Brandon, FL 
Limona DGC Share
Uploaded By: bpete1084 Hole #10 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Little Hilly Gem

5+    11/4/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am rather new to the game of disc golf, and only happened upon this course by accident. However, after coming out to play, I found out how addictive it could be!
A local showed my sons and I the course hole by hole (very kind) and every time i have played since then, I have found players to be extremely polite and supportive. The course itself plays through nine holes through terrain that is made hilly because of a sinkhole/pond by hole 4/13. There are a significant amount of shots that must be made uphill or down which makes for some interesting strategic decisions. The holes range from around 220' to 400 for holes 7 and 9. Nine is a nice, long, sweeping finisher which goes through what can only be described as a valley. The tee pads are nice poured concrete (large) and the disc catchers seem very sturdy. There is a back nine available to the same holes (from different angles) However these pads are much smaller. There are several mandos on the course including a rather tight one on 17. For me the course is a joy to play. Once again, I'm rather new so the course packs plenty of challenges. Better players should have birdie opportunities on most holes, but only after throws that take the trees into consideration....
The first hole has a nice tunnel shot, and is a nice way to start. Basically, this is a great course for newer players, naturally beautiful, and better players should still enjoy.
Cons: I saw no bathrooms or trash cans on the course. There is a pavillion with trash cans, but once again, I saw no bathroom. (possibly just missed it) Also, be aware that the first hole is back up closer to where you drive in. The tee pad next to the parking lot is 3. and, this can be a bit confusing at first. Also a backtrack is needed when going from 5 to 6. Once you get used to it, it's fine! and one more con...Would be nice to have the same concrete pads for the back nine as the front....
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun, and not too tough course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My kind of 9 hole course

5+    10/26/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 113  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee's, Tee Maps, Alternating pin placements, Multiple Tee's (also used for a back 9 to make it an 18 hole course)
-Varying terrain, the course is laid out along some sloping terrain. A pleasant surprise in Florida!
-Good pin positions, there was a nice balance of strategy and distance shots. (Though, this would be considered a short course)
-The tree's and landscaping at this park make for a beautiful landscape. It adds to the experience of playing here.
-Gateway Baskets, of which I am quickly becoming a fan!
-They maximized the use of the land, and the layout has a nice flow to it.
-Plenty of uphill and downhill shots
-Bulletin board
-Water comes into play on hole 4 (The lake was almost dried up when I played here though.)
-Big fun factor
-The hilly terrain makes for a nice work out.
-Navigation was easy, although it took me a minute to find a couple of the teepads
-Picnic shelter (I didn't notice if there were restrooms, let me know and I'll update accordingly)
-Good long distance finishing hole.
-One last FYI, the house at the entrance to the park belongs to a Law officer. From what I've heard, he keeps an eye on the park.
Cons: -(First timer issue) Map at the bulletin board was faded, and I had to ask where hole one started. I'm used to the Bulletin board being next to hole #1. Hole #1 is near the entrance.
-Navigation is okay, but 5-7 can get one turned around. The first few times I played here, I would accidentally skip 6 because I would see 7's teepad. 5 and 6 go the same direction, but you have to walk back to find 6's teepad.
-Depending on the basket locations, it's easy to mistake 3's basket from 5's teepad. Done that a few times.
-Fairways are close to each other, and even though it's easy to watch where other groups are and where they are throwing. Stray discs could find their way into your fairway and vice versa. If you pay attention, it won't be that big of an issue.
-Although it's not a huge factor, I didn't see where it notated what pin placement the baskets were in. It appeared that there was 3 or 4 locations per hole. The pins aren't hard to locate, but it's just something I noticed.
-The alternate, or "Back 9" tee pads weren't the concrete slab like the Front 9 tee's. They were more of a make shift teepad with what looked like concrete squares. They looked like they were just marking the tee locations, and will be upgraded in the future. ...possibly.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy of these types of 9 hole courses. They are fun and not overly difficult to play, but it also comes with its challenges. Whether you are throwing over a lake (what's left of it), or down a hill, you'll want to consider your line and your approach. The trees here are not dense, but you'll find yourself deciding which side to throw your line. Most of the holes are average for distance, but have some sort of challenge to work around. #9 is the longest hole and it is a canyon type shot. It made for a nice finishing hole back to the parking lot.
When I review 9 hole courses, I always go with the perspective on "Why you should play here". I had a great time here, and it had a big fun factor for me. I was disappointed that I didn't have time to play a second round. It's a lot of fun, and it's worth a trip if you are in the Brandon area. (I.E. on the way to play Medard) Its fun, it's challenging, and it can be played in a short time. It's a little of the beaten path, but it won't disappoint!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Course on a Fun per Acre Basis

1    3/7/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Use of landscape, multiple pin positions
Other Thoughts: Limona Park is a nice nine-holer with benefits. Featuring more pin positions per hole than most any course, and two sets of tees that truly switch up many of the holes, this course is all about getting the most fun out of a relatively small bit of land.

