Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 238ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A True Challenge

5+    12/30/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Elevation Changes
Skill Shots
Water Hazards
Cons: Lot's of Teenagers Have Taken Over
Drunken Doubles
Muddy Boxes
Other Thoughts: This was the best course in town for a long time, and is still one of my favorites, but the crowds have made this course one to avoid on most beautiful weekends. Best time to play is during extreme weather conditions. Better than waiting for a dozen teens to throw their one disc.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course with just about every single shot that you can think of. You get to try out your technical game in the woods where you better hit your lines or you can get in trouble quickly. Then you go out in the open and really get to let loose. The elevation is used well here which is always a plus near D/FW. Ths course doesnt favor one type a player except the consistant one. There are extra tees that keeps the course from getting boring and opens up many different shots. The baskets are in good shape as well. This is not a regular par 54 course to where you just throw with no regard of where your disc lands, there are many placement holes where you must think about your shot and then execute it and sometimes execute it just to have a good next shot. This course will test your mental game along with your phyical conditioning.
Cons: Can get hot and it is a long walk. No signs can be a pain in the butt sometimes. Navigation can get hard but if you take your time to look around you should be good to go. This course can get crowded quickly. There is lots of trash scattered round as well.
Other Thoughts: This course along with many other courses in the area make fo a great road trip and a change to other courses in the area. Bring lot of drinks because it can get very hot and rounds can get long due to traffic. Enjoy this great course and have fun playing one of the best!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Love at First Drive

2-4    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain, with several elevation shots....a BIG plus in dfw....This has got to be one of the most proffesional looking courses i have played to date with A TON OF VARIETY...several wooded, open, uphill, and downhill holes...creek comes into play on 3 holes.... a lot of holes you definitely have to commit to a line and hit it, the good thing is many holes have a couple lines you can choose from which can really make a round fun and interesting...Best advice is shoot for the fairway, take your threes and keep on walking....theres a couple birdie holes but you have to pick your battles, this is def not a pitch and putt course, some of these holes par 3 seems impossible :) ....

Z-Boaz has Plenty of open holes to just let it rip, mixed with plenty of technical holes that are long and short...and another good thing is LOTS OF BENCHES!! always a plus....several trash cans too, they just dont seem to get used very much :(
Cons: NO SIGNS!! i noticed a couple of marble slabs next to the first couple tee pads....other than that, nothing.....if its your first time you def need someone to show you around!! Lots of trash, a lot bagged, but a lot on the ground as well....but thats def a sign that this place is used a lot.... oh and btw i didnt see any restrooms either..

only reason its not a 5 is bc lack of signs and lots of trash, if trash was picked up and they put some signs up this would without a doubt be an easy 5
Other Thoughts: Lots of People here...zboaz is probably one of the most popular courses in the dfw area...and for a good cause....i will highly recommend this course to everyone....

Bring your "A" game bc your gonna need it....has plenty of holes that you can par one round and easily take a 5+ the next....if it seems like its not all that hard, play from the longs with all par 3's, shoot a 54 and you'll feel like youve won the lottery...

another note- this ones def not the place to bring a newbie to try and learn the sport....it can be pretty hard/frustrating at times, even for the best of players

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 challenging

5+    7/7/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple tees on most holes give options to players. terrain is veried with open, wooded, and some holes playing across and around a creek. Some elevation changes also. #9 plays off a cliff over the tops of the trees.
Cons: No facilities of any kind there, not even a port-a-potty. navigation could definitely be an issue if you don't have a guide.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play and very challenging. there are several pin positions so you have to look for the pin each time you play. Course is very popular and gets crowded at times. with a few changes and additions this could be a fantastic course. I would say it is not very beginner friendly. geared more to the experienced, advanced player.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The locals ruined this course for me.

