Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #12
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beginner Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: ontherun
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to find the first hole since it is next to the parking lot
- Park is well maintained
- Bathrooms
- Large concrete tees
- Easy to navigate for people new to the course with the exception of going to hole 11 to 12. There is a concrete tee slightly to the left and behind basket 11 that people tend to go to, so they end up throwing at basket 1. The tee for 12 is to the right, across the walking path and there is a tee sign for it
- Difficult to lose a disc. If you can't find your disc and you are next to the drainage creek, odds are you are going to have to walk/run downstream to find it
- The holes make the most out of the few trees there are on the course and can provide a slight challenge to newer players
- Fun ace runs
Cons: - There is a walking/bike path that is alongside the majority of holes
- Hole 6 has a busy road that plays to the left which may be a problem for beginners or when the wind kicks up
- The basket for 18 has a playground to the left, a backstop that is often used for baseball to the right and a swing set behind the basket. There are often kids walking in front of the basket as well. (Should only be a problem for beginners or when there is strong winds)
- Distances are wrong on the tee signs that are there and haven't fallen apart
Other Thoughts: - Beginner course that would be boring for an advanced player
- There are benches throughout the park but not at the tees, they are located along the walking path and can be in the way on holes 10 and 11 when teeing off
- Drinking fountain by the tee pad of hole 10 is only turned on during the summer
- Holes 1-12 are short with well placed trees that give it a little bit of a challenge but not much
- Holes 13-18 are the longer holes but are wide open
- The course dries out quickly with the exception of hole 1 and around the basket of 2

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

2-4    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: IBDKing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-A few benches on the jogging trail and near the pavilions
-Great place to bring beginners
-Optimal utilization of the few obstacles that are present in the park
-Start and stop near the main parking lot
-It is impossible to lose a disc
Cons: -Baskets are starting to age and lean a bit
-A few tee signs and "next tee" signs are missing
-There were a few boring open shots towards the end
-The course plays very close (and across) a somewhat busy sidewalk
Other Thoughts: This course was the first course I played on a while back. I am still a beginner, so note that these comments come from one who is still learning.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 L.L. Woods Review

2-4    11/29/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: DFWTX214
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of Good Looks.

Relatively easy to follow.

Great course for night golf. Open and a limited number of trees with a lot of choices for shots.

It would take an unfortunate miracle to lose a disc at this course.

Last few holes are long and open if you want to chunk one.

I'd give it a 3.5 as a night golf course and a 2.5 as a day course. I'll average those to 3 for an overall rating.
Cons: In the middle of a neighborhood on a long and narrow track.

A few baskets are very close together and could be annoying for anyone not familiar with the course.

Joggers and dog walkers using the trails woven between a good number of holes.

The only bathroom is near #1 and it is an open course in the middle of a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: The ground was hard and the grass short when I played this course. I noticed discs were skipping quite a bit more than my home courses. Players should be careful not to overthrow because of an unexpected skip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: yourmomrhymes
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners.
Wonderfully maintained park.
Very nice tee boxes.
Navigation is very easy thanks to signage.
Trees give most holes personality.
Generally very open, some holes have nothing between the tee box and basket.
Cons: Very easy.
Not a lot of variety.
Fairways are kinda close, but shouldn't be a problem if you can hit the fairway.
Not sure if the pictures on all the signs are accurate, but there is no problem finding the baskets from the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners.
Great course for more advanced players to work on their ace/birdie game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: papamullins
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is very well maintained. Grass is cut short, tee pads, baskets are in great shape. Signs at baskets pointing towards next tee.

This is a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, or take someone still learning the game. The course opens as you progress, allowing newer players to get a feel for shorter holes and then really drive from the tee.
Cons: Can get pretty busy during the weekends (lots of families, kids playing, people walking / biking on the sidewalks that roam throughout the course) so be sure it's clear before you throw (you should have no problem seeing from tee to basket on each hole).

Either some of the basket locations moved or some of the signs are wrong on distance.

Not a lot of variety here. It's very straightforward, a few holes with some landscaping (trees) mixed throughout, but that's about it.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I try to play this course at least once a week for a night round. LL Woods is an EXCELLENT course to play at night; it is very well maintained. There's no fear of throwing in "the rough" and then searching for your disc.

