Little Axe, OK 
Little Axe DGC Share
Uploaded By: rd.bittle Hole #2 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 162ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Short Game Appropriate

2-4    7/21/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: JDunagan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Concrete tee pads...long and short. The community looks like it cares a lot about appearance. Very clean. Several holes were Challenging, makes you throw it straight!! It has a pretty good flow, pretty easy to navigate.
Good for beginners
Cons: Not the course to work on your long game
Poor signage
Other Thoughts: Great location.
Always have a great time here...still looking for that ACE!!!

The Little Course That Could

5+    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: CincySlim
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained - the local club does a great job!
Concrete pads, with longer alternates (also concrete).
Nearly every hole (9) is aceable.
Lots of activities; weekly tourneys and night golf on Wednesdays
Baskets are in decent, well maintained condition.
Cons: Only nine holes and they're relatively short.
Other Thoughts: Great place to practice your short game yet challenging enough to not be boring. A very neat (as in tidy) course where finesse is king.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

You Better Bring Your Line Shaping Mids

2-4    1/9/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great concrete tees
Tees were marked well
Good baskets
Well defined fairways (mostly tight)
Decent risk/reward
Great to work on your midrange game
Great use of the trees and boundaries
Work on your line shaping
Multiple tees change lines as well as length
Easy logical navigation
Great to take newbies/family to
Good for beginners to intermediate/advanced
Newbies will love the length
Advanced will love the chance to improve their midrange game and ace chances
#1's basket is perfect to practice putting on before the round
Not crowded
Quick rounds
Where you might need to cross an OB fence there are easy access bridges
Good solid benches
Trashcans abound
Very well kept
Bridges are in great shape and solid
Plenty of parking
Bathroom (port-a-john)
Cons: Tee signs mostly just had hole #
A couple had distance also
Some holes played close (No big deal to me)
Could get crowded during a tourny
The new dirt in some spots will get muddy after a rain
Short (NBD to me)
Not many cons this course has a little for everybody
Other Thoughts: This course is definately worth a trip from Norman or anywhere close by. This is one of the best midrange courses I have been to. You can leave the drivers in the car and give your mids/putters a great workout. Very fun little 9 hole course. Play both tees for a few more holes. If you live in the area you should definately play this course every so often. Play a quick round or two then go to the longer/more difficult courses to round out your day. Not the most challenging course but worth the time.

My "disc rating" is based heavily on fun factor, and this course has plenty, then I adjust up or down for amenities.

PM me and let me know how I can be "more helpful" or just how to improve my reviews.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Straight Shooter

2-4    6/3/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Immaculate course with plenty of amenities not found in the little out-of-the-way courses in this area. Grounds are well kept, course is clean and maintained. Nice sized concrete tee pads for 85% of the holes (all short tees have a pad, all but one or two of the longs). Benches and trash cans abound as does plenty of shade. Baskets are in great shape (#1 is missing the inner chains). Even small footbridges to get over some barbed wire fence along the edge of the property. Plenty of bridges over drainage areas/creek and while signage is intermittent, it's extremely easy to navigate. Course sign next to tee box #2 has a faded course map if you need it for reference. It's not too far from Norman/South OKC/Moore and wasn't busy at the time of my rounds. Most shots are controlled, tight, straight or short turning lines through obvious gaps between mature trees. The pics on the site show a late winter foliage. When it's filled in, there are much tighter constraints on lines. Plenty of opportunities to work on your release point and mid-range power vs. accuracy game. No real water hazards to speak of except for a small creek that is pretty shallow and borderline stagnant (no risk of the disk being whisked away.
Cons: Definitely lacks in the distance and elevation department. Flat as a board from all the short tees and a little bit of elevation comes into play on 3 of the longs. Even the long holes aren't very long; typically 15-20 more with a slightly different angle or gap approach. Two of the long pads are somewhat nutty, but in a fairly logical way. #1's long tee is up by the outfield fence corner of the ballfield to the north. This turns a routine mid-range straight shot into a blind anny. The proximity of the parking lot would also be troublesome on this shot. #2's long tee is actually on the east side of the parking lot, up on the shoulder of the road. This turns a controlled tunnel shot about 20 feet from the tee into a controlled tunnel shot about 100 feet from the tee with a downhill elevation change. Playing over a 4-deep parking lot, downhill, into a tight window seems risky if there are any cars in the area. Since that's right where the majority of the shade exists in the parking lot, the chance of not playing near somebody's car is pretty slim. A little standing water in a low area around #2's short tee, but nothing that would really affect play. Most of the soil is a sandy clay that dusts up your disc a little, but there's so little of it compared to the well-groomed grass that it isn't much of an issue. The creek is in play on only two holes and is deceptively sneaky on 9.
Other Thoughts: Locals were friendly and the course offered some fairly fun albeit typical shots. Switching to the long tees for the second round ramped up the challenge a bit although the primary culprit was close tee pad obstructions rather than different distances or lines. Really nice course for Ams and Recs to work on their mid-range control and you'll likely get a chance to work on your get-out-of-jail shot at least once in an 18-hole round.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Little Course in Little Axe!

