Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #11
3 / 155ft.   3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Challenging and Enjoyable

5+    5/19/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: This course is one of the oldest in the Fort worth area yet it is still evolving. There is some shaping of the holes that has happened in the last 6 months or so that makes the course better. There is almost every type of shot in this course except an island shot. My favorite holes are 10 and 15. The creeks and trees make this course a tough but enjoyable place to play.
Cons: The course is very popular and can have too much traffic at times. Having the trash emptied more regularly would really help keep the course clean and there is a bunch of graffiti. The rough off of the fairway is really thick in many spots and loosing a disc is pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I like all of the recent work on the course and some more thinning of the off fairway areas would make it less frustrating if you have a bad shot without making it too easy.

Amazing Course

1    4/9/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: Scouser17
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You use all of the discs in your bag on the course.
Elevation Changes which is nice compared to most courses I play.
Lots of technical holes and 2-3 wide open.
Beautiful landscape.
Multiple Tees
Beautiful scenary.
Cons: Nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Took 2.5 hour drive to come play. Was worth every penny spent on gas and time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Come Early

1    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 50  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best and most interesting courses in DFW. It has a wide variety of distances, elevation, and tree coverage. Most teepads are in the shade, which is always appreciated in Texas. The teepads were concrete and the signage was adequate. Hole 9 was definitely my favorite, throwing blindly from the top of a hill over the treeline and into the field below. Similar to #5 at Veterans, but longer and easier to locate your disc. There are a few wide open holes early and some tighter holes later, but there was a lot of variety along the way and every hole felt challenging while still very parable. I didn't get many 2's, but there weren't any holes where I felt like 3 was just not realistic.
Cons: As everyone else has mentioned, it's very crowded. We played at 8:30am on a Saturday, so it wasn't as big of an issue, but the parking lot was already almost full, and by the time we finished, there were a lot of people loitering in the parking lot acting shady. The graffiti and litter was disappointing, but it's kind of expected on a course this busy. I'll never understand why canibus proponents think they are helping their cause by defacing public property to spread their message. We get it, you like to smoke, but writing about it on a park bench only gives smokers a bad name by associating it with another crime.
Other Thoughts: Wish I could play here more, but it's a full hour away, so not likely, but I did enjoy my round and really appreciated the challenge and balance of the course. The creek was nearly bone dry, so it wasn't a true water hazard.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Thought TX was warm....

2-4    12/28/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: PickleDigits
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice mixture of distance and accuracy. a number of holes had good elevation changes. The passing trains made for a unique distraction. once you come down from the top tee the course changes to mostly wooded. This is where the creek and tighter lines come into play. The last 5 holes will make or break your round. A very fun course and i'd say the most fun of the Dallas-Fort Worth area courses i played while in Texas.
Cons: Why do all the Dallas-Fort Worth courses have soooo much trash laying around. I saw garbage cans on every course. USE THEM!!! This was the dirtiest course i played. difficult to navigate at first. some missing signs. Lots of graffiti.
Other Thoughts: Well worth playing. Check it out

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game. No really.

5+    9/8/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 43  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Good Variety of Holes
2. Course is devoted to Disc Golf
3. Excellent blend of shots needed
4. It changes pace through out the course
5. Well maintained landscaping
6. Parking Lot is awesome (seriously it's in top10 things I like about the course.
7. Baskets aren't vandalized.
8. Easily navigated for the most part.
9. Trashcans at most teepads.
10. Challenging.
Cons: 1. Some holes run along railroad tracks, or busy roads
2. Signs aren't accurate really
3. Locals practicing golf in blind shots (hole 9 area)
4. Some of the areas are disc magnets (not really a con, but should be noted as a negative for everyone to know.)
5. Debris of fallen limbs and trees (literally trees on 14)
6. Vandalism is rampant, but not really offensive.
7. Trash needs to be removed from later holes.
8. Careful for snakes here.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, but I don't play it as much as I'd like. It's a decent drive from my house, with 3 courses closer. It's a wonderful experience if you have buddies with you. It's one of the longer courses. Hole 4 is hard to par especially with it being par 3 on 700+ feet. The pins rarely move, you can take that as a negative or positive. The locals are really nice and will help you out of they can. I love this course and will go again extremely soon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz

