Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1
3 / 151ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Straight ahead and watch out for the trees. BTW, that dog, Oakley, would run after your disc and stand by it to let you know where it was and then run back for the next person to throw. A real treat!



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Z-Boaz

5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Multiple shots needed.
Cons: Traffic can be a beast
Some climbing required (Fat people...i.e. ME...do not like climbing hills)
No rope to use when crossing creek (HINT)
Can lose your disc when throwing off the cliff or...pretty much anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Like playing here when I don't lose a disc. Hate playing here after it rains...mud is bad.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz BOOYA

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Multiple pin positions make this course /ery changeable.

2) Dual concrete tees on many holes which is great.

3) Signs with distance, par, hole and next tee. All the information needed for a good tee sign. Apparently, all new tee signs ha/e been installed to go along with the new layout.

4) Awesome mix of mostly wooded holes including a few more open parklike holes. I really enjoyed the /ariety on this course, because the emphasis is on shot making. It isn't just wide open bomber boring holes, the distance needs to be controlled distance!!!

5) Open enough fairways that they are mostly fair. Sure there are a few that will test e/en the best players because of tightness, but that is what the sport is all about. The best part is that luck plays less of a role than skill on this course, all the while challenging all le/els of players.

6) Firepit and hangout area . . . I am sure a lot of good times are shared here, and I am sure a lot of illegal things also happen here, but nonetheless it would be a great place to just hangout ALL DAY.

7) Large garbage cans.

8) Practice Basket

9) Wall of rock on Hole #2 is great both in challenge but also in the /isual it creates.

10) The fake basket in the woods with chain and the Z Boaz sign is a nice touch!!!!

11) Water in play on quite a few holes.
Cons: 1) The parking got me all confused. i tried to find it and i could not based on the gps coordinates so i just parked in the main parking lot, walked across the railroad tracks and started on like Hole #7.

2) Minimalistic maps on the tee signs which would actually be really helpful especially for me the tra/elling disc golfer.

3) Many paths are wore in on this course. Many other areas on this course are beat down from compaction. While it is actually nice to ha/e bare areas and not ha/e to search constantly, it is not a good image because compactio leads to erosion, and the en/ironmentalists will probably come ian e/entually pull this course because of the problems. Its just an e/entual thing that will happen after time.

4) Garbage is all o/er the wooded holes. It seems like it either blew in from the wind, or washed in from high waters.

5) Older discatchers are faded yellow and ha/e seen some abuse o/er the years.

6) Creek crossings could use some work still. Good thing the water was low when I was there.

7) The lack of turf or groundco/er will make this course undesirable after rains!
Other Thoughts: This is my type of course, I lo/e the wooded holes but I like the /ariety also. I would definitely play here a lot if I li/ed in this area. I could see playing a bunch of rounds on any gi/en weekend. The design and challenge of this course are rated much higher than the maintenance and the asthetics. All of this leads me to gi/e this course a 4 and I would compare it to a Milwaukee fa/orite Dretzka Park. Dretzka is one of the most played courses and challenges e/eryone, but the maintenance and /isual is just subpar.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  zboaz experience

5+    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: chompyjomby
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well rounded course. All types of throws and terrain. Often a guy in parking lot that has a decent selection for sale. One of the best in the fort worth area.
Cons: All par 3s can get boring once you know course. Questionable people around. Had 3 discs stolen and the guy in front ended up having them stripped of names. Beware. Can get hot during summer bring drinks and a snack.
Other Thoughts: Takes 1.5 to 3 hrs to play through depending on skill and grp size. Not a ton of parking and can be busy in the evening.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: tland447
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: -all types of shots required
-great veiw
-wooded area
-river
Cons: -its very hard to find some tees including the first tee
Other Thoughts: I recomend this course to average players or above. Not a very good beginner course.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 I love the Z.

