Mt. Berry, GA 
WinShape DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #14 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 229ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: Straight with a few pines. Must go a little right or a lot left.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pretty but could be better

2-4    4/8/2013   2/8/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.8 Years
Pros: Berry has done a good thing setting up 2 decent 9 hole courses on their massive campus. It a beautiful place with rolling hills, wooded mountains and ponds/lakes all around.

The first 9 is near the main campus entrance. Mostly wide open, bit kind of short for a course that is super open. Some nice elevation changes and very little interference.

Second nine is a couple miles up the rd by their mt campus. It's a rather short playing heavily wooded course with no long distance holes. A lot of challenging shots to be played though.
Cons: Mt. 9 drains terribly and is super swampy after rain. Also a lot of mosquitoes in summer.

It's not kept up that well, the tee pads aren't concrete on all holes. and the front course is too short to be that open.

Back course is too short to be pro level.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun place to play, the best one in the Rome area but I probably wouldn't make a super long trip to come play it.

 Home Course Avantage

5+    6/6/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: wabrown23
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good little par 3 course, great scenery, abundant wildlife, good mix of hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots. A few "longer" holes but nothing unreachable.
Cons: Not on the level of a tournament course by far, could use a few more trees for added difficult.
Other Thoughts: The course has changes since being put on this site, I would suggest if you have never played it to give it a chance, and if you have but its been awhile come see some of the new holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Recreational Course Only

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's always nice when a private institution creates a disc golf course. Berry College has built two, which is really nice for it's students.

This course serves it's purpose as a recreational course for students. Amateur players will enjoy the mature wooded field that has no overhanging branches or undergrowth to interfere with shots. All holes are short and manageable. You could play this course with one disc.
Cons: The course is on a lowland area with no drainage. My feet sunk 2-3 inches into the mud while walking through the course. I noticed a sign on a nearby field stating do not enter when wet. Seriously, do not attempt to play here when it is wet.

The course is almost completely flat with no real defined fairways. Experienced players will find the short length and lack of obstacles very limiting. All holes are basically a straight shot no matter how you look at it.

The layout of the land does not really allow for much development of the course. If you move the tee or pin location, you basically end up with the exact same hole. Since it is a wetland, the course will likely always be here since it is unsuitable for development.
Other Thoughts: Consider this course if you live nearby and aren't looking for a serious challenge. Otherwise, I strongly recommend Berry College's other course, Log Cabin. Besides both having 18 holes, the courses do not resemble each other in any way, shape or form.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Course On A College Campus!

1    7/4/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Berry College is a lovely campus with character. Win Shape is a branch campus about three miles from the main campus. Once I found the 1st tee marker, the rest of the course was easily navigable. The course plays 8 holes heading away from the first tee and then the last ten head back toward # 1. This is a short, recreational level course with some very slight elevation change which plays through a park like setting. Very pretty! The baskets are all visible from the teepads, usually there are some scattered trees in the way. Look for the white block tee markers in the ground. They're not always easy to find. In some places, the worn areas might help you find them. This campus seems to be a haven for the local deer population. They're everywhere! I counted 17 hanging around one basket. I scattered them with my tee shot. I wonder if any Berry College disc golfers have a mounted head in their dorm room after thumping a deer with a drive? Think Randy Johnson's 100 MPH fastball and that unfortunate bird he wasted.
Cons: There are no signs, no amenities of all kind. The teepads are often a little difficult to find. When I played the college was doing some construction/drainage work of some kind. So the last six or seven holes were kind of torn up. I think the white tee markers were lost in bulldozer work. I'm sure they'll replace when the work is done.
Other Thoughts: What you see is what you get here. It's a little enjoyable, recreational set in the middle of a college campus. It's designed for their students to be able to get in a round between classes or after dinner. Berry College is not looking to be hosting the Worlds. A previous reviewer was wondering why they squeezed this course into this space when they have the room is the world just beyond the main campus. Duh? They wanted their students to be able to WALK over and play this course. Plus they use it with their summer campers.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course Needs Some Work

1    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Nightcrawlerdcl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Berry's campus is pristine. If you are an enthusiast visiting the Rome area, you ought to play this or the other course on campus, if only for the sights alone.

The short hole distance caters favorably to those with little experience, and allows more experienced players to put away the driver and concentrate on refining your short game.

A few holes present narrow challenges. Not enough to discourage beginners, and a couple to entertain more experienced players.

WinShape hosts a number of getaway church and other group gatherings, so the course is convenient for those folks.

Despite playing the day after a fairly healthy rain, the course drained pretty well in most areas. The areas that were troublesome were easily avoidable.
Cons: The design seems forced. With so much space on campus, a more careful and logical design would have improved the experience.

I enjoy unnatural obstacles to a point, but there is a little too much for my liking on this course. Too much interaction with roads, open-air gathering spots, a basketball court and soccer field, a private yard, and even construction equipment (which, even if naturally temporary, is still a drag). Again, with so much space on campus, it seemed a little unnecessary.

No maps or signs to assist your round, either.
I also had trouble getting to the much-discussed difficult-to-find 1st tee box, but even before that, had trouble locating it when driving around, trying to determine the most appropriate place to park. This presents a bad way to start off the course, and continues to be a problem throughout.

Even when you find the teeing areas, there are no boxes to be found! While there is at least in theory a common area for each hole, the course badly needs concrete tees. On several holes, the common area made it more troublesome to tee off than the areas surrounding it.
Other Thoughts: For virtually the entire round, I was getting eaten alive by gnats. I hesitate to put this in the cons, as it had more to do with the time of year and day than the course itself. Still wasn't much fun, though.

