Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #16 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 355ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Love this course

5+    2/2/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation! So hard to find nice elevation change further north. This course and vets make an awesome day. I love playing here. It has bombs and short accurate shots. I'm not sure who or how often they change the baskets but they are usually changed every round I play.lots off cool looking shot opps. Pretty challenging. Fun in the wind
Cons: It can be a little dirty and it is pretty hot in the summer.. Shocker.. I've seen it get busy, but I play early and beat most of it. Seriously bring plenty of water in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Love playing here. Nice change from the lake parks and mckinneys up here. Worth the drive for sure

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best in FT.W

5+    10/16/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2013
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome land for disc golf: terrain variety, elevation, creek in play
-great mix of open, semi-open, and wooded holes
-concrete tees, alt pin positions, some dual tees, great new signs
-challenging layout, double loop design, good variety of distances, bombers and ace runs
-practice basket, trash cans, benches at most holes
-decent parking but not adequate on busy days or for tournaments
-close to I-20 right off winscott or 377
-thursday night minis, alternating singles and doubles
Cons: -CROWDED - this is the worst part about this course. it is always packed. large groups of mob golfers, lots of chuckers, weekends and nice days get crazy busy.

-trash - it looks like the general maintenance around here is getting better but there is still lots of trash around.

-graffiti & trashy atmosphere - the park just looks like a place where people up to no good are hanging out. lots of questionable people and/or activities about.

-navigation is not obvious in many places. they could really use a kiosk here with a course map. 6-7 is tricky as well as 16-17.

-creek crossings are adequate for the nimble but those not blessed with good balance will be intimidated by the lack of bridges and the steep inclines down to the creek.

-the parking lot is decently sized and would be more than adequate for most courses but when this place is really packed in the weekend parking is a premium. it gets really bad on tournament days.
Other Thoughts:
The practice basket is gone. It replaced the smashed basket on 18 after a tree fell on it.
Course has been cleaned up a bit, not so much trash in many places but still bad in other spots.
Pins seem to be moving more frequently?

This is a challenging course with some truly epic holes. There is a ton of variety from different types of terrain. There are open bomber holes, semi-open park-like areas, and lots of tight wooded holes. Distances range from ace runs to bombs but they are all fair par 3's. Most importantly, this course is tons of fun! Not much filler, just a bunch of great shots.

The elevation is one of the elements that really separates this course from others in DFW. Hole 4 is a 600' downhill beast (in the long position) and hole 9 is an incredible shot off a ridge and over the trees to a blind basket down the hill below. Holes 2 and 6 are short but tricky uphill shots. Holes 11 and 14 are both short, wooded shots from elevation.

A few holes on the front 9 and most of the holes on the back 9 make their way through the woods and some of them are quite tight and challenging. There are fair lines in the woods but hole 18 is a short spray-and-pray over the creek. A great finishing hole! Some people complain about there not being a line on hole 16. Just remember that the best shot off the tee might not be the longest one.

The basic amenities are also here: concrete tees, alternate pin locations, new signs, trash cans, benches, etc. Good variety to start with plus extra pads and rotating baskets make the replay value great. The pins get rotated probably a couple times a year.

What holds this course back from being truly great is the trashy vibe. There is a lot of trash and the park tends to be filled with unsavory types. Everyone is generally friendly enough but appearances do make a difference. I have seen the police presence nearby and have heard about incidences, usually drug-related, at or near the park. Not a good thing for the disc golf community.

The other big con is how crowded this course can get. Expect to see long waits, huge groups, and lots of chuckers. The course is heavily used and it shows.

This is a premier course here in DFW and probably the best in Ft Worth, IMO. It is absolutely worth playing and it you don't mind the crowds then it just might be your favorite place to play. If you get irritated at mob golfers and noobs then you'll want to get here early and avoid the weekends.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect Home Course

5+    8/10/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: willmayfield
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2011
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Every kind of shot needed. Extremely challenging without being annoying. Beautiful course fecund with elms red oaks and live oaks.
Cons: Traffic, at times. The loud jets and trains.
Other Thoughts: Great place to learn. Back nine is nice and shady for the really hot days.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/21/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Doupie620
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Multiple shots needed.
Cons: Traffic can be a beast
Some climbing required (Fat people...i.e. not like climbing hills)
No rope to use when crossing creek (HINT)
Can lose your disc when throwing off the cliff or...pretty much anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Like playing here when I don't lose a disc. Hate playing here after it rains...mud is bad.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 859  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Multiple pin positions make this course /ery changeable.

2) Dual concrete tees on many holes which is great.

3) Signs with distance, par, hole and next tee. All the information needed for a good tee sign. Apparently, all new tee signs ha/e been installed to go along with the new layout.

4) Awesome mix of mostly wooded holes including a few more open parklike holes. I really enjoyed the /ariety on this course, because the emphasis is on shot making. It isn't just wide open bomber boring holes, the distance needs to be controlled distance!!!

5) Open enough fairways that they are mostly fair. Sure there are a few that will test e/en the best players because of tightness, but that is what the sport is all about. The best part is that luck plays less of a role than skill on this course, all the while challenging all le/els of players.

