Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #9
3 / 273ft.   3 / 399ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
A pretty nice residential course for beginners

1    8/1/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far the most beginner-friendly course I've played in DFW since I picked up disc golf in June (I've also been to Denton, Bear Creek, Turner Park and Trophy Club). This can potentially be a con for more experienced players who are seeking a challenge. However, for newer players, L.L. Woods offers an easier intro to the sport.

Nearly impossible to lose/mess up discs on this course.

I encountered no hazardous wildlife.

Next tee location is marked with a red sign near the end of each hole. SUPER helpful for first-timers on the course.

Great course to introduce new players to disc golf.

Course appears to be well-maintained by the city of Lewisville, as it is a rather busy residential park.
Cons: Advanced players will most likely be bored by this course, as you really only need a RHBH and forehand to score well here. There's maybe one hole which actually requires a hyzer to get through onto the fairway reliably and anny's/anny flex shots are just extra credit on this course.

Located in a residential area. The park is mostly used by other visitors who are not disc golfers, so be sure and watch where you're throwing! Lots of people pushing strollers and Pokemon Go players.

Most holes have very limited tree coverage, so get there early in the day during warmer months.
Other Thoughts:
Probably the best beginner course in DFW. The course isn't super long, but has some holes which allow you to let her rip. I can see L.L. Woods getting a bit stale with a lot of repeated play, but this is definitely a great place for less experienced/intermediate players to hone their basic throwing form. Worth the 25-minute drive to play 18 here.

EDIT: My dad and I played this course on a Saturday morning and we just left after the front 9 or so holes. We got to the park at 7:30 a.m. and immediately encountered heavy foot traffic beginning at the 2nd tee. We had to wait for pedestrians using the walking path to clear out before every other shot. We seriously spent about 20 minutes (of the 90 we were there) waiting on people to walk, slowly, out of our line of sight. Not a single pedestrian ever acknowledged our existence. We were nothing but cordial, yet the locals treated us more like an annoyance. It was a really weird experience, since we normally have only positive interactions with other people during our rounds. It's Texas. We're all pretty nice here, but L.L. Woods felt like the streets of NYC this particular morning. That being said, I've only had this experience at L.L. Woods the one time and it won't affect my review of the course. However, I'd probably avoid this park on the weekends during the summer. Too many local pedestrians are using it who will just treat you like an outsider.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Morning

2-4    7/27/2016   7/27/2016
Review By: Prost
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly wide open; Good mix of long and short holes; Signage points out the next tee pad when unclear; Always lots of people playing; Well maintained
Cons: Last third of the course is in the field, so in the summer it is hot; Not very technically difficult; Some of the distance signage is broken or unreadable; Can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for me because I'm in the relearning phase of disc golf. Because of the relatively easy layout and wide open course layout I was able to concentrate on throwing straight and work on my form while still playing a round. There is also almost no way to lose a disc on this course, which is a bonus for me since I'm notorious for losing them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Saw Tyler Cook Ace Hole #18 @ LLWoods Feb9th,2016

5+    2/16/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LL Woods is a great course. Yes, flat, open and very few trees. Grass is generally well cut. Great park to learn your rollers. One restroom and 2 open drains. 2 water fountains, but only one works outside summer. It's a great day to day course, while we all await the return of the Lake Lewisville Course. LL Woods is a great course for Tuesday night minis, due to the Lewisville grounds crew cutting back all tree limbs to above head height.
Cons: LL Woods is very multi-use, but mostly you just have to watch for walkers and bicycle riders going through your lanes. LL Woods does not drain well around the baskets after any serious rain. Some say LL Woods is boring: without the scrub brush & water hazards to loose discs in, Mesquite thorns to bite you, steep hills, valleys, cliffs, mud and ankle busting holes to traverse, trees to curse as they raise your average and wait,,,, Most of those perps saying these things have no Aces at LL Woods either.
Other Thoughts: February 8th, I played a round with Vicky Robertson & Tyler Cook & a few others at LL Woods. The park was packed, we let 4-5 groups & singles play through. Tyler throws hard and was easily the best of our group. As we approached the 18th tee, the open field to our right, had well over 100 souls practicing on 4 soccer games, a little girls soccer training and a baseball practice. 2 preteen girls were kicking a ball very near the 18th basket, so we shouted to let them know we were teeing off. Tyler lead, but waited even longer for fear he would hit the girl closest to the basket. Finally he let rip his Innova Nuke wide & high over the soccer kids. It hit the basket so hard we could hear the chains from 327ft over the many kids soccer teams noise. When we stopped shouting to the newly formed Demi-God's powerful Ace, every single soccer practice had come to a halt and well over 100 Lewisville kids, parents and coaches were staring at us. The two latina girls saw it and were dancing off their swings. That magic is hard to describe. Yes, others have Ace #18 at LL Woods, but this was a first with so many now seeing the joy of why we throw discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    11/21/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: CSuther
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Nice, clean park
Great for beginners
Easy to navigate
Cons: Lots of pedestrians
Extremely simple course. Every hole is so wide open that it quickly got boring.
No cons other than that. It is as nice as it could possibly be for the design, but the design is a simple, easy, open course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course For Newbees

1    11/25/2014   3/25/2015
Review By: Mr. Limu
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate, clear open shots, nice walk. Located in great neighborhood. Lots of fun.
Cons: Be careful of drainage ditch that runs along first few baskets you will lose disc.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again very soon.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just OK

1    2/12/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Several fun shots
- Well maintained
- Lots of trash cans and easy parking
Cons: - Very basic course
- Busy park with lots of people walking through fairways
- Got boring quick (not a lot of variety)
Other Thoughts: Good effort at a neighborhood course. Definitely has the beginner/rec player in mind. Advance and above should look at some the other area courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing again

