Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #18
3 / 160ft.   3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: Basket is located to the right and just past the creeks edge.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 The locals ruined this course for me.

5+    4/6/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 26  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a 5 star course easy!Championship level layout.You will need every shot in your bag.Best variety of holes I have ever played.You never face the same challenge hole to hole.
Best holes
1.By far the best starting hole EVER!!
It's short enough to nab a quick birdie to start the round.This can turn to a bogey or worse with one bad throw.
2.There's a part of me that hates this hole.That aside You can't ask for a much better/challenging hole.A tight tee shot and a blind uphill approach.Playing safe can net you a par in most cases but going for bird can land you double/triple land real quick.
4.Great hole that puts the best that z-boaz has to offer in one long ass hole.This is a par 4 to mere mortals(even that's a hard goal for the average player)
8.This hole hugs the hill that separates the nines.This hole has the feel of a ball golf hole especially when in the short right position.You have to avoid the "valley of death" which is protected by a large dormant tree with branches dare you to hug the dogleg on this hole.
9.Considered the "signature"hole at Z-boaz.You tee off above the treeline about 40 ft below is the lower field where the basket is.
You need to carry 250 feet or the trees will knock you down.If you get to the field it's an easy par and possibly a birdie.I witnessed a hole in one at the 2008 z-boaz open.
11.Great short technical hole with pin positions right,left and center.Great tunnel shot.
12.Another championship level hole at the Z!
You toss out to a field through a a tunnel of trees.Than you most navigate a low tunnel shot through an amazingly hard to hit hole between trees.
14.Over the creek shot with enough trees to ruin your day but fair enough to give you a real chance at a hole-in-one.
18.Great finishing hole from either tee.It really shines from the longs.With a low slightly hyzer tee shot over the creek.Once you reach the green there are a lot of trees that can knock your disc into the creek.
Cons: This course has the worst locals of any course I have played.That's not to say they all suck.Some are quite nice.They play in large groups without letting singles play through.They have an overly snobby attitude about themselves.Seem to be intolerant to beginners and guests unless they know them.
It's also crowded to the point of ridiculousness.Half the time I go to play I end up leaving because of all the people.This might explain the locals bad attitude actually.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play a course that can kick your Ass but never feel like the holes are unfair.This is about the best DFW has to offer.With that said play early on a weekday or you'll be waiting on the tee a long time,LOL.This is the only course that took me over an hour and a half by myself.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to begin on this one! The challenge is top notch! The scenery on the holes is certainly enjoyable, especially the large trees creating tunnel shots. Hole two goes straight up a cliff! Each hole is distinctly different from the next. It will challenge all aspects of your game, short/long, accuracy and long drives. Small creek comes into play on a few courses. Baskets are used, but in great shape.
Cons: Only two things worth mentioning. The course had a good deal of trash on it. There were some navigation issues, but nothing that can't be figured out easily. More signs would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: The best course that I have played in the area! If there were signs on all the holes and the trash was picked up, I would rate higher. All in all, a fantastic course! If I lived in the immediate area, I would play this course all the time. Definately worth a long drive to get to. The best in the area!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

5+    4/18/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A nice variety of wooded and open shots with alot of elevation changes. Nice information board on hole 1 which gives you tips on where to buy discs and what not. The locals seem to take care of the park very well building benches and tables on almost every hole. The course is very well maintainted and there is not much trash littered on the park.
Cons: Can be pretty messy out there if it has rained the previous day due to really sticky mud. Be careful on hole 4 because if your disc goes too far rite you may hit a car or have your disc ran over. Alot of people like to play this course so I'd suggest going out there with a large group so you don't get held up by other players.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you're in the area. The scenery is very nice and the course is very lively with rabbits and other sourts of animals, I've even ran accross a Road Runner out on the course!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Z Boaz Course Fort Worth Westside

