Brandon, FL 
Limona DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #8 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
One discer

1    5/21/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
Pros: **Only played 9/18 holes - read Other for why**
Quick play
Concrete tee pads (9 holes only)
Beginner friendly
Water hole isn't hard
Plenty of shade for FL
Multiple pin placement
Cons: No designation of which layout is in use
Too easy for experienced players, I was putting for 2 on most holes
Not enough variation.
Holes share baskets (1/10, 2/11.... 9/18)
Missing tee signs on at least 5, 6, 7 and navigation was tough being alone and never playing there before.
Threw at the wrong basket a couple times.
No bathrooms onsite.
Other Thoughts: I still had fun because it is disc golf. I was in town with a couple hours to spare so I checked the course out. If this was the only course I had near me, I would make the best of it but, I have no interest in ever going back to play it again. I didn't play the 18 hole layout but it looked like they just turned what used to be pro / am pads into extra holes. The course plays like a hot mess to be honest and I'd have more fun just playing gorilla golf if I lived in Brandon.

Nine should have stayed nine

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This could be a good local course. It is all pretty much in one field area but there are plenty of trees that will force different types of shots. You'll have to make some very straight throws. You'll also have to approach pins from some odd angles.

If you knew the course well, I could see playing it all the time. There is some good disc golf there and I'm guessing that it is rarely busy. Seems like a great place to work on your game and get to know new discs.

There is even a nice water carry when the water level is not too high. In this case "too high" means, touching the bottom of the basket pole.
Cons: I get the idea from some of the previous reviews, and the info on the site, that this was formerly a nine-hole layout. I'm guessing that the old layout was much better than the current eighteen. There isn't enough space here for a full eighteen. Currently most fairways are in the path of at least one tee. There are two tees that throw directly over one another. I wouldn't want to play here if there was anyone else on the course.

To make matters worse, there are tees with no signs and signs with no tees. It's confusing to say the least. Add the fact that the signs are pretty vague as to where you are targeting and the fact that from any tee you can see at least six baskets, and you have a mess.

I don't hesitate to say the navigation here is the worst that I have ever seen on a course. I certainly played to the wrong basket on a few occasions. And due to the signs/holes issues, I missed a few holes entirely.
Other Thoughts: Limona is a probably a decent course to play regularly. But for visitors, I wouldn't recommend it at all. There are too many courses in the Tampa area to spend time figuring out which tee goes with each basket here.

Some of his could be fixed up with some work, but I think this a nine that should have stayed a nine. There just isn't the space.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Course Bordering On Greatness

2-4    9/5/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a very nice clean park in what appears to be a great neighborhood.

It has some nice rolling hills, a couple of ponds, well mowed fairways, and plenty of shady mature trees for obstacles.

The tees for the "front nine" are spectacular. They are probably the largest poured concrete tees that I have ever seen.

This course uses the Gateway baskets, and they are very nice.

Most holes have 2 or more pin placements.

There is a pavilion and a few picnic tables.

The course has a high fun factor, with a good mix of short and long holes.

The course is very close to I-75, so jumping off the highway for a quick round is a breeze.
Cons: There are a few navigation issues. The course could benefit from some next tee signs/arrows.

A couple of the holes are missing tee signs.

The baskets have #'s on them, but on some of the holes you can see multiple baskets from the tee, and have to walk down to see which is the correct basket for that hole.

Some of the holes with multiple pin placements have no way of showing what pin is in play, so more walking down the fairway is needed to tell where to throw.

The tees for the "back nine" are as bad as the tees for the front nine are great. Basically they are small and covered with sand.

The course has 18 tees, but shares only 9 baskets. It wasn't an issue when I played it, but I wonder how it would work during peak playing times. IN MY OPINION, I would prefer this course being a 9 hole course with 2 sets of tees, instead of its current layout.

I didn't see any restrooms, but the course isn't too far from civilization.
Other Thoughts: Even with its flaws, I consider this to be a wonderful suburban oasis course that has a lot to offer. I was wondering if there were any houses for sale around the course, and thinking what a great neighborhood this would be to retire in!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

5+    10/1/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Cueball
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like that there is elevation on this course.
Variety of hole layouts and obsticles to throw around. Plus a few mandos.
Cons: Course signs could use some updating or some TLC some hole signs are hard to find or missing. Just one or two of them (hole 5 and 7 comes to mind.) Also a couple of the basket are hard to see or find.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed playing the course. Seriously recommend having a Golden Retriever. We watched 5 disc go for a swim that day including one of mine.

Due to heavy rains holes 4 and 13 is now in the water.

