Brandon, FL 
Limona DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #6 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Filtered Rating:
Details
Review Count: 10
Nine should have stayed nine

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This could be a good local course. It is all pretty much in one field area but there are plenty of trees that will force different types of shots. You'll have to make some very straight throws. You'll also have to approach pins from some odd angles.

If you knew the course well, I could see playing it all the time. There is some good disc golf there and I'm guessing that it is rarely busy. Seems like a great place to work on your game and get to know new discs.

There is even a nice water carry when the water level is not too high. In this case "too high" means, touching the bottom of the basket pole.
Cons: I get the idea from some of the previous reviews, and the info on the site, that this was formerly a nine-hole layout. I'm guessing that the old layout was much better than the current eighteen. There isn't enough space here for a full eighteen. Currently most fairways are in the path of at least one tee. There are two tees that throw directly over one another. I wouldn't want to play here if there was anyone else on the course.

To make matters worse, there are tees with no signs and signs with no tees. It's confusing to say the least. Add the fact that the signs are pretty vague as to where you are targeting and the fact that from any tee you can see at least six baskets, and you have a mess.

I don't hesitate to say the navigation here is the worst that I have ever seen on a course. I certainly played to the wrong basket on a few occasions. And due to the signs/holes issues, I missed a few holes entirely.
Other Thoughts: Limona is a probably a decent course to play regularly. But for visitors, I wouldn't recommend it at all. There are too many courses in the Tampa area to spend time figuring out which tee goes with each basket here.

Some of his could be fixed up with some work, but I think this a nine that should have stayed a nine. There just isn't the space.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Course Bordering On Greatness

2-4    9/5/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a very nice clean park in what appears to be a great neighborhood.

It has some nice rolling hills, a couple of ponds, well mowed fairways, and plenty of shady mature trees for obstacles.

The tees for the "front nine" are spectacular. They are probably the largest poured concrete tees that I have ever seen.

This course uses the Gateway baskets, and they are very nice.

Most holes have 2 or more pin placements.

There is a pavilion and a few picnic tables.

The course has a high fun factor, with a good mix of short and long holes.

The course is very close to I-75, so jumping off the highway for a quick round is a breeze.
Cons: There are a few navigation issues. The course could benefit from some next tee signs/arrows.

A couple of the holes are missing tee signs.

The baskets have #'s on them, but on some of the holes you can see multiple baskets from the tee, and have to walk down to see which is the correct basket for that hole.

Some of the holes with multiple pin placements have no way of showing what pin is in play, so more walking down the fairway is needed to tell where to throw.

The tees for the "back nine" are as bad as the tees for the front nine are great. Basically they are small and covered with sand.

The course has 18 tees, but shares only 9 baskets. It wasn't an issue when I played it, but I wonder how it would work during peak playing times. IN MY OPINION, I would prefer this course being a 9 hole course with 2 sets of tees, instead of its current layout.

I didn't see any restrooms, but the course isn't too far from civilization.
Other Thoughts: Even with its flaws, I consider this to be a wonderful suburban oasis course that has a lot to offer. I was wondering if there were any houses for sale around the course, and thinking what a great neighborhood this would be to retire in!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My kind of 9 hole course

5+    10/26/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee's, Tee Maps, Alternating pin placements, Multiple Tee's (also used for a back 9 to make it an 18 hole course)
-Varying terrain, the course is laid out along some sloping terrain. A pleasant surprise in Florida!
-Good pin positions, there was a nice balance of strategy and distance shots. (Though, this would be considered a short course)
-The tree's and landscaping at this park make for a beautiful landscape. It adds to the experience of playing here.
-Gateway Baskets, of which I am quickly becoming a fan!
-They maximized the use of the land, and the layout has a nice flow to it.
-Plenty of uphill and downhill shots
-Bulletin board
-Water comes into play on hole 4 (The lake was almost dried up when I played here though.)
-Big fun factor
-The hilly terrain makes for a nice work out.
-Navigation was easy, although it took me a minute to find a couple of the teepads
-Picnic shelter (I didn't notice if there were restrooms, let me know and I'll update accordingly)
-Good long distance finishing hole.
-One last FYI, the house at the entrance to the park belongs to a Law officer. From what I've heard, he keeps an eye on the park.
Cons: -(First timer issue) Map at the bulletin board was faded, and I had to ask where hole one started. I'm used to the Bulletin board being next to hole #1. Hole #1 is near the entrance.
-Navigation is okay, but 5-7 can get one turned around. The first few times I played here, I would accidentally skip 6 because I would see 7's teepad. 5 and 6 go the same direction, but you have to walk back to find 6's teepad.
-Depending on the basket locations, it's easy to mistake 3's basket from 5's teepad. Done that a few times.
-Fairways are close to each other, and even though it's easy to watch where other groups are and where they are throwing. Stray discs could find their way into your fairway and vice versa. If you pay attention, it won't be that big of an issue.
-Although it's not a huge factor, I didn't see where it notated what pin placement the baskets were in. It appeared that there was 3 or 4 locations per hole. The pins aren't hard to locate, but it's just something I noticed.
-The alternate, or "Back 9" tee pads weren't the concrete slab like the Front 9 tee's. They were more of a make shift teepad with what looked like concrete squares. They looked like they were just marking the tee locations, and will be upgraded in the future. …possibly.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy of these types of 9 hole courses. They are fun and not overly difficult to play, but it also comes with its challenges. Whether you are throwing over a lake (what's left of it), or down a hill, you'll want to consider your line and your approach. The trees here are not dense, but you'll find yourself deciding which side to throw your line. Most of the holes are average for distance, but have some sort of challenge to work around. #9 is the longest hole and it is a canyon type shot. It made for a nice finishing hole back to the parking lot.
When I review 9 hole courses, I always go with the perspective on "Why you should play here". I had a great time here, and it had a big fun factor for me. I was disappointed that I didn't have time to play a second round. It's a lot of fun, and it's worth a trip if you are in the Brandon area. (I.E. on the way to play Medard) Its fun, it's challenging, and it can be played in a short time. It's a little of the beaten path, but it won't disappoint!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Course on a Fun per Acre Basis

