Cerritos, CA
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #9
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Cool safari course; very short otherwise

2-4    8/13/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-manicured grass park (in fact, they were mowing it when I walked up). Even though the park was very populated (over 100 other patrons), almost no one was near the disc golf stuff. I did see an old Asian couple playing together.

I don't know what else to put as a pro except for the fact that two of the safari tee shots are kind of cool: the one from the other side of the road (or alternate tee underneath the bridge) or the one that tees off between the power lines support.
Cons: In addition to the soggy, muddy ground, some of the baskets were in bad shape. #6 is tilted down on one side and up on the other. Normally I wouldn't care about this, but I actually had a near-ace on #6 hit the basket on the side that was leaning up. I don't know if it would have gone in or not, but it definitely would have been close. And I've never had an ace before, so that was a bummer.

I didn't like walking back to the beginning after finishing #9, but when I came back to the park the second time, I parked on Studebaker (in the park's alternate parking lot) to make the walk shorter.

The biggest con for the course is just how simple it is. Not only is it extremely short (I think almost all of the first 6 holes are under 200 ft), but there are minimal obstacles.
Other Thoughts: On #2, my disc landed in the path of the city mower, but the driver stopped and waited for me to putt. He also made sure throughout his sweeps that I wasn't impacted by the mowing. Very cool. After that, I left for an appointment nearby and when I came back an hour later, the sprinklers were on and the ground was soaked in many parts. I don't understand why they were running the sprinklers during the day. It felt good to get sprayed on such a hot day, but doesn't most of the water evaporate that way? Anyway, I tried a roller shot about 20 minutes later and wet grass ended that idea pretty quickly.

Lastly, if the original course is played as is, it should be considered Par 21 or so, instead of Par 27. When I finished the round, I used the safari course map on the links page and played that. It was much more challenging/enjoyable. I really appreciate whoever put that together. However, I had trouble finding some of the tees for the guerilla course. The tenth tee, for example (which was the one I was most looking forward to, since it's across the street), I could not find. If you stand where the map indicates, it seems like it would be extremely difficult to get your disc past the initial trees on the north side of the street, the trees on the median, plus the fence/trees/bushes on the south side of the street. Instead of going to where the bike path intersected the sidewalk connection, I moved up to just north of the street, between the trees. I still drove into a tree, though. Later, I teed off from under the bridge, which was a pretty unique spot.

Perhaps what was confusing was that there appeared to be multiple guerilla courses marked. Some of the tees were designated with white spray paint; others, with green or orange. And I didn't really see any that matched the guerilla map in the links section. Still, I think I will come back to play the guerilla course.

I'd give a 1.5 rating if it weren't for the well-maintained park and the availability of the guerrilla course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hehehe

5+    7/19/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Exceptionaly maintained
Great Area
Gorilla course is quite awesome and tee's for it are painted
Best for working on upshots
Cons: Public park, quite a few runners but never any random picnicers
Very short
Terrible baskets (makes you putt precise)
Crossing Fairways
Other Thoughts: It can be boring if you come here expecting too much, i love taking putters and mids out on the regular layout and bagging out working on controlled, accurate upshots.

The gorilla course is awesome and everything is painted, still can be tough to navigate but the locals are friendly and willing to help. the Gorilla course is not hard but its not terribly easy either and is worth trying out if you know someone who knows the layout.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Mid-Range and Putts at a Beautiful Park

5+    12/15/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: SteveDG
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This regularly manicured park has a designated area for disc golf. There is not much pedestrian traffic through the course. This is a fun place to practice your mid-range and putting game with three longer holes that you can let loose on a drive.

Holes one through three are a fairly basic. Throwing a ROC from the pad will get you close enough to birdie. Hole four is fun because it has more hazards like boulders and trees near the hole. It can easily bounce away from our hopeful position, even if you think you had a good throw.

Holes five and seven play near six foot chain-link fences. If your not careful you'll be climbing a fence to retrieve the disc and then get dinged for an OB. Hole six is on a little hill so if the disc doesn't land well it will roll twenty feet away.

Eight and nine are longer drives and a true Par 3. Hole nine is long and flat but the basket is right under an oak tree so there is a bit of technicality about it.
Cons: The park offers an additional "back nine" and an optional gorilla course. Unfortunately, the "back nine" was an afterthought which uses the 1-9 holes. It also crosses over much of the original nine drives. If you play this course on a busy day, the sand traps and OBs won't be the only hazards; watch your head.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to warm up at if you plan on playing at El Dorado in Long Beach. This Cerrito course is only 10 minutes away from ElDo and plays in about 30 minutes if your by yourself. I've played it many times if I don't have time to play an eighteen. All in all a fun, little, quick course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Putting Practice

5+    6/17/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice clean park with well maintained fairways.

- Mostly DG exclusive with a single path for other park users that are usually aware of the course and courteous.

- Ace opportunities on every hole, go ahead and pad your stats.

- Lights for night play, that goes a long way.

- Excellent putter course, this is a great place to take beginners and have the experienced play with a single putter.

- Navigation is relatively simple, not much chance of getting lost.
Cons: - Holes are super short
-
Tee pads are laughably short

- Baskets are in rough shape. Especially 4 and 6. Number 4 has been repaired, however with some chain that is a thinner gague, causing some good shots to go right through. Number 6 the chains are so tight that a good putt can bounce off the chains right back on to the grass.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to practice your short game and I'm sure has a great gorilla layout.

The basic layout can get a big boring however is a nice course with little to no non DG traffic so it makes it a pleasant experience.

