Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #6
3 / 333ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Saw Tyler Cook Ace Hole #18 @ LLWoods Feb9th,2016

5+    2/16/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LL Woods is a great course. Yes, flat, open and very few trees. Grass is generally well cut. Great park to learn your rollers. One restroom and 2 open drains. 2 water fountains, but only one works outside summer. It's a great day to day course, while we all await the return of the Lake Lewisville Course. LL Woods is a great course for Tuesday night minis, due to the Lewisville grounds crew cutting back all tree limbs to above head height.
Cons: LL Woods is very multi-use, but mostly you just have to watch for walkers and bicycle riders going through your lanes. LL Woods does not drain well around the baskets after any serious rain. Some say LL Woods is boring: without the scrub brush & water hazards to loose discs in, Mesquite thorns to bite you, steep hills, valleys, cliffs, mud and ankle busting holes to traverse, trees to curse as they raise your average and wait,,,, Most of those perps saying these things have no Aces at LL Woods either.
Other Thoughts: February 8th, I played a round with Vicky Robertson & Tyler Cook & a few others at LL Woods. The park was packed, we let 4-5 groups & singles play through. Tyler throws hard and was easily the best of our group. As we approached the 18th tee, the open field to our right, had well over 100 souls practicing on 4 soccer games, a little girls soccer training and a baseball practice. 2 preteen girls were kicking a ball very near the 18th basket, so we shouted to let them know we were teeing off. Tyler lead, but waited even longer for fear he would hit the girl closest to the basket. Finally he let rip his Innova Nuke wide & high over the soccer kids. It hit the basket so hard we could hear the chains from 327ft over the many kids soccer teams noise. When we stopped shouting to the newly formed Demi-God's powerful Ace, every single soccer practice had come to a halt and well over 100 Lewisville kids, parents and coaches were staring at us. The two latina girls saw it and were dancing off their swings. That magic is hard to describe. Yes, others have Ace #18 at LL Woods, but this was a first with so many now seeing the joy of why we throw discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing again

1    3/22/2014   3/28/2014
Review By: YoAdrian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice course/park that is maintained. Real easy to navigate except for maybe one hole transition. There's really no way you can lose a disc unless it falls in the creek, then it simply float downstream but when I went it wasn't even halfway full. Short and long holes throughout. Couple ace runs. Uses the trees real well.
Cons: Lots of holes don't have a sign or marker. Tee pads were okay but some were just awkward. The first half of the course is all short holes it seemed, got boring kinda quick but no big deal. Very occupied park, lots of people walking so had to pause a few times before throwing. One hole is right by a road so if you aren't that good very possible to interfere with cars. Last hole is by the playground, can be dangerous if kids are playing around it.
Other Thoughts: Overall nice course. It's kept clean and mowed. This course is more on the beginner side but has it's holes to try and challenge you. They did a great job of using the trees it has as obstacles. The short holes are very aceable which help keep it fun. And there no fear of losing a disc. I'll for sure come back again

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: jermlac
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course was very well maintained, drained well after lots of rain, easy to get too from the highway. the drainage ditch that goes through the park is concrete so if you loose your disc, it's easy to hop in and get it, then get back out without sliding in mud.
Cons: after a week of rain, hole 1 was pretty muddy, as was hole 3, but the rest where in excellent shape. it is a multi use park so the walking path cuts between the tee and the pin on several holes. could be difficult on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: as a beginner, i think this was a great course for me to play on. i went out on a friday morning that was lightly raining off and on, not enough to worry about getting soaked in. the tee pads are easy to find, but the pins that go to each tee pad are not always clearly defined in the signs. it was a little difficult for our first time, but i'm sure as i go in the future, it will not be a problem to navigate and point out pins for each hole.

also, hole 18 shoots directly at the swing set so if you've got a long drive, you might need to watch your discs between player shots to make sure a kid does not run off with your disc or get in the way of your shots as your finishing up.

i think this would be a great course for an evening round or to build your confidence and distance (especially on holes 15-18).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course

5+    7/5/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained.
-Tee boxes and holes are in good places for the size of the park.
-Great place for new players.
-You feel good about yourself after playing here. Even par is not too hard.
Cons: -A little short.
-Multipurpose park, so it can get crowded.
-No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Great place to gear up for something more difficult. I started playing on this course. I have not played any other course that I would recommend more to new players. You can play the course fast. Cannot lose a disc here. You should play this before playing lewisville lake park. Gets windy toward the last few holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and Fun

5+    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: skipbo1
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Park and clean and has Bathrooms. Easy to find your way around the course.
Cons: Hole 18 needs to be moved away from ball field and playground area.
Other Thoughts: its a fun simple course to play. I like the park. I think this is the best course in the Dallas area. .NOTE HOLE 16 is missing the top part of basket and chains.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

5+    1/17/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course doesn't take long to play at all. If you have other plans, but you want to squeeze a quick round in, this is a good one. Great practice course, as you can use every throw type on every hole. It is easy to follow due to the signs next to all the baskets. Nice park with friendly people. The course is also a nice little walk.
Cons: Not a lot worng with it. The sidewalk does go through the middle of the course, but I played on a Saturday, and there was hardly any traffic. Some signs were missing, but you can see every basket from the tee. 18 is close to the playground, but it isn't too bad, the kids stay in the playground...just play to the basket and you won't hit them.
Other Thoughts: Great course to start on I would think. Like I said this course is perfect for practice. I will continue to play it from time to time. Everyone isfriendly, so don't be shy.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/19/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2008
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you're looking for an open course where you can really air out some discs then this is it.

There is a shallow concrete drainage ditch that snakes throught the course and provides a posted OB to avoid.

It has good concrete tee pads and signs.

It has a good variety of distances from 180' to 450'.

The out and back twice design means you can play half a round in a hurry if you need to.
Cons: This could be an excellent course if it had a few more trees. It does'nt have enough shade to protect golfers from the brutal Texas summer sun.

Some of the posted distances and pars are obviously not accurate which means some of the baskets have probably been relocated since the signs were put in.

A sidewalk snakes right down through the middle of the course and you are always having to wait for pedestrians to pass before throwing.
Other Thoughts: This course makes a great counterpart to it's heavily wooded big sister course, Lake Lewisville.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.