1    3/22/2014   3/28/2014
Review By: YoAdrian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice course/park that is maintained. Real easy to navigate except for maybe one hole transition. There's really no way you can lose a disc unless it falls in the creek, then it simply float downstream but when I went it wasn't even halfway full. Short and long holes throughout. Couple ace runs. Uses the trees real well.
Cons: Lots of holes don't have a sign or marker. Tee pads were okay but some were just awkward. The first half of the course is all short holes it seemed, got boring kinda quick but no big deal. Very occupied park, lots of people walking so had to pause a few times before throwing. One hole is right by a road so if you aren't that good very possible to interfere with cars. Last hole is by the playground, can be dangerous if kids are playing around it.
Other Thoughts: Overall nice course. It's kept clean and mowed. This course is more on the beginner side but has it's holes to try and challenge you. They did a great job of using the trees it has as obstacles. The short holes are very aceable which help keep it fun. And there no fear of losing a disc. I'll for sure come back again

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: ontherun
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to find the first hole since it is next to the parking lot
- Park is well maintained
- Bathrooms
- Large concrete tees
- Easy to navigate for people new to the course with the exception of going to hole 11 to 12. There is a concrete tee slightly to the left and behind basket 11 that people tend to go to, so they end up throwing at basket 1. The tee for 12 is to the right, across the walking path and there is a tee sign for it
- Difficult to lose a disc. If you can't find your disc and you are next to the drainage creek, odds are you are going to have to walk/run downstream to find it
- The holes make the most out of the few trees there are on the course and can provide a slight challenge to newer players
- Fun ace runs
Cons: - There is a walking/bike path that is alongside the majority of holes
- Hole 6 has a busy road that plays to the left which may be a problem for beginners or when the wind kicks up
- The basket for 18 has a playground to the left, a backstop that is often used for baseball to the right and a swing set behind the basket. There are often kids walking in front of the basket as well. (Should only be a problem for beginners or when there is strong winds)
- Distances are wrong on the tee signs that are there and haven't fallen apart
Other Thoughts: - Beginner course that would be boring for an advanced player
- There are benches throughout the park but not at the tees, they are located along the walking path and can be in the way on holes 10 and 11 when teeing off
- Drinking fountain by the tee pad of hole 10 is only turned on during the summer
- Holes 1-12 are short with well placed trees that give it a little bit of a challenge but not much
- Holes 13-18 are the longer holes but are wide open
- The course dries out quickly with the exception of hole 1 and around the basket of 2

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great for beginners

2-4    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: IBDKing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-A few benches on the jogging trail and near the pavilions
-Great place to bring beginners
-Optimal utilization of the few obstacles that are present in the park
-Start and stop near the main parking lot
-It is impossible to lose a disc
Cons: -Baskets are starting to age and lean a bit
-A few tee signs and "next tee" signs are missing
-There were a few boring open shots towards the end
-The course plays very close (and across) a somewhat busy sidewalk
Other Thoughts: This course was the first course I played on a while back. I am still a beginner, so note that these comments come from one who is still learning.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Course In DFW!

5+    2/21/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 2/23/2013
6 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Flowing water in canals is never more than a few inches deep.
Avg play time for our group of 4 usually runs about 45 minutes.
In addition to its routine maintenance, various areas have been spray painted to mark future additions and modifications to enhance the course's features!
Cons: Sidewalk comes into play on most holes so once or twice you may have to wait a minute for a sweet elderly couple to pass clear. Playground and practice field can occasionally make hole 18 a unique challenge.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1: Aceable, short-drive/long midrange shot through trees with a clear cut path. Path arched left like a ")" *Don't overthrow*.
Hole #2: Aceable. Easy-drive distance with a left or right split depending on how you throw. *Sidewalk on right*
Hole#3: Straight and longer than previous holes. Basket surrounded by trees but birdie-able. *You'll hit the canal if you drive far left or overshoot a putt*.
Hole #4: Aceable. Split left/right for your choice of throw. *Keep throw low to avoid low branches*
Hole#5: Long-open and off-centered to the right. *Canal on runs along the left of the fairway*
Hole#6: Long-straight. *Tough drop-off behind basket into canal so easy on the putts*
Hole#7: Straight. Basket on a slight slope. *Canal runs along the right of the fairway and encircles the basket.*
Hole#8: Straight with trees lining left fairway and canal on right. *A usual headwind on this hole can send your disc way right or left so keep it low.*
Hole#9: Straight with trees left of the basket. Open and easy to carve your own flightpath.
Hole#10: Long-slight left- trees divide the fairway into a 2 halves (basket half/tee half). *Street on left lined with trees*
Hole #11: Straight and relatively narrow. *Low hung tree just past the tee...street on left lined with trees. Sidewalk and Tee#4 on right.*
Hole#12: Last of the 'shorter holes'. Straight but a wide shot due to the tree in the middle. *If you choose to go through the middle, keep it low!!!*
Hole#13: Long, straight w/ slight right. *We play this as a par 4 because the tall trees in the middle can be bitches*
Hole #14: Very long. Bomb shot. Restrooms on left hand side force a drive rightward as opposed to launching it wrecklessly.
Hole #15: Straight and across a ditch. *Big tree behind basket so don't overthrow*
Hole #16: Long-Straight-Bomb Shot. Trees spaced out along left fairway. *Sun setting can get right in the eyes on this shot*
Hole #17: Very long- very open. Let it fly baby! *Ditch beyond basket and slight-slope.*
Hole#18: Straight *Practice field on right and playground 10 o'clock to the basket. So watch unattended child who may have wandered toward the basket.*

6 of 20 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.