Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #16
3 / 354ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Good for a beginners or a relaxing round

1    3/12/2017   3/20/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Plenty of OB to increase the challenge, but still no threat of losing a disc
-Next tee box signs make navigation easy
-Great for beginners and low power intermediate players
Cons: -Short tee boxes
-Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (2/5): Not an overly long or technical course. Definitely geared more towards beginner players. There are very few holes that are completely wide open, but the course isn't heavily wooded by a long stretch. Lots of out of bounds created by walking paths and the concrete drain. This serves to add a challenge to the course without a risk of losing discs, which is really nice.

Maintenance (2.5/5): Every hole has a concrete tee box, but they were often very short. If you use any sort of a cross step on your run up, you'll need to start from behind the tee box. There weren't much in the way of tee signs, but there was next tee box signs next to the baskets, which really helped. Grass seems to be mowed regularly and the baskets were in decent shape.

Variability (2/5): There was always trees on each hole, but they were generally sparse and spread out. This meant you could usually use whatever line you were most comfortable with and shape it around the trees. I, for one, was able to throw a hyzer on just about every single hole. My playing partner really likes anhyzers, and was able to throw those just about every hole. The one really unique hole is the short par 4 island hole. It makes you decide whether to lay up for a very easy birdie, or go for a risky eagle.

Flow/Experience (3.5/5): The flow of this course is phenomenal. The holes lead right into each other, and the next tee box signs make navigation for first time players very easy. It's a multi use park, so we frequently had to wait for joggers/walker to pass out of our driving range on the nearby paths. It's in a pretty park, and was a very enjoyable round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Typical Park course

2-4    3/14/2017   3/16/2017
Review By: AVR_
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice tee pads
- Easy to navigate. Next tee signs with arrows at each basket
- Well maintained and some very nice landscape.
- Several ace runs
- Great course for newer players or for testing new plastic. Big open field to the side for honing in those Destroyers!
Cons: - Fairly easy course and not much challenge
- Lots of traffic in the evening with soccer practices, people walking, bikers, etc. There was even a woman sittin in a chair in the middle of the 18th fairway the other day watchin soccer practice so I would play before 5pm or so to avoid all this during the weekdays.
Other Thoughts: As most have already stated this is not a challenging course. However for me it is a perfect course to play right now coming back from shoulder surgery to get my power and form back. They are all par 3s and there are a few 400+ footers where you need a rip to park it. Lots of ace runs so bring your Rocs!! It is wide open so you will not lose any plastic. I recommend this for someone new to golf or comin back from a hiatus to work on form.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A pretty nice residential course for beginners

1    8/1/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2016
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: By far the most beginner-friendly course I've played in DFW since I picked up disc golf in June (I've also been to Denton, Bear Creek, Turner Park and Trophy Club). This can potentially be a con for more experienced players who are seeking a challenge. However, for newer players, L.L. Woods offers an easier intro to the sport.

Nearly impossible to lose/mess up discs on this course.

I encountered no hazardous wildlife.

Next tee location is marked with a red sign near the end of each hole. SUPER helpful for first-timers on the course.

Great course to introduce new players to disc golf.

Course appears to be well-maintained by the city of Lewisville, as it is a rather busy residential park.
Cons: Advanced players will most likely be bored by this course, as you really only need a RHBH and forehand to score well here. There's maybe one hole which actually requires a hyzer to get through onto the fairway reliably and anny's/anny flex shots are just extra credit on this course.

Located in a residential area. The park is mostly used by other visitors who are not disc golfers, so be sure and watch where you're throwing! Lots of people pushing strollers and Pokemon Go players.

Most holes have very limited tree coverage, so get there early in the day during warmer months.
Other Thoughts:
Probably the best beginner course in DFW. The course isn't super long, but has some holes which allow you to let her rip. I can see L.L. Woods getting a bit stale with a lot of repeated play, but this is definitely a great place for less experienced/intermediate players to hone their basic throwing form. Worth the 25-minute drive to play 18 here.

EDIT: My dad and I played this course on a Saturday morning and we just left after the front 9 or so holes. We got to the park at 7:30 a.m. and immediately encountered heavy foot traffic beginning at the 2nd tee. We had to wait for pedestrians using the walking path to clear out before every other shot. We seriously spent about 20 minutes (of the 90 we were there) waiting on people to walk, slowly, out of our line of sight. Not a single pedestrian ever acknowledged our existence. We were nothing but cordial, yet the locals treated us more like an annoyance. It was a really weird experience, since we normally have only positive interactions with other people during our rounds. It's Texas. We're all pretty nice here, but L.L. Woods felt like the streets of NYC this particular morning. That being said, I've only had this experience at L.L. Woods the one time and it won't affect my review of the course. However, I'd probably avoid this park on the weekends during the summer. Too many local pedestrians are using it who will just treat you like an outsider.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Morning

2-4    7/27/2016   7/27/2016
Review By: Prost
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly wide open; Good mix of long and short holes; Signage points out the next tee pad when unclear; Always lots of people playing; Well maintained
Cons: Last third of the course is in the field, so in the summer it is hot; Not very technically difficult; Some of the distance signage is broken or unreadable; Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for me because I'm in the relearning phase of disc golf. Because of the relatively easy layout and wide open course layout I was able to concentrate on throwing straight and work on my form while still playing a round. There is also almost no way to lose a disc on this course, which is a bonus for me since I'm notorious for losing them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Saw Tyler Cook Ace Hole #18 @ LLWoods Feb9th,2016

