Kalkaska, MI 
Log Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: deBebbler   (Taken 7/2010)
A general example of hole amenities



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Where to take new DX Teebirds

2-4    10/17/2010   3/20/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice cement tees. Fairways are well defined. Well placed benches and trash cans help keep course clean.

EZ On - EZ Off US 131 makes this course nice to hit if you are traveling. Two-man rounds can easily be fit in 90 minutes.

Practice basket near the lot. The path leading back to the lot from 18 dumps you out at the softball field, and gives you a nice place to empty your bag after the round.

Groomed for winter play, where the lack of elevation helps with footing.
Cons:
Most of the baskets are rusted out and single chain design. Tee signs are crude 4x4 posts with length and vector representations of hole only, and a few are missing.

This course is very flat. There is one slight uphill that manages to obscure the basket from the tee, but little more. Although there are a lot of trees, most of the fairways have fat lines to work, and the challenge after a few rounds is pretty low.

Not nearly enough distance. Twelve of the holes are <250' with only one >300'. This is a course that trades lack of distance with an abundance of trees. The course opens up more for the last 4-5 holes, and the average distance of these holes is greater, but not significantly.

Strong RHBH bias, with only one serious dogleg right hole. Most holes are straight finishing slightly left or right. Compounded with the short, flat nature of the course, the repetition is felt quickly.
Other Thoughts:
I have passed this course by to play another more often than I have played it. It isn't that this course is especially bad, it just doesn't offer up much of anything, and the fun factor is pretty low. If I'm in the area (and want to stay out of Traverse City), I'm much more likely to play Kingsley Civic Center or Hanson Hills.

However, I do use this course for two disc rounds. I'm either going to park my drive, or put some much needed gouges in my new DX Teebirds. When I need to break them in, these trees are perfect.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If you threw a disc and DIDN'T hit a tree, you weren't at Log Lake

1    10/2/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: tccrapsdealer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Usually pretty much deserted.
Cons: Horrible navigation. Especially in the 7-8-9 area. I've played the course 4 times and I don't think I've gone the right way yet. TONS of trees. Hard to make a solid throw without hitting one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/16/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A relatively simple and short course that winds through the forest. It feels very tight with trees on all sides, and they do come into play with most shots, adding to the difficulty. However, the short distance of most of the holes adds to the ease of play.

Walks easy and quickly, good course if your close and just looking to spend an hour out.
Cons: It is not well marked, or even marked at all in most places. Most of the holes are easy enough to find, but the trip from 7 to 8 can be a bit confusing if your new to the course.

If you are skilled or lucky enough to miss the trees, the shortness of the course makes it kind of a push over.
Other Thoughts: There are two paths from the 7th basket to the 8th tee. One goes out and around in a wide arc to the 8th tee. This path quickly feel into misuse, and, although followable, is obviously rarely used (a small tree is currently hanging over it at chest height). The other path is wide, well walked, and inviting as it travels 30 feet to the 8th hole's basket. This is what most people use, but you'll have to walk backwards through the hole if you go this way, avoiding anyone who may be playing the hole already.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tight & Technical

1    7/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 83  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is relatively easy to navigate,challenging for all types of players,practice basket,nice park with beach & picnic area,
Cons: Most holes have tight tree lined fairways,mostly flat,seemed repetitive to me,could see losing a disc or two if you get off the fairway,
Other Thoughts: Personally I didn't have much fun playing this course I was traveling and by half way through I was looking forward to the next course,wouldn't go out of my way to play it again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.