Farmington, NM 
Lions Wilderness DGC Share
Uploaded By: Pteropus Hole #24
-- / 456ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #24



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Awesome Course

5+    1/27/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: westonian18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in my top 3 favorite courses
Maps at tees
Unique rocks on course
Terrain is awesome
Insanely long
Cons: Hard to find holes, but gets easier the more you play
Hot in the summer, and i mean HOT
Way too easy to lose discs on the back 9
Other Thoughts: Overall great course
Front 9 is a great warm up for the course
Middle 9 is very challenging
Back 9 is insane

Ive done the course numerous times all the way through but it takes a long time!
Be prepared for a long but very fun day at this course.
Bring water and sunscreen!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bring a local

1    6/21/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: 1TallTXn
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: Nice tee signs
Nice baskets
Flags on most baskets to help find them.
Cons: Navigation is a problem. The map helps, but its still quite a challenge.
Tee signs only indicate hole number when you're standing on the tee. With 36 signs, it can be a challenge to figure out which one is next. A large number on the rear would ease this a lot.
"Tee pads" are wherever you can stand next to the sign. If it's on a rock (and many are) there's a painted line indicating the front of the pad. This usually leaves the tee sign as one end of that line. They're huge metal signs, so be careful you don't hit the sign with your arm.
Great at eating discs. The trees/brush is all basically the same, so good luck if you don't have a spotter.
Front 9 are insanely short with high pars. My wife has <100ft drive and she easily parred most with several birdies. She nearly had an Eagle on one hole, but it bounced out.
Other Thoughts: The terrain is not a place that you would expect a DG course. It's quite a bit of work to walk around. Wear good-fitting shoes as you'll be doing your best billy-goat impressions on the front 9.

Sadly, navigation is enough of a problem that I gave up on hole 13. After spending 10min looking for the basket, it just wasn't fun any more.

Many of the holes you're throwing at or over another tee or basket. With 27holes, you probably won't have to deal with too many other players, but combine the crossing layout with the trees blocking your vision, it's asking for someone to get hit.

Overall, I think I'd like the course a lot better if I could play it with someone who knew where they were going.


1    1/26/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: Moabrider
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pinion juniper and slickrock terrain with teeboxes at differing elevations. Be careful not to fall off a ledge when throwing. Well marked, and fairly easy to navigate with a map at every teebox. 1-9 are great for putting practice with upshots. Wind can be challenging. Clean course with trashcans convieniently located and weel used! baskets are marked with flagging tape or would have been difficult to spot. A definite must do! Beautiful , an easy drive, lots of parking.
Cons: Sandstone can chew up the discs.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back on a less windy day!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/12/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: Robby_Rob
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Not allot of people on the course
-The terrain is great just bring water
-The front 9 baskets are short and great for extra practice or just a short game.
-The back 18 baskets are longer you can start from middle 10-17 or back 18-27 and finish still finish at the front 1-9 baskets, or vice versa.
Cons: -Some tee pads are sandstone and uneven as well as dirt not concrete.
-Sandstone will tear discs up.
Other Thoughts: My home course and still my favorite course, a must play course if your in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course in 4 corners area!

1    9/6/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes, each with their own baskets.
-Excellent signage at each tee area.
-Public park with restroom facilities
-Actually located in Farmington, so easy to access.
-The first 9 holes are pitch n putt style. Next 18 are more like normally distanced and varied holes.
-Great views of Farmington and surrounding high plains when teeing off some off the high cliffs.
-Not a lot of other players on the course while I was there.
Cons: -Skip the first 9 holes if youre expecting to play a normally distanced course.
-There's a fair amount of hiking involved, and on some steep rocky surfaces.
-The teepads are often on natural and slightly uneven sandstone surfaces shooting off cliffs. Just be careful. and sober.
-The wind can really rip through here, and especially if you get any loft at all.
-Lots of trees create blind landings, so expect to spend time looking for your discs if you're not terribly familiar with the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/10/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: BigN8r
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beautiful desert course, lots of bluffs throwing over trees and canyons. First 9 great for any caliber the last 9 get ready to be challenged! Very well marked but this course will work you! Lots of elevation shots and almost had a ace on 9.
Cons: The sandstone eats up your plastic but that is to be expected. Plenty of chances to loose your disk in the cedars and some snakes. Can be hot and not a lot of shade
Other Thoughts: Bring water!!!! There is a water fountain at the first holes but it is slow.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sand Stone

1    3/17/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: cohunter
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of distances and dual tee positions for beginners and experienced players both. Front nine gives players a chance to play their mids and putters, 2nd nine are unique in distances and use of natural obstacles. Last 9 are long and fun to wing your distance drivers.
Uniqueness of course is definately a plus by using mother nature's natural obstacles to create fun fairways.
Cons: Sandstone will eat away at your discs.
Other Thoughts: No big trees to throw around and discs can be found with ease.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice roadtrip break

1    6/2/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: 1978
Played: 170  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has been stated before. This is a very unique course. Almost like 2 courses in 1. I've never seen baskets in locations like this, sandstone cubbyholes and prehistoric washouts. Course was very clean. Actually play of the course is a varying group of holes that show different lines. The views from the teepads were awesome and signage was good. 27 holes is a big plus and was cool. There were some neat shots that utilized elevation or throwing across valleys. Wind wreaked havok on some of my throws but I don't imagine it is ALWAYS that windy. Locals seemed nice and willing to help and learn. Not too many places to lose a disc here but there was sufficient tree cover that no hole was "wide open." While I didn't like how easy the front 9 was... I think it is actually beneficial for beginning players to learn. The additional 9 advanced level holes make for 18 advanced holes in a row if you want to skip over the easy stuff in the beginning.
Cons: I didn't really like that the front 9 "ish" holes were SO easy and the back so much longer. Really a putter is only needed on the front and it is like 2 totally different courses. If you are to take the course as just 1, its really an odd kind of feel. Many (too many) greens were just a big rock, any shots getting near the basket hit these rocks. Discs do not have a chance here after a few rounds. 300-400' throws into sandstone really tears up your favorite plastic. Quite a few holes were not clearly defined with fairways. You basically just threw over desert trees from an elevated tee hoping to land somewhere near a basket. It would have been nice to have slighly better defined fairways so you at least knew where to throw or see where your disc landed. There is a high risk of discs getting stuck in the cedar like trees...and you not knowing where they are. One hole was missing a basket...we found the broken sleeve though and just threw at that.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round. I would have loved to play under a little calmer conditions but it was a good break from my trip threw NM. If driving by, I would recommend stopping here. If you stay in the area and only have limited time, you can play the front twice and boost your ego. The second 18 is worth the stop for sure.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Epic!

1    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: mandoman420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow! Very unique, well maintained, and well marked course. All the other comments are right on. Def worth going to play.
Cons: Windy at some times, but adds to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Been on tour with my band all over the country. Haven't played every course, of course, but this one is def my fav so far (after 2 months on the road from SC to NM & everywhere in between)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Unique Course

1    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. This course offers everything but water. Long, medium and short range holes. Some technical holes and some open holes. Very good chance at an ACE at this course. I personally fell in love with this course on the final 9 holes.
Cons: Some of the holes are too short and easy. Some of the T-boxes are really nice but there are some that need to be fixed or flatened.
Other Thoughts: This course has the most amazing terrain i have ever played on. Everyhole has a place where you would want to stop and take a picture. I think this is where i am going to get my next ACE.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.