Harrogate, TN 
Lincoln Memorial University Share
Uploaded By: Dave242 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole 9 Tee: ~620' par-4. First shot goes around back of the trees. Next shot curves around the side of the hill.



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    12/13/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: cberney
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pros are it is a disc course. There are some difficult holes but fun. There are more cons than pros.
Cons: On some of the holes there are no tee pads, so we were not sure where to throw from. The map did not match up with the numbers on the basket. Other than that is was not a bad course.
Other Thoughts: I recommend to follow the map and not pay attention to the numbers on the basket.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 AS OF June 25 , 2011

1    6/25/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: airspuds
Played: 99  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28.5 Years
Pros: some baskets in ground ( pro if you in the area )
9 was cool hole, holes 2 and 3 in ground .
hole 8 in ground but no tee, played from short 9
practice basket in front of sorority near entrance
Cons: under construction
no hole 1, 4,5,6,7,
Other Thoughts: great piece of property , get those baskets back in , somewhere please
lots of room to have 9 baskets in the ground while the new buildings are being built

 New Placements

1    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: KMorgan
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are now 9 baskets up. holes 2, 3, 8, and 9 are still original so that wicked #9 hole is still there. After #9 you follow the road down the other side of the hill...
Cons: the other 5 baskets that were removed have been placed in a somewhat flowing manner around the back side of the campus running away from the construction where they once were. This baskets were very recently placed and no tee pads have been poured, or even locations established from what I could see.
Other Thoughts: A little improvisation was used to play the 5 new holes due to no tees.
*As I finished #9 i followed the road and saw the next basket at the bottom of the hill beside the old gym. i threw from the road for a nice drop shot of about 200 ft.
*next look behind the gym and the basket is up on another hill. I threw from beind the gym at the end of the pavement before the picnic area for a hard uphill shot around 250 ft. ( probably could find a place to throw from within the picnic area on the hill which would make for a nice hyzer shot with some trees in play.
*Stay behind the building in a small parking lot after the basket and the next basket is visible from the lot. it is a short shot from the pavement but requires some aim because there is a telephone pole and other objects involved.
*next hole can be seen by following the road downhill to the next small parking lot. it is another short 150 ft. slight drop shot through some trees. basket is next to a small road and you have to keep it low or your shot will turn left down the hill.
*final hole took a minute to find... after getting back on the road beside the basket, follow it down to a very old looking stone structure that looks like it should be out of Harry Potter. There is a small amphitheater beside it and the field there appears to be the fairway for the last hole. If you look down the field back toward the main road through campus, the basket is sitting wide open. If thrown from the road beside the amphitheater the shot should be about 400 ft.
* at least the baskets were put back up and not neglected. if you enjoy the game and have some imagination you can make up your own holes like i did. i had solid pavement to throw from for every hole. just have fun with it.
Hope this helps any curious golfers

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer

1    8/22/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course when about half of it was pulled for construction. With the help of the online map, I could see where the holes used to be, so I am reviewing based on that. My review may be invalid if/when the course is laid out again and if the replacement holes are dramatically different than the original holes.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
(The course is very open, but there are a few baskets on or very near huge grassy drop-offs that could easily punish overly aggressive shots or poorly thrown shots with big roll-aways)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(About half the holes seem too long for me. Easy 3's but impossible birdie 2's.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(Very open. There is a bunch of good use of terrain that adds some intrigue. Wind would also add a ton of difficulty - I imagine it is quite windy quite often)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(The area is in the mountains which is nice, but the campus itself is nothing striking. The arena the course plays around is actually kinda ugly architecturally. No seclusion.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C
(Like Danhyzer noted in his review, hole 9 is amazing! Like he says, its one the best single hole I have played anywhere.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dan Kilgore

1    10/27/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1203  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Both holes that remained we're very challenging, in fact the hole that's basket is on the steep slope just below Grant Lee Hall hole is one of the better holes all across this great AMERICA that I have played.

As you tee off from the bottoms of a valley and can either shoot upwards towards the devils strip (in which I did) or go the lower way. This hole is a definate par 5. and the basket is right at the edge of a STEep hillside.
Cons: ONLY 2 HOLES REMAIN because of University's ongoing construction.
Other Thoughts: Very picturesque scenery. LMU needs more baskets. This property is purrrfect for Disc Golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.