Fort Worth, TX
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #12
3 / 435ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Z-Boaz

5+    8/3/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course I have played. It has a great mix of tight wooded lines to open bombers as well as a crazy amount of elevation change for being in a pretty flat part of the city. And the creek comes into play in a number of holes in the back 9. The course starts at the bottom of the hill and then plays up top and then down and around the side of the hill and back up again for the front 9. This lends itself to some really fun elevation change (Hole #4,9 are awesome bombs off the top of the plateau). Back 9 plays through some fairly dense woods. And crosses over the creek a couple of times. 15 has a really fun line thats perfect for an anhyzer with and understable disc. 16 provides an interesting challenge as its a pretty tight fairway, but still a long hole and wooded at the end. And 18 is always fun - you're basically trying to meander through a wall of trees in front of the tee box.
Cons: Can be very crowded - also makes parking a hassle. After a lot of rain the river crossings can be a bit hairy. I've played here a lot and this has only happened once but after we had had a whole lot of rain this past winter a couple of the holes were flooded. Haven't seen anytime since then though. All pretty minor complaints.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course, excellent mix of technical shots and bombers. Hole #9 is a personal favorite of mine. You can avoid the crowds if you just play early (a necessity in the summer if you want to beat the heat).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect Home Course

5+    8/10/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: willmayfield
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2011
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Every kind of shot needed. Extremely challenging without being annoying. Beautiful course fecund with elms red oaks and live oaks.
Cons: Traffic, at times. The loud jets and trains.
Other Thoughts: Great place to learn. Back nine is nice and shady for the really hot days.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: tland447
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: -all types of shots required
-great veiw
-wooded area
-river
Cons: -its very hard to find some tees including the first tee
Other Thoughts: I recomend this course to average players or above. Not a very good beginner course.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 z boaz

5+    1/25/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: very big very windy beast in the winter in great shape the pins are moved very often well groomed great hills and trees can bee very tight right now the first two are short and the 3 and 4 are very large come and try to par good luck five is short and dog leg left and six is short strait but well covered seven from the pro tee today i threw a back hand w/ me being a lefty worked well then birdied with a long tomahawk eight is a dog leg right and nine is a big down hill dog leg left good luck in the wind ten is big and open and the pin is in the wood witch makes for a difficult approach eleven is a short tight dogleg right and twelve is big open hole that i pared with a back handed nuke then a tomahawk with the nuke again and then a good putt 13 is across the creek short pin 14 the leaves are pretty bad and 15 is tight but strait and 16 is strait and there is a good line for lefties over the trees to the left with a good hizer back hand 17 is strait over the hump and e z birdie 18 is to the right my buddy aced it last week


the locals are very help full and i play z boas every week end at least once
Cons: some times crowded but not bad the leaves eat the discs so bring a rake the course is known to eat disc and the water is cold but that is about all that i can complain about
Other Thoughts: top coarse in ft worth come play people are friendly and dogs are welcome

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Layout

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Demands all of your shots.
-Some really cool holes.
-Benches at every tee.
-Brings in a little river into play, but it is not too intimidating.
-Multiple Tees
-Multiple Holes
-I love shade
Cons: -If you go there after it rains it can be very muddy.
-#11 especially
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It felt like a tight course, but there were many different lines you could take. Just an all around good quality course. Many holes are pretty straight forward and easy to navigate. On number 9 throw over the trees and rip it. Bring good quality plastic. I had an inconsistent day and hit a few trees hard. This course is a hike also. Would def. recommend this course to any experienced player. Not good for newbs.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Best combination of styles Ive played anywhere

5+    4/8/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: billbiddy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging combination of terrain types. it has Water, Tunnels, Thickets, Open distances, Elevation changes (sometimes dramatic ones) and left and right banks.
Cons: It is increadibly confusing for a first timer to figure out at all where the next tee can be. Especially on the first 9. Play it a couple times and it will start to click.
Other Thoughts: It really is a shame its so popular. I dont mind that people like to play it, but I really dont like how people treat this course. Its so in the woods that a lot of people tend to litter the course with mounds of beer cans and other things. It is also in practically outer mongolia for those of us that arent in cowtown.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love at First Drive

2-4    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain, with several elevation shots....a BIG plus in dfw....This has got to be one of the most proffesional looking courses i have played to date with A TON OF VARIETY...several wooded, open, uphill, and downhill holes...creek comes into play on 3 holes.... a lot of holes you definitely have to commit to a line and hit it, the good thing is many holes have a couple lines you can choose from which can really make a round fun and interesting...Best advice is shoot for the fairway, take your threes and keep on walking....theres a couple birdie holes but you have to pick your battles, this is def not a pitch and putt course, some of these holes par 3 seems impossible :) ....

Z-Boaz has Plenty of open holes to just let it rip, mixed with plenty of technical holes that are long and short...and another good thing is LOTS OF BENCHES!! always a plus....several trash cans too, they just dont seem to get used very much :(
Cons: NO SIGNS!! i noticed a couple of marble slabs next to the first couple tee pads....other than that, nothing.....if its your first time you def need someone to show you around!! Lots of trash, a lot bagged, but a lot on the ground as well....but thats def a sign that this place is used a lot.... oh and btw i didnt see any restrooms either..

only reason its not a 5 is bc lack of signs and lots of trash, if trash was picked up and they put some signs up this would without a doubt be an easy 5
Other Thoughts: Lots of People here...zboaz is probably one of the most popular courses in the dfw area...and for a good cause....i will highly recommend this course to everyone....

