Farmington, NM 
Lions Wilderness DGC Share
Uploaded By: Pteropus Hole #22
-- / 315ft.   -- / 315ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #22



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Sand Stone

1    3/17/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: cohunter
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of distances and dual tee positions for beginners and experienced players both. Front nine gives players a chance to play their mids and putters, 2nd nine are unique in distances and use of natural obstacles. Last 9 are long and fun to wing your distance drivers.
Uniqueness of course is definately a plus by using mother nature's natural obstacles to create fun fairways.
Cons: Sandstone will eat away at your discs.
Other Thoughts: No big trees to throw around and discs can be found with ease.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice roadtrip break

1    6/2/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: 1978
Played: 181  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has been stated before. This is a very unique course. Almost like 2 courses in 1. I've never seen baskets in locations like this, sandstone cubbyholes and prehistoric washouts. Course was very clean. Actually play of the course is a varying group of holes that show different lines. The views from the teepads were awesome and signage was good. 27 holes is a big plus and was cool. There were some neat shots that utilized elevation or throwing across valleys. Wind wreaked havok on some of my throws but I don't imagine it is ALWAYS that windy. Locals seemed nice and willing to help and learn. Not too many places to lose a disc here but there was sufficient tree cover that no hole was "wide open." While I didn't like how easy the front 9 was... I think it is actually beneficial for beginning players to learn. The additional 9 advanced level holes make for 18 advanced holes in a row if you want to skip over the easy stuff in the beginning.
Cons: I didn't really like that the front 9 "ish" holes were SO easy and the back so much longer. Really a putter is only needed on the front and it is like 2 totally different courses. If you are to take the course as just 1, its really an odd kind of feel. Many (too many) greens were just a big rock, any shots getting near the basket hit these rocks. Discs do not have a chance here after a few rounds. 300-400' throws into sandstone really tears up your favorite plastic. Quite a few holes were not clearly defined with fairways. You basically just threw over desert trees from an elevated tee hoping to land somewhere near a basket. It would have been nice to have slighly better defined fairways so you at least knew where to throw or see where your disc landed. There is a high risk of discs getting stuck in the cedar like trees...and you not knowing where they are. One hole was missing a basket...we found the broken sleeve though and just threw at that.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round. I would have loved to play under a little calmer conditions but it was a good break from my trip threw NM. If driving by, I would recommend stopping here. If you stay in the area and only have limited time, you can play the front twice and boost your ego. The second 18 is worth the stop for sure.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NM DG experience

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 122  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual teepad settings
Easy visible tee signs (yellow and blue) with picture of the basket - very nice
27 holes!
Front nine plays very easy from both yellow and blue settings, but tough holes await you.
Personal favorite holes were
10- long, slighly downhill with lots of trouble and growth that can make a good drive a tough three
18- across a valley into a giant stone formation and the basket is at the bottom of a bowl
Front nine holes play on large rock formation
Unique dg experience!
Bathrooms onsite
Water fountain onsite
Great views and awesome rock formations!
Cons: Not a con but can be very windy and hot
Not a lot of shade or benches
Could be longer but 27 holes make up for the shortness
Really beats up the plastic
Kind of confusing flow at times
Isolation from any nearby course
Other Thoughts: Played on the way to Durango and was not disappointed, this course is unlike anything i have played, make sure you wear sunblock and bring water and a snack. i enjoyed this course but it did not have the WOW factor that some other courses have

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rock Climber

6/20/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: DctrJ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun. You get the adventure of climbing around on the sandstone and through the NM terrain. There are a few throws off high cliffs (for a dg course) that give you lots of challenge.
Cons: The beginners course is a little too beginner. The holes seriously should be par 2 on the front 9. The sandstone is rough on the discs, I'd only play with the best plastics on this course.
Other Thoughts: Great place to introduce someone to dg.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

9/20/2007   4/1/2008
Review By: ropenrob
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: signs at tees to let you know where catchers are and next tee box with two differnt pars for beginners and propars at the tee
great place to play with a variety of throwing styles
Cons: drastic changes in elevation from cliffs to rock climbing and on the long holes you need to have good distance
look out for rattlers and lizairds
bring lots of water with you
Other Thoughts: A great course had a beginner with me and he was able to make par or under on the front 9 very well laid out course was unable to find the last 9

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center