Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #18
3 / 160ft.   3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: Basket is located to the right and just past the creeks edge.



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Definately one of my new favorites!!!

1    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of long, open shots with highly technical short shots! Awesome and diverse elevation changes! Good concrete tee pads.
Cons: The only thing I can say I really didn't like about this course is its lack of signage... I played with a guy who had played before so it wasn't a huge issue but I could see how a first timer to the course would have a hard time getting around.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I will play again, SOON! I had a lot of fun here and was very challenged.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Always fun / always challenging

5+    10/30/2007   10/30/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on a beautiful piece of land with lots of elevation changes -- add to that the fact that the designer is one of the best in the world (Houck), and you've got yourself an excellent, varied, challenging, and overall very aesthetically pleasing course.

The first thing that comes to mind when I think about Zboaz is "variety". Not only is every basic type of line/shot represented, but there is also a great variety in the way each hole looks...which I think adds a lot to the overall "fun factor" of the course. Although you may throw the same type of shot off the tee a few times throughout the round, the individual holes look and feel different enough that you stay interested. There are also very few "filler" holes at Zboaz...really only 1or 2 that I would consider to be less than interesting, but even those provide a good challenge for most.

The next thing that comes to mind here is elevation. Typically, most Texas courses aren't known for elevation, but Houck did a good job using the elevation at Zboaz park in creative ways. Through the course of 18 holes, you have to throw downhill, extreme downhill, uphill, extreme uphill, across gorges/creeks, slightly down and uphill, etc, etc. The most notorious elevation holes are probably 2 (tight wooded fairway with a steep uphill climb to the basket), 4 (loooong multi-level downhill bomber), and 9 (blind hyzer over a tree-line from about 40' up).

There isn't a single hole on the course that's a "gimme"...you'll definitely have to be on your toes the entire round to shoot well.

The baskets are all Discatchers, all the tees are concrete (several have multiple tees), several holes have seats/benches, and the locals are VERY active.
Cons: The last time I played there, the trash cans at most holes were beyond overflowing...but that may have been addressed since then. Also, a lack of quality signs can make it a little difficult to find baskets on some of the longer/blind holes.

The course is typically very crowded on weekends and evenings...this is a great sign to me, but trying to get in a quick round when it's crowded is next to impossible. If you're playing by yourself, prepare to ask "can I play through?" many times.
Other Thoughts: Overall, one of the best in the DFW. Zboaz is fun and very interesting without being gimmicky at any point. Provides a great challenge regardless of pin placement.

The weekly mini (Sunday morning I believe) typically has a good turnout, and Zboaz is also the site of one of the Metroplex's biggest tourneys. I've heard a lot of touring pros list Zboaz as one of their top 10 courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

5+    7/28/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a challenging course that rewards well placed throws. The teepads are concrete and in good condition. The baskets are good. The course requires a lot of different kinds of shots, from long, hard backhands to short sidearms, and from big bombs high accuracy required shots and everything in between.
Hole 2 is a difficult shot up a rocky hill with a small tree smack dab in front of the tee box. Hole 4 is a long downhill shot that lets you throw a long way and still come up short of the basket. Hole 6 has you shoot across a field to a basket on top of another rocky hill guarded by small trees all around. Hole 7 is much the same. Hole 9 is the most notorious hole there. It is a blind heizer shot from atop about a 40 ft hill over the tree tops to the field below. You might want eyes at the bottom for hole 9. 10 and 12 are long throws across large fields. 11 and 13 are technical throws in the trees, as are holes 14 and 15 except with a creek that comes into play (dry in the heart of summer though). 16 has a huge area of dense trees to the left of the fairway where many a disc has dissapeared. 17 is a shot through a clear fairway into a hole surround by trees and a creek behind. 18 is the grand finale across the creek while finding through a maze of small trees.
This course is very challenging from the long tees and especially when the baskets are in the long pin positions. Throw in some wind and you've got your work cut out for you. The tee boxes have brand new signs put up now and there are trash cans spread throughout the course. Water comes into play on a few holes, but you can easily get your disc back from it.
Cons: This course is pretty crowded in the evenings and on weekends. Play in the morning if possible.
You have to keep an eye on your discs here as I have heard numerous stories of people getting their disc jacked after throwing a blind hole (like hole 9 for example)
Other Thoughts: This course has variety and is challenging, but forgiving. I'd play here more often if it weren't always so crowded and just a little bit closer to home.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Get Your "Z" Fix!

