Cerritos, CA 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #5
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short & Easy

2-4    5/11/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Cute little neighborhood course zig-zagging through the a generally open area of a multi-use park. A reasonable location for a quick round with your putter or favorite mid-range disc. Park lights are sufficient to allow for night play without lit discs. Not too bad of a course for new players to come out and throw a round and feel good about getting more than their typical number of pars. Park was well maintained and other amenities offer multiple activities for the whole family.
Cons:
Baskets are showing their age, i.e. leaning, missing chains, etc.. Some tee signs are missing. Several tees are too close to the previous baskets. Concrete tee pads are too small for any run-up or x-step, but we're talking about sub-200' holes here. No forced shot variety: almost all the holes are open straight shots or RHBH hyzers. Course ends at the opposite end of the park from where it starts so you have to walk backwards through the course to get back to tee #1/parking.
Other Thoughts:
The rumor is that the locals have a safari layout which makes the course more interesting and I saw evidence of this with a couple numbers painted on the sidewalk. But an 18-hole safari layout seems awfully dangerous if there are multiple groups of players on the course. The park lights are what attracted me to this course as I was in town and had just an afternoon to knock out as many So.Cal courses as I could. Liberty Park was a nice way to close out the day letting me play after the sun had gone down. Thanks to whoever posted the map here on DGCR, I probably would have been lost without it. A note to the locals... someone post a map of the safari layout.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Another Fun 9'r in O.C.....

5+    4/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the most part, this area of the park is disc golf exclusive. One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there and was met by the local crew. There is the ability to play a decent 18 hole layout here. Therefore the "Good" rating was applied. (Get a Guide!!!)

Most holes have concrete teepads. Chains are a lil old, but still servicable (ol Machs). Clean, nice park. Light for night play (but not as lit as Twila)!!!
Cons: The actual course is a weak, short, open 9'r. So if you ain't gotta guide this course is a 1.5. A few baskets need some repair. Signage is weak or non-existent, tough navigating.
Other Thoughts: If I hadn't played this course regularly for the last 15+ yrs and knew the locals to show me the alt. positions, this course is just as weak as most of the O.C. 9'rs. If you wanna get a quick fix in, it always does the job. Great "Stop and Pop" course to add into a road trip since it's close to El Do.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  reviewed by local

5+    3/31/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: beatUPboss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: pros play the alternate holes ive played with some good players will not mention names but the shorts are only fun if u play par 2s come with me to play alternates there fun longer slightly harder they have mandos
Cons: weekends are family night and the sport is growing so fast theres new players coming in all the time thats why im there to guide them the propper way to play this course besides the short i work 5 min away so see u @lunch
Other Thoughts: its alot of fun im going to try to start tournaments weeklys only with the harder gorrilla course

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Creative 9 Hole Course

2-4    1/24/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Well manicured and mowed grass
• Very creative use of obstacles, including an OB area that is a "fenced off" portion of the park, and a sandpit that is essentially like a small pond. When it rains even more so.
• Disc Golf exclusive area - people do pass through, but they are for the most part very aware that there are discs flying around and it is a sport (i.e. they don't throw your disc back to you).
• Free to park and free to play
• Lots of Safari options here - there is actually a full 18 that is played by locals.
• Rarely crowded - no waiting at any holes. Only saw one other group there on a Saturday from 9am to 1pm
• Centrally located and freeway close
Cons: • Tee signs are missing on some holes and the baskets are not numbered. Some areas have a few baskets which would make it tough for first timers without a guide here.
• Strange fenced off area that appears to be part of the park, but is isolated from the rest of the park. Considered OB, but the worst part is you have to hop the fence to get your disc. It makes you limit your shots to safer lines if you don't want to jump over
• The park is relatively flat. The elevation change that exists is used creatively, but it only really is there on 2 or 3 holes.
• "Back 9" shoot to the same baskets and can interrupt players playing the "Front 9".
• Tees are virtually all on concrete in mixed use areas, so there are no dedicated tees here.
• I sensed that I would probably need a guide if I was there for the first time. Lucky I had one, but I don't know if I would have been able to figure out the flow of the tees since some are unmarked and none of the baskets have numbers.
• Par 4's? I think I had an eagle…
Other Thoughts: Liberty Park in Cerritos is a great short course that would be an excellent place for me to practice if I lived closer. The park is well maintained and the general public is fully aware that disc golf is being played in the vicinity. This is not by any means a destination course, but to work on your mid range and putting game it is a great resource. There are better options in the area including El Dorado on Long Beach which is only about 5 to 10 minutes away. Just don't try to take Studebaker there - it does NOT go through. I learned this the hard way. If you are a RHBH thrower, bring out your anhyzer game here - there are plenty of holes that you will need it on.

Overall this is a fun course to play, but it really is only officially a 9 holer. If the course was extended into the other portion of the park it might be able to expand into a full 18 hole course. This seems possible as the portion of the park on the other side of the parking lot seems underused. The "Monster Course" played by locals plays longer on the "Back 9" and there is even another 9 Safari course played by the locals. When I played here we played all 27.

