Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #1
3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The coarse comes with training wheels

5+    10/6/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy course with a good lay out. Nice and open with almost zero chance of losing a disc. I often use this course to work on my technique or to break in new discs
Cons: This will bore the veteran/pro player. If seen multiple -10 scores registered. The park can become congested at times with youth sports practices and general park goers. Always Remember - obliviates have the right of way
Other Thoughts: If you're a beginner, get to this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: yourmomrhymes
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners.
Wonderfully maintained park.
Very nice tee boxes.
Navigation is very easy thanks to signage.
Trees give most holes personality.
Generally very open, some holes have nothing between the tee box and basket.
Cons: Very easy.
Not a lot of variety.
Fairways are kinda close, but shouldn't be a problem if you can hit the fairway.
Not sure if the pictures on all the signs are accurate, but there is no problem finding the baskets from the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners.
Great course for more advanced players to work on their ace/birdie game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: papamullins
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is very well maintained. Grass is cut short, tee pads, baskets are in great shape. Signs at baskets pointing towards next tee.

This is a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, or take someone still learning the game. The course opens as you progress, allowing newer players to get a feel for shorter holes and then really drive from the tee.
Cons: Can get pretty busy during the weekends (lots of families, kids playing, people walking / biking on the sidewalks that roam throughout the course) so be sure it's clear before you throw (you should have no problem seeing from tee to basket on each hole).

Either some of the basket locations moved or some of the signs are wrong on distance.

Not a lot of variety here. It's very straightforward, a few holes with some landscaping (trees) mixed throughout, but that's about it.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I try to play this course at least once a week for a night round. LL Woods is an EXCELLENT course to play at night; it is very well maintained. There's no fear of throwing in "the rough" and then searching for your disc.

I think this is a great course to relax and practice your game. If you need more of a challenge, head across the highway to Lake Park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great for newbs

1    5/14/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course to introduce new players to disc golf. There are a few trees on each hole, enough to make things tricky, but not too annoying. The average length of the holes slowly builds up from the beginning to the end. The back 9 is great for practicing your drives. Pretty much no chance to lose a disc.
Cons: Not much variety. The last several holes are just long and open. Very flat and repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Probably won't go back here on my own, but perhaps with someone who wants to learn.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

2-4    3/15/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very clean and well kept park. The tee pads are more than long enough to tee off on. There are signs directing you to the next tee pad. As the title stats this is a beginner friendly course. All holes are easily attainable for par. #1 is a nice little hole that is thru the trees. Some of the baskets are guarded by trees, but not so much that you would be scared away. There are also some holes that on the backside of the basket it slopes downhill, so there is some risk reward on your approach/putt. The last 4-5 holes have decent length to them so you can air out your drives, but they aren't so long that you can't reach them in 2-3 shots. As previously stated there is basically no water threat, the drainage ditch could have some water in it, but it is not deep enough that you should loose a disc.
This course will not be all that challenging to an advanced/pro level player. Good for practicing medium range drives and up shots.
Cons: #4's basket was missing its sticker so there was some confusion as to what basket to aim for. There were a few holes that were missing the yardage signs.
Other Thoughts: Has a nice restroom facility in the middle of the park. There is also ample parking and a nice playground and basketball court for the family members that might not be into disc golf. This is the first course that I ever played on so this place is kinda special to me in a way. During the summer it can get crowded with other disc golfers and walkers. The first time I played here, summer of 2010, there was a school group having a picnic in the park and a kid tried to steal a friend of mines disc. I played here, 3-15-2011, in the morning on a weekday and there was no one playing but there were about 5 walkers, so be aware before you throw. Overall a great learners course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Beginner course

1    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Tee Boxes and signing. I always knew where to find the next Tee Box after I finished a hole.
-Great usage of limited space. A could see the city making it a 9 hole course based on the area they had, but they pulled all the stops and made a nice 18 hole course.
-Very clean park, well groomed.
Cons: Can get crowded at times, with people hanging out at the park and there were allot of fellow discers out there when I was there, maybe a sign that there should be another park in the area?
Other Thoughts: I am from the Austin area, and I was visiting some friends and they took me out to this park. I really enjoyed it, very friendly environment with a relaxed environment. Very good course to go have a chill game and/or practice. To me the first 12 holes were very much different from the last 6 holes, which made it interesting.
-I played this one in the winter and there were no leaves on the trees and all of the grass was dead. I wonder how the course would have been during the spring and/or summer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 L.L. Woods Rundown!!!

