Brandon, FL 
Limona DGC Share
Uploaded By: bpete1084 Hole #8 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Good course, needs a map and clear markers!

2-4    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: apcarver
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some great challenges, like the pond that ate my Leopard on day two (RIP!), various trees, and a hill or two. Concrete pads are a big plus as well. Very easy
Cons: Downfall to this course, and a detriment if you're not from the area, is that the pads and holes are/can be very hard to discern. I had some help with some locals yesterday and a tiny bit today. However - here are some negatives that I noticed:

No overall map for the course, not every pad has a sign noting which hole it is and corresponding tee placements and distances, there sometimes may be a not-so-obvious spray painted number on the corner of the pad to note the tee, numbers on the baskets are old number labels and often times face away from the tee, there is little logic (to me) to some of the hole placements.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think that this course would've been better as a longer 9 hole course, but trying to self navigate the 18 was difficult enough to turn me away after 9 and 5 holes respectively.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Try the local route

5+    8/10/2016   8/10/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 81  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2017
Pros: (3.183 Rating) An all around good course.
- CHARACTER - Better than average. tee pads are concrete and generally shaded. There is good hole signage showing hole layout, pin locations, and distance. There is a community board with league info near the big picnic shelter. (no course map) The shelter has picnic tables and is perfect for the end of round gathering point and for the summer pop-up thunderstorm. Also, there is seating at a couple other holes. There are a bunch of multiple pin placements (around 30) and there is a practice basket.
- ACEABILITY - Several holes are great ace runs. You will have great opportunities on 1,3,4,10 and 12 depending on pin location.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a 2 exceptions. Throwing in the pond on hole 3/12 and throwing left on 9/18. On most holes if you miss your shot, you will still have an opportunity for an easy par.
- ELEVATION - "Good for a South Florida course that is" about average compared to the 43 Florida courses I've hit. Probably 25 foot of change throughout the course layout. However, just about all parts of the country would consider this course flat.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds are constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. There is very little trash and a good amount garbage cans.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few areas of overgrowth and just one water hazards in play.
- QUICK PLAY - A single should be able to complete a full 18 in about an hour. Groups of 4 probably would finish in under 2 hours.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is significantly more scenic course than average. There are a bunch of old oak trees along the layout. The grade is resembling of a graceful sweeping meadow. and the pond is pretty and peaceful looking disc snatcher.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy it regardless due to the low disc losing possibilities. The fairways width are moderately spaced and long enough to challenge intermediate players. Pros will come away less than challenged however.
- DRAINAGE - course has a reputation to dry quicker than compared to other area courses.
Cons: I do not find any major flaws with Limona.
.- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. There are no dog legs. The most that any one hole veers is perhaps 5 degrees. Nearly are the holes play threw an oak tree canopy and have moderately spaced throwing lanes. There are no par 4's or 5's and those that can throw 400, should be able to birdie them all. The pond on hole 4/13 is the one curveball the course offers.
- 9 BASKETS - Although listed as 18 holes on DGCR and on the course, there are only 9 baskets in play. Two tees go to each basket. for example hole 1 and 10 share the same basket and fairway but tee from different angles. some holes unfortunately just add distance between the two tees. The back 9 is probably two throws more difficult than the front.
- CHAINS - They are playable but I believe some may be homemade. basket 1/10 is very much an oddity.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Not the best or worst I've seen, but probably below average. You will have double back three times (5 to 6) and (12 to 13) and (14 to 15). in addition holes 9 and 10 are not exactly the closest that you'd see at an average course.
- NAVIGATION - Tricky in spots and the map on DGCR is not that good. In addition there is no course map on site either. Hole signage is also missing on a few holes, 5, 7 and 16 if I recall correctly. However, regardless of all these issues, the course isn't too hard to navigate, due to the openness feel of the course.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. None of the fairways are shared but it will be easy to run one into another fairway due to the wide spacing of the big oaks.
- PARKING - gravel and pitted and in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: A solid course that's fun to play time and again.
- LOCAL HOLE - Try the local route on 13. There is pavered stone tee box to the east of basket 1 that aims across the pond to basket 4/13. 250 clears the water. 283ft A position.

 Best it has ever been!

5+    5/23/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: sincy25
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: Back pads are now concrete and no longer pavers. Hole 19 is a great addition to add a challenging throw over the water. The addition of trash cans throughout the course has improved course clean up!
Cons: Cons:
Other Thoughts: The course looks amazing!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    7/1/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: murq1898
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean park
-Well manicured by the club and county
-Holes 1-9 have great concrete tee pads
-Multiple pin positions adds variety
-Signature Hole #4 is a nice water carry over a decent sized pond
-Nice use of elevation, especially for a Florida course
-Decent amount of shade for the hot summer days
Cons: -Small course should have probably have just been 9 holes instead of 18 with secondary tees
-Back 9 tee pads are pretty rubbish (Word is new concrete tee pads are on the way!!)
-Holes 4&13 (same pin) are disc eaters, plain and simple -- play it safe
-Would be nice to have more benches throughout the course for those hot days
-Could definitely benefit from some Nex-Tee signage for the visitors
-Non-golfers can be a menace occasionally
-Mosquitos (Yes, you're in Florida, bring something with DEET)
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and since its less than .5 mile from my house, its the one I play most frequently. Its a solid beginner course with the exception of the 2 water holes, but you can play down a hallway the first few times to keep your discs dry if you don't feel confident enough to carry the pond. The locals are all pretty friendly and helpful. The use of elevation for a Florida course is really nice and if you're in the Brandon/Tampa area you owe it to yourself to check it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun smaller course

5+    3/1/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
Pros: As mentioned in other reviews they have done a superb job with the space they had to make a fun 9 hole course. Mandos on 2 holes, one elevated basket, and a nice finishing hole using length, trees, and water on the far right. The 4th hole is the signature hole to carry the water.
Cons: Should be just a nine hole course and instead of having the back 9 with slightly different tees, I would've made blue and red tees period. Where are the port o potty's and trash cans?

