Colfax, IA 
Lewis Club Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #11 (Taken 7/2010)
-- / --   3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Sign/Tee/Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Worth a shot, worth the drive.

5+    9/9/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 67  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mando Pros:
Nice, poured tee pads
Mowed, sometimes...
Big, informative signs, the ones that were left.

Hole variety, layout, flow is where this course shines. At Lewis there is a good deal of hole and shot variety, which I, incidentally, find important and enjoyable in a disc golf experience.

Here's how a typical round might play out.
The round starts with a few holes that at first glance look like sleepers, but the elevation, OB, psych-out water hazard extreme OB (that's a ravine behind and around the pin of 4!) of the first four holes may have you wondering,
"What else am I going to have to throw through to make it out of this alive?!?"
A better question would be, "What am I NOT going to have to throw through?!?"
I hope you're warmed up by this point because the party's just starting!

Prepare for blind shots on 9 and 11. Seriously, spot each other, you WILL save time!
Get ready for MASSIVE down hill bombs on holes 12 and 17.
You'll need a great drive to par on a few stretched out, uphill holes: 5, 6, 13, 16 and 18.
And don't forget to bring your short game for holes 7, 8, 10 and 14.
They will test your accuracy, shot selection, disc choice and cool headedness with their tight lines and technical curves. Hole 15 is rather straight forward.
I think this course is just missing the "throw over the body of water" shot to have the full gamut.

Parking is good.
Port-o-john by hole 12.
I think I remember a trash can or two...
And it feels like this course is underplayed. Its always pretty clean and I only ever see a few high school aged kids out there (the course is near a school, though).

So what's missing?
Cons: Some of the signs, for starters!
One time I played a round and hole 10 wasn't mowed, oops, no fairway! See pics.

The following aren't Cons but you should know:
Be prepared for tall grass, tight OB lines w/ barbed wire fences, trees and bugs.
The groups I've played with here have contributed 3 discs to the property, so pay attention and spots your shots!

Some who don't like to travel too far may feel it's a bit out of the way of the DSM metro area to justify the drive to Colfax.
It is definitely worth a try, however!
Other Thoughts: A few missing signs aren't enough for me to bring this rating down too much,
especially when accompanied by such variety in hole length, elevation, distance and strategy.
As far as I'm concerned, Lewis Park is one of the hidden gems of central IA, as rough, underplayed and out of the way as it may be.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Spotter

1    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: TreeSkipper
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has bright Orange baskets that are easy to see. The first six holes and the last six were pretty decent if you stay away from the tall grass. The rest are for more experienced golfers.
Cons: You could lose discs on every hole until hole 12. There is a pasture along the side of most holes, and lots of tall grass. Fairways gradually get narrower as you play. There are a few holes that are next to impossible. I think it was hole 7 where you had to cross a creek and throw between a couple of trees that were no more than 6 feet apart. Then you enter the woods for a few holes with very narrow paths for fairways and some rather steep uphill climbs.
Other Thoughts: Bring along some kids for spotters and bring the lighter colored discs!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of space

1    9/23/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: mandingo.chupacabra
Played: 125  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs have huge lettering you can read from 100+ft

Flow from one hole to the next is very intuitive except maybe for hole 8

The Blaze orange baskets are extremely easy to see from a distance

Great mix of approach shots
Cons: The bridge at hole 7 was down the day I played, so you have to walk back around to get to the basket

I did not lose any discs, but a bad landing off the fairway could lead to a long search
Other Thoughts: I think the course designer did a great job highlighting the natural features of a relatively small piece of land.

I usually plan in Va, so this course was a welcome relief from 'this is a wooded tunnel shot that goes straight', 'this is a wooded tunnel shot that bends to the right', 'this is a wooded tunnel shot that bends to the left', etc...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: ackwell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good flow with good basket placement that will challenge the pros. half of course is praire and half heavly wooded.
concrete tees
Cons: back nine is not marked very well and its a challenge to find all the tees
Other Thoughts: this course is one of the best i have ever played. instant classic. this course will make you pay if you cant hit the fareways. use some bright colored discs and happy hunting. this course rocks!!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Questionable Baskets

2-4    8/14/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Cemente teepads, great elevation changes, good mix of short and long holes. This one is definitely worth playing. There are multiple holes on this course where you just want to empty your bag.
Cons: The baskets are either mach 1's or 2's. Not the greatest. Plus they have been painted by the local shool in their colors(royal blue, blaze orange and white).
Other Thoughts: Baskets aside, this course is a good one.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.