Cerritos, CA 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #3
3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Cool safari course; very short otherwise

2-4    8/13/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-manicured grass park (in fact, they were mowing it when I walked up). Even though the park was very populated (over 100 other patrons), almost no one was near the disc golf stuff. I did see an old Asian couple playing together.

I don't know what else to put as a pro except for the fact that two of the safari tee shots are kind of cool: the one from the other side of the road (or alternate tee underneath the bridge) or the one that tees off between the power lines support.
Cons: In addition to the soggy, muddy ground, some of the baskets were in bad shape. #6 is tilted down on one side and up on the other. Normally I wouldn't care about this, but I actually had a near-ace on #6 hit the basket on the side that was leaning up. I don't know if it would have gone in or not, but it definitely would have been close. And I've never had an ace before, so that was a bummer.

I didn't like walking back to the beginning after finishing #9, but when I came back to the park the second time, I parked on Studebaker (in the park's alternate parking lot) to make the walk shorter.

The biggest con for the course is just how simple it is. Not only is it extremely short (I think almost all of the first 6 holes are under 200 ft), but there are minimal obstacles.
Other Thoughts: On #2, my disc landed in the path of the city mower, but the driver stopped and waited for me to putt. He also made sure throughout his sweeps that I wasn't impacted by the mowing. Very cool. After that, I left for an appointment nearby and when I came back an hour later, the sprinklers were on and the ground was soaked in many parts. I don't understand why they were running the sprinklers during the day. It felt good to get sprayed on such a hot day, but doesn't most of the water evaporate that way? Anyway, I tried a roller shot about 20 minutes later and wet grass ended that idea pretty quickly.

Lastly, if the original course is played as is, it should be considered Par 21 or so, instead of Par 27. When I finished the round, I used the safari course map on the links page and played that. It was much more challenging/enjoyable. I really appreciate whoever put that together. However, I had trouble finding some of the tees for the guerilla course. The tenth tee, for example (which was the one I was most looking forward to, since it's across the street), I could not find. If you stand where the map indicates, it seems like it would be extremely difficult to get your disc past the initial trees on the north side of the street, the trees on the median, plus the fence/trees/bushes on the south side of the street. Instead of going to where the bike path intersected the sidewalk connection, I moved up to just north of the street, between the trees. I still drove into a tree, though. Later, I teed off from under the bridge, which was a pretty unique spot.

Perhaps what was confusing was that there appeared to be multiple guerilla courses marked. Some of the tees were designated with white spray paint; others, with green or orange. And I didn't really see any that matched the guerilla map in the links section. Still, I think I will come back to play the guerilla course.

I'd give a 1.5 rating if it weren't for the well-maintained park and the availability of the guerrilla course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Putting Practice

5+    6/17/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice clean park with well maintained fairways.

- Mostly DG exclusive with a single path for other park users that are usually aware of the course and courteous.

- Ace opportunities on every hole, go ahead and pad your stats.

- Lights for night play, that goes a long way.

- Excellent putter course, this is a great place to take beginners and have the experienced play with a single putter.

- Navigation is relatively simple, not much chance of getting lost.
Cons: - Holes are super short
-
Tee pads are laughably short

- Baskets are in rough shape. Especially 4 and 6. Number 4 has been repaired, however with some chain that is a thinner gague, causing some good shots to go right through. Number 6 the chains are so tight that a good putt can bounce off the chains right back on to the grass.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to practice your short game and I'm sure has a great gorilla layout.

The basic layout can get a big boring however is a nice course with little to no non DG traffic so it makes it a pleasant experience.

If you want a challenge it is a short drive to Eldo or La Mirada. But this is a great place to practice your short game with no crowds.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to work on your short game

5+    12/1/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
15 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -LIGHTS! you can play here until i think 10:00 pm with decent lighting.
-concrete tees
-well-groomed course
-pretty much disc golf exclusive area
-picnic areas make this course a nice one to spend the day at
-short course...i usually just take a putter and a beverage(though you have to be careful. there has been police around there a lot lately and booze is not allowed).
-decent baskets and accurate signs
Cons: -short holes...make me want to stretch my guns!
-very short tee pads (maybe 4'x4'). bring your static shot.
-medium degree of criss-crossing fairways
-weird pars (200' par 4...:S)
-no pro shop or map...make sure to use a guide!
Other Thoughts: this course makes good use of the small strip of land that is dedicated to disc golf. it is only 9 short holes, but the park is usually pretty empty and most people ending up playing longer safari holes. the grassy elevation changes make quite a few different types of shots necessary. the last 2 holes open up a bit, but people who can are used to 300' or more holes will feel confined...playing this course a lot, however, has greatly improved my short/mid game.