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-T-signs
-Well manicured and very, very clean
-Nice surrounding neighborhood
-Shot Variety (80%mids and 20%drivers from box, anis, hyzers, and str8 line shots)
-Water fountain at hole 10 or something was cool to see (refill station if you will)
Cons: -Lots of park traffic
-Pretty bland course...not much terrain variety
-Mostly short holes.
Other Thoughts: Really decent course. Fun to play and great for beginners. Not much to it, but it does offer everything you might want in a small course -- spotty trees, water hazard (if played as so), slight elevation changes mostly found around baskets, mostly short drives with last few holes being of decent size. Good use of the space given.

Great midrange practice course with not-so-long fairways and spotty trees. Also would make a great course for glow games. You wont be losing discs out here.

Easy course to find your way around and it also has a nice flow to it. If you're in the area I'd say it's worth stopping by.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 Cleanest Courses

5+    8/31/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. This is one clean course. The park is very well maintained (I did see it once not mowed, but that was quickly fixed that weekend). There really is not any trash.

2. All tees clearly marked, and all pads are cemented. The "pseudo" creek is all cemented and never really fills with water. Very easy to get your disc.

3. There is plenty of parking and fairly easy to get to.

4. There are a couple of good holes that may be challenging.
Cons:
1. There really are not any obstacles, you can pretty much launch in any direction. There are a few trees but mostly get in the way if you mess up you mid-shot.

2. Rather short course, you can bomb almost every hole, except maybe the first one (its way too short and not very challenging, if you dont birdie that one, you will par it)

3. There are no elevational changes or challenging tee placements. Its pretty open.

4. It is a shared park so you will get kids as obstacles, along with joggers and even some homes. Ive landed one disc in someones back yard as well as their front yard.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course if your looking for good practice before you go onto the other side and play the lake. I play courses based on location and love it when its in pairs. 2 in lewisville, 2 in mckinney, 2 in cedar hill, dallas and garland (i count that as two also).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good starter course

5+    7/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park for the most part. Easy to get to and close to home. This was my first course to play. It is a great place to "learn" how to play. There are a couple of par 4's all the rest are par 3. Easy to make birdie on several holes. However several holes are harder to make par on.
Cons: Late in the afternoon at time you may have to throw over soccer players that play on hole # 17. Can usually play all holes in 45 minutes to an hour with no problem at all.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: jermlac
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course was very well maintained, drained well after lots of rain, easy to get too from the highway. the drainage ditch that goes through the park is concrete so if you loose your disc, it's easy to hop in and get it, then get back out without sliding in mud.
Cons: after a week of rain, hole 1 was pretty muddy, as was hole 3, but the rest where in excellent shape. it is a multi use park so the walking path cuts between the tee and the pin on several holes. could be difficult on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: as a beginner, i think this was a great course for me to play on. i went out on a friday morning that was lightly raining off and on, not enough to worry about getting soaked in. the tee pads are easy to find, but the pins that go to each tee pad are not always clearly defined in the signs. it was a little difficult for our first time, but i'm sure as i go in the future, it will not be a problem to navigate and point out pins for each hole.

also, hole 18 shoots directly at the swing set so if you've got a long drive, you might need to watch your discs between player shots to make sure a kid does not run off with your disc or get in the way of your shots as your finishing up.

i think this would be a great course for an evening round or to build your confidence and distance (especially on holes 15-18).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.