1    7/31/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice little course not too far from Norman and the Oklahoma City metro area
- I first wanted to call this a pitch-and-putt course, but it's actually a little too wooded to call it that. Despite the short lengths on a lot of the holes, the throws are pretty tight through fairways lined with trees.
- Course flow is intuitive and wraps around in a circular pattern, kind of like spokes in a wheel. Not easy to get lost here!
- Great course for beginners, and experts will be enticed by abundant ace opportunities.
- Very nice local players (see my "other thoughts" section)
- Hole #9 sort of has a water hazard in play (small drainage creek). Although it was completely dried up when I played here in late July.
- Nice dual teepads and signage. The baskets are actually custom made in the area, but you wouldn't tell by quickly glancing at them! All in all, the course is well-cared for.
Cons: - Very short holes that, despite some tight tree-lined fairways, are not very challenging. Only one hole breaks the 200ft. mark
- Lots of fairway crossing between holes. I forget which holes in particular cross each other, but once you play, you'll see what I mean. Watch for players throwing on other holes!
- Shots are pretty repetitive. Seems like each is a straight shot, and dogleg hyzers/anhyzers are pretty much non-existent. You could probably get by with a buzzz here and do very well. There's also little variety in elevation or terrain (this is Oklahoma, after all).
- Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate enough to run into two locals when I arrived at this course. They graciously invited me to play a round with them, and I enjoyed talking about disc golf techniques, as well as the disc golf playing scene in the area. Apparently this quaint little 9-hole course is the site of a lot of tournaments and tag rounds. If all of the locals are as nice as these two gentlemen were, I wouldn't mind playing here more often if I lived in the area.

As far as courses go, it looks like Norman has a bunch of excellent courses around the University of Oklahoma. However, if you're looking for a quick round of nine and want to chase some aces, this course is for you.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course for Beginners

2-4    11/17/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: DCushman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice short course played with a friend who had never been to a course before. Even though she had never played a course before she ended up with +6 on the first round and +5 on the second round. Needless to say, it was a great introduction for her and the hook was set. We immediately went to Norman and she picked up her own discs.
Cons: Holes 2 and 3 run very close to a barbed wire fenced pasture on the left side of the fairways. When we played the winds were 20-30 mph and gusty. Only one disc went a few feet into the pasture, but we were concerned that we'd lose a disc on those holes. Not a real issue on calm days.
Other Thoughts: Great little course that would be perfect for beginners who don't have super long throws. There are enough trees and obstacles to make you think and plan ahead, but not enough to make it a frustrating challenge. Will definitely play this course often when I'm near.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly Surprised

1    7/14/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee posts for every hole
Tee Boxes on every hole
Longer tee boxes on most of the holes
well shaded.
Benches on nearly every hole (that I noticed)
Cons: Short course.
Long boxes are not marked and only cement on about 1/2 of them.
Other Thoughts: I would play here again.

That is saying quite a bit. For a short course, it was really fun playing. the course looked GREAT (it had just been mowed) and the shade was much needed on a hot day.

I started by playing the longs, but was unable to figure out the 1st two quickly and I was running out of time, so I just played the regular short 9 holes.

The course is very easy to follow and flows pretty good.

If, and when I play out there again, I will play the longs for a more challenging round. (I nearly aced 2 holes from the shorts)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Superb Pitch Putt

1    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This place is manicured! The whole park looks like it was cleared and then sod put down. The fairways aren't just mowed, it's like a lawn. Great baskets. Very clean and cute. Easily played with a putter.
Cons: It is a pitch putt course. Bring an approach disc and a putter. Only one hole appears to be longer than 200'. That has got to be the only negative. If you are in the area and want to work on your short game, I'd come to this course.
Other Thoughts: Get your Buzz, Leopard, Roc, and or Aviar ready and go putt around this course.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

5+    8/7/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best taken care of that I've ever seen. We are talking emaculate for a disc golf course. Concrete tee pads, signs, alternate long tees, bridges, benches, etc. The designers and local club members have utilized every square inch of land and then some (even the parking lot is used on some alternate tees)! They are still working to pour tee pads and make it better. The park is very scenic and well taken care of.
Cons: This course is very short and relatively flat. This is only because the park in which it is located isn't very big or diverse in elevation changes. I would love to see what this club could do with more land.
Other Thoughts: It is very easy to score well here. I would not hesitate to take children or newcomers to this course to get them hooked!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Friendly Place

1    3/18/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I arrived at Little Axe I was greeted by two locals who introduced themselves as the vice president and some other post of the local club. I got the feeling that they are there all the time and for that reason have been able to spruce up this quaint little piece of land to the point that there is no trash to be found anywhere. Even a gum wrapper wouldn't get past these guys. They have built multiple tee boxes, benches and bridges. There is no doubt in my mind that they have maximized to the n-th degree every usable square inch at this otherwise too small piece of land.

The ace runs are tantalizing. I even heard a chain-out in the brief amount of time I spent here. Aside from being small the land is good for disc golf in that it is woodsy with well defined fairways and landing areas and a small creek. The course has one of the most friendly vibes I have encountered in my disc golf travels. I would not be afraid to have my daughter tag along with me here.
Cons: The land available for the course is too small here, I would not use this course for working on round play or for fine tuning the all around game. This course is great for making runs and sinking the birds, which sometimes is what the doctor ordered. Hole number four, if memory serves me correct, is tight and close to a trespassing out of bounds that have you to hop a fence to get your plastic back.
Other Thoughts: I recommend Little Axe for beginners and ace seekers. It's a shame that the local club does not have more land to work with because they deserve it. This place is very well taken care of.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.