Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #16 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 355ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
The Mighty Z

5+    6/16/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beast this course is. It's mean it's brutal. I'm like a girl in a bad relationship, Z beats me every time I'm there, but I keep coming back.
Technical holes in the trees that rival other DFW courses like Coyote. Long open holes. Crazy uphill, crazy downhill. Ace run holes. They are all here. So much here at this park.
This is a park that has nothing else going on except disc golf, so you tend to not have random roaming people. It's made in two nine hole loops, so it's easy to leave at nine or start at ten. There's a practice basket with a huge area around it.
Cons: Crazy busy! Like I said, no non-disc golfers, but a ton of disc golfers. Go really early in the morning or get bogged down.
The baskets look like they've been through nuclear warfare, but they seem to still catch.
The train tracks are right by the park, not far off the fairways on a few holes. It's mainly just loud and annoying.
The fancy wooded Z basket thing is gone. This makes me sad.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the D F Dub, go to the Z!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/1/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: 02sportytex
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging holes while still playable for newbies.
- It's got everything from wide open no obstacles, to climbing shots, top of cliff-down shots, and over the creek and through the woods to grandmother's house we go-shots.
Cons: -Some holes are hard to navigate, specially hole 2 and 9 but most of them are easy to see the basket.
-Parking SUCKS! This is a very popular course and the parking lot is far too small for it's popularity.
- No where to warm up with long shots before beginning the round unless you drive to the nearby baseball field and then go start the round.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course each time I play. Last time, I lost my favorite driver on hole 2 thanks to a wicked left hook shot. Spent a good half hour going through the trees between hole 1 and 2 and had no luck. If you find a blue Discraft XS driver with the name Curtis on the back, please let me know.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/22/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: ChainSocietyDiscs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course is in amazing shape! It offers every shot you can imagine throwing. Huge hyzers, huge anhyzers, huge forehands, long straight tunnel shots, blind shots, elevated shots, and everything inbetween! One of the coolest dynamics of this course is its history. The course was dedicated to always be a public park in Fort Worth after a local business owner purchased the property and dedicated is as such to the city. The locals are awesome and always willing to help you find the tee pads but once you get to hole one it flows in the most natural way a disc golf course can. The tee pads are all very large and in great shape! This is by far the best course in DFW.
Cons: I cant think of one negative aspect about this course.
Other Thoughts: If you are ever in Fort Worth contact the local club The Texas Chain Society for information on minis and a league that is run weekly! We hope to see you on the tee pad!

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Must play course in Fort Worth.

1    7/7/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 68  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking, multiple tee pads, multiple pin locations, signage was good. This course has everything, open shots, tight tunnel shots, elevation changes up and down, trees, trees, and more trees. The trees provide good and bad tree love. The course makes you bring every shot you have in your bag! Alot of high risk, high reward on this course. A must play!
Cons: Not very many cons. The course had some trash out and around even though the trash cans weren't full. The course and holes were in good shape except some of the walk ways could be trimmed up.
Other Thoughts: The course is well known and heavily played, I played on a Tuesday and saw about a dozen people out there playing, but the course is so well laid out that I never ran into another group of players. I definite must play if your in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and Enjoyable

5+    5/19/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is one of the oldest in the Fort worth area yet it is still evolving. There is some shaping of the holes that has happened in the last 6 months or so that makes the course better. There is almost every type of shot in this course except an island shot. My favorite holes are 10 and 15. The creeks and trees make this course a tough but enjoyable place to play.
Cons: The course is very popular and can have too much traffic at times. Having the trash emptied more regularly would really help keep the course clean and there is a bunch of graffiti. The rough off of the fairway is really thick in many spots and loosing a disc is pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I like all of the recent work on the course and some more thinning of the off fairway areas would make it less frustrating if you have a bad shot without making it too easy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Course

1    4/9/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: Scouser17
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You use all of the discs in your bag on the course.
Elevation Changes which is nice compared to most courses I play.
Lots of technical holes and 2-3 wide open.
Beautiful landscape.
Multiple Tees
Beautiful scenary.
Cons: Nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Took 2.5 hour drive to come play. Was worth every penny spent on gas and time.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Come Early