5+    4/6/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a 5 star course easy!Championship level layout.You will need every shot in your bag.Best variety of holes I have ever played.You never face the same challenge hole to hole.
Best holes
1.By far the best starting hole EVER!!
It's short enough to nab a quick birdie to start the round.This can turn to a bogey or worse with one bad throw.
2.There's a part of me that hates this hole.That aside You can't ask for a much better/challenging hole.A tight tee shot and a blind uphill approach.Playing safe can net you a par in most cases but going for bird can land you double/triple land real quick.
4.Great hole that puts the best that z-boaz has to offer in one long ass hole.This is a par 4 to mere mortals(even that's a hard goal for the average player)
8.This hole hugs the hill that separates the nines.This hole has the feel of a ball golf hole especially when in the short right position.You have to avoid the "valley of death" which is protected by a large dormant tree with branches dare you to hug the dogleg on this hole.
9.Considered the "signature"hole at Z-boaz.You tee off above the treeline about 40 ft below is the lower field where the basket is.
You need to carry 250 feet or the trees will knock you down.If you get to the field it's an easy par and possibly a birdie.I witnessed a hole in one at the 2008 z-boaz open.
11.Great short technical hole with pin positions right,left and center.Great tunnel shot.
12.Another championship level hole at the Z!
You toss out to a field through a a tunnel of trees.Than you most navigate a low tunnel shot through an amazingly hard to hit hole between trees.
14.Over the creek shot with enough trees to ruin your day but fair enough to give you a real chance at a hole-in-one.
18.Great finishing hole from either tee.It really shines from the longs.With a low slightly hyzer tee shot over the creek.Once you reach the green there are a lot of trees that can knock your disc into the creek.
Cons: This course has the worst locals of any course I have played.That's not to say they all suck.Some are quite nice.They play in large groups without letting singles play through.They have an overly snobby attitude about themselves.Seem to be intolerant to beginners and guests unless they know them.
It's also crowded to the point of ridiculousness.Half the time I go to play I end up leaving because of all the people.This might explain the locals bad attitude actually.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play a course that can kick your Ass but never feel like the holes are unfair.This is about the best DFW has to offer.With that said play early on a weekday or you'll be waiting on the tee a long time,LOL.This is the only course that took me over an hour and a half by myself.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to begin on this one! The challenge is top notch! The scenery on the holes is certainly enjoyable, especially the large trees creating tunnel shots. Hole two goes straight up a cliff! Each hole is distinctly different from the next. It will challenge all aspects of your game, short/long, accuracy and long drives. Small creek comes into play on a few courses. Baskets are used, but in great shape.
Cons: Only two things worth mentioning. The course had a good deal of trash on it. There were some navigation issues, but nothing that can't be figured out easily. More signs would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: The best course that I have played in the area! If there were signs on all the holes and the trash was picked up, I would rate higher. All in all, a fantastic course! If I lived in the immediate area, I would play this course all the time. Definately worth a long drive to get to. The best in the area!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

5+    4/18/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A nice variety of wooded and open shots with alot of elevation changes. Nice information board on hole 1 which gives you tips on where to buy discs and what not. The locals seem to take care of the park very well building benches and tables on almost every hole. The course is very well maintainted and there is not much trash littered on the park.
Cons: Can be pretty messy out there if it has rained the previous day due to really sticky mud. Be careful on hole 4 because if your disc goes too far rite you may hit a car or have your disc ran over. Alot of people like to play this course so I'd suggest going out there with a large group so you don't get held up by other players.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you're in the area. The scenery is very nice and the course is very lively with rabbits and other sourts of animals, I've even ran accross a Road Runner out on the course!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Z Boaz Course Fort Worth Westside

5+    4/14/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: DFWDiscGolfTrader
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice Blind Throw on 9 over tops of trees.
Lots of water and green trees. Just after the rain this week. Not much mud and not very humid either.
Very fun.
Cons: Horses ride here wait what? It's not mud I swear!
Other Thoughts: Just remember to pick up trash and don't leave any either.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/26/2010   3/28/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course with a fun and challenging layout from the beginning to the end. This course has nice concrete tee pads with good bright yellow Innova DISCatcher baskets and great signs with all hole info. The front nine has some good open shots with good length when in the long positions. You will need good accuracy here to score well with a lot of trees and a creek that comes into play on a few holes. There course is is really clean with a great amount of trash cans and benches throughout the course.
Cons: If you want to get a good round in, you might want to get there early to beat the crowd. It can get overly packed here with huge groups of Mob Golfers. Be prepared to wait on some holes, or maybe some groups will let you play through. Parking could be an issue on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Over all, this is still a fun and challenging course to play and is great for players of all skill levels and one of the best in Fort Worth.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz awesom

2-4    3/25/2006   3/25/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2011
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Top notch course.
Cons: Can be very crowded.
Other Thoughts: Haven't been here in years; I just wanted to give this a four star rating and say I liked the course. Once a review is up; it stays up. I've changed my review three times now; and still getting the Texas thumbs down love. I've played a ton of courses and still consider this to be a very good one. I don't give 4 ratings willy nilly. I know, you're saying, well why doesn't he have more to say about it? You go play four courses a day on 40+ road trips; big and small; over a nearly 20 years span; and see if every once in a while; you have a hard time remembering specifics about some courses; other than that was a very good one, that mostly kicked my butt.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.