5+    3/3/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: TaylorW10
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good use of the terrain. It was windy today so I played the back nine twice. I have seen some killer drives out here on the front nine with a tailwind and a long downhill bomb. This course has all kinds of shots and some water to challenge you. If I had to pick a favorite course in Fort Worth, this is it. Nice locals will help you out with some pointers, and let you play through if you need to.
Cons: Trash cans overflowing. This is a popular course, so the trash collectors often can't keep the cans emptied. Graffiti. Crowded on weekends, but I have always been allowed to play through large groups.
Other Thoughts: If you're on the West side of DFW, this is the best course. Stop by Saddle Hills on the way home and get in some extra throws.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 z boaz

5+    1/25/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: very big very windy beast in the winter in great shape the pins are moved very often well groomed great hills and trees can bee very tight right now the first two are short and the 3 and 4 are very large come and try to par good luck five is short and dog leg left and six is short strait but well covered seven from the pro tee today i threw a back hand w/ me being a lefty worked well then birdied with a long tomahawk eight is a dog leg right and nine is a big down hill dog leg left good luck in the wind ten is big and open and the pin is in the wood witch makes for a difficult approach eleven is a short tight dogleg right and twelve is big open hole that i pared with a back handed nuke then a tomahawk with the nuke again and then a good putt 13 is across the creek short pin 14 the leaves are pretty bad and 15 is tight but strait and 16 is strait and there is a good line for lefties over the trees to the left with a good hizer back hand 17 is strait over the hump and e z birdie 18 is to the right my buddy aced it last week


the locals are very help full and i play z boas every week end at least once
Cons: some times crowded but not bad the leaves eat the discs so bring a rake the course is known to eat disc and the water is cold but that is about all that i can complain about
Other Thoughts: top coarse in ft worth come play people are friendly and dogs are welcome

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz

5+    7/25/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Z-Boaz what else can be said about this Course. It has pretty much everything you want in a Disk Golf Course; Long Bomb Holes, Tight technical shots, Water, Good Elevation changes, you even have to deal with wind on some of the holes. I like playing this course. Good challenging course for my level of play.
Cons: The only thing I feel that holds Z-Boaz back is the Trash and Graffiti. It's a nice wonderful course but I would rather drive a little farther and play Weatherford or Bicentennial. They are cleaner courses maybe not as challenging but they're cleaner I look for that when I play.
Other Thoughts: I personally wouldn't mind participating in a "Let Clean Z-Boaz Day". I really Like this course it just needs to kept clean.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Best Cousre in the Area

5+    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Cannabisdevil
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course for everyone. From pros to first timers, this course has something for everyone. Big, long, cement tees, great shot variation. Most holes are free of prying eyes and in the shade.
Cons: If you are a beginner you might have a rough time until you get used to it. Lots of trees, and the course can be confusing to navigate if you've never been. Course gets pretty packed, especially on weekends. Good chance of getting stuck behind a huge group of drunken retards.
Other Thoughts: Mini-tourneys every Thursday. Switches between singles and doubles.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Layout

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Demands all of your shots.
-Some really cool holes.
-Benches at every tee.
-Brings in a little river into play, but it is not too intimidating.
-Multiple Tees
-Multiple Holes
-I love shade
Cons: -If you go there after it rains it can be very muddy.
-#11 especially
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It felt like a tight course, but there were many different lines you could take. Just an all around good quality course. Many holes are pretty straight forward and easy to navigate. On number 9 throw over the trees and rip it. Bring good quality plastic. I had an inconsistent day and hit a few trees hard. This course is a hike also. Would def. recommend this course to any experienced player. Not good for newbs.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Been Playing Here for Years

5+    5/24/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Fun as hell at night, park closes at 11 pm, so get ya some.
-Many holes require an extremely accurate shot to stay dry (#14 and #18)
-A few good ace opportunities
-Multiple Boxes and pin locations.
-Pins are changed fairly often
-Disc golf only park.
Cons: -Can be crowded
-Trash sometimes is bad
-The train seems to always come at the worst possible moment lol
-Easy to lose a badly thrown disc
-No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this course regularly for about 10 years now. Seems like every time I play, there is some new challenge. Just started playing it at night about a year ago and I have to say, that is an absolute treat! The Academy on Bryant Irvin sells disc lights (in the fishing section) and discs (Innova, Millennium, and DisCraft). The gas station off of Winscott usually has 2/$3 Powerade/Gatorade.

The Thursday mini's are a blast! They start at 6 pm, so plan on getting there around 5:45. They alternate playing singles and doubles. Costs $10 for doubles and $8 for singles. At doubles, there is an ace pot and if no one gets that, then they do CTP.

My favorite hole is #11. Its a downhill run with the pin either left, center, or right. I usually try to thread the trees with a backhand when it is left or a sidearm when it is right. i feel an ace waiting there for me....

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center