5+    8/3/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course I have played. It has a great mix of tight wooded lines to open bombers as well as a crazy amount of elevation change for being in a pretty flat part of the city. And the creek comes into play in a number of holes in the back 9. The course starts at the bottom of the hill and then plays up top and then down and around the side of the hill and back up again for the front 9. This lends itself to some really fun elevation change (Hole #4,9 are awesome bombs off the top of the plateau). Back 9 plays through some fairly dense woods. And crosses over the creek a couple of times. 15 has a really fun line thats perfect for an anhyzer with and understable disc. 16 provides an interesting challenge as its a pretty tight fairway, but still a long hole and wooded at the end. And 18 is always fun - you're basically trying to meander through a wall of trees in front of the tee box.
Cons: Can be very crowded - also makes parking a hassle. After a lot of rain the river crossings can be a bit hairy. I've played here a lot and this has only happened once but after we had had a whole lot of rain this past winter a couple of the holes were flooded. Haven't seen anytime since then though. All pretty minor complaints.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course, excellent mix of technical shots and bombers. Hole #9 is a personal favorite of mine. You can avoid the crowds if you just play early (a necessity in the summer if you want to beat the heat).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety

1    4/13/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large area that seems entirely devoted to disc golf, it's always nice to be free of interference from other park users. There is a great mix of some pretty open holes with lots of wooded holes. There are a couple holes that let you really open up and rip a drive, but even the open holes have some lurking brush to punish poor shot placement.

Elevation is in play on many shots, especially on the front 9. Some tricky uphills, a long slow downhill bomber hole and a cool shot off the top of a ridge are some of the highlights. The wooded shots call for a good variety of line shaping skills, with left and right turning holes, some straight tunnel shots and some holes where s-curves or overhands are the best option. The last few holes bring a creek into play, it's a pretty spot in the park and makes for some cool holes with a deep enough creek bed to make recovery shots tough.

The tees and baskets are in fine shape, the concrete is a good size with enough texture. The course seems to drain really well, it had rained recently and there wasn't much mud or wet spots.
Cons: The grass in the field portion of the course was pretty long, makes for some frustrating searches especially throwing off the hill to a blind landing in long grass. The alternate pin positions aren't marked on the signs, so a lot of extra walking is required to scout out several blind pins. Navigation is tricky in a few spots, with long unmarked walks. A handful of next tee signs would go a long way here. In looking at other reviews, it seems that my experience with the locals is pretty typical. We got behind a few large groups, none of which were all that willing to let faster groups play through. By the end of the course there were 4 other smaller groups backed up with us behind one mega-group moving really slowly.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this one a bit long with some dense enough rough in the woods to be frustrating. More experienced players will find a great mix of different skills tested here, I felt like I needed a good amount of different discs and lines to be successful here. I recommend playing this one at off-peak times, but it is definitely a fun stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 best course in town!

1    5/10/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: LukeButch
Played: 107  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Awesome variety of holes, requiring a bunch of different shots to score well. Also was FUN! something alot of challenging courses are missing
Cons: easy to get lost/confused in the middle of the course, only a couple holes have tee signs but most baskets are numbered.
Other Thoughts: problem with getting lost could easily be fixed with some small "next tee" arrows.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz rules!

2-4    2/25/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: Smickie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WIDE variety of shots. Loved seeing what was coming next. Very pretty course with lots of trees and interesting things to see (Z-boaz basket, fetus tree, etc.) One of the best courses I've played.
Cons: -Parking sucks!!!
-People everywhere! Get there EARLY!
-I'm sure there are nice locals out there as the other reviewers have said, but I didn't find them. Had a mob of about 15 ahead of me and refused to let me and my buddy play through. Had to skip ahead of them.
Other Thoughts: Love, love, LOVE this course. Highly recommend it and well worth the drive. That being said, keep in mind there are alot of shady people here sometimes, so keep your discs where you can see them.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

5+    2/2/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation! So hard to find nice elevation change further north. This course and vets make an awesome day. I love playing here. It has bombs and short accurate shots. I'm not sure who or how often they change the baskets but they are usually changed every round I play.lots off cool looking shot opps. Pretty challenging. Fun in the wind
Cons: It can be a little dirty and it is pretty hot in the summer.. Shocker.. I've seen it get busy, but I play early and beat most of it. Seriously bring plenty of water in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Love playing here. Nice change from the lake parks and mckinneys up here. Worth the drive for sure

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.