Cerritos, CA
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: NorrinRadd Hole #9 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Another Fun 9'r in O.C.....

5+    4/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the most part, this area of the park is disc golf exclusive. One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there and was met by the local crew. There is the ability to play a decent 18 hole layout here. Therefore the "Good" rating was applied. (Get a Guide!!!)

Most holes have concrete teepads. Chains are a lil old, but still servicable (ol Machs). Clean, nice park. Light for night play (but not as lit as Twila)!!!
Cons: The actual course is a weak, short, open 9'r. So if you ain't gotta guide this course is a 1.5. A few baskets need some repair. Signage is weak or non-existent, tough navigating.
Other Thoughts: If I hadn't played this course regularly for the last 15+ yrs and knew the locals to show me the alt. positions, this course is just as weak as most of the O.C. 9'rs. If you wanna get a quick fix in, it always does the job. Great "Stop and Pop" course to add into a road trip since it's close to El Do.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Creative 9 Hole Course

2-4    1/24/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Well manicured and mowed grass
• Very creative use of obstacles, including an OB area that is a "fenced off" portion of the park, and a sandpit that is essentially like a small pond. When it rains even more so.
• Disc Golf exclusive area - people do pass through, but they are for the most part very aware that there are discs flying around and it is a sport (i.e. they don't throw your disc back to you).
• Free to park and free to play
• Lots of Safari options here - there is actually a full 18 that is played by locals.
• Rarely crowded - no waiting at any holes. Only saw one other group there on a Saturday from 9am to 1pm
• Centrally located and freeway close
Cons: • Tee signs are missing on some holes and the baskets are not numbered. Some areas have a few baskets which would make it tough for first timers without a guide here.
• Strange fenced off area that appears to be part of the park, but is isolated from the rest of the park. Considered OB, but the worst part is you have to hop the fence to get your disc. It makes you limit your shots to safer lines if you don't want to jump over
• The park is relatively flat. The elevation change that exists is used creatively, but it only really is there on 2 or 3 holes.
• "Back 9" shoot to the same baskets and can interrupt players playing the "Front 9".
• Tees are virtually all on concrete in mixed use areas, so there are no dedicated tees here.
• I sensed that I would probably need a guide if I was there for the first time. Lucky I had one, but I don't know if I would have been able to figure out the flow of the tees since some are unmarked and none of the baskets have numbers.
• Par 4's? I think I had an eagle…
Other Thoughts: Liberty Park in Cerritos is a great short course that would be an excellent place for me to practice if I lived closer. The park is well maintained and the general public is fully aware that disc golf is being played in the vicinity. This is not by any means a destination course, but to work on your mid range and putting game it is a great resource. There are better options in the area including El Dorado on Long Beach which is only about 5 to 10 minutes away. Just don't try to take Studebaker there - it does NOT go through. I learned this the hard way. If you are a RHBH thrower, bring out your anhyzer game here - there are plenty of holes that you will need it on.

Overall this is a fun course to play, but it really is only officially a 9 holer. If the course was extended into the other portion of the park it might be able to expand into a full 18 hole course. This seems possible as the portion of the park on the other side of the parking lot seems underused. The "Monster Course" played by locals plays longer on the "Back 9" and there is even another 9 Safari course played by the locals. When I played here we played all 27.

I enjoyed playing here, but wouldn't go out of my way to go back. It is great when compared to other 9 holers in L.A. county, but it does not hold a candle (or a disclight?) to any of the 18 holers in the area. I would play it again if I was in the area, and this seems like it would be a great local course if you lived near it. I would work on my mid range and putting game if I lived near here. It is also very easy to get to, and parking is a snap.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lights!!!

5+    12/27/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate
-Concrete tees, with informative signs. Sometimes.
-Lights! Was able to play at night although it was sometimes difficult to find the discs.
-Great for beginners or mid-range practice. Pretty much every basket begs to be aced. Two 240' throws (par 4 LoL).
-The area appears to be mostly DG exclusive.
-My favorite 9 hole in the area.
Cons: -Course does not loop back to the parking lot, it ends at the opposite end of the park.
-While it IS lit, it seems that every pin was hidden in the 9 darkest places they could find.
-Tee pads do not allow any run up, a grass run up is also pretty dangerous due to divots at the edge of most pads. That said, static shots are all you will need to throw.
Other Thoughts: The course plays in a largely unused portent of a flat neighborhood park between a river and a baseball field. As the course progresses, it tends to involve more trees and obstacles, but is never very difficult. The holes gain length as the round plays on.

Flow is relatively easy to figure out, as the course basically zigzags its way across the park, working its way over to the opposite end. While most holes are basic pitch-and-putts, there are a couple that involve slight elevation and line decisions.

The 9 hole design is obvious to follow, but let it be known that there are about half a million other unofficial ways of playing the course. Look around on any piece of concrete and you are bound to find some kind of local hole. On the paths, next to the weird sand pit, in the parking lot, even on the bike path by the river.

Occasionally people pass by, day and night, and yes they are usually oblivious to the game. Fortunately, they are never in the way very long as the path does not follow any fairways.

Note that holes 6 and 9 are missing tee signs, but its no problem figuring them out, even at night.

This course is primarily a night course to me due to the lights. I have actually never played it during the day because there is no point. This and the other 3 nearby-ish lit 9 holers all make for a fun night adventure if you feel so inclined. It is also a fantastic place to introduce somebody to the game, and really practice throwing without worrying about being in the way or losing the disc. I have never encountered crowds here, maybe one other group.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.