Bismarck, ND 
Lions Hillside Park Share
Uploaded By: ibanez95 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 224ft.   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    9/16/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: This 9 hole course is located in a very well maintained city park which maximizes the surprising amount of elevation and loads of foliage in the park.

The layout of the course is great with Hole #1 being close to the parking lot and #9 coming very close back up to it. Very easy to navigate (except Hole #3 is up to the right, not left which the rows of trees makes you believe it would be). Each hole provides unique challenges and will require you to test your skills a bit but not overly difficult. Some holes I was able to drive with my mids and others I had to go all out on a driver (i.e. Hole #5), I really appreciate the variety!

Each hole has two teepads to choose from if you feel like playing a couple of rounds and adding new challenges to the holes. The pads are cement, a good length and in good shape. The baskets are excellent and the tee signs include appropriate information on hole distances per pad and the par.
Cons: The tee signs could include a map of the hole being played even though you can fairly easily spot the hole on all but #3, it just would be nice with the amount of trees in play.

No nearby bathroom that I found but it's a small park, figure it out and keep it clean. Also it's probably the busiest place in Bismarck to play since it's so conveniently located, but keep your eyes open and be patient.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite 9 hole course I've played thus far (many to go I'm sure) but it really is aesthetically very nice with a lot of trees and elevation and will test your skills while still being very beginner friendly.

I chose to give this course a 4.0 rating because it is only 9 holes and the signage could be Slightly better, also it can be very busy. Other than that this place is great and I recommend it anyone to go here and play a few rounds!


5+    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: ibanez95
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging holes and pin placement with elevation changes throughout the course. The park is right in town so you can stop and play a couple quick rounds while you're out and about. Park is usually maintained well and the course is almost always clean and cut.
Cons: Course is missing a couple signs. Could use new ones including maps. Tends to get pretty busy at times.
Other Thoughts: This course was originally set up in the 80's as an 18-hole frisbee golf course. Unfortunately, it was changed to 9 holes after a recent park renovation. With a few changes to the old layout and par ratings for every hole, this would have been a truly incredible course. Still one of my regular stops.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Inviting, and enjoyable.

5+    7/3/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 69  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: A quick 9 hole with a surprising variety of challenges. Elevation changes combined with a lot of trees and great basket and tee layout made this one course i had to replay several times. This great little course forces you to shoot over, under, up, down , through and around. The tees are great and the alternate tees give you another look for each hole, or let you play an 18.
Cons: No map, and minimal signage. thankfully the small park made it easy to navigate.
Other Thoughts: this a perfect short course, the kind you can go play on your lunch break. loved it!

 

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: Znarf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Pretty straight-forward, quick 9 hole course, that can be played multiple times in a session. I would call it an intermediate course just because of elevation changes, trees, and the different types of shots needed to score on holes. All of the tee boxes are concrete and fairly large. Even the alternate tees are very good. The course is fairly short, but takes a lot of finesse.
Cons: Signage should have a mini-map showing where the hole is. Sometimes the tees are dirty.
Other Thoughts: Living in the Bismarck-Mandan area, I choose this course over and over again. The others aren't as good. Fun for both beginners and advanced.

 

5+    6/20/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short and easy to play if you don't have a lot of time. Multiple tees. Good elevation changes for such a small course. Well signed and well laid out.
Cons: Usually its really crowded and it seems like you're always rushed. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good play

1    4/29/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: SnowBlind
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: elevation change in north dakota! good amount of trees, varying distance. Right in town and offers good variety. Pro and am boxes.
Cons: Crowded, think the local high school just got out. Hole 3 is long up hill and through a tight grove, wtf. Only a niner

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lions Hillside Park

2-4    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Tee box for each hole, gave you two choose's. Nice wide concrete pads. Signs with the Par and Feet were in great shape. A nice mixture of short and long, with uphill and downhill.
Cons: The signs need to show were the basket is and were the next Tee box is. The Tee boxs did have some loose dirt and leaves on them, which made footing a little hard at times.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play, instead of the bigger course in Bismarck. The last time I played this course was when it had 18 holes. Iam Glad they reopen this course. It is the best 9 hole I've played this year. The wind is a factor here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 High and Low

1    7/29/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The defining characteristic of this course was the elevation changes. Only a couple of the holes were level. Most had you either throwing up a hill or down a grade. This made for some challenging but very fun shots. The par for each hole was very reasonable and even a beginner would be able to computer on this course. There were trees but they only came into play on a couple holes. The tee pads were in great shape, and most holes had two tees allowing a player to play the course twice with various angles. The baskets were also in great condition and the grass was kept low.
Cons: A couple of the holes did not give the greatest guidance to the next tee pad and a couple baskets were difficult to see, but each tee had a marker showing where it was.
Other Thoughts: An excellent course. I wish it had been a full 18 holes because the way the first 9 were laid out showed creativity in design and offered a very enjoyable experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.