1    3/7/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Use of landscape, multiple pin positions
Other Thoughts: Limona Park is a nice nine-holer with benefits. Featuring more pin positions per hole than most any course, and two sets of tees that truly switch up many of the holes, this course is all about getting the most fun out of a relatively small bit of land.

Limona Park is a small square park and the whole thing is visible from the small parking lot. On first impression, it looks like a short practice course, good for those in the neighborhood. Sink your teeth into this course, though, and it shows you the thought and care put into it by the designers and caretakers. All nine holes have good signs and one set of concrete tees. Starting with #1, each hole takes full advantage of the landscape, which features some nice little hills, big oak trees, and even a small pond. The myriad of pin placements is evident, and according to the sign in the parking lot, baskets are moved pretty frequently. Yes, it's mostly pitch and putt, but the last three holes are longish and will give the boomers something to look forward to. Finish 9 and you'll think, hey that was pretty sweet for a nine holer.

But there's nine more to go. The "back nine" plays to the same baskets, but in most cases from a different angle. You may be surprised at how often you're using a different driver to get to a basket you've already played. There's good signage for the back nine too, but the tees are stone pavers and not very long, so that's the big disadvantage vs. the front 9. The back nine has the same qualities as the front though - more open than not, good use of the relatively hilly landscape and what trees there are, and a little bit of length for the last third.

Overall I rate Limona Good, and well worth checking out if you're in the area. For a nine-holer it's very good, but the fact remains it only has nine good tees and is still pretty much so a par 3 course in a small municipal park. Still, I am impressed by the variety and options of this course, and suspect that it'll play notably different the next time I'm there.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Untouched by Suburbia

1    3/14/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Gateway Titans are nearly indestructible and in great shape. There are clear and informative tee signs on all nine holes and both sets of tees. For Florida there is a surprising amount of elevation in such a small area and it's used to the maximum advantage. The original tee pads are huge concrete slabs in great condition. Most holes would be fine with half the current size pads. There are multiple pin positions on every hole as well as two sets of tees. There are several tree stump benches scattered through the course. Picnic tables and grills would make for a nice lunch afterward.
The large trees and hanging moss force you to shoot low and technical. One hole shoots over a small lake and one of the pin locations for hole #1 is located on a ridge with the water as a back drop. The rest of the baskets were placed very well adding to the challenge. It's very beginner friendly (I took my Aunt there for the first time and she had a blast) with friendly local players. There is a welcome board near the pavilion. The holes offer a good variety of length as well.
Cons: It's only nine holes. If there was more land it would be very nice to see this as an eighteen hole course. Some of the secondary tees are in the middle of the previous fairway. A few of the fairways are also very close to each other. There are no maps available or next tee signs that I could find. There is minimal crossover and some tightness in holes five through seven, so watch your head for bad kicks. The welcome board is at the end of the course, not by hole one. The water is filled with algae and absolutely reeks (some fish might help clear it up). The tee pads for the back nine are small and uneven pavers, a not so welcome change from the front nine. I didn't see any bathrooms, but that doesn't mean they aren't there:)
Other Thoughts: The moss and aged trees make for some cool scenery that can only be found in Florida.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is quite a large piece of property to contain only 9 holes. It feels like the holes were very well laid out with plenty of room to work with. Some times these nine hole courses seem like they are squeezed into a property that is too small and so the planning is lacking. Not so here.

There are some really challenging shots: 2 & 9 in particular. 2 requires an extremely precise drive or roller with a palm in exactly the wrong place for an easy drive. 9 is long and uphill.

Elevation change is nice considering this is in Florida you don't see that much.

Water is in play on 4 &13 but not so much of a threat if you know how to throw straight or have a decent hyzer or sidearm shot in your bag.

Locals were very nice.

Mandos were unique sporting a goat design that is supposedly likened after the goat that is in the yard just beyond the fence on the north side of the lake.

What other courses have a "hot tub" hole. If you have been there you know what I am talking about. If you haven't been you will just have to go to find out.

