Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #12
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Excellent Beginner course

1    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 97  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Tee Boxes and signing. I always knew where to find the next Tee Box after I finished a hole.
-Great usage of limited space. A could see the city making it a 9 hole course based on the area they had, but they pulled all the stops and made a nice 18 hole course.
-Very clean park, well groomed.
Cons: Can get crowded at times, with people hanging out at the park and there were allot of fellow discers out there when I was there, maybe a sign that there should be another park in the area?
Other Thoughts: I am from the Austin area, and I was visiting some friends and they took me out to this park. I really enjoyed it, very friendly environment with a relaxed environment. Very good course to go have a chill game and/or practice. To me the first 12 holes were very much different from the last 6 holes, which made it interesting.
-I played this one in the winter and there were no leaves on the trees and all of the grass was dead. I wonder how the course would have been during the spring and/or summer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 L.L. Woods Rundown!!!

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-T-signs
-Well manicured and very, very clean
-Nice surrounding neighborhood
-Shot Variety (80%mids and 20%drivers from box, anis, hyzers, and str8 line shots)
-Water fountain at hole 10 or something was cool to see (refill station if you will)
Cons: -Lots of park traffic
-Pretty bland course...not much terrain variety
-Mostly short holes.
Other Thoughts: Really decent course. Fun to play and great for beginners. Not much to it, but it does offer everything you might want in a small course -- spotty trees, water hazard (if played as so), slight elevation changes mostly found around baskets, mostly short drives with last few holes being of decent size. Good use of the space given.

Great midrange practice course with not-so-long fairways and spotty trees. Also would make a great course for glow games. You wont be losing discs out here.

Easy course to find your way around and it also has a nice flow to it. If you're in the area I'd say it's worth stopping by.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 Cleanest Courses

5+    8/31/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 133  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. This is one clean course. The park is very well maintained (I did see it once not mowed, but that was quickly fixed that weekend). There really is not any trash.

2. All tees clearly marked, and all pads are cemented. The "pseudo" creek is all cemented and never really fills with water. Very easy to get your disc.

3. There is plenty of parking and fairly easy to get to.

4. There are a couple of good holes that may be challenging.
Cons:
1. There really are not any obstacles, you can pretty much launch in any direction. There are a few trees but mostly get in the way if you mess up you mid-shot.

2. Rather short course, you can bomb almost every hole, except maybe the first one (its way too short and not very challenging, if you dont birdie that one, you will par it)

3. There are no elevational changes or challenging tee placements. Its pretty open.

4. It is a shared park so you will get kids as obstacles, along with joggers and even some homes. Ive landed one disc in someones back yard as well as their front yard.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course if your looking for good practice before you go onto the other side and play the lake. I play courses based on location and love it when its in pairs. 2 in lewisville, 2 in mckinney, 2 in cedar hill, dallas and garland (i count that as two also).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good starter course

5+    7/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park for the most part. Easy to get to and close to home. This was my first course to play. It is a great place to "learn" how to play. There are a couple of par 4's all the rest are par 3. Easy to make birdie on several holes. However several holes are harder to make par on.
Cons: Late in the afternoon at time you may have to throw over soccer players that play on hole # 17. Can usually play all holes in 45 minutes to an hour with no problem at all.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: jermlac
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course was very well maintained, drained well after lots of rain, easy to get too from the highway. the drainage ditch that goes through the park is concrete so if you loose your disc, it's easy to hop in and get it, then get back out without sliding in mud.
Cons: after a week of rain, hole 1 was pretty muddy, as was hole 3, but the rest where in excellent shape. it is a multi use park so the walking path cuts between the tee and the pin on several holes. could be difficult on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: as a beginner, i think this was a great course for me to play on. i went out on a friday morning that was lightly raining off and on, not enough to worry about getting soaked in. the tee pads are easy to find, but the pins that go to each tee pad are not always clearly defined in the signs. it was a little difficult for our first time, but i'm sure as i go in the future, it will not be a problem to navigate and point out pins for each hole.

also, hole 18 shoots directly at the swing set so if you've got a long drive, you might need to watch your discs between player shots to make sure a kid does not run off with your disc or get in the way of your shots as your finishing up.

i think this would be a great course for an evening round or to build your confidence and distance (especially on holes 15-18).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Course

5+    7/5/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained.
-Tee boxes and holes are in good places for the size of the park.
-Great place for new players.
-You feel good about yourself after playing here. Even par is not too hard.
Cons: -A little short.
-Multipurpose park, so it can get crowded.
-No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Great place to gear up for something more difficult. I started playing on this course. I have not played any other course that I would recommend more to new players. You can play the course fast. Cannot lose a disc here. You should play this before playing lewisville lake park. Gets windy toward the last few holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice course when muddy

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: txsarge
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice and open playing field for New players / Clean / Does not get to muddy after it rains for a long time / Nice people to talk to while playing / In a nice area for a course.
Cons: Half the holes are not marked / Some of the holes that are marked are not marked all the well / Cops are not seen very much

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Misunderstood Course

5+    6/20/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Always well maintained, well drained. Baskets in ok to good shape.

this course can be either very easy or harder than the lake course depending on the rules you decide to play.

If you play:
-throw from wherever it hits the ground? it's easy
-marked OB areas (the drainage canals + the roads, etc) are actually treated OB? a little harder
-the concrete paths running through are also OB? challenging
-Concrete paths and beyond are OB? EXTREMELY HARD course

If you still think the course is two easy? I don't want to play you for money.

DD put on a tournament not to long ago, and the winners of both divisions they interviewed said they thought LL woods was hands down the harder course because they played by the hardest set of rules.
easy to find groups playing
Cons: some of the holes are on the uncreative side, there's kids playing behind 18
Other Thoughts: You'll (almost) never loose a disc here

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Practice anyone?

5+    12/22/2009   3/26/2010
Review By: Cheese
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tee boxes, well maintained, easy to follow layout. There should also be no reason you should ever lose a disc here.
Cons: No really challenging holes. Sometimes the park gets crowded by non-disc golf players.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play to get some quick practice worked in.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ace run wet dream!

5+    2/27/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LL Woods is a very nice, well kept park surrounded by neighborhoods. It is a pretty short course, but very fun regardless. There are plenty of good ace run holes here. Nice concrete teepads, good baskets, and decent sinage. Couple of holes long enough to let it rip. This is a perfect course to play when other courses are going to be too crowded, or if you are playing both Lewisville courses is a day.
Cons: Mostly flat, wide open shots. Not a whole lot of variety. It is also not one of the more challenging courses in the area. The are usually quite a few non disc throwing pedestrians, so you need to be cautious when driving on certain holes. I don't play this course very often because when I'm in Lewisville, I prefer to play the Lake course.
Other Thoughts: LL Woods is a course worth playing. It's a perfect course to get your first ace, but you have to work for most of them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.