5+    4/14/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: DFWDiscGolfTrader
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice Blind Throw on 9 over tops of trees.
Lots of water and green trees. Just after the rain this week. Not much mud and not very humid either.
Very fun.
Cons: Horses ride here wait what? It's not mud I swear!
Other Thoughts: Just remember to pick up trash and don't leave any either.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/26/2010   3/28/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 41  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course with a fun and challenging layout from the beginning to the end. This course has nice concrete tee pads with good bright yellow Innova DISCatcher baskets and great signs with all hole info. The front nine has some good open shots with good length when in the long positions. You will need good accuracy here to score well with a lot of trees and a creek that comes into play on a few holes. There course is is really clean with a great amount of trash cans and benches throughout the course.
Cons: If you want to get a good round in, you might want to get there early to beat the crowd. It can get overly packed here with huge groups of Mob Golfers. Be prepared to wait on some holes, or maybe some groups will let you play through. Parking could be an issue on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Over all, this is still a fun and challenging course to play and is great for players of all skill levels and one of the best in Fort Worth.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz awesom

2-4    3/25/2006   3/25/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 833  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2011
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Top notch course.
Cons: Can be very crowded.
Other Thoughts: Haven't been here in years; I just wanted to give this a four star rating and say I liked the course. Once a review is up; it stays up. I've changed my review three times now; and still getting the Texas thumbs down love. I've played a ton of courses and still consider this to be a very good one. I don't give 4 ratings willy nilly. I know, you're saying, well why doesn't he have more to say about it? You go play four courses a day on 40+ road trips; big and small; over a nearly 20 years span; and see if every once in a while; you have a hard time remembering specifics about some courses; other than that was a very good one, that mostly kicked my butt.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Definately one of my new favorites!!!

1    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of long, open shots with highly technical short shots! Awesome and diverse elevation changes! Good concrete tee pads.
Cons: The only thing I can say I really didn't like about this course is its lack of signage... I played with a guy who had played before so it wasn't a huge issue but I could see how a first timer to the course would have a hard time getting around.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I will play again, SOON! I had a lot of fun here and was very challenged.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Always fun / always challenging

5+    10/30/2007   10/30/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on a beautiful piece of land with lots of elevation changes -- add to that the fact that the designer is one of the best in the world (Houck), and you've got yourself an excellent, varied, challenging, and overall very aesthetically pleasing course.

The first thing that comes to mind when I think about Zboaz is "variety". Not only is every basic type of line/shot represented, but there is also a great variety in the way each hole looks...which I think adds a lot to the overall "fun factor" of the course. Although you may throw the same type of shot off the tee a few times throughout the round, the individual holes look and feel different enough that you stay interested. There are also very few "filler" holes at Zboaz...really only 1or 2 that I would consider to be less than interesting, but even those provide a good challenge for most.

The next thing that comes to mind here is elevation. Typically, most Texas courses aren't known for elevation, but Houck did a good job using the elevation at Zboaz park in creative ways. Through the course of 18 holes, you have to throw downhill, extreme downhill, uphill, extreme uphill, across gorges/creeks, slightly down and uphill, etc, etc. The most notorious elevation holes are probably 2 (tight wooded fairway with a steep uphill climb to the basket), 4 (loooong multi-level downhill bomber), and 9 (blind hyzer over a tree-line from about 40' up).

There isn't a single hole on the course that's a "gimme"...you'll definitely have to be on your toes the entire round to shoot well.

The baskets are all Discatchers, all the tees are concrete (several have multiple tees), several holes have seats/benches, and the locals are VERY active.
Cons: The last time I played there, the trash cans at most holes were beyond overflowing...but that may have been addressed since then. Also, a lack of quality signs can make it a little difficult to find baskets on some of the longer/blind holes.

The course is typically very crowded on weekends and evenings...this is a great sign to me, but trying to get in a quick round when it's crowded is next to impossible. If you're playing by yourself, prepare to ask "can I play through?" many times.
Other Thoughts: Overall, one of the best in the DFW. Zboaz is fun and very interesting without being gimmicky at any point. Provides a great challenge regardless of pin placement.

