Mt. Berry, GA 
WinShape DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #15 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 197ft.   3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: few mature pines in the fairway.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Course Avantage

5+    6/6/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: wabrown23
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good little par 3 course, great scenery, abundant wildlife, good mix of hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots. A few "longer" holes but nothing unreachable.
Cons: Not on the level of a tournament course by far, could use a few more trees for added difficult.
Other Thoughts: The course has changes since being put on this site, I would suggest if you have never played it to give it a chance, and if you have but its been awhile come see some of the new holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Surprise

2-4    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this course. The scenery is incredible and as others have mentioned, deer are all around. A small creek runs through the course and several holes play along its banks. It is filled with mature trees, mostly pines with a hardwood here and there.

This is my 16th course to date and by far its the shortest I've played. In other words it is really easy. I am guessing that there are no holes over 250' and some are in the 180' range. This gives nice birdie opportunities for most and probably your best chance for that illusive ace. It is also nice for new players to build confidence or if you want to bring along some younger folks for a fun round. I have played here twice and only saw a few other players so big crowds don't seem to be an issue.

Being a recreational course I think they did a good job finding a variety of risks. There are a few slight uphill and down hill shots. Trees block the basket on a few holes. You really won't feel like you are playing the same hole over and over. It's a nice job with the placement of the tees and baskets in relation to the trees and it really takes good advantage of the landscape. I do think the few fairways that are not strait favor right hand, back hand throwers though. I would like to see more fairways that turn right. It is really a jam up course for its size.

The holes are marked well with cement blocks buried in the ground, painted white and numbers painted in black. Once you find the first tee it is smooth sailing from there. The flow makes perfect sense. Not having signs really is a non issue.

Cons: There are none of the bells and whistles that you like to have at an established course. For example, there are no benches, signs, maps, visitor kiosk, trash cans, etc. They would really add to the attractiveness of this course.

I found some of the tees pads with exposed tree roots and rocks that were distracting. One of them is on a slight slope too.

Even with basic directions it is a little tough to find the tee pad for hole number one. Now that I know where it is, it's no big deal.

I am afraid that if you like to throw for distance or if you consider yourself a "pro" you might want to pass on this one.

Other Thoughts: As long as you are not expecting a long or overly challenging course I highly recommend WinShape. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Just to add some more basic directions to the first tee. Let's say you are facing the front of the Inez Henry Hall/WinShape Centre Office in the gravel lot. The first tee is at the other side of the large field to the right. Once you are on the field walk to the far right corner of the field (opposite of the basketball courts) and follow it down the slight hill and look for the white block with the black "1" painted on it. Good luck and have fun.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for the area

5+    11/23/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: JBaggett
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/1/2008
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in beautiful setting with wildlife. Good for beginners and intermediate players. Some variety in shots required.
Cons: Short (usually 300ft or less) A few rocky tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I play this a few times a week after work. I think it is the best course in the area. It is fun to play and has high quality baskets. Could benefit from dual tee pads. THE FIRST TEE IS BY THE ROAD ON THE EDGE OF THE FIELD IN A SMALL DEPRESSION.
I play this course at least twice a week. So if anyone has questions I would be glad to help. Baggetja@gmail.com or PM on this site

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course if visiting Rome

5+    5/9/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -After finding the first tee pad, you will be able to maneuver the rest of the course very easily.
-Nice scenery with the occasional deer.
- Good selection of up hill, short and medium shots.
Cons: -Watch out for the Deer poop.
-Not your choice if you like heavily wooded course.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be a great recreational course. I did not seem to have the typical bad shot frustrations associated with heavily wooded courses. I did enjoy some unconventional challenges like throwing over/around a 20 foot chain link fence behind the basketball courts on the second hole and throwing around/through a pavilion on the back nine. Most holes are not long but I thought the basket placement was good. If you are visiting Rome and only have one course to play, choose Winshape. I visited all three in the city and this was the only one we could play without a map for the tees.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A good start

11/21/2007   11/27/2007
Review By: Steve C
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located on the Winshape campus of Berry College, well marked tees and manicured grounds are the key points for this course. While I've never actually found the first tee, finding the remaining 17 are a snap. This course is designed for intramural play by Berry College students and is excellent for recreational and junior players, or more advanced players that want to work on their approach shots and putting. Intermediate and Advanced players will see ace opportunities especially on #4, 9 and 14. The trees add technical challenges on several holes especially 8 and 16. A deep ravine runs along #1, 2, and 15. An errant shot will test your recovery skills and your climbing abilities.
Cons: Not the course for you if you want to work on your long game.
Other Thoughts: I took my 13 year old son to this course and he loved it (his first time playing DG.)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.