Cerritos, CA 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/11/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: Art C
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: I've just started playing disc golf in the past 8 weeks. I've played Liberty Park about 6 times as it's good for a beginner, there aren't many trees to deal with.
Cons: The one disappointment is when I first tried this course there was one basket missing, since then two more have been stolen, and as I asked the grounds keeper if they were going to replace them. He said they may remove the rest of the baskets and remove the tee boxes as well due to finances.

 Hehehe

5+    7/19/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Exceptionaly maintained
Great Area
Gorilla course is quite awesome and tee's for it are painted
Best for working on upshots
Cons: Public park, quite a few runners but never any random picnicers
Very short
Terrible baskets (makes you putt precise)
Crossing Fairways
Other Thoughts: It can be boring if you come here expecting too much, i love taking putters and mids out on the regular layout and bagging out working on controlled, accurate upshots.

The gorilla course is awesome and everything is painted, still can be tough to navigate but the locals are friendly and willing to help. the Gorilla course is not hard but its not terribly easy either and is worth trying out if you know someone who knows the layout.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Mid-Range and Putts at a Beautiful Park

5+    12/15/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This regularly manicured park has a designated area for disc golf. There is not much pedestrian traffic through the course. This is a fun place to practice your mid-range and putting game with three longer holes that you can let loose on a drive.

Holes one through three are a fairly basic. Throwing a ROC from the pad will get you close enough to birdie. Hole four is fun because it has more hazards like boulders and trees near the hole. It can easily bounce away from our hopeful position, even if you think you had a good throw.

Holes five and seven play near six foot chain-link fences. If your not careful you'll be climbing a fence to retrieve the disc and then get dinged for an OB. Hole six is on a little hill so if the disc doesn't land well it will roll twenty feet away.

Eight and nine are longer drives and a true Par 3. Hole nine is long and flat but the basket is right under an oak tree so there is a bit of technicality about it.
Cons: The park offers an additional "back nine" and an optional gorilla course. Unfortunately, the "back nine" was an afterthought which uses the 1-9 holes. It also crosses over much of the original nine drives. If you play this course on a busy day, the sand traps and OBs won't be the only hazards; watch your head.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to warm up at if you plan on playing at El Dorado in Long Beach. This Cerrito course is only 10 minutes away from ElDo and plays in about 30 minutes if your by yourself. I've played it many times if I don't have time to play an eighteen. All in all a fun, little, quick course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Derred Scheperle
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The grass is always cut short a pluss in my book! The driving pads are ok but could be a bit bigger. not many trees.This course is great for beginners or prople who would like to brush up on there mid range or putting skills..
Cons: The sings need some attin! and the ground around the baskets needs to be filled with some dirt or fine rocks..

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 GORILLA COURSE REVIEW

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a review of the GORILLA COURSE ONLY.

This course consists of twelve holes, playing from tees to baskets irrespective of numbering or the regular 9-hole course layout. The park itself is pretty flat, with a couple of small hills, some fencing, and a sand pit to make life interesting. Moderately treed fairways make you shape your lines and think about options. One hole drives blind across a street (!), adding-real-life drama to the risk-reward equation. (There's an alternate, shorter tee for noodle arms like me.)

Since the regular tees are small, we played on the grass next to the concrete except when the gorilla tees were painted on walkways, etc. Baskets are old, but in decent shape. No litter seen anywhere, nor graffiti - seems like the local DG community and or the Parks Dept takes good care of the place.

The main thing is that the fun factor is superb. If this was an 18-hole couse it would be at least a four-disc rated layout. I'm coming back for more!
Cons: Because the DG area is small, the gorilla layout means lots of crossing fairways. The danger of this to me is sort of like a mandatory half-disc ding - too bad, but necessary because if you want to play safe, you have to play off-peak hours when not many other people will be there.
Other Thoughts: I've posted a map of the gorilla layout - if you don't have a guide, make sure you print a copy of the map!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  reviewed by local

5+    3/31/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: beatUPboss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: pros play the alternate holes ive played with some good players will not mention names but the shorts are only fun if u play par 2s come with me to play alternates there fun longer slightly harder they have mandos
Cons: weekends are family night and the sport is growing so fast theres new players coming in all the time thats why im there to guide them the propper way to play this course besides the short i work 5 min away so see u @lunch
Other Thoughts: its alot of fun im going to try to start tournaments weeklys only with the harder gorrilla course

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  My Starting Course

5+    10/29/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: NorrinRadd
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
7 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This place is perfect for the beginner and novice alike. It may not be as intimidating to some "pros" but it is well maintained and gives decent challenges for people new to the sport and would help players at any level with their short game. Good atmosphere and minimal obstruction from hazards and/or people... The course itself is strictly for disc golf. I've actually witnessed park staff ask anyone obstructing the disc golf players path to relocate to another area of the park. That's a major plus if you ask me. And it's in a great neighborhood. I went to another park course in Anaheim and felt that I may at any time be a victim of a drive-by! =) So I give Liberty Park a high safety rating as well.
Cons: This course can sometimes get a bit crowded with people playing the "back 9." It's not an official back 9, but some crafty disc golfers have made one. The only drawback is that they sometimes cut through the path of the true course and are sometimes shooting at the same basket you may be aiming for. It doesn't become an issue frequently, though. Also, if your not as accurate on some holes, you might have to jump a fence or two in order to retrieve your disc. That being said, it's a very fun course.
Other Thoughts: There is only one basket that is slightly damaged as far as I know and it's the 6th pin. The basket dips a bit to one side. In closing I offer you this... I am new to the sport and am very thankful for this course. It's where I got "hooked" on the game and no matter where I go or how good I become it will always be my "home course."

7 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: short, greet for beginners or working your short game, location, nice grass,
Cons: no cover from sun, walkways through disc plan of flight, dirt around baskets not grass
Other Thoughts: i recall having tee markers for each hole. but i could be wrong since i went to three courses today...but i know there was one for hole 4 for sure.

this seems to be a good place to warm up before going to el dor or la mira.

great for beginers..
i would like to play the long course the locals made. maybe if someone could make a map hahaha

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.