Clever use of multiple tee pads to give the feel of 18 holes on a 9 pin course.
Cons: Would be great if this was a full 18 holes, just not the room for it.

I wish the water came a little more into play, like if hole 4 had an alternate pin right down by the water or further across the lake. Not a huge con but would be fun.

Not much bad to say about this course other than it is not a full 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again even though it is quite a drive. There is a group that plays there Monday around noon that sounds fun. If you are going to play a course in Tampa, play this one. If you are going to play courses in the Tampa Bay area, hit St. Pete/Clearwater first.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety for Florida

1    1/11/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) This course is well designed for disc golf on a cool property. There are plenty of trees, there is elevation changes both up and down, there are some open drives and some tighter wooded drives. All in all this course has just a perfect mix of trouble and challenge.

2) Gateway Titan baskets are spectacular, they alsmost catch too good if that can be true. Misses on most other baskets might still be caught by the 24 chain Titan.

3) Multiple baskets available on many of the holes including 4 baskets on Hole #1, 10.

4) Multiple tees create completely different holes, thus the tee signs labelled as 18 holes instead of short and long tees for 9 holes.

5) Tee signs are nice. Hole #, distances of all baskets, par and a moderately descriptive hole layout.

6) You can pet a goat! Who doesn't like to pet goats?

7) Mando's used appropriately for safety issues where fairways cross fairly close to another fairway, tee, or basket. It won't stop errant throws, but at least it makes you aware before you throw.

8) There are doormats placed some of the tees allowing for you to pound your feet off before stepping onto the teebox. This is key with wet sand. The teeboxes were not too slippery despite the amount of sand on them.

9) Massive concrete tees for 9 of the holes. The alternate tees are 2'x2' pavers.

10) Course is very beginner friendly. It is mostly open despite having some trees to work around. It will challenge the beginners but will help them improve quicker than a wide open high school course.

11) Pavilion, benches and kiosk for disc golf info are included along with a portopotty in the parking lot.
Cons: 1) Paver teeboxes are too small and uneven in spots. It is better than just dirt but I would prefer to see them done properly the first time.

2) All holes are very threeable without too mcuh difficulty.

3) There is a fair amount of erosion around the concrete tee boxes. The grade drops off especially at the front of the concrete tee boxes.

4) A few of the holes are too close to another hole. The mandos are there to make people aware but it does not stop the errant throws.

5) Course is pretty repetetive in distance except for hole #9. This goes along with all holes being pretty threeable.

6) Some areas the turf is pretty thin and could get muddy althought he soil is still mostly sand. There also are some tree branches and debris in a few spots that could really stand being removed.

7) I dont think there were any benches ont he course and I do not remember any garbage cans. I am sorry I played quick and alone so I had no spare time I just ran through the course. I also have played too many courses (like thats possible) in the last few weeks so things run together a little bit.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time at this course. I played it on my way from Fort Myers to Orlando and I played both tees at the same time and I think it took me about 30 minutes. It was a quick play and easy to follow and navigate. There was plenty of challenge to allow me to enjoy the course, and a good amount of variety always helps my enjoyment of a course. I saw signs of Billy Goat Disc Golf which I assume is the local club. How creative! And if you want (and I wouldn't) pet the goat after putting out on Hole #4. The course could use some maintenance around the teeboxes and it could also use the alternate teebox installation.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hills in Florida!!??

1    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hilly...very rare in Florida, almost felt like a GA course except for the big beautiful mossy trees.
Nice big concrete pads, it also seemed like there were some alternate rubber pads but they were not marked.
Gateway Titan baskets are ridiculously overbuilt...very heavy gage basket and 3 rings of chain (really wish the connections were better to the poles though).
Neat elevated basket on hole 5.
Cons: Hole 6 missing sign.
Other Thoughts: I cannot comment on the difficulty of this course because I played it with a super class disc and it was the first time I ever used one so I cannot correlate it to regular play. It seemed rather straight forward but it had good amenities for a 9 holer with concrete pads and good signs along with multiple pin placements.
It was a good and worthwhile detour if you are in the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop if you're in the east Tampa area

1    3/6/2007   6/6/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Attractive park in nice old Brandon neighborhood. Good use of a small piece of land.

Multiple tees and basket locations give the course a good amount of variety for return visits.

Great course for beginners and for as a good place for advanced players to practice.

No schule and little chance of losing discs.

Course pro John E McCray is very welcoming to new players and has quickly grown a good group of new regular local players.
Cons: A couple of the fairways crowd a bit on each other.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Limona Disc Golf Course

2/5/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple teepads, ease of use, not crowded, lots of trees that are incorporated into the overall design but not overly, well manicured for the most part, not over-designed.
Cons: A little conflict with sharing fairways. A little too easy, but not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: The course plays well and quickly, its close to all kinds of shopping but is in an area that gives you the impression you are out in the country. An experienced disc golfer will find it pretty easy to play and may get bored too quickly, but still fun to play, if the idea was to introduce disc golf to the area and let beginners and advanced players play without getting overwhelmed by the course then its perfect. A good course for lunch break, or if you dont have too much time to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.