I enjoyed playing here, but wouldn't go out of my way to go back. It is great when compared to other 9 holers in L.A. county, but it does not hold a candle (or a disclight?) to any of the 18 holers in the area. I would play it again if I was in the area, and this seems like it would be a great local course if you lived near it. I would work on my mid range and putting game if I lived near here. It is also very easy to get to, and parking is a snap.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lights!!!

5+    12/27/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate
-Concrete tees, with informative signs. Sometimes.
-Lights! Was able to play at night although it was sometimes difficult to find the discs.
-Great for beginners or mid-range practice. Pretty much every basket begs to be aced. Two 240' throws (par 4 LoL).
-The area appears to be mostly DG exclusive.
-My favorite 9 hole in the area.
Cons: -Course does not loop back to the parking lot, it ends at the opposite end of the park.
-While it IS lit, it seems that every pin was hidden in the 9 darkest places they could find.
-Tee pads do not allow any run up, a grass run up is also pretty dangerous due to divots at the edge of most pads. That said, static shots are all you will need to throw.
Other Thoughts: The course plays in a largely unused portent of a flat neighborhood park between a river and a baseball field. As the course progresses, it tends to involve more trees and obstacles, but is never very difficult. The holes gain length as the round plays on.

Flow is relatively easy to figure out, as the course basically zigzags its way across the park, working its way over to the opposite end. While most holes are basic pitch-and-putts, there are a couple that involve slight elevation and line decisions.

The 9 hole design is obvious to follow, but let it be known that there are about half a million other unofficial ways of playing the course. Look around on any piece of concrete and you are bound to find some kind of local hole. On the paths, next to the weird sand pit, in the parking lot, even on the bike path by the river.

Occasionally people pass by, day and night, and yes they are usually oblivious to the game. Fortunately, they are never in the way very long as the path does not follow any fairways.

Note that holes 6 and 9 are missing tee signs, but its no problem figuring them out, even at night.

This course is primarily a night course to me due to the lights. I have actually never played it during the day because there is no point. This and the other 3 nearby-ish lit 9 holers all make for a fun night adventure if you feel so inclined. It is also a fantastic place to introduce somebody to the game, and really practice throwing without worrying about being in the way or losing the disc. I have never encountered crowds here, maybe one other group.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to work on your short game

5+    12/1/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.4 Years
15 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -LIGHTS! you can play here until i think 10:00 pm with decent lighting.
-concrete tees
-well-groomed course
-pretty much disc golf exclusive area
-picnic areas make this course a nice one to spend the day at
-short course...i usually just take a putter and a beverage(though you have to be careful. there has been police around there a lot lately and booze is not allowed).
-decent baskets and accurate signs
Cons: -short holes...make me want to stretch my guns!
-very short tee pads (maybe 4'x4'). bring your static shot.
-medium degree of criss-crossing fairways
-weird pars (200' par 4...:S)
-no pro shop or map...make sure to use a guide!
Other Thoughts: this course makes good use of the small strip of land that is dedicated to disc golf. it is only 9 short holes, but the park is usually pretty empty and most people ending up playing longer safari holes. the grassy elevation changes make quite a few different types of shots necessary. the last 2 holes open up a bit, but people who can are used to 300' or more holes will feel confined...playing this course a lot, however, has greatly improved my short/mid game.

15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  My Starting Course

5+    10/29/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: NorrinRadd
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2010
7 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This place is perfect for the beginner and novice alike. It may not be as intimidating to some "pros" but it is well maintained and gives decent challenges for people new to the sport and would help players at any level with their short game. Good atmosphere and minimal obstruction from hazards and/or people... The course itself is strictly for disc golf. I've actually witnessed park staff ask anyone obstructing the disc golf players path to relocate to another area of the park. That's a major plus if you ask me. And it's in a great neighborhood. I went to another park course in Anaheim and felt that I may at any time be a victim of a drive-by! =) So I give Liberty Park a high safety rating as well.
Cons: This course can sometimes get a bit crowded with people playing the "back 9." It's not an official back 9, but some crafty disc golfers have made one. The only drawback is that they sometimes cut through the path of the true course and are sometimes shooting at the same basket you may be aiming for. It doesn't become an issue frequently, though. Also, if your not as accurate on some holes, you might have to jump a fence or two in order to retrieve your disc. That being said, it's a very fun course.
Other Thoughts: There is only one basket that is slightly damaged as far as I know and it's the 6th pin. The basket dips a bit to one side. In closing I offer you this... I am new to the sport and am very thankful for this course. It's where I got "hooked" on the game and no matter where I go or how good I become it will always be my "home course."