Restrooms or portables would be a nice addition. I noticed enough pedestian traffic to see the need for it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

quick to play

2-4    5/6/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice concrete tee pads on the front 9
- signage on tees show par, distance and hole layout
- variety of shots
- multiple basket locations
Cons: - tee pads on back 9 are not so good
- some of the tee signs are missing
- difficult to find some of the tee pads, especially on the back 9
Other Thoughts: There are mandos (mandatories) on this course. You should do some reading about them if you don't know what they are. I wish I had known about them before I played this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Little Hilly Gem

5+    11/4/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am rather new to the game of disc golf, and only happened upon this course by accident. However, after coming out to play, I found out how addictive it could be!
A local showed my sons and I the course hole by hole (very kind) and every time i have played since then, I have found players to be extremely polite and supportive. The course itself plays through nine holes through terrain that is made hilly because of a sinkhole/pond by hole 4/13. There are a significant amount of shots that must be made uphill or down which makes for some interesting strategic decisions. The holes range from around 220' to 400 for holes 7 and 9. Nine is a nice, long, sweeping finisher which goes through what can only be described as a valley. The tee pads are nice poured concrete (large) and the disc catchers seem very sturdy. There is a back nine available to the same holes (from different angles) However these pads are much smaller. There are several mandos on the course including a rather tight one on 17. For me the course is a joy to play. Once again, I'm rather new so the course packs plenty of challenges. Better players should have birdie opportunities on most holes, but only after throws that take the trees into consideration....
The first hole has a nice tunnel shot, and is a nice way to start. Basically, this is a great course for newer players, naturally beautiful, and better players should still enjoy.
Cons: I saw no bathrooms or trash cans on the course. There is a pavillion with trash cans, but once again, I saw no bathroom. (possibly just missed it) Also, be aware that the first hole is back up closer to where you drive in. The tee pad next to the parking lot is 3. and, this can be a bit confusing at first. Also a backtrack is needed when going from 5 to 6. Once you get used to it, it's fine! and one more con...Would be nice to have the same concrete pads for the back nine as the front....
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun, and not too tough course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My kind of 9 hole course

5+    10/26/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee's, Tee Maps, Alternating pin placements, Multiple Tee's (also used for a back 9 to make it an 18 hole course)
-Varying terrain, the course is laid out along some sloping terrain. A pleasant surprise in Florida!
-Good pin positions, there was a nice balance of strategy and distance shots. (Though, this would be considered a short course)
-The tree's and landscaping at this park make for a beautiful landscape. It adds to the experience of playing here.
-Gateway Baskets, of which I am quickly becoming a fan!
-They maximized the use of the land, and the layout has a nice flow to it.
-Plenty of uphill and downhill shots
-Bulletin board
-Water comes into play on hole 4 (The lake was almost dried up when I played here though.)
-Big fun factor
-The hilly terrain makes for a nice work out.
-Navigation was easy, although it took me a minute to find a couple of the teepads
-Picnic shelter (I didn't notice if there were restrooms, let me know and I'll update accordingly)
-Good long distance finishing hole.
-One last FYI, the house at the entrance to the park belongs to a Law officer. From what I've heard, he keeps an eye on the park.
Cons: -(First timer issue) Map at the bulletin board was faded, and I had to ask where hole one started. I'm used to the Bulletin board being next to hole #1. Hole #1 is near the entrance.
-Navigation is okay, but 5-7 can get one turned around. The first few times I played here, I would accidentally skip 6 because I would see 7's teepad. 5 and 6 go the same direction, but you have to walk back to find 6's teepad.
-Depending on the basket locations, it's easy to mistake 3's basket from 5's teepad. Done that a few times.
-Fairways are close to each other, and even though it's easy to watch where other groups are and where they are throwing. Stray discs could find their way into your fairway and vice versa. If you pay attention, it won't be that big of an issue.
-Although it's not a huge factor, I didn't see where it notated what pin placement the baskets were in. It appeared that there was 3 or 4 locations per hole. The pins aren't hard to locate, but it's just something I noticed.
-The alternate, or "Back 9" tee pads weren't the concrete slab like the Front 9 tee's. They were more of a make shift teepad with what looked like concrete squares. They looked like they were just marking the tee locations, and will be upgraded in the future. …possibly.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy of these types of 9 hole courses. They are fun and not overly difficult to play, but it also comes with its challenges. Whether you are throwing over a lake (what's left of it), or down a hill, you'll want to consider your line and your approach. The trees here are not dense, but you'll find yourself deciding which side to throw your line. Most of the holes are average for distance, but have some sort of challenge to work around. #9 is the longest hole and it is a canyon type shot. It made for a nice finishing hole back to the parking lot.
When I review 9 hole courses, I always go with the perspective on "Why you should play here". I had a great time here, and it had a big fun factor for me. I was disappointed that I didn't have time to play a second round. It's a lot of fun, and it's worth a trip if you are in the Brandon area. (I.E. on the way to play Medard) Its fun, it's challenging, and it can be played in a short time. It's a little of the beaten path, but it won't disappoint!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Course on a Fun per Acre Basis

1    3/7/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Use of landscape, multiple pin positions
Other Thoughts: Limona Park is a nice nine-holer with benefits. Featuring more pin positions per hole than most any course, and two sets of tees that truly switch up many of the holes, this course is all about getting the most fun out of a relatively small bit of land.

