA 
Lewis Club Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #11 (Taken 7/2010)
-- / --   3 / 352ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Sign/Tee/Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course in a small town

5+    3/23/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: shakatak
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Excellent variety of wooded and open holes. *Good use of elevation.
*Two open downhill bomber holes.
*Course is in a small town and never crowded, in fact if you see more than 1 other group there I'd be surprised.
*Only about 3 minutes off of I-80 so if you're going through Iowa on I-80 stop by for a round.
*My favorite holes:
Hole 1: Pretty simple hole from tee to putting area but the basket is placed on a severe hill that slopes down from right to left making most putts pretty scary. I've had many roll away putts on this hole.
Hole 2: Relatively tight tunnel shot with o.b. on the right and trees on the left.
Hole 4: Nice easy 240' straight shot although if you're off too far left, right, or long you'll find yourself in the creek.
Hole 6: Fun, long hole that plays downhill over rolling hills. O.B. fence on the right that doesn't come in to play for righties much but as a lefty I've been over it a few times.
Hole 7: Short uphill hole over a creek. Many trees in the creek area so you have to avoid them or wind up looking at a bogey or worse.
Hole 8: I call this the "question mark hole" because of its fairway shape. Tight wooded hole that goes straight, curves right, then comes back left at the end. Tough hole for a lefty to get close.
Hole 10: Fun downhill shorter hole that is a lefty hole. O.B. on the right but a wide open lane on the left.
Hole 12: WIDE OPEN downhill bomber, I guarantee you'll throw more than one disc and maybe even empty your bag here.
Hole 17: 2nd wide open downhill bomber, you'll probably throw more than one disc here too.
Cons: *The course is most fun for me to play in the fall or spring. In the summer the rough gets to be around 4' high which is a real hassle if you throw into it. The long rough is in play on holes 3, 5, 6, and 9-14. I probably won't play this course in the summer again even though I love it and I'm only 15 minutes away, the rough is that bad.
*Very dangerous crossing area on hole 7. You have to make a small jump of about a foot and a half from a grassy area to a large chunk of asphalt. The jump itself isn't a huge jump but it is about a 15-20' drop to the creek so if you miss it (I haven't heard of anyone missing it) you will more than likely be messed up pretty good. *EDIT - There is now a very sturdy bridge that was placed here right before the tournament late July 2013.
*Hole 15. This hole is almost impossible for a short throwing lefty. It's about 270' with a heavily wooded creek on the left and o.b. road on the right. The hole is on the left side of the road, same as the teepad. The line to the hole is a big righty hyzer that glides over the road and comes back. If you're a lefty without a 270' anhyzer shot your best play is to throw a putter 80' ahead and then try your luck from there. I absolutely hate this hole.
*Holes 13, 14, and 16 aren't all that exciting but they're still okay.
*Course signs show that most of the holes have an alternate basket position but they've been in the same place every single time I've played there so I'm pretty sure they don't change them. Not really a complete "con" I guess since I like the basket positions.
*There is a shelter for gatherings not too far from the basket on hole 12 so if there is something going on you more than likely have to skip that hole.
*There is a playground that can come in to play just to the left of the fairway for 17, a long downhill hole.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course. If you live in the Des Moines area and are in to disc golf you've probably played this course but if not you need to. Might not be the best course for someone just learning, they could possibly lose a disc or two or at least spend a ton of time looking for discs. I've taken a friend who is relatively new though and he does just fine. The course record is 43 by Tanner Duncan (discwrangler on DGCR) during the 1st round of a 2012 tournament. That was a 1076 rated round so good luck beating that score. **Update** New course record is 42 by Matt Fausch during the 1st round of the 2014 tourney. That round was part of a 1080 rated round (there were two temp holes added but he played the original 18 holes in 42 shots).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 S E C R E T

1    12/30/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: ChubbyChad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Epic shots. Nice landscaping. Well groomed course. Large tee pads. Bright colored baskets.
Cons: ...........I can't think of any. Maybe that it is NOT close enough to Des Moines...
Other Thoughts: What a breath of fresh air this course was to stumble across. I hate to even talk it up, because I enjoy the quiet atmosphere, but anyone who lives around Colfax or Des Moines, this course is worth the drive. I enjoyed the flow of the course and the "downhill bombers" the course provided. Totally worth the drive from Des Moines!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of space

1    9/23/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: mandingo.chupacabra
Played: 125  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs have huge lettering you can read from 100+ft

Flow from one hole to the next is very intuitive except maybe for hole 8

The Blaze orange baskets are extremely easy to see from a distance

Great mix of approach shots
Cons: The bridge at hole 7 was down the day I played, so you have to walk back around to get to the basket

I did not lose any discs, but a bad landing off the fairway could lead to a long search
Other Thoughts: I think the course designer did a great job highlighting the natural features of a relatively small piece of land.

I usually plan in Va, so this course was a welcome relief from 'this is a wooded tunnel shot that goes straight', 'this is a wooded tunnel shot that bends to the right', 'this is a wooded tunnel shot that bends to the left', etc...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: ackwell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good flow with good basket placement that will challenge the pros. half of course is praire and half heavly wooded.
concrete tees
Cons: back nine is not marked very well and its a challenge to find all the tees
Other Thoughts: this course is one of the best i have ever played. instant classic. this course will make you pay if you cant hit the fareways. use some bright colored discs and happy hunting. this course rocks!!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Questionable Baskets

2-4    8/14/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Cemente teepads, great elevation changes, good mix of short and long holes. This one is definitely worth playing. There are multiple holes on this course where you just want to empty your bag.
Cons: The baskets are either mach 1's or 2's. Not the greatest. Plus they have been painted by the local shool in their colors(royal blue, blaze orange and white).
Other Thoughts: Baskets aside, this course is a good one.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.