Brandon, FL 
Limona DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Quick and Fun

2-4    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Of the limited choices Hillsborough county has to offer, this one is a gem. You won't find elevation changes like this at many courses in the Bay area. Great use of space and available obstacles, and creative touches like the raised basket make this course unique. Can be played many times and be different every time, due to varied tee's and pin locations. Looks as though it will drain well during rainy season. Course definitely is well maintained.
Cons: Could find two trash cans in the whole park. Layout is a little confusing on some holes for first timers. Although when I visited it wasn't too busy, I can see how it would get crowded easily. Some of the pavered tee pads were too small. I suspect these are temporary, as the course seems to be very well maintained and upgraded often
Other Thoughts: I played this course on quite the whim, as USF's course was closed (despite web saying it should be open)I thought this was a very fun beginner course, that can offer a challenge to a seasoned vet as well. I'm of moderate skill, and I found it fun enough to play through twice. It plays quickly so a second round is easy to fit in. I'll definitely be playing here more!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety for Florida

1    1/11/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) This course is well designed for disc golf on a cool property. There are plenty of trees, there is elevation changes both up and down, there are some open drives and some tighter wooded drives. All in all this course has just a perfect mix of trouble and challenge.

2) Gateway Titan baskets are spectacular, they alsmost catch too good if that can be true. Misses on most other baskets might still be caught by the 24 chain Titan.

3) Multiple baskets available on many of the holes including 4 baskets on Hole #1, 10.

4) Multiple tees create completely different holes, thus the tee signs labelled as 18 holes instead of short and long tees for 9 holes.

5) Tee signs are nice. Hole #, distances of all baskets, par and a moderately descriptive hole layout.

6) You can pet a goat! Who doesn't like to pet goats?

7) Mando's used appropriately for safety issues where fairways cross fairly close to another fairway, tee, or basket. It won't stop errant throws, but at least it makes you aware before you throw.

8) There are doormats placed some of the tees allowing for you to pound your feet off before stepping onto the teebox. This is key with wet sand. The teeboxes were not too slippery despite the amount of sand on them.

9) Massive concrete tees for 9 of the holes. The alternate tees are 2'x2' pavers.

10) Course is very beginner friendly. It is mostly open despite having some trees to work around. It will challenge the beginners but will help them improve quicker than a wide open high school course.

11) Pavilion, benches and kiosk for disc golf info are included along with a portopotty in the parking lot.
Cons: 1) Paver teeboxes are too small and uneven in spots. It is better than just dirt but I would prefer to see them done properly the first time.

2) All holes are very threeable without too mcuh difficulty.

3) There is a fair amount of erosion around the concrete tee boxes. The grade drops off especially at the front of the concrete tee boxes.

4) A few of the holes are too close to another hole. The mandos are there to make people aware but it does not stop the errant throws.

5) Course is pretty repetetive in distance except for hole #9. This goes along with all holes being pretty threeable.

6) Some areas the turf is pretty thin and could get muddy althought he soil is still mostly sand. There also are some tree branches and debris in a few spots that could really stand being removed.

7) I dont think there were any benches ont he course and I do not remember any garbage cans. I am sorry I played quick and alone so I had no spare time I just ran through the course. I also have played too many courses (like thats possible) in the last few weeks so things run together a little bit.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time at this course. I played it on my way from Fort Myers to Orlando and I played both tees at the same time and I think it took me about 30 minutes. It was a quick play and easy to follow and navigate. There was plenty of challenge to allow me to enjoy the course, and a good amount of variety always helps my enjoyment of a course. I saw signs of Billy Goat Disc Golf which I assume is the local club. How creative! And if you want (and I wouldn't) pet the goat after putting out on Hole #4. The course could use some maintenance around the teeboxes and it could also use the alternate teebox installation.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  changes made

5+    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: bsisson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The rubber pads on the back nine or alternate nine have been replaced with paver stones, and there are now eighteen tee signs.
Cons: the paver stones are good but there could and probably will be more added to make them wider an longer.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hills in Florida!!??