I very much appreciate what this course was intended to do, in theory. In practice, it falls well short. Renovated tee areas, benches, trash cans, and simple "next tee" signs would help what is there.

Being a little greedy, I have to believe a third, top-notch course exists somewhere in the mind of somebody willing and able to unlock what Berry has to offer. Three courses on a relatively small school's campus seems like a lot to ask for, but I think the results could be very rewarding.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Surprise

2-4    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this course. The scenery is incredible and as others have mentioned, deer are all around. A small creek runs through the course and several holes play along its banks. It is filled with mature trees, mostly pines with a hardwood here and there.

This is my 16th course to date and by far its the shortest I've played. In other words it is really easy. I am guessing that there are no holes over 250' and some are in the 180' range. This gives nice birdie opportunities for most and probably your best chance for that illusive ace. It is also nice for new players to build confidence or if you want to bring along some younger folks for a fun round. I have played here twice and only saw a few other players so big crowds don't seem to be an issue.

Being a recreational course I think they did a good job finding a variety of risks. There are a few slight uphill and down hill shots. Trees block the basket on a few holes. You really won't feel like you are playing the same hole over and over. It's a nice job with the placement of the tees and baskets in relation to the trees and it really takes good advantage of the landscape. I do think the few fairways that are not strait favor right hand, back hand throwers though. I would like to see more fairways that turn right. It is really a jam up course for its size.

The holes are marked well with cement blocks buried in the ground, painted white and numbers painted in black. Once you find the first tee it is smooth sailing from there. The flow makes perfect sense. Not having signs really is a non issue.

Cons: There are none of the bells and whistles that you like to have at an established course. For example, there are no benches, signs, maps, visitor kiosk, trash cans, etc. They would really add to the attractiveness of this course.

I found some of the tees pads with exposed tree roots and rocks that were distracting. One of them is on a slight slope too.

Even with basic directions it is a little tough to find the tee pad for hole number one. Now that I know where it is, it's no big deal.

I am afraid that if you like to throw for distance or if you consider yourself a "pro" you might want to pass on this one.

Other Thoughts: As long as you are not expecting a long or overly challenging course I highly recommend WinShape. I was very pleasantly surprised.

Just to add some more basic directions to the first tee. Let's say you are facing the front of the Inez Henry Hall/WinShape Centre Office in the gravel lot. The first tee is at the other side of the large field to the right. Once you are on the field walk to the far right corner of the field (opposite of the basketball courts) and follow it down the slight hill and look for the white block with the black "1" painted on it. Good luck and have fun.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

1    2/17/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great setting.I could not belive how tame the deer are here, I'm pretty sure you could pet them if you tried.
-Easy to follow.Hole 1 was tricky to find, but after that its smooth sailing. From hole 1's teepad hole 16's basket is directly to your right about 100' across the creek, and there is a climbing wall about 200' straight behind you across the road.
-Great use of trees on the land used.Lots of old large pines and oaks, with no undergrowth at all.Looks like in the summer low ceiling shots will be in play much more often.
Cons: -This course is very short. I am not a huge distance guy, and I teed off with a putter on 14 of the 18 holes.The other ones I used a roc.
-Some of the course area seemed to hold water.It had not rained in a few days when I played and there were a few muddy spots and some standing water.Not really a big issue.
-The course does not start or end near the 2 parking areas that are closest.I parked near the b-ball courts by hole 2's basket.It turned out much closer to 18's basket than hole 1's teepad.
-Little to no shot variety.For a RHBH player every hole except 1 is straight or a slight hyzer.However there are plenty of lanes through the trees to shape shots however you please.
Other Thoughts: This course is clearly designed for students with 1 or 2 discs, playing rec golf.If you are an avid golfer this course is way too easy for you.Every hole is VERY short.
With that being said this is still a wonderful layout for the players that it was intended for.As short and easy as it was for me, I still really enjoyed this course.Its fun to play and a great course to get new players into the game.

Just to put it out there I rated this course from a competitive players standpoint wich is why I rated it so low.If you keep in mind that this course is designed to give students a safe on campus activity, not for avid disc golfers, you will find this to be a fun well designed little course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for the area

5+    11/23/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: JBaggett
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 12/1/2008
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set in beautiful setting with wildlife. Good for beginners and intermediate players. Some variety in shots required.
Cons: Short (usually 300ft or less) A few rocky tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I play this a few times a week after work. I think it is the best course in the area. It is fun to play and has high quality baskets. Could benefit from dual tee pads. THE FIRST TEE IS BY THE ROAD ON THE EDGE OF THE FIELD IN A SMALL DEPRESSION.
I play this course at least twice a week. So if anyone has questions I would be glad to help. Baggetja@gmail.com or PM on this site

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 best course i've played so far

5+    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: jamiemetts
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: every hole is different
Cons: trees, but they are not really a big deal
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course because it is an 18 hole course you can do some or all and you all ways feel very satisfied

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course if visiting Rome

5+    5/9/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: blang
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -After finding the first tee pad, you will be able to maneuver the rest of the course very easily.
-Nice scenery with the occasional deer.
- Good selection of up hill, short and medium shots.
Cons: -Watch out for the Deer poop.
-Not your choice if you like heavily wooded course.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be a great recreational course. I did not seem to have the typical bad shot frustrations associated with heavily wooded courses. I did enjoy some unconventional challenges like throwing over/around a 20 foot chain link fence behind the basketball courts on the second hole and throwing around/through a pavilion on the back nine. Most holes are not long but I thought the basket placement was good. If you are visiting Rome and only have one course to play, choose Winshape. I visited all three in the city and this was the only one we could play without a map for the tees.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center