15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Ideal For Kids And Begginners

2-4    5/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Built in a nice park where it will not interfere with many other activities going on. Landscaping appears as though it was specifically designed for the course. The flow of the course is very easy to figure out. There is not too much traffic here but enough to let you know that it is worth playing. I am sure that this is a great course for kids and begginners as it is not intimidating at all. The course is well maintained. There are good tee signs. Tee pads are consistent. There are plenty of nice activities in other parts of the park so there is something for the whole family.
Cons: I was a little concerned by the power lines that run right through this course. Tee pads are tiny but you will not need much more than what they give you. This is the shortest course that I have seen to this point with two holes over 200 ft. The one thing that suggests a poor course design is that hole one stars on one end of a greenbelt and hole 9 ends on the other end.
Other Thoughts: While this course might not be for the serious player, there are people I know that would be best served by playing this course first as it is super easy and not all that intimidating. I would imagine that even a 5 year old could have a good time and be competative on this course. I was also super impressed with all the other activities going on throughout the park. You would be best served to park in the parking lot by the community center, which sits right in the middle of the street off of Steudebaker. If you go in the far south entrance you will want to drive and park as far north as you can. As long as you are expecting super short course you will really be pleasently surprised. This is a short course that has gotten a good deal of care.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Long Course Layout Description

5+    12/15/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: stevoe70
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park, and very nice green grass with subtle slopes. Good for practicing your approach and putting. Longer Course layout preferred. Holes range from 270ft. to 370ft. on the longer course layout.
Cons: The intended course layout is very short on most holes (150ft. on average), and there are no obstructions. The tee pads are very small, but because of the short holes, no run-up is needed. Can get pretty busy with people on the weekends (ie. soccer players, walkers, etc.)
Other Thoughts: I prefer the longer course, so I will detail it here. Most of the longer course tee pads are marked with spray paint on the holes in which concrete is used for the tee pads.
Hole number one uses the intended course hole number one basket, but the tee pad is the large concrete slab located at the corner of the Northside parking lot adjacent to a lone picnic table. The shot is taken in a South-west direction towards the Group Picnic Area to hole number one basket. This is a flat shot about 300 ft. and plays past two large trees in which you have to shoot under to get to the basket.
Hole number two uses the same basket as the intended hole two basket, but instead uses the diagonal cement walkway that runs along side the South end of the Group Picnic area. The is a flat shot, taken in a North-east direction, and is about 300 ft. There is a tree that plays to the right halfway to this hole. Be careful if there are people sitting at the picnic table that sits to the right of the hole near baseball diamond.
Hole number three tees off from the triangular concrete slab located underneath the large tower pole that is located adjacent to the North side of the baseball diamond (behind left field). Throw in the westward direction underneath the large pine tree to the hole which is located about 270 ft away under a Willow Tree. This is a perfect hole for a roller, or a large anhyzer, since the Pine Tree overhangs this shot pretty low.
Hole number four uses the same large concrete slab as hole number one in this long course layout. Except you throw in the westward direction underneath the trees that sit right in front of the concrete slab. The hole sits about 300 ft. down into a gully behind some large boulder. There is another basket that sits on a small mound of grass in front of this hole, but that is not the basket, that is for hole seven in this long course layout. I found a slight hyzer works well for this hole.
Hole five tees off in front of the basket for hole four on the grass, just behind this large bush that resembles a spider plant. Throw in a North-east direction towards the basket that is located next to the chainlink fence that separates the park from another parking lot (the fence line that is located along the North-east corner of the park). This is a straight flat shot that plays about 280ft. A large tree plays to the right of this hole.
Hole six tees off behind the large sand box area located in the middle of the whole course. Tee off on the grass facing in a Northward direction. There is a large high voltage pylon that plays to the right, and further up the slight hill there are two tiny trees that sit in front of the hole. This is a straight shot that plays on a slight uphill about 375 ft. A good flex shot works great.
Hole number seven tees off from the grass area at the North furthest end of the course in front of the fence next to South St. Two small trees are located in front of the Tee area, and you face down the hill looking at the whole park in a Southward direction. The basket is located on the small grass mound that is located just right of the cement walkway. This hole plays downhill and is about 350 ft. A large maple tree plays to the right of this hole.
Hole 8 tees off from the long cement walkway next to the light pole just behind the trashcan which is located near basket 7. Face in a Northward direction, and throw towards the basket located next to the gate to the bike path. There is basket 7 that is in the way (black ace), and a large maple tree that plays in front of this hole. A straight shot under the maple tree, or a large hyzer shot around the right of the maple tree works great for hole eight which plays about 300 ft.
Hole 9 tees off from atop the bike trail just outside the gate. Throw in an Eastward direction over the fence into the park, and towards the basket located next to the eastside chain link fence that separates the park from a parking lot. A large pole plays to the right at the start of this shot, and a large tree sits in front of the hole towards the end. Hole nine plays about 300 ft. A straight flat shot with a left fade at the end works great.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.