6) Firepit and hangout area . . . I am sure a lot of good times are shared here, and I am sure a lot of illegal things also happen here, but nonetheless it would be a great place to just hangout ALL DAY.

7) Large garbage cans.

8) Practice Basket

9) Wall of rock on Hole #2 is great both in challenge but also in the /isual it creates.

10) The fake basket in the woods with chain and the Z Boaz sign is a nice touch!!!!

11) Water in play on quite a few holes.
Cons: 1) The parking got me all confused. i tried to find it and i could not based on the gps coordinates so i just parked in the main parking lot, walked across the railroad tracks and started on like Hole #7.

2) Minimalistic maps on the tee signs which would actually be really helpful especially for me the tra/elling disc golfer.

3) Many paths are wore in on this course. Many other areas on this course are beat down from compaction. While it is actually nice to ha/e bare areas and not ha/e to search constantly, it is not a good image because compactio leads to erosion, and the en/ironmentalists will probably come ian e/entually pull this course because of the problems. Its just an e/entual thing that will happen after time.

4) Garbage is all o/er the wooded holes. It seems like it either blew in from the wind, or washed in from high waters.

5) Older discatchers are faded yellow and ha/e seen some abuse o/er the years.

6) Creek crossings could use some work still. Good thing the water was low when I was there.

7) The lack of turf or groundco/er will make this course undesirable after rains!
Other Thoughts: This is my type of course, I lo/e the wooded holes but I like the /ariety also. I would definitely play here a lot if I li/ed in this area. I could see playing a bunch of rounds on any gi/en weekend. The design and challenge of this course are rated much higher than the maintenance and the asthetics. All of this leads me to gi/e this course a 4 and I would compare it to a Milwaukee fa/orite Dretzka Park. Dretzka is one of the most played courses and challenges e/eryone, but the maintenance and /isual is just subpar.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  zboaz experience

5+    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: chompyjomby
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well rounded course. All types of throws and terrain. Often a guy in parking lot that has a decent selection for sale. One of the best in the fort worth area.
Cons: All par 3s can get boring once you know course. Questionable people around. Had 3 discs stolen and the guy in front ended up having them stripped of names. Beware. Can get hot during summer bring drinks and a snack.
Other Thoughts: Takes 1.5 to 3 hrs to play through depending on skill and grp size. Not a ton of parking and can be busy in the evening.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: tland447
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: -all types of shots required
-great veiw
-wooded area
Cons: -its very hard to find some tees including the first tee
Other Thoughts: I recomend this course to average players or above. Not a very good beginner course.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 I love the Z.

5+    3/3/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: TaylorW10
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good use of the terrain. It was windy today so I played the back nine twice. I have seen some killer drives out here on the front nine with a tailwind and a long downhill bomb. This course has all kinds of shots and some water to challenge you. If I had to pick a favorite course in Fort Worth, this is it. Nice locals will help you out with some pointers, and let you play through if you need to.
Cons: Trash cans overflowing. This is a popular course, so the trash collectors often can't keep the cans emptied. Graffiti. Crowded on weekends, but I have always been allowed to play through large groups.
Other Thoughts: If you're on the West side of DFW, this is the best course. Stop by Saddle Hills on the way home and get in some extra throws.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 z boaz

5+    1/25/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: very big very windy beast in the winter in great shape the pins are moved very often well groomed great hills and trees can bee very tight right now the first two are short and the 3 and 4 are very large come and try to par good luck five is short and dog leg left and six is short strait but well covered seven from the pro tee today i threw a back hand w/ me being a lefty worked well then birdied with a long tomahawk eight is a dog leg right and nine is a big down hill dog leg left good luck in the wind ten is big and open and the pin is in the wood witch makes for a difficult approach eleven is a short tight dogleg right and twelve is big open hole that i pared with a back handed nuke then a tomahawk with the nuke again and then a good putt 13 is across the creek short pin 14 the leaves are pretty bad and 15 is tight but strait and 16 is strait and there is a good line for lefties over the trees to the left with a good hizer back hand 17 is strait over the hump and e z birdie 18 is to the right my buddy aced it last week

the locals are very help full and i play z boas every week end at least once
Cons: some times crowded but not bad the leaves eat the discs so bring a rake the course is known to eat disc and the water is cold but that is about all that i can complain about
Other Thoughts: top coarse in ft worth come play people are friendly and dogs are welcome

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/25/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Z-Boaz what else can be said about this Course. It has pretty much everything you want in a Disk Golf Course; Long Bomb Holes, Tight technical shots, Water, Good Elevation changes, you even have to deal with wind on some of the holes. I like playing this course. Good challenging course for my level of play.
Cons: The only thing I feel that holds Z-Boaz back is the Trash and Graffiti. It's a nice wonderful course but I would rather drive a little farther and play Weatherford or Bicentennial. They are cleaner courses maybe not as challenging but they're cleaner I look for that when I play.
Other Thoughts: I personally wouldn't mind participating in a "Let Clean Z-Boaz Day". I really Like this course it just needs to kept clean.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.