Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 294ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
"Pro" tee marker for hole #5, very tough to find these unless you know where they are



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Saw Tyler Cook Ace Hole #18 @ LLWoods Feb9th,2016

5+    2/16/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LL Woods is a great course. Yes, flat, open and very few trees. Grass is generally well cut. Great park to learn your rollers. One restroom and 2 open drains. 2 water fountains, but only one works outside summer. It's a great day to day course, while we all await the return of the Lake Lewisville Course. LL Woods is a great course for Tuesday night minis, due to the Lewisville grounds crew cutting back all tree limbs to above head height.
Cons: LL Woods is very multi-use, but mostly you just have to watch for walkers and bicycle riders going through your lanes. LL Woods does not drain well around the baskets after any serious rain. Some say LL Woods is boring: without the scrub brush & water hazards to loose discs in, Mesquite thorns to bite you, steep hills, valleys, cliffs, mud and ankle busting holes to traverse, trees to curse as they raise your average and wait,,,, Most of those perps saying these things have no Aces at LL Woods either.
Other Thoughts: February 8th, I played a round with Vicky Robertson & Tyler Cook & a few others at LL Woods. The park was packed, we let 4-5 groups & singles play through. Tyler throws hard and was easily the best of our group. As we approached the 18th tee, the open field to our right, had well over 100 souls practicing on 4 soccer games, a little girls soccer training and a baseball practice. 2 preteen girls were kicking a ball very near the 18th basket, so we shouted to let them know we were teeing off. Tyler lead, but waited even longer for fear he would hit the girl closest to the basket. Finally he let rip his Innova Nuke wide & high over the soccer kids. It hit the basket so hard we could hear the chains from 327ft over the many kids soccer teams noise. When we stopped shouting to the newly formed Demi-God's powerful Ace, every single soccer practice had come to a halt and well over 100 Lewisville kids, parents and coaches were staring at us. The two latina girls saw it and were dancing off their swings. That magic is hard to describe. Yes, others have Ace #18 at LL Woods, but this was a first with so many now seeing the joy of why we throw discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/21/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: CSuther
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Nice, clean park
Great for beginners
Easy to navigate
Cons: Lots of pedestrians
Extremely simple course. Every hole is so wide open that it quickly got boring.
No cons other than that. It is as nice as it could possibly be for the design, but the design is a simple, easy, open course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course For Newbees

1    11/25/2014   3/25/2015
Review By: Mr. Limu
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate, clear open shots, nice walk. Located in great neighborhood. Lots of fun.
Cons: Be careful of drainage ditch that runs along first few baskets you will lose disc.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again very soon.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

1    2/12/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Several fun shots
- Well maintained
- Lots of trash cans and easy parking
Cons: - Very basic course
- Busy park with lots of people walking through fairways
- Got boring quick (not a lot of variety)
Other Thoughts: Good effort at a neighborhood course. Definitely has the beginner/rec player in mind. Advance and above should look at some the other area courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing again

1    3/22/2014   3/28/2014
Review By: YoAdrian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice course/park that is maintained. Real easy to navigate except for maybe one hole transition. There's really no way you can lose a disc unless it falls in the creek, then it simply float downstream but when I went it wasn't even halfway full. Short and long holes throughout. Couple ace runs. Uses the trees real well.
Cons: Lots of holes don't have a sign or marker. Tee pads were okay but some were just awkward. The first half of the course is all short holes it seemed, got boring kinda quick but no big deal. Very occupied park, lots of people walking so had to pause a few times before throwing. One hole is right by a road so if you aren't that good very possible to interfere with cars. Last hole is by the playground, can be dangerous if kids are playing around it.
Other Thoughts: Overall nice course. It's kept clean and mowed. This course is more on the beginner side but has it's holes to try and challenge you. They did a great job of using the trees it has as obstacles. The short holes are very aceable which help keep it fun. And there no fear of losing a disc. I'll for sure come back again

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: ontherun
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to find the first hole since it is next to the parking lot
- Park is well maintained
- Bathrooms
- Large concrete tees
- Easy to navigate for people new to the course with the exception of going to hole 11 to 12. There is a concrete tee slightly to the left and behind basket 11 that people tend to go to, so they end up throwing at basket 1. The tee for 12 is to the right, across the walking path and there is a tee sign for it
- Difficult to lose a disc. If you can't find your disc and you are next to the drainage creek, odds are you are going to have to walk/run downstream to find it
- The holes make the most out of the few trees there are on the course and can provide a slight challenge to newer players
- Fun ace runs
Cons: - There is a walking/bike path that is alongside the majority of holes
- Hole 6 has a busy road that plays to the left which may be a problem for beginners or when the wind kicks up
- The basket for 18 has a playground to the left, a backstop that is often used for baseball to the right and a swing set behind the basket. There are often kids walking in front of the basket as well. (Should only be a problem for beginners or when there is strong winds)
- Distances are wrong on the tee signs that are there and haven't fallen apart
Other Thoughts: - Beginner course that would be boring for an advanced player
- There are benches throughout the park but not at the tees, they are located along the walking path and can be in the way on holes 10 and 11 when teeing off
- Drinking fountain by the tee pad of hole 10 is only turned on during the summer
- Holes 1-12 are short with well placed trees that give it a little bit of a challenge but not much
- Holes 13-18 are the longer holes but are wide open
- The course dries out quickly with the exception of hole 1 and around the basket of 2