Limona Park is a small square park and the whole thing is visible from the small parking lot. On first impression, it looks like a short practice course, good for those in the neighborhood. Sink your teeth into this course, though, and it shows you the thought and care put into it by the designers and caretakers. All nine holes have good signs and one set of concrete tees. Starting with #1, each hole takes full advantage of the landscape, which features some nice little hills, big oak trees, and even a small pond. The myriad of pin placements is evident, and according to the sign in the parking lot, baskets are moved pretty frequently. Yes, it's mostly pitch and putt, but the last three holes are longish and will give the boomers something to look forward to. Finish 9 and you'll think, hey that was pretty sweet for a nine holer.

But there's nine more to go. The "back nine" plays to the same baskets, but in most cases from a different angle. You may be surprised at how often you're using a different driver to get to a basket you've already played. There's good signage for the back nine too, but the tees are stone pavers and not very long, so that's the big disadvantage vs. the front 9. The back nine has the same qualities as the front though - more open than not, good use of the relatively hilly landscape and what trees there are, and a little bit of length for the last third.

Overall I rate Limona Good, and well worth checking out if you're in the area. For a nine-holer it's very good, but the fact remains it only has nine good tees and is still pretty much so a par 3 course in a small municipal park. Still, I am impressed by the variety and options of this course, and suspect that it'll play notably different the next time I'm there.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    3/8/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 68  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great little 9-hole course that can be played in under 20 minutes if you are by yourself. There is nothing too challenging, except for the distance on hole 9 and maybe one of the mandos. Each tee has concrete pads and each hole has a sign that gives the hole layout, showing the possible pin locations as well as the mandos. The course is very clean, well-maintained.
Cons: Not really much of anything wrong with the course. The course has alternate tee pads on each hole to make for 18 holes, however, there is not much difference in the tee pad locations.
Other Thoughts: A great course, especially for beginners who are hesitant to lose discs (this would be next to impossible on this course) and are just starting out. The course rewards distance and accuracy by making each hole birdie-able...with the exception possibly of hole 9. Elevated basket is a nice touch. All in all, a great round for players of all skill level.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place for Niche shot practice

1    12/5/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice place to work on your tunnel shot. Hole #1 starts it off with a required tunnel.
Holes are relatively short in nature and the trees add a nice bit of technical challenge.
The course uses a very small patch of land very well giving each hole its own signature: downhill tunnel, uphill tunnel, around trees, over or around pond, elevated pin placement etc...
Very safe feeling to the park with the police barrack on premise.
Quick round option(30 minute 9 hole round when needed)
Cons: it is only 9 holes and relatively short could be a con.
Some fairways are so close you have to hit your mark or warn others frequently.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice 9 hole course that makes use of the small patch of land it is on. Like stated in the pros, this is a great place to work on some niche shots, low tunnels, elevated baskets, water hole with a safety net right side and the quick round possibility all make this a nice place to have the option to play. I see this as a great place to be introduced to disc golf and grow with it and practice some important shots that will help your overall game. You don't need a big arm for this course but you do have to throw with some technique or you can easily be punished for it. As a out of towner, locals were helpful and friendly. There were a lot of people on the course which made it slightly concerning at time since an errant shot could find its way into someone else's path. The course is relatively safe with a few places to lose a disc (the pond, the 9th hole left side, 1st hole right side. With very little time to squeeze in a round, I was able to complete nine holes in 30 minutes even with lots of people playing the course. I'd recommend this to be a great learning/development type of course or a warm up round for a bigger course. Definitely enjoys the stop here.

