Farmington, NM 
Lions Wilderness DGC Share
Uploaded By: Pteropus Hole #21
-- / 360ft.   -- / 360ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #21



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 favorite

5+    4/24/2003   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: such a great beautiful technical course. i absolutly loved playing this course when i lived in farmington.
Cons: there is absolutly nothing bad to say about this course
Other Thoughts: i got my one and only ace ever at lions on hole #3

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 4 corners destination course

2-4    3/23/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: Leftist
Played: 116  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 3 ascending difficulty 9 hole sets make this an any caliber player course. Invites repeat play with variety of distances.
All targets visible - long ones have super long poles/flags.
Exceptional steel signage with clear photo detail on the front 18.
Am tees.
Some really fun throws off and to sandstone formations across ravines.
Cons: No water hazards or dogleg configurations so there's a bit lacking in design creativity. This is made up for by the elevation/sandstone/windy fun on the front 9+.
Scuffing of discs on sandstone bluffs.
Other Thoughts: Cool, unique setting. Made repeated trips down to this isolated course while on business for a couple weeks in Durango. Well worth it.
I found it surprisingly hard to lose a disc in the pinon scrub!



1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NM DG experience

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 122  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual teepad settings
Easy visible tee signs (yellow and blue) with picture of the basket - very nice
27 holes!
Front nine plays very easy from both yellow and blue settings, but tough holes await you.
Personal favorite holes were
10- long, slighly downhill with lots of trouble and growth that can make a good drive a tough three
18- across a valley into a giant stone formation and the basket is at the bottom of a bowl
Front nine holes play on large rock formation
Unique dg experience!
Bathrooms onsite
Water fountain onsite
Great views and awesome rock formations!
Cons: Not a con but can be very windy and hot
Not a lot of shade or benches
Could be longer but 27 holes make up for the shortness
Really beats up the plastic
Kind of confusing flow at times
Isolation from any nearby course
Other Thoughts: Played on the way to Durango and was not disappointed, this course is unlike anything i have played, make sure you wear sunblock and bring water and a snack. i enjoyed this course but it did not have the WOW factor that some other courses have

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New baskets and Alt positions

5+    11/21/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: Pteropus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course just added 9 new baskets in holes 10-27 (was PVC poles) generally from 300ft to 500 ft distances... Very sweet. The City is also currently putting in alternate pin locations on Holes 10-18. The course will be 1st class once concrete tee pads are constructed. This course is a must-play for anyone visiting the 4 Corners area.
Cons: Natural tee pads on 19-27 can be sandy
Other Thoughts: Best DG course in New Mexico

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

8/1/2007   7/26/2008
Review By: Frolffan24
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I went to Farmington on a trip and came across this course in the mountains. It is the greatest course i have ever played in my life. Me my cousin brother and dad played it three times back to back to back it was so mush fun. The rocky terrain is fun to climb up and down. Each sign for the tee box is extremely detailed and you can never get lost on this course. the huge drops offs are beautiful and make for some challanging holes. The altitude is high so the disk soars through the air. Excellent course
Cons: Not many cons except front nine is very short but extremely fun. Rocky terrain can be tough to walk on so watch yourself
Other Thoughts: Play this Course

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rock Climber

6/20/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: DctrJ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun. You get the adventure of climbing around on the sandstone and through the NM terrain. There are a few throws off high cliffs (for a dg course) that give you lots of challenge.
Cons: The beginners course is a little too beginner. The holes seriously should be par 2 on the front 9. The sandstone is rough on the discs, I'd only play with the best plastics on this course.
Other Thoughts: Great place to introduce someone to dg.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

9/20/2007   4/1/2008
Review By: ropenrob
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: signs at tees to let you know where catchers are and next tee box with two differnt pars for beginners and propars at the tee
great place to play with a variety of throwing styles
Cons: drastic changes in elevation from cliffs to rock climbing and on the long holes you need to have good distance
look out for rattlers and lizairds
bring lots of water with you
Other Thoughts: A great course had a beginner with me and he was able to make par or under on the front 9 very well laid out course was unable to find the last 9

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.