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great for beginners

2-4    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: IBDKing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-A few benches on the jogging trail and near the pavilions
-Great place to bring beginners
-Optimal utilization of the few obstacles that are present in the park
-Start and stop near the main parking lot
-It is impossible to lose a disc
Cons: -Baskets are starting to age and lean a bit
-A few tee signs and "next tee" signs are missing
-There were a few boring open shots towards the end
-The course plays very close (and across) a somewhat busy sidewalk
Other Thoughts: This course was the first course I played on a while back. I am still a beginner, so note that these comments come from one who is still learning.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course In DFW!

5+    2/21/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 2/23/2013
6 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Flowing water in canals is never more than a few inches deep.
Avg play time for our group of 4 usually runs about 45 minutes.
In addition to its routine maintenance, various areas have been spray painted to mark future additions and modifications to enhance the course's features!
Cons: Sidewalk comes into play on most holes so once or twice you may have to wait a minute for a sweet elderly couple to pass clear. Playground and practice field can occasionally make hole 18 a unique challenge.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1: Aceable, short-drive/long midrange shot through trees with a clear cut path. Path arched left like a ")" *Don't overthrow*.
Hole #2: Aceable. Easy-drive distance with a left or right split depending on how you throw. *Sidewalk on right*
Hole#3: Straight and longer than previous holes. Basket surrounded by trees but birdie-able. *You'll hit the canal if you drive far left or overshoot a putt*.
Hole #4: Aceable. Split left/right for your choice of throw. *Keep throw low to avoid low branches*
Hole#5: Long-open and off-centered to the right. *Canal on runs along the left of the fairway*
Hole#6: Long-straight. *Tough drop-off behind basket into canal so easy on the putts*
Hole#7: Straight. Basket on a slight slope. *Canal runs along the right of the fairway and encircles the basket.*
Hole#8: Straight with trees lining left fairway and canal on right. *A usual headwind on this hole can send your disc way right or left so keep it low.*
Hole#9: Straight with trees left of the basket. Open and easy to carve your own flightpath.
Hole#10: Long-slight left- trees divide the fairway into a 2 halves (basket half/tee half). *Street on left lined with trees*
Hole #11: Straight and relatively narrow. *Low hung tree just past the tee...street on left lined with trees. Sidewalk and Tee#4 on right.*
Hole#12: Last of the 'shorter holes'. Straight but a wide shot due to the tree in the middle. *If you choose to go through the middle, keep it low!!!*
Hole#13: Long, straight w/ slight right. *We play this as a par 4 because the tall trees in the middle can be bitches*
Hole #14: Very long. Bomb shot. Restrooms on left hand side force a drive rightward as opposed to launching it wrecklessly.
Hole #15: Straight and across a ditch. *Big tree behind basket so don't overthrow*
Hole #16: Long-Straight-Bomb Shot. Trees spaced out along left fairway. *Sun setting can get right in the eyes on this shot*
Hole #17: Very long- very open. Let it fly baby! *Ditch beyond basket and slight-slope.*
Hole#18: Straight *Practice field on right and playground 10 o'clock to the basket. So watch unattended child who may have wandered toward the basket.*


6 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  L.L. Woods Review

2-4    11/29/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: DFWTX214
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of Good Looks.

Relatively easy to follow.

Great course for night golf. Open and a limited number of trees with a lot of choices for shots.

It would take an unfortunate miracle to lose a disc at this course.

Last few holes are long and open if you want to chunk one.

I'd give it a 3.5 as a night golf course and a 2.5 as a day course. I'll average those to 3 for an overall rating.
Cons: In the middle of a neighborhood on a long and narrow track.

A few baskets are very close together and could be annoying for anyone not familiar with the course.

Joggers and dog walkers using the trails woven between a good number of holes.

The only bathroom is near #1 and it is an open course in the middle of a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: The ground was hard and the grass short when I played this course. I noticed discs were skipping quite a bit more than my home courses. Players should be careful not to overthrow because of an unexpected skip.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shabby

1    11/12/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 139  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice flat beginner or refresher course
Appears to be well groomed and tree maintenance is current
Cons: No apparent course map available
Most of the tee maps and guide markers appear to be broken or missing
No marked baskets
Some baskets too close to others and being unmarked makes them impossible to tell which one to throw to
Would be nice to have alternate tee or basket options - plenty of room for that
Other Thoughts: This course was very frustrating to play for the first time since no map was available and the tee makers, maps, and basket markers were often missing. Otherwise this could be a decent beginner 18 basket course since it's nice and flat but often challenged by wind.

Please PM me if you find this or any of my other reviews "not helpful". I'm just posting my oppinion which is what reviewing should be about. I don't think anything I posted was untrue about the course, if you are to play the course today for the first time without a map, I'm sure you would run into much of the same issues that myself and the folks I was playing with did above. Not trying to offend anyone. I appreciate constructive feedback so I can improve future reviews for this and other courses. Thanks!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.