If you want a challenge it is a short drive to Eldo or La Mirada. But this is a great place to practice your short game with no crowds.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lame 9

1    8/16/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice little city park. The grassy fairways are well maintained, and the park is mostly free of litter and vandalism. There are tee signs at all tees with hole layout and distance, and the course is very easy to follow. There are concrete tees for all holes, and baskets that are older but still catch ok. A couple holes make creative use of some trees to make some more interesting shots. The course doesn't conflict too much with other park uses.
Cons: This is a very easy, simple little course. Most of the holes are short, open and straight ahead with only a few holes over 200'. As a barely intermediate level player I shot a 17 my first round here with nothing but a wizard, so there really isn't any challenge. The course pretty much just zig zags across a narrow little strip of the park, so it feels very repetitive by the end. The tee pads are tiny, though run ups aren't really necessary here. Many holes play very near one another, and often the next tee is quite close to the basket making for some safety concerns. The course ends at the far end of the park, so you have to basically walk back the entire length of the course to get back to your car.
Other Thoughts: This is an ok place to bring beginners or young kids, as it's short, open and forgiving, but because of how open it is beginners won't be pushed to learn any different shots. More experienced players won't find any challenge here, though apparently there is a much more interesting and challenging safari layout if you can find a local to show you around. Unless you want to introduce someone to the game or check another course off your list, this one isn't really worth playing without a local to show you the alternate course.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Derred Scheperle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The grass is always cut short a pluss in my book! The driving pads are ok but could be a bit bigger. not many trees.This course is great for beginners or prople who would like to brush up on there mid range or putting skills..
Cons: The sings need some attin! and the ground around the baskets needs to be filled with some dirt or fine rocks..

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 GORILLA COURSE REVIEW

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a review of the GORILLA COURSE ONLY.

This course consists of twelve holes, playing from tees to baskets irrespective of numbering or the regular 9-hole course layout. The park itself is pretty flat, with a couple of small hills, some fencing, and a sand pit to make life interesting. Moderately treed fairways make you shape your lines and think about options. One hole drives blind across a street (!), adding-real-life drama to the risk-reward equation. (There's an alternate, shorter tee for noodle arms like me.)

Since the regular tees are small, we played on the grass next to the concrete except when the gorilla tees were painted on walkways, etc. Baskets are old, but in decent shape. No litter seen anywhere, nor graffiti - seems like the local DG community and or the Parks Dept takes good care of the place.

The main thing is that the fun factor is superb. If this was an 18-hole couse it would be at least a four-disc rated layout. I'm coming back for more!
Cons: Because the DG area is small, the gorilla layout means lots of crossing fairways. The danger of this to me is sort of like a mandatory half-disc ding - too bad, but necessary because if you want to play safe, you have to play off-peak hours when not many other people will be there.
Other Thoughts: I've posted a map of the gorilla layout - if you don't have a guide, make sure you print a copy of the map!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Easy

2-4    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Cute little neighborhood course zig-zagging through the a generally open area of a multi-use park. A reasonable location for a quick round with your putter or favorite mid-range disc. Park lights are sufficient to allow for night play without lit discs. Not too bad of a course for new players to come out and throw a round and feel good about getting more than their typical number of pars. Park was well maintained and other amenities offer multiple activities for the whole family.
Cons:
Baskets are showing their age, i.e. leaning, missing chains, etc.. Some tee signs are missing. Several tees are too close to the previous baskets. Concrete tee pads are too small for any run-up or x-step, but we're talking about sub-200' holes here. No forced shot variety: almost all the holes are open straight shots or RHBH hyzers. Course ends at the opposite end of the park from where it starts so you have to walk backwards through the course to get back to tee #1/parking.
Other Thoughts:
The rumor is that the locals have a safari layout which makes the course more interesting and I saw evidence of this with a couple numbers painted on the sidewalk. But an 18-hole safari layout seems awfully dangerous if there are multiple groups of players on the course. The park lights are what attracted me to this course as I was in town and had just an afternoon to knock out as many So.Cal courses as I could. Liberty Park was a nice way to close out the day letting me play after the sun had gone down. Thanks to whoever posted the map here on DGCR, I probably would have been lost without it. A note to the locals... someone post a map of the safari layout.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Another Fun 9'r in O.C.....

5+    4/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the most part, this area of the park is disc golf exclusive. One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there and was met by the local crew. There is the ability to play a decent 18 hole layout here. Therefore the "Good" rating was applied. (Get a Guide!!!)

Most holes have concrete teepads. Chains are a lil old, but still servicable (ol Machs). Clean, nice park. Light for night play (but not as lit as Twila)!!!
Cons: The actual course is a weak, short, open 9'r. So if you ain't gotta guide this course is a 1.5. A few baskets need some repair. Signage is weak or non-existent, tough navigating.
Other Thoughts: If I hadn't played this course regularly for the last 15+ yrs and knew the locals to show me the alt. positions, this course is just as weak as most of the O.C. 9'rs. If you wanna get a quick fix in, it always does the job. Great "Stop and Pop" course to add into a road trip since it's close to El Do.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  reviewed by local

5+    3/31/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: beatUPboss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: pros play the alternate holes ive played with some good players will not mention names but the shorts are only fun if u play par 2s come with me to play alternates there fun longer slightly harder they have mandos
Cons: weekends are family night and the sport is growing so fast theres new players coming in all the time thats why im there to guide them the propper way to play this course besides the short i work 5 min away so see u @lunch
Other Thoughts: its alot of fun im going to try to start tournaments weeklys only with the harder gorrilla course

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.