I think this is a great course to relax and practice your game. If you need more of a challenge, head across the highway to Lake Park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

2-4    3/15/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very clean and well kept park. The tee pads are more than long enough to tee off on. There are signs directing you to the next tee pad. As the title stats this is a beginner friendly course. All holes are easily attainable for par. #1 is a nice little hole that is thru the trees. Some of the baskets are guarded by trees, but not so much that you would be scared away. There are also some holes that on the backside of the basket it slopes downhill, so there is some risk reward on your approach/putt. The last 4-5 holes have decent length to them so you can air out your drives, but they aren't so long that you can't reach them in 2-3 shots. As previously stated there is basically no water threat, the drainage ditch could have some water in it, but it is not deep enough that you should loose a disc.
This course will not be all that challenging to an advanced/pro level player. Good for practicing medium range drives and up shots.
Cons: #4's basket was missing its sticker so there was some confusion as to what basket to aim for. There were a few holes that were missing the yardage signs.
Other Thoughts: Has a nice restroom facility in the middle of the park. There is also ample parking and a nice playground and basketball court for the family members that might not be into disc golf. This is the first course that I ever played on so this place is kinda special to me in a way. During the summer it can get crowded with other disc golfers and walkers. The first time I played here, summer of 2010, there was a school group having a picnic in the park and a kid tried to steal a friend of mines disc. I played here, 3-15-2011, in the morning on a weekday and there was no one playing but there were about 5 walkers, so be aware before you throw. Overall a great learners course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Beginner course

1    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 85  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Tee Boxes and signing. I always knew where to find the next Tee Box after I finished a hole.
-Great usage of limited space. A could see the city making it a 9 hole course based on the area they had, but they pulled all the stops and made a nice 18 hole course.
-Very clean park, well groomed.
Cons: Can get crowded at times, with people hanging out at the park and there were allot of fellow discers out there when I was there, maybe a sign that there should be another park in the area?
Other Thoughts: I am from the Austin area, and I was visiting some friends and they took me out to this park. I really enjoyed it, very friendly environment with a relaxed environment. Very good course to go have a chill game and/or practice. To me the first 12 holes were very much different from the last 6 holes, which made it interesting.
-I played this one in the winter and there were no leaves on the trees and all of the grass was dead. I wonder how the course would have been during the spring and/or summer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 Cleanest Courses

5+    8/31/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. This is one clean course. The park is very well maintained (I did see it once not mowed, but that was quickly fixed that weekend). There really is not any trash.

2. All tees clearly marked, and all pads are cemented. The "pseudo" creek is all cemented and never really fills with water. Very easy to get your disc.

3. There is plenty of parking and fairly easy to get to.

4. There are a couple of good holes that may be challenging.
Cons:
1. There really are not any obstacles, you can pretty much launch in any direction. There are a few trees but mostly get in the way if you mess up you mid-shot.

2. Rather short course, you can bomb almost every hole, except maybe the first one (its way too short and not very challenging, if you dont birdie that one, you will par it)

3. There are no elevational changes or challenging tee placements. Its pretty open.

4. It is a shared park so you will get kids as obstacles, along with joggers and even some homes. Ive landed one disc in someones back yard as well as their front yard.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course if your looking for good practice before you go onto the other side and play the lake. I play courses based on location and love it when its in pairs. 2 in lewisville, 2 in mckinney, 2 in cedar hill, dallas and garland (i count that as two also).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good starter course

5+    7/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park for the most part. Easy to get to and close to home. This was my first course to play. It is a great place to "learn" how to play. There are a couple of par 4's all the rest are par 3. Easy to make birdie on several holes. However several holes are harder to make par on.
Cons: Late in the afternoon at time you may have to throw over soccer players that play on hole # 17. Can usually play all holes in 45 minutes to an hour with no problem at all.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace run wet dream!

5+    2/27/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LL Woods is a very nice, well kept park surrounded by neighborhoods. It is a pretty short course, but very fun regardless. There are plenty of good ace run holes here. Nice concrete teepads, good baskets, and decent sinage. Couple of holes long enough to let it rip. This is a perfect course to play when other courses are going to be too crowded, or if you are playing both Lewisville courses is a day.
Cons: Mostly flat, wide open shots. Not a whole lot of variety. It is also not one of the more challenging courses in the area. The are usually quite a few non disc throwing pedestrians, so you need to be cautious when driving on certain holes. I don't play this course very often because when I'm in Lewisville, I prefer to play the Lake course.
Other Thoughts: LL Woods is a course worth playing. It's a perfect course to get your first ace, but you have to work for most of them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.