Bring your "A" game bc your gonna need it....has plenty of holes that you can par one round and easily take a 5+ the next....if it seems like its not all that hard, play from the longs with all par 3's, shoot a 54 and you'll feel like youve won the lottery...

another note- this ones def not the place to bring a newbie to try and learn the sport....it can be pretty hard/frustrating at times, even for the best of players

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 The locals ruined this course for me.

5+    4/6/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a 5 star course easy!Championship level layout.You will need every shot in your bag.Best variety of holes I have ever played.You never face the same challenge hole to hole.
Best holes
1.By far the best starting hole EVER!!
It's short enough to nab a quick birdie to start the round.This can turn to a bogey or worse with one bad throw.
2.There's a part of me that hates this hole.That aside You can't ask for a much better/challenging hole.A tight tee shot and a blind uphill approach.Playing safe can net you a par in most cases but going for bird can land you double/triple land real quick.
4.Great hole that puts the best that z-boaz has to offer in one long ass hole.This is a par 4 to mere mortals(even that's a hard goal for the average player)
8.This hole hugs the hill that separates the nines.This hole has the feel of a ball golf hole especially when in the short right position.You have to avoid the "valley of death" which is protected by a large dormant tree with branches dare you to hug the dogleg on this hole.
9.Considered the "signature"hole at Z-boaz.You tee off above the treeline about 40 ft below is the lower field where the basket is.
You need to carry 250 feet or the trees will knock you down.If you get to the field it's an easy par and possibly a birdie.I witnessed a hole in one at the 2008 z-boaz open.
11.Great short technical hole with pin positions right,left and center.Great tunnel shot.
12.Another championship level hole at the Z!
You toss out to a field through a a tunnel of trees.Than you most navigate a low tunnel shot through an amazingly hard to hit hole between trees.
14.Over the creek shot with enough trees to ruin your day but fair enough to give you a real chance at a hole-in-one.
18.Great finishing hole from either tee.It really shines from the longs.With a low slightly hyzer tee shot over the creek.Once you reach the green there are a lot of trees that can knock your disc into the creek.
Cons: This course has the worst locals of any course I have played.That's not to say they all suck.Some are quite nice.They play in large groups without letting singles play through.They have an overly snobby attitude about themselves.Seem to be intolerant to beginners and guests unless they know them.
It's also crowded to the point of ridiculousness.Half the time I go to play I end up leaving because of all the people.This might explain the locals bad attitude actually.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play a course that can kick your Ass but never feel like the holes are unfair.This is about the best DFW has to offer.With that said play early on a weekday or you'll be waiting on the tee a long time,LOL.This is the only course that took me over an hour and a half by myself.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Always fun / always challenging

5+    10/30/2007   10/30/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on a beautiful piece of land with lots of elevation changes -- add to that the fact that the designer is one of the best in the world (Houck), and you've got yourself an excellent, varied, challenging, and overall very aesthetically pleasing course.

The first thing that comes to mind when I think about Zboaz is "variety". Not only is every basic type of line/shot represented, but there is also a great variety in the way each hole looks...which I think adds a lot to the overall "fun factor" of the course. Although you may throw the same type of shot off the tee a few times throughout the round, the individual holes look and feel different enough that you stay interested. There are also very few "filler" holes at Zboaz...really only 1or 2 that I would consider to be less than interesting, but even those provide a good challenge for most.

The next thing that comes to mind here is elevation. Typically, most Texas courses aren't known for elevation, but Houck did a good job using the elevation at Zboaz park in creative ways. Through the course of 18 holes, you have to throw downhill, extreme downhill, uphill, extreme uphill, across gorges/creeks, slightly down and uphill, etc, etc. The most notorious elevation holes are probably 2 (tight wooded fairway with a steep uphill climb to the basket), 4 (loooong multi-level downhill bomber), and 9 (blind hyzer over a tree-line from about 40' up).

There isn't a single hole on the course that's a "gimme"...you'll definitely have to be on your toes the entire round to shoot well.

The baskets are all Discatchers, all the tees are concrete (several have multiple tees), several holes have seats/benches, and the locals are VERY active.
Cons: The last time I played there, the trash cans at most holes were beyond overflowing...but that may have been addressed since then. Also, a lack of quality signs can make it a little difficult to find baskets on some of the longer/blind holes.

The course is typically very crowded on weekends and evenings...this is a great sign to me, but trying to get in a quick round when it's crowded is next to impossible. If you're playing by yourself, prepare to ask "can I play through?" many times.
Other Thoughts: Overall, one of the best in the DFW. Zboaz is fun and very interesting without being gimmicky at any point. Provides a great challenge regardless of pin placement.

The weekly mini (Sunday morning I believe) typically has a good turnout, and Zboaz is also the site of one of the Metroplex's biggest tourneys. I've heard a lot of touring pros list Zboaz as one of their top 10 courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

7/4/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: bacr
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course. You need every shot. Left, right, long, short, low, high, you need them all.

This course is difficult, but for serious Disc Golfers, in DFW area, it is a must.
Cons: No signs so finding the pin from the tee box can be difficult sometimes.

The park is crowded, so don't play if you are in a hurry.

Z is extremely tough so beginners will really struggle.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Z is an excellent course, but it is not for beginners. If you aren't a decently experienced player, the course will likely just frustrate you.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.