Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #14
4 / 444ft.   3 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  L.L. Woods Review

2-4    11/29/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: DFWTX214
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of Good Looks.

Relatively easy to follow.

Great course for night golf. Open and a limited number of trees with a lot of choices for shots.

It would take an unfortunate miracle to lose a disc at this course.

Last few holes are long and open if you want to chunk one.

I'd give it a 3.5 as a night golf course and a 2.5 as a day course. I'll average those to 3 for an overall rating.
Cons: In the middle of a neighborhood on a long and narrow track.

A few baskets are very close together and could be annoying for anyone not familiar with the course.

Joggers and dog walkers using the trails woven between a good number of holes.

The only bathroom is near #1 and it is an open course in the middle of a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: The ground was hard and the grass short when I played this course. I noticed discs were skipping quite a bit more than my home courses. Players should be careful not to overthrow because of an unexpected skip.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shabby

1    11/12/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 155  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice flat beginner or refresher course
Appears to be well groomed and tree maintenance is current
Cons: No apparent course map available
Most of the tee maps and guide markers appear to be broken or missing
No marked baskets
Some baskets too close to others and being unmarked makes them impossible to tell which one to throw to
Would be nice to have alternate tee or basket options - plenty of room for that
Other Thoughts: This course was very frustrating to play for the first time since no map was available and the tee makers, maps, and basket markers were often missing. Otherwise this could be a decent beginner 18 basket course since it's nice and flat but often challenged by wind.

Please PM me if you find this or any of my other reviews "not helpful". I'm just posting my oppinion which is what reviewing should be about. I don't think anything I posted was untrue about the course, if you are to play the course today for the first time without a map, I'm sure you would run into much of the same issues that myself and the folks I was playing with did above. Not trying to offend anyone. I appreciate constructive feedback so I can improve future reviews for this and other courses. Thanks!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course in city park

1    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: thejake78
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very nice teepads, no complaints about them being too short.
- Course is in a well-kept city park in a nice neighborhood. Grass is mowed
- Fairly easy to navigate as a first-timer; course generally has good flow from hole to hole, and most of the baskets have signage nearby pointing to the next tee
- A few interesting shots taking into account the (dry today) drainage ditch that runs through the park: #5 plays as an island hole surrounded by the ditch, #7 pin sits a few feet in front of the ditch adding a bit of risk.
Cons: - The course plays on either side of a walking/jogging/biking path (marked as OB) which was in use constantly while I was there. Beware the pedestrians/bicyclers.
- A few signs are missing or damaged; some do have some questionable distances listed. The course map on this site seems to have pretty accurate distances listed.
- The course is pretty level elevation-wise.
- There are trees around most of the course, but nothing that would give a technical feel or provide much in the way of challenging lines. #14-18 in particular are fairly wide open.
- All but two holes are under 400ft in length, and half are under 300ft. Big arms won't get much use out here, which would be a "con" for some.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call this either a technical course or a place to really air out some throws, but it definitely would be a good place for a beginner, or anyone just looking for relatively quick round. It seems like this course be a decent warm-up for Lake Lewisville DCG. This is a course that would be difficult to hate or to really love.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice

2-4    3/26/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/7/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its a great course for people new to the game
It will be impossible to lose a disc
It has great up keep
Nice concrete tees
Bathrooms
Water fountains
Benches

Great warmup course for Lake Lewisville
Cons: People everywhere, be careful not to hit them
No elevation changes
All holes are straight forward
Very open
Other Thoughts: Look this is a VERY straight forward course! It is easy to navigate from hole to hole and you can always see the basket you are shooting for. This course is ideal for those who are just starting to play and trying to learn as it is very open and doesn't have too many trees to avoid. For those who have been playing a while this course will just be simple and kind of boring...but to help you can play sidewalks OB to help narrow the field and give a little more challenge. If you play this before the lake it does make a good warm up course.

Note - I would appreciate not getting thumbs down because I didn't "praise" this course, it is what it is.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    10/29/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice use of available land. Pretty neat layout in the middle of a neighborhood. Lots of straight shots. Pretty much bombing or buzzing. Lots more challenging and fun with tourney obs. Hole 5 is more fun as an island hole. Store right around the corner. Restrooms
Cons: Just an average course. Definitely played worse. Flat. No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Nice combo with lake park. Not really busy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

1    10/22/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course made the most of what it has. Trees are in the perfect place to present a challenge, lots of chances to work on your annhyzer shots. Shorter holes make this a great warm up course before lake lewisville
Cons: It seems some of the baskets were moved after the signs were installed. The distances and pin placements seem off in many cases, and some signs are missing altogether.
Other Thoughts: Loved this course, Im 100% amateur, playong for fun and this course was the perfect challenge for my level of skill. Lots of birdie chances here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The coarse comes with training wheels

5+    10/6/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy course with a good lay out. Nice and open with almost zero chance of losing a disc. I often use this course to work on my technique or to break in new discs
Cons: This will bore the veteran/pro player. If seen multiple -10 scores registered. The park can become congested at times with youth sports practices and general park goers. Always Remember - obliviates have the right of way
Other Thoughts: If you're a beginner, get to this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: yourmomrhymes
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners.
Wonderfully maintained park.
Very nice tee boxes.
Navigation is very easy thanks to signage.
Trees give most holes personality.
Generally very open, some holes have nothing between the tee box and basket.
Cons: Very easy.
Not a lot of variety.
Fairways are kinda close, but shouldn't be a problem if you can hit the fairway.
Not sure if the pictures on all the signs are accurate, but there is no problem finding the baskets from the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners.
Great course for more advanced players to work on their ace/birdie game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: papamullins
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is very well maintained. Grass is cut short, tee pads, baskets are in great shape. Signs at baskets pointing towards next tee.

This is a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, or take someone still learning the game. The course opens as you progress, allowing newer players to get a feel for shorter holes and then really drive from the tee.
Cons: Can get pretty busy during the weekends (lots of families, kids playing, people walking / biking on the sidewalks that roam throughout the course) so be sure it's clear before you throw (you should have no problem seeing from tee to basket on each hole).

Either some of the basket locations moved or some of the signs are wrong on distance.

Not a lot of variety here. It's very straightforward, a few holes with some landscaping (trees) mixed throughout, but that's about it.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I try to play this course at least once a week for a night round. LL Woods is an EXCELLENT course to play at night; it is very well maintained. There's no fear of throwing in "the rough" and then searching for your disc.

I think this is a great course to relax and practice your game. If you need more of a challenge, head across the highway to Lake Park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great for newbs

1    5/14/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 60  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course to introduce new players to disc golf. There are a few trees on each hole, enough to make things tricky, but not too annoying. The average length of the holes slowly builds up from the beginning to the end. The back 9 is great for practicing your drives. Pretty much no chance to lose a disc.
Cons: Not much variety. The last several holes are just long and open. Very flat and repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Probably won't go back here on my own, but perhaps with someone who wants to learn.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.