Limona Park is a small square park and the whole thing is visible from the small parking lot. On first impression, it looks like a short practice course, good for those in the neighborhood. Sink your teeth into this course, though, and it shows you the thought and care put into it by the designers and caretakers. All nine holes have good signs and one set of concrete tees. Starting with #1, each hole takes full advantage of the landscape, which features some nice little hills, big oak trees, and even a small pond. The myriad of pin placements is evident, and according to the sign in the parking lot, baskets are moved pretty frequently. Yes, it's mostly pitch and putt, but the last three holes are longish and will give the boomers something to look forward to. Finish 9 and you'll think, hey that was pretty sweet for a nine holer.

But there's nine more to go. The "back nine" plays to the same baskets, but in most cases from a different angle. You may be surprised at how often you're using a different driver to get to a basket you've already played. There's good signage for the back nine too, but the tees are stone pavers and not very long, so that's the big disadvantage vs. the front 9. The back nine has the same qualities as the front though - more open than not, good use of the relatively hilly landscape and what trees there are, and a little bit of length for the last third.

Overall I rate Limona Good, and well worth checking out if you're in the area. For a nine-holer it's very good, but the fact remains it only has nine good tees and is still pretty much so a par 3 course in a small municipal park. Still, I am impressed by the variety and options of this course, and suspect that it'll play notably different the next time I'm there.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    3/8/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great little 9-hole course that can be played in under 20 minutes if you are by yourself. There is nothing too challenging, except for the distance on hole 9 and maybe one of the mandos. Each tee has concrete pads and each hole has a sign that gives the hole layout, showing the possible pin locations as well as the mandos. The course is very clean, well-maintained.
Cons: Not really much of anything wrong with the course. The course has alternate tee pads on each hole to make for 18 holes, however, there is not much difference in the tee pad locations.
Other Thoughts: A great course, especially for beginners who are hesitant to lose discs (this would be next to impossible on this course) and are just starting out. The course rewards distance and accuracy by making each hole birdie-able...with the exception possibly of hole 9. Elevated basket is a nice touch. All in all, a great round for players of all skill level.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place for Niche shot practice

1    12/5/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Nice place to work on your tunnel shot. Hole #1 starts it off with a required tunnel.
• Holes are relatively short in nature and the trees add a nice bit of technical challenge.
• The course uses a very small patch of land very well giving each hole its own signature: downhill tunnel, uphill tunnel, around trees, over or around pond, elevated pin placement etc…
• Very safe feeling to the park with the police barrack on premise.
• Quick round option(30 minute 9 hole round when needed)
Cons: • it is only 9 holes and relatively short could be a con.
• Some fairways are so close you have to hit your mark or warn others frequently.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice 9 hole course that makes use of the small patch of land it is on. Like stated in the pros, this is a great place to work on some niche shots, low tunnels, elevated baskets, water hole with a safety net right side and the quick round possibility all make this a nice place to have the option to play. I see this as a great place to be introduced to disc golf and grow with it and practice some important shots that will help your overall game. You don't need a big arm for this course but you do have to throw with some technique or you can easily be punished for it. As a out of towner, locals were helpful and friendly. There were a lot of people on the course which made it slightly concerning at time since an errant shot could find its way into someone else's path. The course is relatively safe with a few places to lose a disc (the pond, the 9th hole left side, 1st hole right side. With very little time to squeeze in a round, I was able to complete nine holes in 30 minutes even with lots of people playing the course. I'd recommend this to be a great learning/development type of course or a warm up round for a bigger course. Definitely enjoys the stop here.

Course layout by hole:
#1 - Downhill tunnel shot
#2-Uphill obstructed basket requiring a hyzer or slight fade
#3 - short hole tree obstructed basket requiring smart placement for birdie
#4 - Pond on left, short enough to reach the basket in one(in fact, a guy almost aced it while I was there)
#5 - straight away with low ceiling of trees
#6 - added bonus of the elevated basket - nice signature for this course
#7 long slightly uphill hole that requires you to throw a low but uphill shot(work on that one!)
#8 Slight downhill hyzer with Ace possibility
#9 - long flat and then uphill to basket with left side heavy brush

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.