Course layout by hole:
#1 - Downhill tunnel shot
#2-Uphill obstructed basket requiring a hyzer or slight fade
#3 - short hole tree obstructed basket requiring smart placement for birdie
#4 - Pond on left, short enough to reach the basket in one(in fact, a guy almost aced it while I was there)
#5 - straight away with low ceiling of trees
#6 - added bonus of the elevated basket - nice signature for this course
#7 long slightly uphill hole that requires you to throw a low but uphill shot(work on that one!)
#8 Slight downhill hyzer with Ace possibility
#9 - long flat and then uphill to basket with left side heavy brush

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/3/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: Merloni12
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty hilly for FL. Several pin placements for most of the holes which is nice considering there is only 9 baskets. The pond on the 13 adds variety to the course. It's only in play on 4 and 13 and there is no real way to lose a disc on 4.
Cons: 9 baskets.
Back nine tee boxes are in need of repair.
Personally not a big fan of hole 6 on the hot tub. I find it a bit chessy.
Other Thoughts: Since moving to FLA it has become the course I play the most. It's hard enough to keep you coming back. However if you want a real challenge try Mederd park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for First-timers.

1    4/10/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: Bstewart11684
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very relaxed atmosphere, and a great course to play on as a first timer.
-Landscape is great. I'm a central Florida native (used to flat, sandy ground) but it was nice to see some hills for a change.
-Course marked relatively well, not too difficult to find next tee/pin. Follows a pretty logical flow.
-Great water hazard.
-Hole 2 has an AWESOME elevation change. Could play that hole all day.
Cons: -Great water hazard. Ate one of my discs and almost another. Terrible place to try to chuck a disc near, especially if you're a noob and don't really understand the way a disc fades! (so my wife found out.)
-No public bathroom.
-Road on back of course [has higher-end houses with snobby people that think that standing in the middle of the fairway that you're trying to drive on is a good idea... even after you've pleaded with them to step aside...]
Other Thoughts: -Great local course that we'll play again and again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Untouched by Suburbia

1    3/14/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Gateway Titans are nearly indestructible and in great shape. There are clear and informative tee signs on all nine holes and both sets of tees. For Florida there is a surprising amount of elevation in such a small area and it's used to the maximum advantage. The original tee pads are huge concrete slabs in great condition. Most holes would be fine with half the current size pads. There are multiple pin positions on every hole as well as two sets of tees. There are several tree stump benches scattered through the course. Picnic tables and grills would make for a nice lunch afterward.
The large trees and hanging moss force you to shoot low and technical. One hole shoots over a small lake and one of the pin locations for hole #1 is located on a ridge with the water as a back drop. The rest of the baskets were placed very well adding to the challenge. It's very beginner friendly (I took my Aunt there for the first time and she had a blast) with friendly local players. There is a welcome board near the pavilion. The holes offer a good variety of length as well.
Cons: It's only nine holes. If there was more land it would be very nice to see this as an eighteen hole course. Some of the secondary tees are in the middle of the previous fairway. A few of the fairways are also very close to each other. There are no maps available or next tee signs that I could find. There is minimal crossover and some tightness in holes five through seven, so watch your head for bad kicks. The welcome board is at the end of the course, not by hole one. The water is filled with algae and absolutely reeks (some fish might help clear it up). The tee pads for the back nine are small and uneven pavers, a not so welcome change from the front nine. I didn't see any bathrooms, but that doesn't mean they aren't there:)
Other Thoughts: The moss and aged trees make for some cool scenery that can only be found in Florida.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Decent but fun course

5+    1/21/2011   1/21/2011
Review By: JimW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation changes add a lot of variety and an element not normally seen around here so good usage of that alone is a major plus. Although it's only a nine basket course the addition of alternate teepads to bring it to 18 holes is executed pretty well. Signage is pretty good showing all the basket locations and distances though the accuracy on the distances is pertty sketchy. There are a lot of fun holes and the combination of trees and canopies forces you to get your lines and height right for good drives. The tee pads on the front nine are very nice.
Cons: Some of the holes on the back nine either lack imagination (being little more than the same hole from a longer distance or slightly different angle) and a couple are challenging due to annoying factors rather than quality design. The "pads" on the back nine are mostly terrible, short and narrow layouts of paving stones which usually have gaps between them and aren't always even. They would have been far better off leaving them as plain dirt if they weren't going to pour proper pads.
Other Thoughts: Limona is a nice course that I enjoy playing on from time to time and is a nice change of pace due to the elevation. It's probably no better than the 7th or 8th best course in the greater Tampa Bay area though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small

1    8/30/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Decent
Cons: Pin and tee box quality : 2 The tee pad for hole 18 seems to have washed away.
Lost disc recovery : 2 I lost my gazelle in the pond.
Terrain management : 2 There is lots of erosion that needs to be repaired.
Other Thoughts: Ease of finding next hole : 3
Hole info : 3
Layout : 3
Beginner friendly : 3
Variety : 3
Ease of finding course : 3
Fun factor : 3

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center