The weekly mini (Sunday morning I believe) typically has a good turnout, and Zboaz is also the site of one of the Metroplex's biggest tourneys. I've heard a lot of touring pros list Zboaz as one of their top 10 courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

5+    7/28/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 147  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a challenging course that rewards well placed throws. The teepads are concrete and in good condition. The baskets are good. The course requires a lot of different kinds of shots, from long, hard backhands to short sidearms, and from big bombs high accuracy required shots and everything in between.
Hole 2 is a difficult shot up a rocky hill with a small tree smack dab in front of the tee box. Hole 4 is a long downhill shot that lets you throw a long way and still come up short of the basket. Hole 6 has you shoot across a field to a basket on top of another rocky hill guarded by small trees all around. Hole 7 is much the same. Hole 9 is the most notorious hole there. It is a blind heizer shot from atop about a 40 ft hill over the tree tops to the field below. You might want eyes at the bottom for hole 9. 10 and 12 are long throws across large fields. 11 and 13 are technical throws in the trees, as are holes 14 and 15 except with a creek that comes into play (dry in the heart of summer though). 16 has a huge area of dense trees to the left of the fairway where many a disc has dissapeared. 17 is a shot through a clear fairway into a hole surround by trees and a creek behind. 18 is the grand finale across the creek while finding through a maze of small trees.
This course is very challenging from the long tees and especially when the baskets are in the long pin positions. Throw in some wind and you've got your work cut out for you. The tee boxes have brand new signs put up now and there are trash cans spread throughout the course. Water comes into play on a few holes, but you can easily get your disc back from it.
Cons: This course is pretty crowded in the evenings and on weekends. Play in the morning if possible.
You have to keep an eye on your discs here as I have heard numerous stories of people getting their disc jacked after throwing a blind hole (like hole 9 for example)
Other Thoughts: This course has variety and is challenging, but forgiving. I'd play here more often if it weren't always so crowded and just a little bit closer to home.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Get Your "Z" Fix!

5+    3/25/2010   7/18/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is flat out FUN! It has elevation changes and a wide variety of hole lengths. This has multiple pin positions and a few holes with multiple tees. This course requires all the shots you can muster and has some OB areas. There is some water coming into play on 4 of the last five holes. Note, the water is rarely so high that you will lose a disc to it. There is a beautiful gorge to throw over on #12 that is just fun to dodge trees and throw across. The longest hole, #4, is a great down hill slope that gives you a great view to watch your disc soar on. The best hole has to be #9 which fires off a cliff and must carry over 225 feet before dropping to clear the tree tops down into a flat, semi-open area. Picture time! I must say there are many picturesque holes here. There are some nice built up concrete tee pads and they are all long and wide. The newly implemented tee signs telling have good info on them including which way to the next hole from the long basket. There are trashcans at most of the holes. One thing really worth searching out is seeing/throwing from the "somewhat hidden" Championship Rubber Tee Pad on #12. It is a freaking awesome little window shot through the tall trees! (location: up the hill behind basket #7 toward the RR tracks and there is no sign for this).
Cons: Even with the new tee signs navigation can be tricky your first time out. So until there is a map for this course, grab a guide if you can. This place can be VERY busy and even with lots of trashcans, there is still trash everywhere unfortunately. There are no bathrooms on site, but 7-11 is just across the highway about .5 mile away.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is outstanding! It's a pretty crowded course, but playing early seems to be the way to go. However, this is a sign of a fun course, especially when there are many other places to play in the Fort Worth area. I really enjoyed the challenge of this course. I certainly make the drive to play here as often as I can. I can't mention enough just how much I love the challenge that this course brings. If you are ever traveling to Fort Worth or even near by, this is a place you will want to play.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.