Layout Extinct

Mt. Berry, GA 
Log Cabin Course - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 164ft.   3 / 164ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 New Baskets

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: JBaggett
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Other Thoughts: THE COURSE NOW HAS 18 HOLES. The baskets are all new. There is no map as of yet and no marked tees. The director of Berry's outdoor rec. wrote that they are working on a map. I'll keep this site updated when I get a hold of a map.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 not sure if i'll do it again

1    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: jamiemetts
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great exercise and beautiful campus sencery
Cons: a ton of walking, not much shade and the start is very far from the basket. Kind of demoralizing for a beginner if you have to throw it 50 times per basket. Very close to campus housing (but not a big deal)
Other Thoughts: if you just want to take a walk and be basically where you started the whole time and enjoy Berrys deer and a few building it good.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well its free

8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: Bensontbjj
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open space. Deer all over the place and used to people. Grass is well maintained.
Cons: No clue without the map from the link page as to where to tee off and even then you are guessing. There is an attempt to rectify that with traffic cones and white spray paint in the grass but even that was off a bit.
Other Thoughts: Hole #2 got me being that it was that long I lost my composure trying to throw it in two throws. I settled down into a normal throw and improved from there on out. #5 & #6 where my favorite layout.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Monotonous.

5/25/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good opportunity to test your driving in an open course.
-Nice Innova Pro baskets.
Cons: -Almost no obstacles
-Tee placement is hard to find even with a map and impossible to find without a map
_dirt/grass tees.
-No signage.
-Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure what the deal is with Rome Georgia Courses but this 9 holes is basically Ridge Ferry spread out. The first time I tried this course I could not find the first tee. After being completely frustrated, I played another 18 at WinShape located a couble of miles away. The second time I came prepared with a map to find the tees. Even with the map you will feel as if you are on a scavenger hunt. Finding the unmarked tees will be the most challenging part of this course. One you find the tees you will be rewarded with monotony. Other than the occasional easily avoidable tree you will have a virtually non obstructed 400 to 700 foot plus shot. If you are a technique player, your disk selection will never be needed. All you need to do is drive, drive, drive, and then putt. This course is nothing more than a field to throw your long drives. This course could basically be replicated throwing back and forth across any large field. I see no reason to ever play this course with WinShape 5.5 miles away unless you just want to show off your long arm. If you look at the over head map you will see how poorly laid out this course is. You may see some deer on fairways, but this is nothing special to anyone that has ever been to Berry College. The shame of this course is there are many other places on the Barry college campus that would allow for an enjoyable 9 holes. I hope that someone will find a better home for them, but until then just play Winshape.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Good solid course, only 9 holes

12/14/2007   12/14/2007
Review By: masilver
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Several long holes will test your driving ability.
Some holes are uphill or not visible from the start.
Beautiful rolling landscape with deer often on the course.
Cons: Not very technical.
Several holes are straight shots with little obstruction (but still challenging due to hills).
Starts are not marked. Usually you can figure out the starting location by the warn grass. Looking at the map (see below) helps a great deal.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course, but it's challenges are different than a wooded course.

Here is a map of the course: http://www.berry.edu/stulife/intram...ry%20Course.pdf


2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque!

11/21/2007   11/27/2007
Review By: Steve C
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location in the center of Berry College campus is awesome!. Large open fields nearby with dozens of whitetailed deer roaming freely around sundown. Holes are mostly open, rolling terrain with well manicured turf and occasional acient oaks. The 756' second hole is a monster - lots of fun! The log cabin on #6 adds a nice signature.
Cons: I managed to find the course by using aerial images, a campus map, and some luck. Unmarked tees are near impossible to find without a local guide and/or map (I lucked-out my first time there and found a local who was starting a round the same time I was.) Two residental buildings are near holes 3 and 4 (fore!) Needs 9 more holes : )
Other Thoughts: There are six courses within 45 a minute drive of my house. I drive an hour to play the Log Cabin course, and Winshape at Berry College, regularly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.