5+    2/16/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 23 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LL Woods is a great course. Yes, flat, open and very few trees. Grass is generally well cut. Great park to learn your rollers. One restroom and 2 open drains. 2 water fountains, but only one works outside summer. It's a great day to day course, while we all await the return of the Lake Lewisville Course. LL Woods is a great course for Tuesday night minis, due to the Lewisville grounds crew cutting back all tree limbs to above head height.
Cons: LL Woods is very multi-use, but mostly you just have to watch for walkers and bicycle riders going through your lanes. LL Woods does not drain well around the baskets after any serious rain. Some say LL Woods is boring: without the scrub brush & water hazards to loose discs in, Mesquite thorns to bite you, steep hills, valleys, cliffs, mud and ankle busting holes to traverse, trees to curse as they raise your average and wait,,,, Most of those perps saying these things have no Aces at LL Woods either.
Other Thoughts: February 8th, I played a round with Vicky Robertson & Tyler Cook & a few others at LL Woods. The park was packed, we let 4-5 groups & singles play through. Tyler throws hard and was easily the best of our group. As we approached the 18th tee, the open field to our right, had well over 100 souls practicing on 4 soccer games, a little girls soccer training and a baseball practice. 2 preteen girls were kicking a ball very near the 18th basket, so we shouted to let them know we were teeing off. Tyler lead, but waited even longer for fear he would hit the girl closest to the basket. Finally he let rip his Innova Nuke wide & high over the soccer kids. It hit the basket so hard we could hear the chains from 327ft over the many kids soccer teams noise. When we stopped shouting to the newly formed Demi-God's powerful Ace, every single soccer practice had come to a halt and well over 100 Lewisville kids, parents and coaches were staring at us. The two latina girls saw it and were dancing off their swings. That magic is hard to describe. Yes, others have Ace #18 at LL Woods, but this was a first with so many now seeing the joy of why we throw discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/21/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: CSuther
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Nice, clean park
Great for beginners
Easy to navigate
Cons: Lots of pedestrians
Extremely simple course. Every hole is so wide open that it quickly got boring.
No cons other than that. It is as nice as it could possibly be for the design, but the design is a simple, easy, open course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course For Newbees

1    11/25/2014   3/25/2015
Review By: Mr. Limu
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate, clear open shots, nice walk. Located in great neighborhood. Lots of fun.
Cons: Be careful of drainage ditch that runs along first few baskets you will lose disc.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again very soon.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just OK

1    2/12/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Several fun shots
- Well maintained
- Lots of trash cans and easy parking
Cons: - Very basic course
- Busy park with lots of people walking through fairways
- Got boring quick (not a lot of variety)
Other Thoughts: Good effort at a neighborhood course. Definitely has the beginner/rec player in mind. Advance and above should look at some the other area courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing again

1    3/22/2014   3/28/2014
Review By: YoAdrian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice course/park that is maintained. Real easy to navigate except for maybe one hole transition. There's really no way you can lose a disc unless it falls in the creek, then it simply float downstream but when I went it wasn't even halfway full. Short and long holes throughout. Couple ace runs. Uses the trees real well.
Cons: Lots of holes don't have a sign or marker. Tee pads were okay but some were just awkward. The first half of the course is all short holes it seemed, got boring kinda quick but no big deal. Very occupied park, lots of people walking so had to pause a few times before throwing. One hole is right by a road so if you aren't that good very possible to interfere with cars. Last hole is by the playground, can be dangerous if kids are playing around it.
Other Thoughts: Overall nice course. It's kept clean and mowed. This course is more on the beginner side but has it's holes to try and challenge you. They did a great job of using the trees it has as obstacles. The short holes are very aceable which help keep it fun. And there no fear of losing a disc. I'll for sure come back again

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: ontherun
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to find the first hole since it is next to the parking lot
- Park is well maintained
- Bathrooms
- Large concrete tees
- Easy to navigate for people new to the course with the exception of going to hole 11 to 12. There is a concrete tee slightly to the left and behind basket 11 that people tend to go to, so they end up throwing at basket 1. The tee for 12 is to the right, across the walking path and there is a tee sign for it
- Difficult to lose a disc. If you can't find your disc and you are next to the drainage creek, odds are you are going to have to walk/run downstream to find it
- The holes make the most out of the few trees there are on the course and can provide a slight challenge to newer players
- Fun ace runs
Cons: - There is a walking/bike path that is alongside the majority of holes
- Hole 6 has a busy road that plays to the left which may be a problem for beginners or when the wind kicks up
- The basket for 18 has a playground to the left, a backstop that is often used for baseball to the right and a swing set behind the basket. There are often kids walking in front of the basket as well. (Should only be a problem for beginners or when there is strong winds)
- Distances are wrong on the tee signs that are there and haven't fallen apart
Other Thoughts: - Beginner course that would be boring for an advanced player
- There are benches throughout the park but not at the tees, they are located along the walking path and can be in the way on holes 10 and 11 when teeing off
- Drinking fountain by the tee pad of hole 10 is only turned on during the summer
- Holes 1-12 are short with well placed trees that give it a little bit of a challenge but not much
- Holes 13-18 are the longer holes but are wide open
- The course dries out quickly with the exception of hole 1 and around the basket of 2

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.