 One discer

1    5/21/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: **Only played 9/18 holes - read Other for why**
Quick play
Concrete tee pads (9 holes only)
Beginner friendly
Water hole isn't hard
Plenty of shade for FL
Multiple pin placement
Cons: No designation of which layout is in use
Too easy for experienced players, I was putting for 2 on most holes
Not enough variation.
Holes share baskets (1/10, 2/11.... 9/18)
Missing tee signs on at least 5, 6, 7 and navigation was tough being alone and never playing there before.
Threw at the wrong basket a couple times.
No bathrooms onsite.
Other Thoughts: I still had fun because it is disc golf. I was in town with a couple hours to spare so I checked the course out. If this was the only course I had near me, I would make the best of it but, I have no interest in ever going back to play it again. I didn't play the 18 hole layout but it looked like they just turned what used to be pro / am pads into extra holes. The course plays like a hot mess to be honest and I'd have more fun just playing gorilla golf if I lived in Brandon.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nine should have stayed nine

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This could be a good local course. It is all pretty much in one field area but there are plenty of trees that will force different types of shots. You'll have to make some very straight throws. You'll also have to approach pins from some odd angles.

If you knew the course well, I could see playing it all the time. There is some good disc golf there and I'm guessing that it is rarely busy. Seems like a great place to work on your game and get to know new discs.

There is even a nice water carry when the water level is not too high. In this case "too high" means, touching the bottom of the basket pole.
Cons: I get the idea from some of the previous reviews, and the info on the site, that this was formerly a nine-hole layout. I'm guessing that the old layout was much better than the current eighteen. There isn't enough space here for a full eighteen. Currently most fairways are in the path of at least one tee. There are two tees that throw directly over one another. I wouldn't want to play here if there was anyone else on the course.

To make matters worse, there are tees with no signs and signs with no tees. It's confusing to say the least. Add the fact that the signs are pretty vague as to where you are targeting and the fact that from any tee you can see at least six baskets, and you have a mess.

I don't hesitate to say the navigation here is the worst that I have ever seen on a course. I certainly played to the wrong basket on a few occasions. And due to the signs/holes issues, I missed a few holes entirely.
Other Thoughts: Limona is a probably a decent course to play regularly. But for visitors, I wouldn't recommend it at all. There are too many courses in the Tampa area to spend time figuring out which tee goes with each basket here.

Some of his could be fixed up with some work, but I think this a nine that should have stayed a nine. There just isn't the space.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course Bordering On Greatness

2-4    9/5/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 117  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 41.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a very nice clean park in what appears to be a great neighborhood.

It has some nice rolling hills, a couple of ponds, well mowed fairways, and plenty of shady mature trees for obstacles.

The tees for the "front nine" are spectacular. They are probably the largest poured concrete tees that I have ever seen.

This course uses the Gateway baskets, and they are very nice.

Most holes have 2 or more pin placements.

There is a pavilion and a few picnic tables.

The course has a high fun factor, with a good mix of short and long holes.

The course is very close to I-75, so jumping off the highway for a quick round is a breeze.
Cons: There are a few navigation issues. The course could benefit from some next tee signs/arrows.

A couple of the holes are missing tee signs.

The baskets have #'s on them, but on some of the holes you can see multiple baskets from the tee, and have to walk down to see which is the correct basket for that hole.

Some of the holes with multiple pin placements have no way of showing what pin is in play, so more walking down the fairway is needed to tell where to throw.

The tees for the "back nine" are as bad as the tees for the front nine are great. Basically they are small and covered with sand.

The course has 18 tees, but shares only 9 baskets. It wasn't an issue when I played it, but I wonder how it would work during peak playing times. IN MY OPINION, I would prefer this course being a 9 hole course with 2 sets of tees, instead of its current layout.

I didn't see any restrooms, but the course isn't too far from civilization.
Other Thoughts: Even with its flaws, I consider this to be a wonderful suburban oasis course that has a lot to offer. I was wondering if there were any houses for sale around the course, and thinking what a great neighborhood this would be to retire in!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    10/1/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: Cueball
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like that there is elevation on this course.
Variety of hole layouts and obsticles to throw around. Plus a few mandos.
Cons: Course signs could use some updating or some TLC some hole signs are hard to find or missing. Just one or two of them (hole 5 and 7 comes to mind.) Also a couple of the basket are hard to see or find.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed playing the course. Seriously recommend having a Golden Retriever. We watched 5 disc go for a swim that day including one of mine.

Due to heavy rains holes 4 and 13 is now in the water.

Restrooms or portables would be a nice addition. I noticed enough pedestian traffic to see the need for it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 quick to play

2-4    5/6/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - nice concrete tee pads on the front 9
- signage on tees show par, distance and hole layout
- variety of shots
- multiple basket locations
Cons: - tee pads on back 9 are not so good
- some of the tee signs are missing
- difficult to find some of the tee pads, especially on the back 9
Other Thoughts: There are mandos (mandatories) on this course. You should do some reading about them if you don't know what they are. I wish I had known about them before I played this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.