7 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Ideal For Kids And Begginners

2-4    5/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Built in a nice park where it will not interfere with many other activities going on. Landscaping appears as though it was specifically designed for the course. The flow of the course is very easy to figure out. There is not too much traffic here but enough to let you know that it is worth playing. I am sure that this is a great course for kids and begginners as it is not intimidating at all. The course is well maintained. There are good tee signs. Tee pads are consistent. There are plenty of nice activities in other parts of the park so there is something for the whole family.
Cons: I was a little concerned by the power lines that run right through this course. Tee pads are tiny but you will not need much more than what they give you. This is the shortest course that I have seen to this point with two holes over 200 ft. The one thing that suggests a poor course design is that hole one stars on one end of a greenbelt and hole 9 ends on the other end.
Other Thoughts: While this course might not be for the serious player, there are people I know that would be best served by playing this course first as it is super easy and not all that intimidating. I would imagine that even a 5 year old could have a good time and be competative on this course. I was also super impressed with all the other activities going on throughout the park. You would be best served to park in the parking lot by the community center, which sits right in the middle of the street off of Steudebaker. If you go in the far south entrance you will want to drive and park as far north as you can. As long as you are expecting super short course you will really be pleasently surprised. This is a short course that has gotten a good deal of care.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

1    4/18/2009   4/18/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: short, greet for beginners or working your short game, location, nice grass,
Cons: no cover from sun, walkways through disc plan of flight, dirt around baskets not grass
Other Thoughts: i recall having tee markers for each hole. but i could be wrong since i went to three courses today...but i know there was one for hole 4 for sure.

this seems to be a good place to warm up before going to el dor or la mira.

great for beginers..
i would like to play the long course the locals made. maybe if someone could make a map hahaha

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long Course Layout Description

5+    12/15/2008   12/16/2008
Review By: stevoe70
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park, and very nice green grass with subtle slopes. Good for practicing your approach and putting. Longer Course layout preferred. Holes range from 270ft. to 370ft. on the longer course layout.
Cons: The intended course layout is very short on most holes (150ft. on average), and there are no obstructions. The tee pads are very small, but because of the short holes, no run-up is needed. Can get pretty busy with people on the weekends (ie. soccer players, walkers, etc.)
Other Thoughts: I prefer the longer course, so I will detail it here. Most of the longer course tee pads are marked with spray paint on the holes in which concrete is used for the tee pads.
Hole number one uses the intended course hole number one basket, but the tee pad is the large concrete slab located at the corner of the Northside parking lot adjacent to a lone picnic table. The shot is taken in a South-west direction towards the Group Picnic Area to hole number one basket. This is a flat shot about 300 ft. and plays past two large trees in which you have to shoot under to get to the basket.
Hole number two uses the same basket as the intended hole two basket, but instead uses the diagonal cement walkway that runs along side the South end of the Group Picnic area. The is a flat shot, taken in a North-east direction, and is about 300 ft. There is a tree that plays to the right halfway to this hole. Be careful if there are people sitting at the picnic table that sits to the right of the hole near baseball diamond.
Hole number three tees off from the triangular concrete slab located underneath the large tower pole that is located adjacent to the North side of the baseball diamond (behind left field). Throw in the westward direction underneath the large pine tree to the hole which is located about 270 ft away under a Willow Tree. This is a perfect hole for a roller, or a large anhyzer, since the Pine Tree overhangs this shot pretty low.
Hole number four uses the same large concrete slab as hole number one in this long course layout. Except you throw in the westward direction underneath the trees that sit right in front of the concrete slab. The hole sits about 300 ft. down into a gully behind some large boulder. There is another basket that sits on a small mound of grass in front of this hole, but that is not the basket, that is for hole seven in this long course layout. I found a slight hyzer works well for this hole.
Hole five tees off in front of the basket for hole four on the grass, just behind this large bush that resembles a spider plant. Throw in a North-east direction towards the basket that is located next to the chainlink fence that separates the park from another parking lot (the fence line that is located along the North-east corner of the park). This is a straight flat shot that plays about 280ft. A large tree plays to the right of this hole.
Hole six tees off behind the large sand box area located in the middle of the whole course. Tee off on the grass facing in a Northward direction. There is a large high voltage pylon that plays to the right, and further up the slight hill there are two tiny trees that sit in front of the hole. This is a straight shot that plays on a slight uphill about 375 ft. A good flex shot works great.
Hole number seven tees off from the grass area at the North furthest end of the course in front of the fence next to South St. Two small trees are located in front of the Tee area, and you face down the hill looking at the whole park in a Southward direction. The basket is located on the small grass mound that is located just right of the cement walkway. This hole plays downhill and is about 350 ft. A large maple tree plays to the right of this hole.
Hole 8 tees off from the long cement walkway next to the light pole just behind the trashcan which is located near basket 7. Face in a Northward direction, and throw towards the basket located next to the gate to the bike path. There is basket 7 that is in the way (black ace), and a large maple tree that plays in front of this hole. A straight shot under the maple tree, or a large hyzer shot around the right of the maple tree works great for hole eight which plays about 300 ft.
Hole 9 tees off from atop the bike trail just outside the gate. Throw in an Eastward direction over the fence into the park, and towards the basket located next to the eastside chain link fence that separates the park from a parking lot. A large pole plays to the right at the start of this shot, and a large tree sits in front of the hole towards the end. Hole nine plays about 300 ft. A straight flat shot with a left fade at the end works great.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.