1    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 60  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best and most interesting courses in DFW. It has a wide variety of distances, elevation, and tree coverage. Most teepads are in the shade, which is always appreciated in Texas. The teepads were concrete and the signage was adequate. Hole 9 was definitely my favorite, throwing blindly from the top of a hill over the treeline and into the field below. Similar to #5 at Veterans, but longer and easier to locate your disc. There are a few wide open holes early and some tighter holes later, but there was a lot of variety along the way and every hole felt challenging while still very parable. I didn't get many 2's, but there weren't any holes where I felt like 3 was just not realistic.
Cons: As everyone else has mentioned, it's very crowded. We played at 8:30am on a Saturday, so it wasn't as big of an issue, but the parking lot was already almost full, and by the time we finished, there were a lot of people loitering in the parking lot acting shady. The graffiti and litter was disappointing, but it's kind of expected on a course this busy. I'll never understand why canibus proponents think they are helping their cause by defacing public property to spread their message. We get it, you like to smoke, but writing about it on a park bench only gives smokers a bad name by associating it with another crime.
Other Thoughts: Wish I could play here more, but it's a full hour away, so not likely, but I did enjoy my round and really appreciated the challenge and balance of the course. The creek was nearly bone dry, so it wasn't a true water hazard.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Thought TX was warm....

2-4    12/28/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: PickleDigits
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice mixture of distance and accuracy. a number of holes had good elevation changes. The passing trains made for a unique distraction. once you come down from the top tee the course changes to mostly wooded. This is where the creek and tighter lines come into play. The last 5 holes will make or break your round. A very fun course and i'd say the most fun of the Dallas-Fort Worth area courses i played while in Texas.
Cons: Why do all the Dallas-Fort Worth courses have soooo much trash laying around. I saw garbage cans on every course. USE THEM!!! This was the dirtiest course i played. difficult to navigate at first. some missing signs. Lots of graffiti.
Other Thoughts: Well worth playing. Check it out

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game. No really.

5+    9/8/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 43  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good Variety of Holes
2. Course is devoted to Disc Golf
3. Excellent blend of shots needed
4. It changes pace through out the course
5. Well maintained landscaping
6. Parking Lot is awesome (seriously it's in top10 things I like about the course.
7. Baskets aren't vandalized.
8. Easily navigated for the most part.
9. Trashcans at most teepads.
10. Challenging.
Cons: 1. Some holes run along railroad tracks, or busy roads
2. Signs aren't accurate really
3. Locals practicing golf in blind shots (hole 9 area)
4. Some of the areas are disc magnets (not really a con, but should be noted as a negative for everyone to know.)
5. Debris of fallen limbs and trees (literally trees on 14)
6. Vandalism is rampant, but not really offensive.
7. Trash needs to be removed from later holes.
8. Careful for snakes here.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, but I don't play it as much as I'd like. It's a decent drive from my house, with 3 courses closer. It's a wonderful experience if you have buddies with you. It's one of the longer courses. Hole 4 is hard to par especially with it being par 3 on 700+ feet. The pins rarely move, you can take that as a negative or positive. The locals are really nice and will help you out of they can. I love this course and will go again extremely soon.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/3/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course I have played. It has a great mix of tight wooded lines to open bombers as well as a crazy amount of elevation change for being in a pretty flat part of the city. And the creek comes into play in a number of holes in the back 9. The course starts at the bottom of the hill and then plays up top and then down and around the side of the hill and back up again for the front 9. This lends itself to some really fun elevation change (Hole #4,9 are awesome bombs off the top of the plateau). Back 9 plays through some fairly dense woods. And crosses over the creek a couple of times. 15 has a really fun line thats perfect for an anhyzer with and understable disc. 16 provides an interesting challenge as its a pretty tight fairway, but still a long hole and wooded at the end. And 18 is always fun - you're basically trying to meander through a wall of trees in front of the tee box.
Cons: Can be very crowded - also makes parking a hassle. After a lot of rain the river crossings can be a bit hairy. I've played here a lot and this has only happened once but after we had had a whole lot of rain this past winter a couple of the holes were flooded. Haven't seen anytime since then though. All pretty minor complaints.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course, excellent mix of technical shots and bombers. Hole #9 is a personal favorite of mine. You can avoid the crowds if you just play early (a necessity in the summer if you want to beat the heat).

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.