5+    3/25/2010   7/18/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is flat out FUN! It has elevation changes and a wide variety of hole lengths. This has multiple pin positions and a few holes with multiple tees. This course requires all the shots you can muster and has some OB areas. There is some water coming into play on 4 of the last five holes. Note, the water is rarely so high that you will lose a disc to it. There is a beautiful gorge to throw over on #12 that is just fun to dodge trees and throw across. The longest hole, #4, is a great down hill slope that gives you a great view to watch your disc soar on. The best hole has to be #9 which fires off a cliff and must carry over 225 feet before dropping to clear the tree tops down into a flat, semi-open area. Picture time! I must say there are many picturesque holes here. There are some nice built up concrete tee pads and they are all long and wide. The newly implemented tee signs telling have good info on them including which way to the next hole from the long basket. There are trashcans at most of the holes. One thing really worth searching out is seeing/throwing from the "somewhat hidden" Championship Rubber Tee Pad on #12. It is a freaking awesome little window shot through the tall trees! (location: up the hill behind basket #7 toward the RR tracks and there is no sign for this).
Cons: Even with the new tee signs navigation can be tricky your first time out. So until there is a map for this course, grab a guide if you can. This place can be VERY busy and even with lots of trashcans, there is still trash everywhere unfortunately. There are no bathrooms on site, but 7-11 is just across the highway about .5 mile away.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is outstanding! It's a pretty crowded course, but playing early seems to be the way to go. However, this is a sign of a fun course, especially when there are many other places to play in the Fort Worth area. I really enjoyed the challenge of this course. I certainly make the drive to play here as often as I can. I can't mention enough just how much I love the challenge that this course brings. If you are ever traveling to Fort Worth or even near by, this is a place you will want to play.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

7/4/2008   7/6/2008
Review By: bacr
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course. You need every shot. Left, right, long, short, low, high, you need them all.

This course is difficult, but for serious Disc Golfers, in DFW area, it is a must.
Cons: No signs so finding the pin from the tee box can be difficult sometimes.

The park is crowded, so don't play if you are in a hurry.

Z is extremely tough so beginners will really struggle.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Z is an excellent course, but it is not for beginners. If you aren't a decently experienced player, the course will likely just frustrate you.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice

5/14/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: you will need a full bag of disc, water does play on holes but most disc will be easily retrievalbe from the streams, nice looking tee pads, course plays smoothly as most holes are connected well, its also nice how 1 is right off parking lot and 9 finishes at parking lot, as well as 10 starting near the same parking lot and 18 finishing just a few steps away from parking lot, it makes it easy to play just 9 or start on the back 9 if course is backed up, nice scenery change as well as you will be in a wooded area that looks nice during fall, as well as a view of sky line on 3 and 4
Cons: too many players, and some of the regulars will hog course (we (party of 2) got stuck behind a group of 11 who would not let us play through) it really slowed the game down, we ended up grouping with two other group of twos waiting for the group of 11, was told by one of the guys that this group does it all the time. with the amount of players tee signs would be a nice edition
Other Thoughts: wind can make life miserable from hole 2 to 9, be ready to 3 and four put because your disc gets lifted and carried. and hole 4 is very long and is tough on windy days, 8 is also usually throwing into the wind and makes for a challlenge

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5/2/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: this is a course that makes you bring your A game also. hole 2 has to be a cruel joke. i really like this course. it challenges every aspect of your game.
Cons: hole 2 is a freakin joke. hole 9 is crazy also

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very tough course

1    3/26/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: aclay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course that requires every shot in your bag. There are multiple tees and basket positions for almost every hole. Water comes into play on a several holes, and there are massive elevation changes. This is not a multi-use park, so you seldom have to worry about people on the course who are not golfers.
Cons: From a lot of tees (Nos. 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15 sometimes, 16 and 17), you can't see the basket, so you either guess on the position or walk ahead to look. Some of this can be mitigated by looking as you walk to the tee. Two holes (Nos. 2 and 4) are nearly impossible to par for the average golfer in the short position. However, if you've got the arm, No. 4 lets you throw a 700-foot downhill shot. There are no restroom facilities.
Other Thoughts: Changes several years ago eliminated two throws across the creek, including my favorite hole, No. 16. This was done because the creek crossings were difficult, but the changes did not improve the course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It has it all

1    3/8/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: kette_master
Played: 89  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has it all and will challenge everyone who plays it. Bring your short and long game. The Z-Boaz DGers take pride in this course and it shows. There are benches at just about every teepad.
Cons: There are no teepad signs.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses right now.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz

2/19/2007   2/25/2008
Review By: gsw_03
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of available land. Nice mix of tight/wooded and long, open holes. More elevation changes than most courses in the area. Water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Not beginner-friendly. Those without average/above-average skill might find this course frustrating.
Other Thoughts: A must-play for any competitive golfer in the area.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.