1    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hilly...very rare in Florida, almost felt like a GA course except for the big beautiful mossy trees.
Nice big concrete pads, it also seemed like there were some alternate rubber pads but they were not marked.
Gateway Titan baskets are ridiculously overbuilt...very heavy gage basket and 3 rings of chain (really wish the connections were better to the poles though).
Neat elevated basket on hole 5.
Cons: Hole 6 missing sign.
Other Thoughts: I cannot comment on the difficulty of this course because I played it with a super class disc and it was the first time I ever used one so I cannot correlate it to regular play. It seemed rather straight forward but it had good amenities for a 9 holer with concrete pads and good signs along with multiple pin placements.
It was a good and worthwhile detour if you are in the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    1/4/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: HB553
Played: 286  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 44.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Has rolling hills that are uncomon for Flordia, nice selection of layouts and good map sign. Holes layed out such that nice selection of chots can be played on each.
Cons: Some alt tees interfeer with regular tees, and the course was very buzy with players playing both tees

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/14/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: KRog3rs
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 25.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has multiple different pin placements that seems to always be constantly changing every time you come to the course. I come up from here about every weekend and there is always one or two baskets that have been moved. It is a very beautiful course with nice elevations and nice tree coverage. They have a second set of rubber tee pads used as the back nine with different looks from holes 1-9.
Cons: tends to get crowded on the weekends, making it a bit difficult with the different holes intertwining with each other.
Other Thoughts: Limona is a moderately easy course with only a few long holes and plenty technical shots that make it fun for pro's and newcomers.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf quickie!

1    12/31/2008   1/25/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well designed with beautiful foliage and soft rolling hills. I found it to be easy to navigate with a nice flow from hole to hole. Very well maintained and groomed with no excessive overgrowth. A great place to introduce someone to the game as it isn't overly challenging or long. Also a great place for a quickie if you are pressed for time.

Locals were very friendly and really love this course. John E. Mccray is there often as he and his wife disigned and maintain the course. They are both very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The course is small and not very challenging. As mentioned in most reviews, a few of the fairways overlap and back track on each other, but I don't think this can be helped. Crowds will be a problem on the weekends.
Other Thoughts: This course, I think, was designed to be a simple fun little course to introduce the community to the sport. I almost feel bad listing "small and not very challenging" as cons because thats just what it was meant to be. It is a great course to develope your game and perfect your drive as many of the holes are aceable.

This is my girlfriend's favorite course because it is so low on the difficulty meter.

If I am in the area, and have the time, I will play this course again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Distance Isn't Everything

1    12/22/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: Showboarder
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple hole locations

Cement tee pads (front 9)
Rubber tee pads (back 9)

Not too tight

Not too wide open

Some sand around baskets encourage agressive play

Somewhat hilly
Cons: Rubber tee pads too short and narrow

Can become overcrowded easily

Some holes run trough other holes

Hole 9 basket doubles as practice basket
Other Thoughts: Limona isn't a bad little course. There is a small pavilian with lots of tables for group gatherings. There were numerous low canopy drives, but holes 4 and 9 were wide open with the exception of OB on the left. The hills came into play on hole 7 as you had to throw a little higher than normal. I loved the somewhat sandy ground because it allowd me to be super agressive whenever I wanted.

Most holes had trees as obstacles, but the more risky shots were very rewarding if completed successfully.

It was a fun course to play. It wasn't crowded when I got there, but more people were getting there when I left. I can only imagine how crowded it gets there.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop if you're in the east Tampa area

1    3/6/2007   6/6/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Attractive park in nice old Brandon neighborhood. Good use of a small piece of land.

Multiple tees and basket locations give the course a good amount of variety for return visits.

Great course for beginners and for as a good place for advanced players to practice.

No schule and little chance of losing discs.

Course pro John E McCray is very welcoming to new players and has quickly grown a good group of new regular local players.
Cons: A couple of the fairways crowd a bit on each other.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Limona Disc Golf Course

2/5/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 145  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple teepads, ease of use, not crowded, lots of trees that are incorporated into the overall design but not overly, well manicured for the most part, not over-designed.
Cons: A little conflict with sharing fairways. A little too easy, but not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: The course plays well and quickly, its close to all kinds of shopping but is in an area that gives you the impression you are out in the country. An experienced disc golfer will find it pretty easy to play and may get bored too quickly, but still fun to play, if the idea was to introduce disc golf to the area and let beginners and advanced players play without getting overwhelmed by the course then its perfect. A good course for lunch break, or if you dont have too much time to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.